DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed on 12/01/2025.
In the instant Amendment, filed on 12/01/2025, claims 1-13 have been examined and are pending in this application. Claims 1, 12, and 13 are independent.
This Action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments/Remarks
As to the objections to claims 1-4, 6-10, 12, and 13, the objections are withdrawn as the claims have been amended, resolving the issue.
As to claims 1-1-4 and 6-10, which had been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, the Applicant submitted that terms “authentication terminal,” “server apparatus,” and “terminal,” are not generic placeholders. A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand the terms to be hardware elements (Applicant Argument/Remarks, 12/01/2025, page 9).
The Examiner disagrees with the Applicants, and the claim interpretation interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, has been maintained. The Examiner respectfully submits that the “authentication terminal,” “server apparatus,” and “terminal,” are generic placeholders not a known hardware element. For instance, a server, comprising a memory and microprocessor executing instructions configured to perform a set of function is different that than a “server apparatus” that perform functions. As of ordinary skill in the art would understand what specific “apparatus” that is within or associated with a server, and what specific hardware configuration of the “apparatus” that performs claimed function. Similar, analogy applies for the “terminal” and “authentication terminal”. Applicant may amend the claim, in light of the original disclosure, refining each system elements, including with specific hardware element, such as, memory and hardware processor, for obviating the made 112(f) interpretation.
As to the double patenting rejections to claims 1, 2, 12, and 13, which were provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting, per Applicant’s request, that the rejection be withdrawn, as a Notice of Abandonment was issued in Application 18/276,185 on June 3, 2025 (Applicant Argument/Remarks, 12/01/2025, page 9).
The Examiner submits that while the reference application is abandoned, the Applicant has a provision to revive the abandoned application, submitting necessary petition documents, and therefore, it would be most appropriate to hold the made double patenting rejections abeyance until the instant application considered for allowance. Applicant will not have to take any action at this moment regarding this issue.
Applicant’s arguments in the instant Amendment, filed on 12/01/2025, with respect to the prior-art rejections to claims 1-13, have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection, where a new ground of rejection is applied with new art that is necessitated based on the amendment.
Double Patenting
As to the nonstatutory double patenting rejections to claims 1, 2, 12, and 13, which were provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting, made in Non-Final office action, have been hold in abeyance until the instant application considered for allowance
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakaguchi et al (“Sakaguchi,” US 2020/0118369, published on 04/16/2020), in view of Khota (“Khota,” US 2004/0188520, published on 09/30/2004), and further in view of Hayase et al (“Hayase,” US 2019/0057249, published on 02/21/2019).
As to claim 1, Sakaguchi teaches a system (Sakaguchi: pars 0007-0008, 0044; Fig 1, an apparatus and method for registering user information, including user’s biometric information, and performing a verification/authentication during a boarding and check-in procedure at an entry/pass gate), comprising:
an authentication terminal (Sakaguchi: pars 0044, 0046; Fig 1, includes an authentication interface terminal, in the form of: a check-in terminal, an automatic baggage deposit machine, a security inspection apparatus, an automated gate apparatus, signage terminals, or a boarding gate apparatus, etc.);
a server apparatus (Sakaguchi: pars 0044, 0046, 0058; Fig 1, includes a management server for user verification/authentication process); and
a terminal configured to stores [ ] qualification information on a qualification required to receive a service from the authentication terminal (Sakaguchi: pars 0007, 0057-0064, 0071; Fig 1, a user carries and boarding/ticketing/passport information [i.e. qualification information] to use check-in service; mobile terminal displaying a duplicate of an e-ticket, or the like),
[ ] transmit a user information notification including the first biometric information and the qualification information to the authentication terminal when the terminal is ready to communicate with the authentication terminal (Sakaguchi: pars 0007, 0057-0064, 0071; Fig 1, at the authentication interface terminal [i.e., authentication terminal] flight ticket, e-ticket of a user is acquired by the authentication interface terminal from the user mobile device, and also receives passport information including passport face information, passport number, a passport issuance country, etc.),
wherein the authentication terminal is configured to transmit the qualification information included in the user information notification to the server apparatus (Sakaguchi: pars 0058-0059, user information transmission unit of the interface terminal [i.e., authentication terminal] transmits user information of the user to the management server).
