DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ response filed 8/11/2026 amended claims 1 and 17, and cancelled claim 2. Applicants’ amendments in light of their arguments are persuasive in overcoming the 35 USC 102 rejection over Gephart from the office action mailed 5/12/2026; therefore, this rejection is withdrawn. Also, applicants’ amendments in light of their arguments are persuasive in overcoming the 35 USC 103 rejection over Gephart over claims 17-20; therefore, the rejection is withdrawn as associated with these claims. Neither applicants’ amendments nor arguments addressed below overcome the 35 USC 103 rejection over Gephart from the office action mailed 5/12/2026; therefore, this rejection is maintained below. Applicants’ have not addressed the double patenting rejections from the office action mailed 5/12/2026; therefore, these rejections are maintained below.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 3 is dependent from claim 2 which is cancelled. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite because there is no antecedent basis for “HTM” in component (d) of claim 1. Also, this is an amendment from the previous claim iteration and the limitations does not have amended markings. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1 and 3-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gephart et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0080624 (hereinafter referred to as Gephart).
Regarding claims 1 and 3-16, Gephart discloses a waste plastic recycling process (see Abstract), the process comprising:
(a) providing a liquification vessel, a pyrolysis reactor, and a heat transfer oil as a cooling medium (see Figure 1 and Para. [0020] and [0041]);
(b) liquifying the solid waste plastic in the liquification vessel to thereby form a liquefied waste plastic (see Figure 1 and Para. [0045]);
(c) pyrolyzing at least a portion of the liquefied waste plastic in the pyrolysis reactor to thereby form a pyrolysis effluent (Para. [0021]-[0022] and [0032]);
(d) separating at least a portion of the pyrolysis effluent to form a pyrolysis oil and a residual pyrolysis effluent comprising pyrolysis gas (Para. [0032]);
(e) cooling of the pyrolysis effluents via heat exchange with a heat transfer oil (Para. [0041]);
(f) and (g) low value long chain hydrocarbon oil is fed back to the pyrolysis reactor and the heat generated in the first condenser is fed back to heat the plastic dryer unit upstream of the melt reactor (liquification reactor) (Para. [0041] and [0051]).
Gephart further discloses producing HTM via direct exchange with the pyrolysis effluent prior to step (d) (Para. [0016] and [0041]-[0042]). Gephart discloses wherein the HTM comprises heat transfer oil, a non-aqueous fluid (Para. [0041]). Gephart discloses temperature of the HTM at 135°C which cools the pyrolysis gas exiting at 450-500°C to about 200°C (Para. [0041]). This indicates that the heated HTM should be in the order as claimed, wherein the separating of step (d) comprises: (i) separating at least a portion of the pyrolysis effluent into the pyrolysis oil and a first residual pyrolysis effluent comprising the pyrolysis gas, and (ii) separating at least a portion of the first residual pyrolysis effluent into a second pyrolysis oil and a second residual pyrolysis effluent comprising the pyrolysis gas, (iii) separating at least a portion of the second residual pyrolysis effluent to thereby form a third pyrolysis oil and a pyrolysis gas stream comprising the pyrolysis gas (see Figure 1 and Para. [0013], [0024], [0026] and [0051]-0053]).
Gephart also discloses using long chain HC oil (a second HTM) and recycle of second HTM to preheat the waste plastic before melting (Para. [0041]) and using water as the HTM which comprises steam (Para. [0041]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gephart in view of Wolf-Eberhard et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0227874 (hereinafter referred to as Wolf-Eberhard).
Regarding claims 17-20, Gephart discloses all the limitations discussed above but does not explicitly disclose a heat integration loop as recited in claim 17.
Wolf-Eberhard discloses recovering heat from a plastic pyrolysis process through multiple heat- transfer circuits (WT1-WT5) operating at different process locations and temperature levels, thereby providing a plurality of independent heat-transfer circuits for staged heat recovery and process integration. (Para. [0044]-[0049] and [0060]-[0068] and see Figure 3).
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
12. Claims 1 and 3-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of co-pending application No. 18/691,088. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The co-pending '088 application discloses the same limitations as does the instant application and would therefore have been obvious in light of the disclosures discussed above and incorporated herein by reference.
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Double Patenting II
13. Claims 1 and 3-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of application No. 18/691,096. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The co-pending '096 application discloses the same limitations as does the instant application and would therefore have been obvious in light of the disclosures discussed above and incorporated herein by reference.
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Double Patenting III
14. Claims 1 and 3-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of application No. 18/691,107. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The co-pending '107 application discloses the same limitations as does the instant application and would therefore have been obvious in light of the disclosures discussed above and incorporated herein by reference.
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Response to Arguments
15. Applicants’ arguments filed 8/11/2026 regarding claims 1 and 3-20 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Regarding instant claim 1, applicants argue that Gephart does not disclose with specificity “recycling the pyrolysis effluent from the pyrolysis reactor back to the mixing vessel." It is the position of the examiner that Gephart teaches recycling a cut of hydrocarbons "back into the pyrolysis reactor" as stated by applicants which do not anticipate the claims but do render the instant claims obvious. In contrast, the
Moreover, Gephart expressly teaches recovery and recirculation of heat value from pyrolysis-derived process streams. Specifically, Gephart teaches that volatile organic components and non-condensable gases generated during pyrolysis are thermally oxidized while "recovering the heat value and recirculating the heat into the jackets of the pyrolysis reactor" and further discloses that non-condensable gases are treated "to recover the heat value for heating the pyrolysis reactor." Gephart additionally teaches improved utilization of recycled heat energy within the pyrolysis
system. For these reasons Gephart does render obvious claims 1-16.
Conclusion
/VISHAL V VASISTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771