DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ response filed 2/13/2026 amended claim 1. Applicants’ amendments overcome the 35 USC 112 rejection from the office action mailed 12/11/2025; therefore, this rejection is withdrawn. Applicants addressed the IDS issues from the office action mailed 12/11/2025; therefore, the issue is withdrawn. Neither applicants’ amendments nor arguments addressed below overcome the 35 USC 102/103 rejections over Gephart from the office action mailed 12/11/2025; therefore, these rejections are maintained below. Applicants have not addressed the double patenting rejections from the office action mailed 12/11/2025; therefore, these rejections are maintained below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/11/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the non-final office action on 12/11/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
7. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Gephart et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0080624 (hereinafter referred to as Gephart).
Regarding claims 1-20, Gephart discloses a waste plastic recycling process (see Abstract), the process comprising:
(a) providing a liquification vessel, a pyrolysis reactor, and a heat transfer oil as a cooling medium (see Figure 1 and Para. [0020] and [0041]);
(b) liquifying the solid waste plastic in the liquification vessel to thereby form a liquefied waste plastic (see Figure 1 and Para. [0045]);
(c) pyrolyzing at least a portion of the liquefied waste plastic in the pyrolysis reactor to thereby form a pyrolysis effluent (Para. [0021]-[0022] and [0032]);
(d) separating at least a portion of the pyrolysis effluent to form a pyrolysis oil and a residual pyrolysis effluent comprising pyrolysis gas (Para. [0032]);
(e) cooling of the pyrolysis effluents via heat exchange with a heat transfer oil (Para. [0041]);
(f) and (g) low value long chain hydrocarbon oil is fed back to the pyrolysis reactor and the heat generated in the first condenser is fed back to heat the plastic dryer unit upstream of the melt reactor (liquification reactor) (Para. [0041] and [0051]).
Gephart further discloses producing HTM via direct exchange with the pyrolysis effluent prior to step (d) (Para. [0016] and [0041]-[0042]). Gephart discloses wherein the HTM comprises heat transfer oil, a non-aqueous fluid (Para. [0041]). Gephart discloses temperature of the HTM at 135°C which cools the pyrolysis gas exiting at 450-500°C to about 200°C (Para. [0041]). This indicates that the heated HTM should be in the order as claimed, wherein the separating of step (d) comprises: (i) separating at least a portion of the pyrolysis effluent into the pyrolysis oil and a first residual pyrolysis effluent comprising the pyrolysis gas, and (ii) separating at least a portion of the first residual pyrolysis effluent into a second pyrolysis oil and a second residual pyrolysis effluent comprising the pyrolysis gas, (iii) separating at least a portion of the second residual pyrolysis effluent to thereby form a third pyrolysis oil and a pyrolysis gas stream comprising the pyrolysis gas (see Figure 1 and Para. [0013], [0024], [0026] and [0051]-0053]).
Gephart also discloses using long chain HC oil (a second HTM) and recycle of second HTM to preheat the waste plastic before melting (Para. [0041]) and using water as the HTM which comprises steam (Para. [0041]).
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
9. Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of co-pending application No. 18/691,088. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The co-pending '088 application discloses the same limitations as does the instant application and would therefore have been obvious in light of the disclosures discussed above and incorporated herein by reference.
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Double Patenting II
10. Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of application No. 18/691,096. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The co-pending '096 application discloses the same limitations as does the instant application and would therefore have been obvious in light of the disclosures discussed above and incorporated herein by reference.
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Double Patenting III
11. Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of application No. 18/691,107. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The co-pending '107 application discloses the same limitations as does the instant application and would therefore have been obvious in light of the disclosures discussed above and incorporated herein by reference.
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Response to Arguments
12. Applicants’ arguments filed 2/13/2026 regarding claims 1-20 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Applicants have not offered any arguments to overcome the rejections of record as all of the relevant passages in Gephart are cited and read on the claims as instantly recited. It is the position of the examiner that if claim 3 is incorporated into claims 1 and 9 that applicants can make an argument that the amended claims would overcome the rejections of record. In this scenario claims 17-20 would also need to be cancelled and the double patenting rejections dealt with and the application may be allowed.
Conclusion
13. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VISHAL V VASISTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771