DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The rejection of claims 1-20 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/691,088 is withdrawn by the examiner in view of the amendment filed on 1/27/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gephart et al. (US 2015/0080624 A1) in view of Wolf et al. (US 2007/0227874 A1).
Gephart discloses:
a liquification vessel (melt screw reactor 2) for liquefying solid plastic (¶¶13, 20, 32);
a pyrolysis reactor 4 for pyrolyzing the liquefied plastic to generate a pyrolysis vapor/effluent (¶¶13, 31–32, 45);
multiple condensation steps (3 condensers: condensers 9, 11, 13) producing multiple oil streams (heavy, middle, light fractions) (¶¶25-35, 40–48; 51–53);
indirect heat exchange of the pyrolysis effluent with a heat transfer medium (HTM) in the first condenser (heat-transfer oil) to generate heated HTM (¶41);
using the heated HTM to heat solid plastic upstream in the dryer (¶41; 51) and to heat liquefied plastic upstream via the hot-oil-heated melt screw and pump screw (¶¶45, 61).
Thus, Gephart teaches all elements of claim 1 except, at most, the specific degree of heat-integration and distribution of HTM throughout multiple circuits.
Wolf teaches:
a multi-circuit indirect heating system using oil/salt/gas HTMs (¶¶7, 17, 44) and employing five discrete heat-transfer medium circuits (WT1-WT5) ((¶¶ 46).
recovering heat from multiple condensers (pre-condenser and main condenser) and returning it to HTM circuits (¶¶8–10, 36, 46);
using heated HTM to heat solid plastic (melting tank) and liquefied plastic (evaporation/re-heating tanks) upstream of cracking/pyrolysis (¶¶7, 17, 31–35, 46–49);
multi-stage condensation (¶¶6, 10, 13, 36–37).
Both references teaches new limitations “at least 3 condensation steps” whereas Wolf expressly teaches five discrete HTM circuits.
The claimed limitations requiring “not more than 100 heat transfer medium loops” does not distinguish over the combined prior art, because Wolf’s five HTM loops (¶¶ 46) fall within the claimed upper bound.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Gephart by incorporating Wolf’s well-known multi-circuit HTM and energy-recuperation techniques into Gephart’s pyrolysis system to improve energy efficiency and reduce external utility load, consistent with Wolf’s explicit motivation (¶¶5, 7–10). Claims 2–3: Gephart teaches heating solid and liquefied plastic upstream using heated HTM (¶¶41, 45, 61); Wolf confirms such heat distribution.
Claims 4–5: Gephart teaches ≥3 condensation steps (condensers 9, 11, 13) and indirect heat exchange via HTM (¶¶40–43, 51–53).
Claim 6: Re-processing pyrolysis oil in a cracking facility is conventional; Wolf explicitly discloses cracking tower and downstream oil handling.
Claims 7–9: HTM compositions (aqueous, non-aqueous, oil, salt, molten media) taught by Wolf (¶7; 44).
Claim 10: Gephart inherently operates HTM above 270 °C (¶¶41, 61–63).
Claim 11: Wolf teaches multiple independent HTM circuits (WT1–WT5), each using oil/salt/gas and providing heat at different temperature levels (¶¶7, 44, 46). See claim 1 above.
Claims 12–13: Upstream heating via first/second HTM rendered obvious by Wolf’s multiple circuits.
Claims 14–15: Gephart teaches ≥3 condensation steps; Wolf teaches integration of condensers with multiple HTMs.
Claim 16: Sending pyrolysis oil to cracking is disclosed by Wolf’s cracking tower.
Claims 17–19: Wolf expressly teaches aqueous and non-aqueous HTMs including oils, salts, molten media (¶7; 44).
Claim 20: Temperature thresholds inherent in high-temperature HTM circuits in Gephart and Wolf (≥300 °C, ≥270 °C).
Response to Arguments
The argument that both Gephart and Wolf do not teach "wherein the multiple condensation steps comprise at least 3 and not more than 100 heat transfer medium loops with each loop comprising its own heat transfer medium" is not persuasive because the combined teachings of Gephart and Wolf render obvious:
• at least 3 condensation steps, as both references disclose multi-stage condensation of pyrolysis vapors, and• a plurality of HTM loops, as Wolf expressly teaches five discrete HTM circuits.
The claimed limitation requiring “not more than 100 heat transfer medium loops” does not distinguish over the combined references, because Wolf’s five HTM loops fall within the claimed upper bound.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAM M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771