DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The rejections of claims 1-12 under 35 USC § 112 and under 35 USC § 103 over Gephart, Wofl, and Lehar are withdrawn by the examiner in view of the amendment filed on 6/2/2026.
Since a new Final Office Action is follows, applicant’s arguments will not be addressed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gephart et al. (US 2015/0080624 A1) in view of Wolf et al. (US 2007/0227874 A1) and further in view of McBay (WO 2019/246369 A1).
Gephart teaches a chemical recycling process comprising providing a liquification vessel and a pyrolysis reactor, liquifying a solid waste plastic to form a liquified waste plastic, pyrolyzing the liquified waste plastic to form a pyrolysis effluent, subjecting the pyrolysis effluent to a plurality of indirect condensation stages to produce a plurality of pyrolysis oil streams, and recovering heat from the condensation section for reuse within the process, including heating waste plastic upstream of the pyrolysis reactor. (Gephart, ¶¶[0013]-[0016], [0032]-[0042], [0045]-[0053], Figs. 1-2.)
However, Gephart does not teach or suggest (1) providing a plurality of heat transfer medium (HTM) loops, (2) each HTM loop comprising a closed recirculating circuit containing its own heat transfer medium and circulating without direct fluid communication with another HTM loop, (3) employing different HTM compositions, including at least one aqueous HTM loop and at least one non-aqueous HTM loop, or (4) assigning different HTM loops to different temperature duties associated with multiple condensation stages.
Wolf teaches recovering heat from a plastic pyrolysis process through multiple heat-transfer circuits (WT1-WT5) operating at different process locations and temperature levels, thereby providing a plurality of independent heat-transfer circuits for staged heat recovery and process integration. (Wolf, ¶¶[0044]-[0049], [0060]-[0068], Fig. 3.)
However, Wolf does not expressly teach that the multiple heat-transfer circuits employ different HTM compositions, such as aqueous and non-aqueous heat-transfer media, or that separate HTM loops are specifically assigned to upstream and downstream condensation duties.
McBay teaches industrial heat-transfer systems employing multiple independent closed-loop heat-transfer circuits, wherein separate thermal-oil (non-aqueous) loops and hot-water (aqueous) loops circulate independently through their respective heat exchangers without direct fluid communication. McBay further teaches selecting different HTM compositions for different temperature ranges, wherein thermal-oil loops are used for higher-temperature heat duties and hot-water loops are used for lower-temperature heat duties. (McBay, ¶¶[0020], [0038], [0041]-[0043], [0050], Figs. 2-4.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heat-recovery system of Gephart by incorporating the multiple heat-transfer circuits taught by Wolf and implementing those circuits as separate closed-loop HTM systems employing different heat-transfer media, as taught by McBay, because the use of independent thermal-oil and hot-water loops for different process temperature ranges was a known industrial heat-integration technique that predictably improves thermal efficiency, provides independent temperature control, prevents mixing of incompatible heat-transfer media, and enhances operational reliability. Furthermore, because the upstream condensation stages operate at higher temperatures than downstream condensation stages, it would have been an obvious matter of engineering optimization to assign the higher-temperature upstream condenser(s) to a non-aqueous thermal-oil loop and the lower-temperature downstream condenser(s) to an aqueous hot-water loop in accordance with McBay's teaching of selecting HTMs according to process temperature requirements. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
Regarding claims 2, 3, 12 and 13, Gephart teaches recovering heat from the condensation section and using the recovered heat to preheat feed materials, including heating waste plastic upstream of the liquification vessel and heating liquified plastic upstream of the pyrolysis reactor. (Gephart, ¶¶[0032], [0041], [0045], [0051], [0061]-[0063].)
Regarding Claims 4, 5, 14 and 15, Gephart teaches three sequential condensers that each condense a portion of the pyrolysis vapors into separate hydrocarbon fractions. (Gephart, ¶¶[0040]-[0042], [0050]-[0053].) Wolf further teaches staged heat recovery through multiple heat-transfer circuits associated with multiple condensation stages. (Wolf, ¶¶[0044]-[0049], [0060]-[0068].) Providing at least three condensation stages represents routine optimization of a known process variable.
Regarding Claims 6 and 16, Gephart teaches producing a plurality of pyrolysis oil streams through multiple condensation stages. (Gephart, ¶¶[0040]-[0042], [0050]-[0053].) However, Gephart does not teach introducing one or more recovered pyrolysis oil streams into a cracking facility. Wolf teaches conveying recovered hydrocarbon fractions into a cracking tower for further cracking of long-chain hydrocarbons into shorter hydrocarbons. (Wolf, ¶[0006]; ¶[0035].) It would have been obvious to further process one or more of Gephart's recovered pyrolysis oil streams in Wolf's cracking tower in order to increase conversion of heavier hydrocarbons into more valuable lighter hydrocarbons, thereby improving product quality and yield.
Regarding claims 7-10 and 18-20, McBay teaches using aqueous heat-transfer media (hot water) and non-aqueous heat-transfer media (thermal oil) in separate closed-loop heat-transfer systems serving different temperature ranges. (McBay, ¶¶[0020], [0038], [0041]-[0043], [0050].) Selection of thermal oil as the non-aqueous HTM satisfies the claimed non-aqueous HTM, while thermal oil operating at temperatures of at least 270°C and 300°C represents routine industrial operation for high-temperature heat recovery. Selection of thermal oil satisfies the claimed genus of oil, siloxane, molten salt, or molten metal.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAM M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771