DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant has amended Claims 1 and 16. Claims 1, 5, 6, 9 – 16, and 22 – 25 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered.
Applicant amended the independent claims by rolling up features of Claims 10, 13, and 23. Applicant argues that the Goethals reference teaches a standard intercooler that simply removes and rejects heat of compression, not a cross-cycle intercooler that transfers heat from one cycle to another cycle. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As noted in the previous rejection, examiner relied on Figure 5 of Goethals and mapped to intercoolers (14a, 14b). While Goethals does teach additional coolers (20a, 20b) between the compressors (2a, 2b) that act to further cool the compressed gas and do simply remove and reject the heat, the intercoolers (14a, 14b) that were/are relied on for the rejection are in fluid communication with an organic Rankine cycle (ORC 12) and act to transfer waste heat of compression from the compressed gas to the working fluid of the ORC. As shown in Figure 5 and described in Paragraphs 56 – 61, upon exiting the pump (13) of the ORC, the working fluid is split such that some working fluid flows to intercooler (14a) and some flows to intercooler (14b), wherein the intercoolers act as evaporators such that they are able “to extract heat, on the one hand from the compressed gas coming from the compressor element 2a and on the other hand from the compressed gas coming from the compressor element 2b, to which one evaporator 14a is incorporated in the intermediate pressure pipe 9a and the other evaporator 14b is incorporated in the pressure pipe 9b” (Paragraph 57) and deliver that heat to the ORC (Paragraph 59). Thus Goethals teaches the intercooler features claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
:
Claims 10, 13, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claims 10, 13, and 23 all recite components/steps (second compressor, intercooler between the first and second compressors) that are now already recited in their respective independent claims as per the most recent amendment. As such, these claims are not further limiting. Note that cancellation of these claims will also require amending the dependencies of Claims 11, 12, 14, 24 and 25 to avoid 112b issues.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 9, 10, 13, 15, 16, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bandhauer et al. (hereafter “Bandhauer” – US 2021/0156597) in view of Goethals et al. (hereafter “Goethals” – US 2017/0254223), Yanagi (US 2017/0241679), and Zhang et al. (hereafter “Zhang” – CN 109386332).
With regards to Claims 1, 10, 13, 16, and 23:
Bandhauer discloses a system and method thereof for turbo-compression cooling (Figure 21, with TCCS based on labels from Figure 12, see Paragraph 147) in a facility having a cooling loop (chilled water loop 514x) and a generator (generator 500) having a plurality of waste heat streams (see e.g. Fig. 10), the system comprising:
a power cycle (power cycle 516) comprising:
a first working fluid (fluid 530);
a mechanical pump (pump 524);
a waste heat boiler (waste heat boiler 528) configured to evaporate the working fluid (Paragraph 134), the waste heat boiler configured to receive waste heat from one or more of the plurality of waste heat streams from the generator (Paragraph 133);
a turbine (turbine 532) configured to receive the evaporated first working fluid from the waste heat boiler, the turbine having a plurality of vanes disposed around a central shaft and configured to rotate about the central shaft, the plurality of vanes configured to rotate as the first working fluid expands to a lower pressure (see Claim 1); and
a first condenser (condenser 522) configured to receive the first working fluid from the turbine and configured to condense the first working fluid to a saturated or subcooled liquid (Paragraph 133);
a recuperator (recuperator 526, Figures 12 and 21 of Bandhauer) configured to receive heat rejected by the first working fluid from the turbine, and wherein the recuperator is configured to transfer the rejected heat to the saturated or subcooled liquid from the first condenser as the first working fluid re-enters the waste heat boiler (see Figures 12 and 21 of Bandhauer).
a cooling cycle (cooling cycle 518) comprising:
a second working fluid (fluid 538);
a first compressor (compressor 534) configured to increase the pressure of the second working fluid;
a second condenser (condenser 544) configured to receive the second working fluid from the first compressor and configured to condense the second working fluid to a saturated or subcooled liquid (Paragraph 135);
an expansion valve (“expansion valve”, Figure 12) configured to receive the second working fluid from the second condenser and configured to expand the second working fluid to a lower pressure (Paragraph 135);
an evaporator (evaporator 540) configured to receive the second working fluid from the expansion valve and configured to reject heat from a circulating fluid (“chilled water”, Figure 21) to the second working fluid, thereby cooling the circulating fluid;
a second compressor (unlabeled second compressor in Figure 21) configured to discharge the second working fluid to the first compressor wherein the second compressor is electrically powered; and wherein the first compressor is powered via the waste heat from the waste heat boiler (see Figure 21 and Paragraph 148 of Bandhauer: “Still referring to FIG. 21, the overall electric power requirement to generate an equivalent amount of cooling will be significantly reduced by using two compressors, one heat driven and the other electrically driven”);
controlling the amount of second working fluid flowing through the second condenser (Paragraph 115); and
wherein the turbine and first compressor are directly coupled on a single shaft (via shaft 536 to form turbo-compressor 520, see Figure 12, Paragraph 133, 143), thereby coupling the power cycle and the cooling cycle.