wherein the server apparatus is configured to determine a validity of the qualification information and transmit a determination result to the authentication terminal (Sakaguchi: pars 0058-0061, the management server performed verification of the user identity using the user information, including boarding/ticketing information [i.e. qualification information], and informed the interface terminal on the result of the verification).
wherein the authentication terminal is configured to store the first biometric information included in the user information notification in association with the determination result received from the server apparatus, and
wherein the authentication terminal configured to acquire second biometric information of the user after the user arrives at the authentication terminal to receive the service (Sakaguchi: pars 0007, 0057-0064; Fig 1, at the authentication interface terminal, for example, at the check-in terminal, obtain approached user’s information, including user’s face image [i.e. acquiring second biometric information] and boarding/ticketing/passport information [i.e. qualification information]), identify the user arriving at the authentication terminal to receive the service by a matching processing (Sakaguchi: pars 0007, 0057 user is identified by a comparison between the biometrics information acquired by the termina, and the registered biometrics information. Performs comparison between the passport face image and the captured face image) using the acquired second biometric information and the stored first biometric information, and
provide the service to the user when the determination result of the identified user indicates that the qualification information is valid (Sakaguchi: pars 0007, 0057-0064; Fig 1, upon a successful verification the user is allowed to pass through the access control gate/facility or process the check-in service).
Sakaguchi does not explicitly teach a terminal configured to store first biometric information of a user and qualification information; and wherein the terminal configured to transmit.
However, in an analogous art, Khota teaches a terminal configured to store first biometric information of a user and qualification information (Khota: pars 0016, 0037-0045; Fig 1, a mobile terminal/phone receives an electronic ticket from a ticket issuing center and stores the electronic ticket, the electronic ticket includes the ticket information for [i.e. qualification information] user access authentication and user biological information, or an electronic certificate including the biological information); and wherein the terminal configured to transmit (Khota: pars 0017, 0037-0045; Fig 1, the mobile terminal/phone transmit the ticket information stored in the storage to the authentication terminal, for performing user authentication process).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Khota with the method/system of Sakaguchi to include a mobile terminal/phone, and to include the limitation(s), a terminal configured to store first biometric information of a user and qualification information; and wherein the terminal configured to transmit, where one would have been motivated to store an electronic boarding/ticketing/passport information including with user biometric information on a mobile terminal/phone and transmit them from the mobile terminal/phone to the authentication terminal for an for the benefit of providing a user with a means for using a convenient way to store, maintain, and transmit the information during check in (Khota: pars 0016-0017, 0037-0045; Fig 1).
Sakaguchi or Khota does not explicitly wherein the authentication terminal is configured to store the first biometric information included in the user information notification in association with the determination result received from the server apparatus, and matching processing using the acquired second biometric information and the stored first biometric information.
However, in an analogous art, Hayase teaches wherein the authentication terminal is configured to store the first biometric information included in the user information notification in association with the determination result received from the server apparatus, and matching processing using the acquired second biometric information and the stored first biometric information (Hayase: pars 0101, 0124; Fig 2, a face matching control unit performs matching with the collected user face image and information with the registered face image in association with ID information of an annual pass on ticket presentation information, stored in the local storage unit 304 [local storage]. Where the registered information is transmitted from the storage unit of the data center [i.e., a remote server storage] to the storage unit 304 [local storage], and stored within, a predetermined period before the ticket presentation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hayase with the method/system of Sakaguchi and Khota to include a mobile terminal/phone, and to include the limitation(s), wherein the authentication terminal is configured to store the first biometric information included in the user information notification in association with the determination result received from the server apparatus, and matching processing using the acquired second biometric information and the stored first biometric information, where one would have been motivated to obtain and store the registered user biometric and qualification information association at the local storage unit so that the verification can be done comparing with the registered information at the authentication unit, without contacting the data center/server, for faster and reliable process.
