DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgements
In the reply filed May 18, 2026, the applicant amended claim 1.
Currently claims 1-11 are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification does not contain a written description for the newly added limitation “a helical pathway having a seed riding surface and a seed guide wall connected to the first end” as seen in claim 1. While the specification does incorporate US 20200367425 by reference, which teaches a helical pathway, the specification does not describe possession of the combination. A disclosure that merely renders the subject matter obvious is not sufficient to meet the written description requirement; the disclosure must describe the claimed invention with all its limitations.
Claims 2-11 are rejected as being dependent from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell (U.S. Patent No. 1,416,331) in view of Garner (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0086358).
Regarding Claim 1, Campbell discloses a seed boot (Campbell: 8) comprising:
A leading edge (Campbell: 17);
A channel (Campbell: within 8) for transporting seed opposite the leading edge (Campbell: 17), wherein the channel (Campbell: within 8) has a first end (Campbell: upper end of 8) and a second end (Campbell: lower end of 8 near 19), and further comprising a channel exit (Campbell: 19) at the second end (Campbell: lower end of 8 near 19);
A wedge (Campbell: 13) for forming a trench disposed at a bottom of the seed boot, wherein the wedge (Campbell: 13) extends from the leading edge (Campbell: 17) and terminates before the channel exit (Campbell: 19).
Campbell does not disclose a helical pathway having a seed riding surface and a seed guide wall connected to the first end.
Garner discloses a helical pathway having a seed riding surface and a seed guide wall connected to the first end (Garner: Paragraph [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention’s filing to have supplemented the seed channel of Campbell with the helical portion of Garner with the well-known and predictable effect of aligning the seed delivery channel(s) between their respective openings and the outlets as stated by the disclosure of Garner (Garner: Paragraph [0027]).
Regarding Claim 2, Campbell and Garner render obvious the seed boot (Campbell: 8) of claim 1, wherein the wedge (Campbell: 13) is V-shaped.
Regarding Claim 3, Campbell and Garner render obvious the seed boot (Campbell: 8) of claim 1,wherein the second end (Campbell: lower end of 8 near 19) has sloped walls sloped inward and downward towards the channel exit (Campbell: 19) (8 transitions into walls sloped inward and downward as it transitions into 19).
Regarding Claim 4, Campbell and Garner render obvious the seed boot (Campbell: 8) of claim 1,wherein the leading edge (Campbell: 17) is knife shaped.
Regarding Claim 5, Campbell and Garner render obvious the seed boot (Campbell: 8) of claim 1 wherein the wedge (Campbell: 13) has walls having an angle β with respect to vertical, and the seed boot (Campbell: 8) has lower walls having an angle α with respect to the vertical, and angle α is different from angle β (interior of angle β is parallel to vertical for most of the length of 8, while angle α forms and acute angle with a vertical axis).
Regarding Claim 6, Campbell and Garner render obvious the seed boot (Campbell: 8) of claim 5, wherein angle α is greater than angle β (interior of angle β is parallel to vertical for most of the length of 8, while angle α forms and acute angle with a vertical axis).
Regarding Claim 7, Campbell and Garner render obvious the seed boot (Campbell: 8) of claim 1 further comprising:
A row unit comprising a row unit frame (Campbell: 4);
A coulter (Campbell: 3) rotationally attached to the frame; wherein
The seed boot (Campbell: 8) is disposed behind the coulter (Campbell: 3).
Regarding Claim 8, Campbell and Garner render obvious the seed boot (Campbell: 8) of claim 7, wherein the coulter (Campbell: 3) is a flat disc.
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell in view Garner, further in view of Jacobson (U.S. Patent No. 4,628,840).
Regarding Claim 9, Campbell and Garner render obvious the seed boot (Campbell: 8) of claim 7, but do not disclose wherein the coulter (Campbell: 3) is wavy.
Jacobson discloses a wavy coulter (Jacobson: 31: coulter has raised portions on outer surface.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention’s filing to have utilized the wavy coulter of Jacobson as a well-known alternative to the non-wavy coulter of Campbell for with predictable result of providing a wider slot when desirable.
Regarding Claim 10, Campbell and Garner render obvious the seed boot (Campbell: 8) of claim 7, but do not disclose wherein a curvature of the leading edge (Campbell: 17) is the same as a curvature of the coulter (Campbell: 3).
Jacobson discloses a curvature of the leading edge of a seed boot is the same as the curvature of a coulter (Jacobson: Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention’s filing to have utilized the similar curvatures of the boot and coulter of Jacobson in the invention of Campbell with the predictable result of minimizing the distance between the two while allowing the coulter to rotate.
Regarding Claim 11, Campbell and Garner render obvious the seed boot (Campbell: 8) of claim 7, but do not disclose wherein a bottom of the seed boot (Campbell: 8) is aligned with the coulter (Campbell: 3) in a horizontal plane.