Bandhauer does not explicitly an intercooler configured to receive and cool the second working fluid from the second compressor prior to compressing the second working fluid via the first compressor, wherein the intercooler is further configured to transfer heat from the second working fluid to the first working fluid. Intercoolers are widely known in the art. Goethals (Figure 5) teaches a pair of compressors (2a, 2b), having an intercooler (14a, 14b) between them, wherein the intercooler is part of both the compressor pipeline (9a, 9b) and also a power cycle (12) including a working fluid (see Paragraph 34, power cycle 12 is an ORC), such that the heat of compression is transferred from the gas compressed by the compressors to the working fluid of the ORC (Paragraphs 57 – 59). Intercooling is known to remove heat of compression, thereby improving the efficiency of the compression process (Paragraph 4 of Goethals) and transferring said waste heat to a power cycle further improves the efficiency of the overall system. MPEP 2143A teaches it is obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods in order to yield predictable results. In this case, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Bandhauer by adding an intercooler between the compression stages and transferring the waste heat of compression (from fluid 538) to the working fluid (working fluid 530) in order to yield the predictable benefits described above.
Bandhauer does not explicitly disclose the first condenser and second condenser are a common unit forming a single unit condenser. However, in Paragraph 163, Bandhauer teaches that “the condensers … may be combined into a single condenser”. Nevertheless, Yanagi (Figure 1) teaches a similar system including a power cycle including a turbine (16), a pump (20), and an evaporator (14), wherein the turbine is coupled to and drives a compressor (44) of a cooling cycle including an expansion valve (46) and an evaporator (42). Yanagi teaches that the power cycle and cooling cycle share a common condenser (18), as shown in Figure 1 and described in Paragraph 28. Yanagi teaches that “[t]he condenser 18 which is common to both the ORC system 12 and the heat pump system 40 is advantageous as the heat recovered via the heat output 62 is from both the ORC system 12 and the heat pump system 40” (Paragraph 34), in addition to the well-known advantage of reducing the number of components in the overall system. Given the teachings of Bandhauer and Yanagi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Bandhauer by making the condensers of both cycles into a shared common single unit condenser in order to yield the predictable benefits described above.
Bandhauer does not explicitly disclose the single unit condenser is an evaporative condenser. Zhang (Figures 1, 2) teaches an organic Rankine cycle including a turbine (4) and a condenser (7) which is of the evaporative type, wherein the condenser comprises a common coil (coil 14, Figure 2 of Zhang) receiving the first and second working fluid, respectively, a fan (fan 11) configured to pull air over the common coil, and a recirculating water system (recirculating via pump 16, Figure 2 of Zhang) configured to deposit spray water on an exterior of the common coil (via spray nozzle 13, Figure 2 of Zhang). Zhang teaches that with an evaporative condenser “the ORC theoretical efficiency of the device is increased by more than 5%” (Paragraph 13) partially due to the lower power consumption of the circulating pump and fan, and the lower condensation temperature (Paragraph 13). These advantages are equally desirable in a cooling cycle. Given these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Bandhauer to utilize an evaporative type condenser in order to yield the predicable benefits described above.
Bandhauer does not explicitly disclose a cross-cycle economizer configured to receive and cool the second working fluid exiting the first compressor and heat the first fluid exiting the single unit condenser. In another embodiment (Figure 23), Bandhauer teaches “the three-fluid recuperator 526 is replaced with a two-fluid recuperator 602 and an economizer 604” (Paragraph 157) configured to receive and cool the second working fluid exiting the first compressor and heat the first fluid exiting the condenser (as seen in Figure 23). Separating the recuperator and economizer into separate units allows for each unit to be tailored to the specific ranges of working fluid temperature, thereby improving efficiency of the system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Bandhauer as modified in Claim 1 by separating the recuperator into separate recuperator and economizer sections as shown in the embodiment of Figure 23 in order to yield the predictable results described above.
With regards to Claim 5:
The Bandhauer modification of Claim 1 teaches the first and second working fluid is a single refrigerant (“the first working fluid and the second working fluid are the same fluid” – Paragraphs 10, 15, 39, 47, 85 of Bandhauer).
With regards to Claims 9 and 22:
The Bandhauer modification of Claim 1 teaches a suction-line heat exchanger SLHX 542, Figures 12 and 21 of Bandhauer) configured to receive and heat the second working fluid prior to compressing the second working fluid via the first compressor (see Figures 12 and 21 of Bandhauer).
