DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
In the present application, claims 1-16 are currently pending. Claims 6, 8-11, and 14 have been amended.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8, 10, and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the limitation “first and second steering wires” in line 2 but references each wire individually throughout the rest of the claim and in the dependent claims. Therefore, for uniformity and clarity of the record, it is suggested to amend the limitation in line 2 of claim 1 to state, “a first steering wire and a second steering wire.”
Claim 1 recites the limitation “first and second drive wheel body portions” in line 4 but references each portion individually throughout the rest of the claim and in the dependent claims. Therefore, for uniformity and clarity, it is suggested to amend the limitation in line 4 of claim 1 to state, “a first drive wheel body portion and a second drive wheel body portion.”
Claim 8 recites the word “are” in line 2. However Claim 8 has been amended to depend from claim 6. Claim 6 only introduces one flexible arm. Therefore the word should be amended to “is” to be grammatically correct.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “third and fourth steering wires” in lines 3-4 but references each wire individually throughout the rest of the claim and in the dependent claims. Therefore for uniformity and clarity of the record, it is suggested to amend the limitation in lines 3-4 of claim 10 to state, “a third steering wire and a fourth steering wire.”
Claim 14 recites the limitation “first and second steering wires” in line 4 but references each wire individually throughout the rest of the claim and in the dependent claims. Therefore, for uniformity and clarity of the record, it is suggested to amend the limitation in line 4 of claim 14 to state, “a first steering wire and a second steering wire.”
Claim 14 recites the limitation “first and second drive wheel body portions” in lines 6-7 but references each portion individually throughout the rest of the claim and in the dependent claims. Therefore, for uniformity and clarity, it is suggested to amend the limitation in lines 6-7 of claim 14 to state, “a first drive wheel body portion and a second drive wheel body portion.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 and 6-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the rotational drive wheel" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to amend the limitation to state, “the first rotational drive wheel.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the rotational drive wheel" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to amend the limitation to state, “the first rotational drive wheel.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "said pawl" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to amend the limitation to state, “said at least one pawl.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the free end" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to amend the limitation to state, “a free end.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the teeth" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to amend the limitation to state, “teeth.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “each pawl” in line 2. However it is unclear whether the limitation in line 2 is reference to the limitation “a plurality of pawls” previously introduced in line 2 of claim 7, in reference to the limitation “at least one pawl” previously introduced in claim 3, which claim 7 indirectly depends from, or in reference to both. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "said pawls" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to amend the limitation to state, “said plurality of pawls.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the flexible arm(s)" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to amend the limitation to state, “the flexible arm.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the first and second drum elements" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to amend the limitation to state, “the first drum element and the second drum element.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "respective steering wire” in lines 2-3 and “the respective steering wire” in line 3. It is unclear whether claim 9 is introducing a new separate steering wire or referencing the first steering wire and the second steering wire previously introduced in claim 1, which claim 9 directly depends from. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the respective drum element" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 recites the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). It is suggested to amend the claim to positively claim a mechanical fixing element or a ferrule.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “a steering section of an endoscope” in line 3. However Claim 10 directly depends from claim 1. Claim 1 previously introduces the limitation “a steering section of an endoscope” in lines 1-2. Therefore it is unclear whether the limitation in claim 10 is introducing a new “a steering section of an endoscope” or merely referencing the limitation of claim 1. It is suggested to amend the limitation to state, “the steering section of an endoscope.” Examiner is interpreting the limitation as such. