Claims 1-11, 14-22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of copending Application No. 18/682,368 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each claims an insulating covering for a wire including a polymer with a side chain, a metal ion, and a component on the side chain which is capable of forming an ionic bond with the metal ion, wherein the metal ion is releasable by heating.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-11, 14-22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of copending Application No. 18/682,344 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each claims an insulating covering for a wire including a polymer with a side chain, a metal ion, and a component on the side chain which is capable of forming an ionic bond with the metal ion wherein the metal ion is releasable by heating.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim(s) 1-11, 14-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2020002201A in view of Doumae et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0258321.
JP ‘201 discloses a molded body which has excellent mechanical strength, adhesion to metal and is useful as electrical insulation. See abstract and page 18, fourth full paragraph. JP ‘201 discloses providing metal ions which can form ionic bonds with substituents on a polymer to provide a crosslinked structure. By doing so, the structure has improved mechanical and thermal properties. The polymer can include a diene carboxylate which can form the ionic bond with the metal ion. See page 3, paragraph 7. Suitable metal ions include alkaline earth mentals, zirconium, zinc, aluminum . See page 4, final paragraph 7. A suitable polymer can be a silicone rubber having a methyl substituent in the polymer chain such as polydimethylsiloxane. See paragraph 3 of page 9. The composition can further comprise filler such as those claimed in amounts of 0-55% by mass based on the mass of the resin. With regard to the particle size, it would have been obvious to have selected a particle size which provided the optimum reinforcement of the structure. See page 15, paragraph 4-6.
JP ‘201 differs from the claimed invention because it does not disclose employing the composition as insulation for a wire per se and does not disclose that the polysiloxane has a side chain as claimed, the softening temperature, or the proportions of the components.
However, Doumae discloses a metal crosslinked organopolysiloxane. See paragraph 0019. Tg of the organopolysiloxane is -50C to 60 C. See paragraph 0026. The metal is probably zinc, copper, cobalt, nickel, manganese, magnesium and calcium. See paragraph 0028. The carboxylic acid containing vinyl copolymer block A is present in the weight percent of 5-98.5, the organopolysiloxanethio block B is in the range of 1-80% and the metal is in the range of 0.5-16%. See paragraph 0029. The portion of the resin capable of forming the ionic bond with the metal can be present on the side chain of the polymer and can be connected to the main chain by an alkyl or alkylene group. See 0097. Since the structure includes the same material the metal ion would necessarily be able to be released by heat and capable of forming a metal complex as claimed in claims 12-13.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have employed the particular types of organopolysiloxanes as taught by Doumae in the invention of JP ‘201, since JP ‘201 teaches employing such structures as electrically insulating materials which have good adhesion to metal. It further would have been obvious to have employed the composition of JP ‘201 as modified by Doumae as an insulating material for a wire and to have formed the crosslinked structure on a wire and wiring harness, in view of the teaching of JP ‘201 that the metal crosslinked polysiloxanes have good adhesion for metal and are useful as electrically insulating materials.
With regard to the claims as amended 2/26/26, the limitation “the metal ion can be released by heat as a metal ion capable of forming a metal complex with a beta-diketonato ligand or alkoxide ligand, and the metal ion can be released from the metal complex by heating at 50 degrees C or higher and 180 degrees C or lower”, does not appear to further limit the insulated wire structure but instead refers to a property of the metal ion. Since JP ‘201 teaches a structure including the metal ion which is capable of forming an ionic bond with the side chain of the silicone resin and forming a crosslinked product through the ionic bond between the substituent and the metal ion, the rejection is maintained because JP ‘201 teaches the same composition. Since Doumae teaches metal crosslinked polysiloxanes are useful as wire coatings for forming insulated wires, it would have been obvious to have used the composition of JP ‘201 to form an insulated wire coating.
With regard to new claims 20-22, JP ‘201 does not require the presence of radical generators, teaches the silicone resin can be polysiloxane, (see page 9), and does not require the presence of additional polymers.
Applicant's arguments filed 2/26/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that JP ‘201 does not teach the limitation that the metal ion can be released by heat as a metal ion capable of forming a metal complex with a beta-diketonato ligand or alkoxide ligand, and the metal ion can be released from the metal complex by heating at 50 degrees C or higher and 180 degrees C or lower. However, as set forth above, this limitation does not appear to further limit the structure of the insulated wire having the claimed coating. JP ‘201 teaches the claimed crosslinked structure including the polysiloxane and the metal ion. Further, JP ‘201 teaches metal ions which would necessarily have the claimed properties of forming a metal complex and being released from the metal complex by heating, since JP ‘201 teaches the metal ions which are used in the instant invention such as zinc.
With regard to the obviousness-type double patenting rejections, since the other pending applications each claim a metal ion which is released by heating, it would have been obvious to have selected a suitable temperature through the process of routine experimentation which would release the metal ion.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELIZABETH M IMANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789