DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-11are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda (U.S. PGPUB 2022/0305392).
Re claim 1 and 12. Ikeda discloses an input device (see Fig. 25, object 12: a handheld gaming controller) comprising:
a grip including side surfaces shaped to be contacted by a palm of a user (see Fig 25: the game controller is held in the palm of a user’s hand).
and at least one operation member configured to be operated by the user with fingers (see Fig 2: input buttons, object 26), wherein
the grip includes a grip main body (see Fig. 25: object 12, except object 12H), a grip movable portions constituting a part of the side surfaces of the grip (see Fig. 25: object 12H: showing a bendable part of the game controller), and a vibration motor attached to the grip movable portion (see paragraph [0022, 0100, 0101]: a vibrator motor can be placed in the lower part or upper part of the controller. Here either part can be considered the grip or the grip moving body as both sides can be held within the palm of a user), and
a lateral position of the grip movable portion is adjustable relative to the grip main body (see Fig. 25: when the top portion is folded, the relative position and distance between the two is changed. Here lateral position is relative to the perspective that one views the controller. One can view the controller from the side and when the grip movable portion is rotated, then the lateral position is also rotated)
Ikeda fails to disclose that the vibration motor is in the grip movable portion. However, Ikeda teaches that the grip has a vibration motor, and thus rearranging such within the grip, is merely an obvious rearrangement of parts. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to rearrange the vibration motor as the known vibration motor serves the same function anywhere within the grip controller, and thus its rearrangement would’ve yielded predictable results.
Re claim 4: Ikeda discloses with respect to the input device according to claim 1, wherein
the grip includes a position adjusting mechanism between the grip main body and the grip movable portion (see Fig. 25: pivot point 84), and
the position adjusting mechanism includes a position adjustment operating section operated by the user and adjusts a relative position between the grip main body and the grip movable portion (see Fig. 25: the user can fold that portion of the controller down accordingly).
Re claim 5: Ikeda discloses with respect to the input device according to claim 4, wherein
the grip is shaped to extend in a first direction (see Fig. 25: the entire controller is arranged together in a first direction); and the position adjusting mechanism and the vibration motor are arranged in the first direction (see Fig 25: the entire controller including the adjusting mechanism and vibrating mechanism are arranged in the same direction).
Re claim 6: Ikeda discloses with respect to the input device according to claim 1, wherein the vibration motor is disposed between the grip main body and the grip movable portion and is covered by the grip movable portion (see paragraph [0022, 0100-0101]: the vibrator motor is located in the grip movable portion wherein it is covered in said portion).
Re claim 7 and 8: Ikeda discloses with respect to the input device according to claim 1, wherein
the grip is shaped to extend in a first direction (see Fig. 25: the grip is shaped in a straight vertical direction), and
the grip movable portion is a portion positioned in a second direction crossing the first direction relative to the grip main body (see Fig. 25: when the grip moving portion is folded the axis of the fold crosses with the direction of the grip).
Re claim 9: Ikeda discloses with respect to the input device according to claim 1, wherein the grip movable portion includes a first end and a second end opposite to the first end, and the first end includes a supported portion rotatably supported (see Fig. 25).
Re claim 10: Ikeda discloses the input device according to claim 1, wherein the number of the grips provided in the input device is one {see Fig. 25: the device can be gripped with one hand).
Re claim 11: Ikeda discloses the input device according to claim 1, comprising:
a right grip and a left grip as the grip (see Fig. 25: all the sides of the device are greppable, thus it has a right and left grip).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda in view of Rihn (U.S. PGPUB 2018/0369691).
Re claim 2 and 3: Ikeda fails to disclose an input device according to claim 1, comprising:
a hand holding member configured to fix a hand of the user to the grip movable portion.
However, Rihn discloses an input device that include a cord extending from the bottom the controller wherein the cord includes a loop to attach the controller to the user’s wrist (see Fig. 1b). Because the attachment mechanism is a cord in a side view of the input controller it can overlap with the area of the vibration motor as the chord can be arranged in a number of configurations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the controller with the cord safety system of Rihn, for the purpose of preventing the controller from leaving the hand of the user and potential causing harm.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
REGINALD A. RENWICK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3714
/REGINALD A RENWICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715