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “first and second drive wheel body portions” in lines 5-6. However claim 1, which claim 10 directly depends from, previously introduces the limitation “first and second drive wheel body portions” in line 4. Therefore it is unclear whether the limitation in claim 10 is introducing new and separate first and second drive wheel body portions or merely referencing the first and second drive wheel body portions previously introduced in claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “a first drum element” in line 6. However claim 1, which claim 10 directly depends from, previously introduces the limitation “a first drum element” in line 5. Therefore, it is unclear whether the limitation in claim 10 is introducing a new and separate first drum element or merely referencing the first drum element previously introduced in claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “a second drum element” in line 7. However claim 1, which claim 10 directly depends from, previously introduces the limitation “a second drum element” in line 6. Therefore, it is unclear whether the limitation in claim 10 is introducing a new and separate second drum element or merely referencing the second drum element previously introduced in claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the rotational drive wheel(s)" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the user input control elements" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to amend the limitation to state, “the one or more user input control elements.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the user input control" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to amend the limitation to state, “the one or more user input control elements.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “a first plane” in line 3. However claim 1, which claim 12 indirectly depends from, previously introduces the limitation “a first plane” in line 2. Therefore it is unclear whether claim 12 is introducing a separate first plane or merely referencing the same first plane previously introduced in claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the rotational drive wheel(s)" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “their respective rotatable control wheel(s)” in line 2. It is unclear whether claim 13 is introducing a new and separate rotatable control wheel or merely referencing one of, or both of, the first rotatable control wheel and the second rotatable control wheel previously identified in claim 12. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the rotational drive wheel" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to amend the limitation to state, “the first rotational drive wheel.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the first steering wire" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the rotational drive wheel" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to amend the limitation to state, “the first rotational drive wheel.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the step" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to amend the limitation to state, “the at least one step.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the wires" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, 9, 11, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kunihiko Hijihara (US2017/0238787) hereinafter Hijihara.
Regarding Claim 1, Hijihara discloses a steering control mechanism (abstract – operation portion 5) configured for controlling bending of a steering section (Fig. 1 bending portion 2b) of an endoscope (Fig. 1 endoscope 1) in a first plane (up and down plane [0034] “The bending portion 2 b is configured to bend in a vertical direction…”) via first and second steering wires (Fig. 9a wires 8D and 8U) the steering control mechanism (abstract – operation portion 5) comprising:
a first rotational drive wheel (Fig. 9a pulley 60a) comprising first and second drive wheel body portions (Fig. 9a rotating adjusting member 70a connected to wire 8D and rotating adjusting member 70a connected to wire 8U), the first drive wheel body portion (Fig. 9a rotating adjusting member 70a connected to wire 8D) comprising a first drum element (Figs. 79b hole 74) coupled to the first steering wire (Fig.9a wires 8D), and the second drive wheel body portion (Fig. 9a rotating adjusting member 70a connected to wire 8U)comprising a second drum element (Figs. 7-9b hole 74) coupled to the second steering wire (Fig. 9a wires 8U),
wherein the rotational drive wheel (Fig. 9a pulley 60a) is configured to provide one-way relative rotation ([0113-0125]) of the first drum element (Figs. 7-9b hole 74) and the second drum element (Figs. 7-9b hole 74)).
Regarding Claim 2, Hijihara discloses the steering control mechanism according to claim 1 wherein the rotational drive wheel (Fig. 9a pulley 60a) comprises a ratchet mechanism ([0113] “…the lid body is turned to a lid body 72A with a ratchet gear in which a plurality of tooth portions 72 g are arrayed in the circumferential direction of the outer peripheral surface, a pulley 60A is provided with a step portion 65, a stop claw 66 is turnably provided in the step portion 65, and the configuration including a ratchet mechanism is attained.”) .
Regarding Claim 3, Hijihara discloses the steering control mechanism according to claim 2 wherein the ratchet mechanism ([0113]) includes at least one toothed gear surface (Fig. 9a tooth portions 72g), and at least one pawl (Fig. 9a claw 66).
Regarding Claim 4, Hijihara discloses the steering control mechanism according to claim 3 wherein one of the first drive wheel body portion and the second drive wheel body portion (Fig. 9a rotating adjusting member 70a connected to wire 8D and rotating adjusting member 70a connected to wire 8U) comprises the at least one toothed gear surface (Fig. 9a surface of tooth portions 72g), and the other of the first drive wheel body portion and the second drive wheel body portion (Fig. 9a rotating adjusting member 70a connected to wire 8D and rotating adjusting member 70a connected to wire 8U) comprises the at least one pawl (Fig. 9a claw 66).
