DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is made of receipt of Information Disclosure Statement(s) (PTO-1449) filed 03/12/2024. An initialed copy is attached to this Office Action.
Response to Amendment
The amendment to Claim(s) 3 and 5-7, filed 03/12/2024, is acknowledged and accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhu (CN206773300U), of record.
With respect to Claim 1, Zhu discloses an image generation apparatus (Figure 1) comprising: a light source unit (5, Figure 1); an optical member (6, Figure 1) configured to emit light emitted from the light source unit (5, Figure 1) in a predetermined direction (up and down through the light guide, ¶[0004]); a liquid crystal device (2, Figure 1) configured to generate an image (liquid crystal panel 2 is projected and further improve the display quality, ¶[0007]) by the light emitted (light guide plate 6 is provided with LED light bars 5, ¶[0005]) from the optical member (6, Figure 1); and a housing (1, Figure 1) having a heat dissipation function (1 improves heat dissipation, Figure 1; see also ¶[0005]), wherein the light source unit (5, Figure 1) and the liquid crystal device (2, Figure 1) are attached to the housing (1, Figure 1).
With respect to Claim 2, Zhu further discloses wherein the light source unit (5, Figure 1) comprises a light source (5 is a LED light bar, Figure 1; see also ¶[0005]) and a substrate (5 includes a substrate, Figure 1; see also ¶[0005]) on which the light source is mounted (¶[0005]), and wherein the substrate (5 includes a substrate, Figure 1) is attached to the housing (1, Figure 1).
With respect to Claim 3, Zhu further discloses wherein the optical member (6, Figure 1) is configured to emit the light (the light guide plate 6 are provided with LED light bars 5, ¶[0005]) emitted from the light source unit (5, Figure 1) in a direction intersecting (see Figure 1) with an optical axis of the light source unit (5, Figure 1).
With respect to Claim 4, Zhu further discloses wherein the optical member (6, Figure 1) is a light guide plate (6 is a light guide plate, Figure 1; see also ¶[0005]), and wherein the light guide plate (6, Figure 1) has an incident surface (surface of 6 where light enters, Figure 1) on which the light emitted (light guide plate 6 is provided with LED light bars 5, ¶[0005]) from the light source unit (5, Figure 1) is incident (light enters and exits 6, Figure 1) and an emission surface (light enters and exits 6, Figure 1) intersecting with the incident surface (surface of 6 where light enters, Figure 1) and configured to emit light toward the liquid crystal device (2, Figure 1).
With respect to Claim 5, Zhu further discloses wherein the liquid crystal device (2, Figure 1) has an incident surface (surface of 2 where light enters, Figure 1) on which the light emitted (light guide plate 6 is provided with LED light bars 5, ¶[0005]) from the optical member (6, Figure 1) is incident, and wherein the light source unit (5, Figure 1) is attached to the housing (1, Figure 1) so as not to face the incident surface (surface of 2 where light enters, Figure 1) of the liquid crystal device (2, Figure 1).
With respect to Claim 6, Zhu further discloses wherein the light source unit (5, Figure 1) is attached (see where 5 is attached on the sides of 1 in Figure 1) to the housing (1, Figure 1) so as not to overlap (5 does not overlap 2, Figure 1) the liquid crystal device (2, Figure 1) in a plan view (see Figure 1) of the liquid crystal device (2, Figure 1).
With respect to Claim 7, Zhu discloses a head-up display comprising: an image generation apparatus comprising: a light source unit (5, Figure 1); an optical member (6, Figure 1) configured to emit light emitted (light guide plate 6 is provided with LED light bars 5, ¶[0005]) from the light source unit (5, Figure 1) in a predetermined direction: a liquid crystal device (2, Figure 1) configured to generate an image (liquid crystal panel 2 is projected and further improve the display quality, ¶[0007]) by the light emitted (light guide plate 6 is provided with LED light bars 5, ¶[0005]) from the optical member (6, Figure 1); and a housing (1, Figure 1) having a heat dissipation function (1 improves heat dissipation, Figure 1; see also ¶[0005]), wherein the light source unit (5, Figure 1) and the liquid crystal device (2, Figure 1) are attached to the housing (1, Figure 1); and at least one reflector (7, Figure 1) configured to reflect light (7 is reflecting film, Figure 1) emitted by the image generation apparatus (Figure 1).
Conclusion
/TYW/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872