Jacobson discloses the bottom of a seed boot being aligned with a coulter in a horizontal plane (Jacobson: Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention’s filing to have utilized the alignment of the boot and coulter of Jacobson in the invention of Campbell with the predictable and known result of consistently opening a slot for seeds by removing residue prior to the passage of the seed boot through its path.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell (U.S. Patent No. 1,416,331) in view of Dille (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/00367425).
Regarding Claim 1, Campbell discloses a seed boot (Campbell: 8) comprising:
A leading edge (Campbell: 17);
A channel (Campbell: within 8) for transporting seed opposite the leading edge (Campbell: 17), wherein the channel (Campbell: within 8) has a first end (Campbell: upper end of 8) and a second end (Campbell: lower end of 8 near 19), and further comprising a channel exit (Campbell: 19) at the second end (Campbell: lower end of 8 near 19);
A wedge (Campbell: 13) for forming a trench disposed at a bottom of the seed boot, wherein the wedge (Campbell: 13) extends from the leading edge (Campbell: 17) and terminates before the channel exit (Campbell: 19).
Campbell does not disclose a helical pathway having a seed riding surface and a seed guide wall connected to the first end.
Dille discloses a helical pathway having a seed riding surface and a seed guide wall connected to the first end (Dille, 40).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention’s filing to have supplemented the seed channel of Campbell with the helical portion of Dille with the well-known and predictable effect of aligning the seed delivery channel(s) between their respective openings and the outlets.
Regarding Claim 2, Campbell and Dille render obvious the seed boot (Campbell: 8) of claim 1, wherein the wedge (Campbell: 13) is V-shaped.
Regarding Claim 3, Campbell and Dille render obvious the seed boot (Campbell: 8) of claim 1,wherein the second end (Campbell: lower end of 8 near 19) has sloped walls sloped inward and downward towards the channel exit (Campbell: 19) (8 transitions into walls sloped inward and downward as it transitions into 19).
Regarding Claim 4, Campbell and Dille render obvious the seed boot (Campbell: 8) of claim 1,wherein the leading edge (Campbell: 17) is knife shaped.
Regarding Claim 5, Campbell and Dille render obvious the seed boot (Campbell: 8) of claim 1 wherein the wedge (Campbell: 13) has walls having an angle β with respect to vertical, and the seed boot (Campbell: 8) has lower walls having an angle α with respect to the vertical, and angle α is different from angle β (interior of angle β is parallel to vertical for most of the length of 8, while angle α forms and acute angle with a vertical axis).
Regarding Claim 6, Campbell and Dille render obvious the seed boot (Campbell: 8) of claim 5, wherein angle α is greater than angle β (interior of angle β is parallel to vertical for most of the length of 8, while angle α forms and acute angle with a vertical axis).
Regarding Claim 7, Campbell and Dille render obvious the seed boot (Campbell: 8) of claim 1 further comprising:
A row unit comprising a row unit frame (Campbell: 4);
A coulter (Campbell: 3) rotationally attached to the frame; wherein
The seed boot (Campbell: 8) is disposed behind the coulter (Campbell: 3).
Regarding Claim 8, Campbell and Dille render obvious the seed boot (Campbell: 8) of claim 7, wherein the coulter (Campbell: 3) is a flat disc.
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell in view Dille, further in view of Jacobson (U.S. Patent No. 4,628,840).
Regarding Claim 9, Campbell and Dille render obvious the seed boot (Campbell: 8) of claim 7, but do not disclose wherein the coulter (Campbell: 3) is wavy.
Jacobson discloses a wavy coulter (Jacobson: 31: coulter has raised portions on outer surface.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention’s filing to have utilized the wavy coulter of Jacobson as a well-known alternative to the non-wavy coulter of Campbell for with predictable result of providing a wider slot when desirable.
Regarding Claim 10, Campbell and Dille render obvious the seed boot (Campbell: 8) of claim 7, but do not disclose wherein a curvature of the leading edge (Campbell: 17) is the same as a curvature of the coulter (Campbell: 3).
Jacobson discloses a curvature of the leading edge of a seed boot is the same as the curvature of a coulter (Jacobson: Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention’s filing to have utilized the similar curvatures of the boot and coulter of Jacobson in the invention of Campbell with the predictable result of minimizing the distance between the two while allowing the coulter to rotate.
Regarding Claim 11, Campbell and Dille render obvious the seed boot (Campbell: 8) of claim 7, but do not disclose wherein a bottom of the seed boot (Campbell: 8) is aligned with the coulter (Campbell: 3) in a horizontal plane.
Jacobson discloses the bottom of a seed boot being aligned with a coulter in a horizontal plane (Jacobson: Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention’s filing to have utilized the alignment of the boot and coulter of Jacobson in the invention of Campbell with the predictable and known result of consistently opening a slot for seeds by removing residue prior to the passage of the seed boot through its path.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see reply, filed May 18, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-11 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Campbell and Jacobson, with the added limitations addressed by the invention of Dille.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DOUGLAS S. WOOD
Examiner
Art Unit 3672
/DOUGLAS S WOOD/Examiner, Art Unit 3672
/Nicole Coy/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3672