Regarding Claim 5, Hijihara discloses the steering control mechanism according to claim 4 wherein the first drive wheel body portion (Fig. 9a rotating adjusting member 70a connected to wire 8D) comprises the at least one toothed gear surface (Fig. 9a surface of tooth portions 72g), which is formed as an internal toothed gear surface (Fig. 9a surface of tooth portions 72g).
Regarding Claim 6, Hijihara discloses the steering control mechanism according to claim 4 wherein the second drive wheel body portion (Fig. 9a rotating adjusting member 70a connected to wire 8U) comprises the at least one pawl (Fig. 9a claw 66), said pawl (Fig. 9a claw 66) being provided as part of a flexible arm (Fig. 9a arm part of claw 66), with the free end of the flexible arm being arranged to engage with the teeth of the toothed gear surface ([0113-0114] “…a stop claw 66 is turnably provided in the step portion 65, and the configuration including a ratchet mechanism is attained. Note that the stop claw 66 is urged in a predetermined direction by a torsion spring (not shown in the figure) for example which is an urging member, is engaged with the tooth portions 72 g, and restricts rotation in the predetermined direction.”).
Regarding Claim 8, Hijihara discloses the steering control mechanism according to claim 6 wherein the flexible arm(s) (Fig. 9a arm part of claw 66) are integrally formed with the second drive wheel body portion (Fig. 9a rotating adjusting member 70a connected to wire 8U).
Regarding Claim 9, Hijihara discloses the steering control mechanism according to claim 1 wherein the first (Figs. 7-9b hole 74) and second drum elements (Figs. 7-9b hole 74) are coupled to their respective steering wire (Fig. 9a wires 8D/8U) by a portion (Fig. 9b portion of wires 8D/U connected to pint 45) of the respective steering wire (Fig. 9a wires 8D/8U) being fixed relative to the respective drum element (Figs. 7-9b hole 74), optionally via a mechanical fixing element (Fig. 9b pin 45) such as a ferrule.
Regarding Claim 11, Hijihara discloses the steering control mechanism according to claim 1 further comprising one or more user input control elements (Fig. 1 bending lever 7) arranged to control rotation of the rotational drive wheel(s) (Fig. 9a pulley 60a) based on user input to the user input control elements ([0035-0039]).
Regarding Claim 15, Hijihara discloses a method of assembling a steering control mechanism (abstract – operation portion 5), the steering control mechanism (abstract – operation portion 5) comprising:
a first rotational drive wheel (Fig. 9a pulley 60a) comprising first and second drive wheel body portions (Fig. 9a rotating adjusting member 70a connected to wire 8D and rotating adjusting member 70a connected to wire 8U), the first drive wheel body portion (Fig. 9a rotating adjusting member 70a connected to wire 8D) comprising a first drum element (Figs. 79b hole 74) coupled to the first steering wire (Fig.9a wires 8D), and the second drive wheel body portion (Fig. 9a rotating adjusting member 70a connected to wire 8U)comprising a second drum element (Figs. 7-9b hole 74) coupled to the second steering wire (Fig. 9a wires 8U),
wherein the rotational drive wheel (Fig. 9a pulley 60a) is configured to provide one-way relative rotation ([0113-0125]) of the first drum element (Figs. 7-9b hole 74) and the second drum element (Figs. 7-9b hole 74)), and
wherein the method includes at least one step ([0119-0125] rotating of main body 73 which has hole 74) of rotating the first drum element (Figs. 7-9b hole 74) relative to the second drum element (Figs. 7-9b hole 74).
Regarding Claim 16, Hijihara discloses the method according to claim 15 wherein the step of rotating the first drum element relative to the second drum element ([0119-0125] rotating of main body 73 which has hole 74) is performed to achieve or set a predetermined tension in one or both of the wires forming part of the steering control mechanism ([0124] “…adjusts the tension by arranging, for example, the distal end of the flathead screwdriver in the groove 77, rotating the rotation adjusting member 70A and increasing and decreasing the winding amount of the bending wires 8 u and 8 d. As a result, the tension of the upper bending wire 8 u and the tension of the lower bending wire 8 d can be adjusted to the predetermined state.”).
Claims 1, 10, 11, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Luke T. Jungles (US2018/0028786) hereinafter Jungles.