With regards to Claim 15:
The Bandhauer modification of Claim 1 teaches the circulating fluid is at least one of water, water glycol mixture, ammonia, and air and is part of the cooling loop (“chilled water”, Figure 21, Paragraph 153 of Bandhauer).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bandhauer et al. (hereafter “Bandhauer” – US 2021/0156597) in view of Goethals et al. (hereafter “Goethals” – US 2017/0254223), Yanagi (US 2017/0241679), and Zhang et al. (hereafter “Zhang” – CN 109386332), further in view of Okaichi et al. (hereafter “Okaichi” – US 2016/0017760).
With regards to Claim 6:
The Bandhauer modification of Claim 1 mentions the use of R1234ze(e) as a possible fluid in the cooling loop, but does not explicitly teach the single refrigerant working fluid is R1234ze(E). Okaichi (Figure 1) teaches a co-generating system including an organic Rankine cycle (30) including a working fluid which may be R1234ze(E) (Paragraph 51). Given that the claimed refrigerant is known to be used in organic Rankine cycles, which the power cycle of Bandhauer is, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Bandhauer as modified in Claim 1 by utilizing R1234ze(e) as the working fluid in each cycle in order to yield the predictable result of absorbing/dissipating heat appropriately to operate each cycle.
Claims 11, 14, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bandhauer et al. (hereafter “Bandhauer” – US 2021/0156597) in view of Goethals et al. (hereafter “Goethals” – US 2017/0254223), Yanagi (US 2017/0241679), and Zhang et al. (hereafter “Zhang” – CN 109386332), further in view of Samoilov et al. (hereafter “Samoilov” – EP 2905432).
With regards to Claims 11, 14, and 24:
The Bandhauer modification of Claims 1 and 16 does not explicitly teach a third compressor configured to discharge the second working fluid from the third compressor to the second compressor wherein the third compressor is electrically powered, and a fourth compressor configured to discharge the second working fluid to the first compressor wherein the fourth compressor is powered via the waste heat from the waste heat boiler. However, Bandhauer teaches that “with the use of multiple compressors into the system 700, compressor 714 can operate to the right of the surge line 722 throughout all ranges of use” (Paragraph 167) and that the “the electrical requirements of an additional compressor are more than offset by the total system gains in efficiency” (Paragraph 164). In another example, Samoilov teaches an energy system wherein in one embodiment (Figure 1), a single compressor is used, in another embodiment (Figure 33), two compressors in series are used, and in another embodiment (Figure 11), three compressors in series are used – all to accomplish the same task. As shown via the linkages (16, 21), some of the compressors are driven by turbine expanders (20) and others are driven by electrical sources (4). Given the teachings of both Bandhauer and Samoilov, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to add another electrically driven compressor in series with the compressors of Bandhauer and a fourth compressor driven by the turbine in order to reduce the pressure ratio of each compressor, thereby keeping each compressor out of a surge situation.
Claims 12 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bandhauer et al. (hereafter “Bandhauer” – US 2021/0156597) in view of Goethals et al. (hereafter “Goethals” – US 2017/0254223), Yanagi (US 2017/0241679), and Zhang et al. (hereafter “Zhang” – CN 109386332), further in view of Narreau (US 5095712).
With regards to Claims 12 and 25:
The Bandhauer modification of Claim 1 does not explicitly teach a cooling-cycle economizer configured to receive and cool a first portion of the second working fluid prior to entering the evaporator and to receive a second portion of the second working fluid expanded by a second expansion valve and exiting the single unit condenser prior to entering the cooling-cycle economizer. Narreau (Figure 1) teaches a cooling cycle including multiple compressors (12, 14), a condenser (18), an evaporator (28), and an expansion valve (24). Narreau goes on to teach a cooling-cycle economizer (22) configured to receive and cool a first portion (20) of the second working fluid prior to entering the evaporator and to receive a second portion (20a) of the second working fluid expanded by a second expansion valve (34) and exiting the second evaporative condenser prior to entering the cooling-cycle economizer, said second portion entering the second compressors (via line 36). Narreau teaches that the economizer and second flow path through the second expansion valve allow for accommodation of cycling compressors and matching suction pressures, and for “variable capacity control together with very tight control of the refrigerated space temperature” (Col. 1, Lines 39+). MPEP 2143A teaches it is obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods in order to yield predictable results. In this case, the addition of an economizer and a second portion pathway with a second expansion valve as shown in Figure 1 of Narreau is known in the art to yield a more stable cooling temperature and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the Bandhauer modification as modified in Claim 1 to add the components above in order to yield these predictable benefits.
Inquiries
/Laert Dounis/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
Monday, June 22, 2026