As to claim 2, the combination of Sakaguchi, Khota, and Hayase teaches the system according to claim 1,
Sakaguchi and Khota further teaches wherein the terminal is further configured to transmit third biometric information of the user and an identity verification document of the user to the server apparatus, wherein the server apparatus is further configured to verify an identity of the user using the third biometric information and fourth biometric information described in the identity verification document and notifies the terminal of a result of the identity verification, and wherein the terminal is further configured to store the third biometric information as the first biometric information to be transmitted to the authentication terminal when the identity verification is successful (Sakaguchi: pars 0007, 0059, 0061, 0066, 0071 biometric information of a user along with user’s identity information is pre-registered with the management server for obtaining boarding/check-in ticket medium that is accessible on user mobile device. At the authentication interface terminal, for example, at the check-in terminal, obtain approached user’s information, including user’s face image [i.e. biometric information] and boarding/ticketing/passport information [i.e. qualification information], and perform a comparison of the face image with the previously stored registered information of the user for verification. Khota: pars 0016, 0037-0045; Fig 1, a mobile terminal/phone receives and stores the electronic ticket, the electronic ticket includes the ticket information for user access authentication and user biological information, or an electronic certificate including the biological information).
As to claim 3, the combination of Sakaguchi, Khota, and Hayase teaches the system according to claim 1,
Sakaguchi and Khota further teaches wherein the server apparatus is further configured to sells a ticket to the user and transmits a ticket ID of the sold ticket to the terminal, wherein the terminal apparatus is further configured to transmit the user information notification including the ticket ID as the qualification information to the authentication terminal, wherein the authentication terminal apparatus is further configured to transmit the ticket ID to the server apparatus, and wherein the server apparatus determines a validity of the ticket ID based on information of the sold ticket corresponding to the ticket ID (Khota: pars 0016, 0037-0045; Fig 1, a mobile terminal/phone receives an electronic ticket from a ticket issuing center and stores the electronic ticket, the electronic ticket includes the ticket information for [i.e. qualification information] user access authentication and user biological information, or an electronic certificate including the biological information. Sakaguchi: pars 0007, 0057-0064; Fig 1, at the authentication interface terminal, for example, at the check-in terminal, obtain approached user’s information, including user’s face image [i.e. biometric information] and boarding/ticketing/passport information [i.e. qualification information], and perform a comparison of the face image with the previously stored registered information of the user for verification. Sakaguchi: pars0058-0059, user information transmission unit of the interface terminal transmits user information of the user to the management server. The management server performed verification of the user identity using the user information, including boarding/ticketing information, and informed the interface terminal on the result of the verification).
As to claim 4, the combination of Sakaguchi, Khota, and Hayase teaches the system according to claim 3,
Sakaguchi and Khota further teaches wherein the server apparatus is further configured to generate the ticket ID when the user indicates his or her intention to use the sold ticket, and transmits the generated ticket ID to the terminal (Sakaguchi: pars 0007, 0059, 0061, 0066, 0071, biometric information of a user along with user’s identity information is pre-registered with the management server for obtaining boarding/check-in ticket medium that is accessible on user mobile device. Khota: pars 0016, 0037-0045; Fig 1, the user uses a mobile terminal/phone to perform a ticket purchase process, and receives electronic ticket that is transmitted from the ticket issuing center, and stores the electronic ticket).
As to claim 5, the combination of Sakaguchi, Khota, and Hayase teaches the system according to claim 4,
Sakaguchi further teaches wherein the ticket sold to the user is a tour ticket for transportation (Sakaguchi: pars 0061, 0071, 0099, the ticket is flight ticket, boarding pass/information, etc.)
As to claim 6, the combination of Sakaguchi, Khota, and Hayase teaches the system according to claim 5,
Sakaguchi and Khota further teaches wherein the server apparatus is further configured to determine the validity of the ticket ID based on a type of the tour ticket and a date and time when the user indicated his or her intention to use the ticket (Sakaguchi: pars 0061, 0063, 0099, the boarding pass/information [i.e., the ticket], includes a departure date and time, an arrival date and time of an airplane which the user is scheduled to board).