Regarding Claim 1, Jungles discloses a steering control mechanism (abstract – device 100) configured for controlling bending of a steering section (Fig. 1steerable catheter body 104) of an endoscope ([0002] “Embodiments disclosed herein generally relate to steerable catheters, including endoscopes.”)) in a first plane ([0024] first plane) via first and second steering wires (Fig. 2 wires 116/118) the steering control mechanism (abstract – device 100) comprising:
a first rotational drive wheel (Fig. 2 spool 112) comprising first and second drive wheel body portions (Fig. 2 apertures 124a,b) the first drive wheel body portion (Fig. 2 aperture 124a) comprising a first drum element (Fig. 3 gear 150) coupled to the first steering wire (Fig.2 wire 116 [0026]), and the second drive wheel body portion (Fig. 2 apertures 124b)comprising a second drum element (Fig. 3 gear 150) coupled to the second steering wire (Fig. 2 118[0026] ),
wherein the rotational drive wheel (Fig. 2 spool 112) is configured to provide one-way relative rotation ([0025-0026]) of the first drum element (Fig. 3 gear 150) and the second drum element (Fig. 3 gear 150)
Regarding Claim 10, Jungles discloses the steering control mechanism according to claim 1 wherein the steering control mechanism is further configured to control bending of a steering section of an endoscope in a second plane ([0024] second plane) via third and fourth steering wires (Fig. 2 wires 136/138), the steering control mechanism further comprising: a second rotational drive wheel (Fig. 3 spool 132) comprising respective first and second drive wheel body portions (Fig. 3 gear receptacle 145a/b), the first drive wheel body portion (Fig. 3 gear receptacle 145a) comprising a first drum element (Fig. 3 gear 150) coupled to the third steering wire (Fig. 2 wire 136), and the second drive wheel body portion (Fig. 3 gear receptacle 145b) comprising a second drum element (Fig. 3 gear 150) coupled to the fourth steering wire (Fig. 2 wire 138), wherein the second rotational drive wheel (Fig. 3 spool 132) is configured to provide one-way relative rotation ([0128-035]) of its respective first drum element (Fig. 3 gear 150) and second drum element (Fig. 3 gear 150).
Regarding Claim 11, Jungles discloses the steering control mechanism according to claim 1 further comprising one or more user input control elements (Figs. 1-2 user controlling control wheel 110, 130) arranged to control rotation of the rotational drive wheel(s) (Fig. 3 spool 112, 132) based on user input to the user input control elements (Figs. 1-2 user controlling control wheel 110, 130).
Regarding Claim 12, Jungles discloses the steering control mechanism according to claim 11 wherein the user input control (Figs. 1-2 user controlling control wheel 110, 130) comprises a first rotatable control wheel (Figs. 1-2 wheel 110) configured to transmit torque to the first rotational drive wheel (Fig. 3 spool 112) to drive bending of the steering section of the endoscope in a first plane ([0024]), and, where a second rotational drive wheel (Fig. 3 spool 132) is present, a second rotatable control wheel (Figs. 1-2 wheel 130) configured to transmit torque to the second rotational drive wheel (Fig. 3 spool 132) to drive bending of the steering section of the endoscope in a second plane ([0024]).
Regarding Claim 13, Jungles discloses the steering control mechanism according to claim 12 wherein the rotational drive wheel(s) (Figs. 1-2 control wheel 110, 130) are coupled to their respective rotatable control wheel(s) via a gearing arrangement (Fig. 3 gear 150).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hijihara in view of Appling et al. (US2021/0212553) hereinafter Appling.
Regarding Claim 14, Hijihara discloses an imaging endoscopy system (Fig. 1), comprising:
a hand controller (Fig. 1 endoscope 1) including a steering control mechanism (abstract) configured for controlling bending of a steering section (Fig. 1 bending portion 2b) of an endoscope (Fig. 1 endoscope 1) in a first plane (up and down plane [0034] “The bending portion 2 b is configured to bend in a vertical direction…”) via first and second steering wires (Fig. 9a wires 8D and 8U) the steering control mechanism (abstract – operation portion 5) comprising:
a first rotational drive wheel (Fig. 9a pulley 60a) comprising first and second drive wheel body portions (Fig. 9a rotating adjusting member 70a connected to wire 8D and rotating adjusting member 70a connected to wire 8U), the first drive wheel body portion (Fig. 9a rotating adjusting member 70a connected to wire 8D) comprising a first drum element (Figs. 79b hole 74) coupled to the first steering wire (Fig.9a wires 8D), and the second drive wheel body portion (Fig. 9a rotating adjusting member 70a connected to wire 8U)comprising a second drum element (Figs. 7-9b hole 74) coupled to the second steering wire (Fig. 9a wires 8U),
wherein the rotational drive wheel (Fig. 9a pulley 60a) is configured to provide one-way relative rotation ([0113-0125]) of the first drum element (Figs. 7-9b hole 74) and the second drum element (Figs. 7-9b hole 74));
an umbilical section (Fig. 1 universal cable 4)
an insertion section (Fig. 1 insertion portion 2) having a proximal end (Fig. 1 flexible tube portion 2c) connected to the hand controller (Fig. 1 endoscope 1 via grasping operation portion 3)) and a distal end (Fig. 1 distal end portion 2a and bending portion 2b) for insertion into a subject ([0031-0033]), the distal end (Fig. 1 distal end portion 2a and bending portion 2b) having a steering section (Fig. 1 bending portion 2b) and a distal tip (Fig. 1 distal end portion 2a), wherein bending of the steering section (Fig. 1 bending portion 2b) is controllable by user input ([0035-0039] user bending of lever 7) to the steering control mechanism (abstract – operation portion 5).
Although Hijihara has a universal cord 4 in Fig. 1, Hijihara does not explicitly disclose what the universal cord 4 is connected to on the opposite end of the endoscope 1. Therefore, Hijihara is silent as to disclose wherein the system comprises a base unit and the umbilical section releasably connecting the base unit and the hand controller.
However Appling, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a system comprises a base unit (Appling - Fig. 1 processing device 20) and the umbilical section (Appling - Fig.1 umbilical cable 18) releasably connecting the base unit (Appling - Fig. 1 processing device 20) and the hand controller (Appling – Fig. 1 handle 10).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Hijihara with the teachings of Appling to include the system comprises a base unit and the umbilical section releasably connecting the base unit and the hand controller for the benefit of “…receiving data obtained by devices as the distal tip” of an endoscope (Appling [ 0046] “An umbilical cable 18 extends from the housing 12 for being coupled with a processing device 20 for receiving data obtained by devices at the distal tip 16. The processing device 20 may include various types of electronics configured to display image data or perform various other analytical functions.”).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hijihara in view of Smith et al. (US5467779) hereinafter Smith
Regarding Claim 7, Hijihara discloses the steering control mechanism according to claim 6 but is silent as to whether wherein the second drive wheel body portion comprises a plurality of pawls, each pawl being provided as part of a respective flexible arm of the second drive wheel body portion, said pawls equiangularly spaced around the second drive wheel body portion.
However Smith, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the second drive wheel body portion comprises a plurality of pawls, each pawl being provided as part of a respective flexible arm of the second drive wheel body portion (Smith – Fig. 2 array 2), said pawls (Smith – Fig. 2 pawls 26, 26’) equiangularly spaced around the second drive wheel body portion (Smith – abstract “The ratchet mechanism carries a pair of pawls, one of which engages the ring gear to cause clockwise rotation and the other of which engages the ring gear to cause counterclockwise rotation. The ratchet mechanism is displaced by actuators such as bimorphic devices, made of piezoelectric material, which bend in response to electrical pulsing.”).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Hijihara with the teachings of to include wherein the second drive wheel body portion comprises a plurality of pawls, each pawl being provided as part of a respective flexible arm of the second drive wheel body portion, said pawls equiangularly spaced around the second drive wheel body portion for the benefit of controlling the rotation of the wheel between clockwise and counter clockwise (Smith – abstract)
Conclusion
/MEGAN ELIZABETH MONAHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3795