As to claim 8, the combination of Sakaguchi, Khota, and Hayase teaches the system according to claim 2,
Sakaguchi further teaches wherein the server apparatus is further configured to store membership information of the user if the user is registered as a member, and determine that the identity verification is successful when a one-to-one matching using the third biometric information and the fourth biometric information is successful and when personal information acquired from the identity verification document and the membership information of the user registered in advance in the server apparatus are matched (Sakaguchi: pars 0007, 0059, 0061, 0066, 0071, biometric information of a user along with user’s identity information is pre-registered with the management server for obtaining boarding/check-in ticket medium that is accessible on user mobile device. At the authentication interface terminal, for example, at the check-in terminal, obtain approached user’s information, including user’s face image [i.e. biometric information] and boarding/ticketing/passport information, and perform a comparison of the face image with the previously stored registered information of the user for verification.).
As to claim 9, the combination of Sakaguchi, Khota, and Hayase teaches the system according to claim 1,
Sakaguchi further teaches wherein the terminal is further configured to communicate with the authentication terminal through a short-range wireless communication (Sakaguchi: pars 0215, 0223, short-range wireless communication, scheme such as Wi-Fi®, a Bluetooth® communication scheme, a Near Field Communication (NFC) scheme, etc. are used in mobile device communication).
As to claim 10, the combination of Sakaguchi, Khota, and Hayase teaches the system according to claim 1,
Sakaguchi further teaches wherein the terminal is further configured to communicate with the authentication terminal via Bluetooth (registered trademark) (Sakaguchi: pars 0215, 0223, short-range wireless communication, scheme such as Wi-Fi®, a Bluetooth® communication scheme, a Near Field Communication (NFC) scheme, etc. are used in mobile device communication).
As to claim 11, the combination of Sakaguchi, Khota, and Hayase teaches the system according to claim 1,
Sakaguchi further teaches wherein the biometric information is a face image or a feature value generated from the face image (Sakaguchi: pars 0007, 0059, 0061, 0066, 0071, biometric information, including user’s face image, of a user along with user’s identity information is used for user boarding/check-in verification procedure).
As to claim 12, the claim is directed to an authentication terminal, and the scope of the claim limitations is similar to the scope of system claim 1, and therefore, rejected for the same reason set forth above for claim 1.
As to claim 13, the claim is directed to a control method of an authentication terminal, and the scope of the claim limitations is similar to the scope of system claim 1, and therefore, rejected for the same reason set forth above for claim 1.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakaguchi et al (“Sakaguchi,” US 2020/0118369, published on 04/16/2020), in view of Khota (“Khota,” US 2004/0188520, published on 09/30/2004), and further in view of Hayase et al (“Hayase,” US 2019/0057249, published on 02/21/2019) and Palmer, III (“Palmer,” US 2020/0327310, published on 10/15/2020).
As to claim 7, the combination of Sakaguchi and Khota teaches the system according to claim 2,
Sakaguchi, Khota, and Hayase teaches of using biometric information for user verification, but Sakaguchi, Khota, or Hayase does not explicitly teaches wherein the server apparatus transmits the third biometric information and the identity verification document to an identity verification server that provides an eKYC (electronic Know Your Customer) service and requests the identity verification of the user to the identity verification server.
However, in an analogous art, Palmer teaches wherein the server apparatus transmits the third biometric information and the identity verification document to an identity verification server that provides an eKYC (electronic Know Your Customer) service and requests the identity verification of the user to the identity verification server (Palmer: pars 0020, 0040, a third-party account utilizing the identity verification in an embodiment of the system, where system is used as a part of Know-Your-Customer (KYC) for identity verification solutions in the field of ticket/security checkpoint for check-in process).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Palmer with the method/system of Sakaguchi, Khota, and Hayase to include KYC process, and to include the limitation(s), wherein the server apparatus transmits the third biometric information and the identity verification document to an identity verification server that provides an eKYC (electronic Know Your Customer) service and requests the identity verification of the user to the identity verification server, where one would have been motivated to use eKYC process for managing highly secure user authentication process, involving biometric information, that in compliance with security requirements for user authentication and identity assurance that is expected/used by the associated authority or service provider (Palmer: pars 0020, 0040).
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAHANGIR KABIR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439