DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-2, 24-25 and 28 in the reply filed on 04/20/2026 is acknowledged. Upon review restriction requirement mailed on 02/04/2025, the Examiner believes claim 23 belongs in the same inventive group as claims 1-2, 24-25 and 28. As such, claims 1-2, 23-25 and 28 are being examined herein.
Claims 3-22 and 26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: reference number 8 in Fig. 1 is not described in the specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1:
“in the form crystals” should be “in the form of crystals”
“said tablets” should refer back to the “general tablet shape” since “tablets” is not being claimed. The examiner suggests amending the claim to recite: “said general tablet shape”.
In claims 2 and 25: “it has the formula” should refer to the compound and the examiner suggests amending the claim to “the compound has the formula”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 24, the limitation “general tablet shape” is indefinite as it is not clear what is encompassed within the metes and bounds of a shape of a “general tablet”. The term “general” in the limitation is particularly unclear because there is no commonly accepted definition of what a “tablet” shape compared to that of a square, triangle, sphere and the like. Furthermore, it is not clear if there is a different between a “tablet shape” and a “general tablet shape” as claimed.
Claims 2 and 25 are rejected as being dependent on claims 1 and 24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 23-25 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by, or in the alternative under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torita (U.S. App. Pub. No. 2018/0338352).
Regarding claim 23, Torita et al. discloses an MXene having the general formula Mn+1Xn where n= 1, 2 or 3 where M may include a metal from Group 3, 4, 5, 6, or 7 and X is C, N or a combination thereof. (Abstract). Torita et al. teaches specific compounds for M include Sc, Ti, Zr, Hf. V, Nb, Ta, Cr, Mo and Mn. (par. [0054]).
With respect to the limitation “the compound is fabricated from a compound of MAX phase type according to claim 19”, the limitation refers to the process of making the claimed MXene using a compound having the MAX phase type. The method of forming the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the Examiner could reasonably conclude that the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. MPEP 2113. Given that the MXene material of Torita et al. teaches all of the claimed structural features of the compound of claim 23, the claim is unpatentable “even though the prior product was made by a different process”, In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Torita et al. therefore anticipates or renders obvious the limitation “the compound is fabricated from a compound of MAX phase type according to claim 19”.
Regarding claim 24, Torita et al. discloses an MXene having the general formula Mn+1Xn where n= 1, 2 or 3 where M may include a metal from Group 3, 4, 5, 6, or 7 and X is C, N or a combination thereof. (Abstract). Torita et al. teaches specific compounds for M include Sc, Ti, Zr, Hf. V, Nb, Ta, Cr, Mo and Mn. (par. [0054]). Furthermore, the MXene may have the general formula Ti3C2Tx (par. [0060]) where T represents a terminal group including hydroxyl, fluorine, oxygen, hydrogen or a combination thereof. (Abstract).
With respect to the shape of the MXene, Torita et al. teaches that the material has two opposing surfaces of parallel planes (Abstract, par. [0062]-[0063], Fig. 3) and may be in the shape of a flakes, particles, powders and laminates of several MXene layers. (par. [0062]). The MXene structure has a maximum dimension parallel to the plane layer in the range of 0.1-200 micrometers with a maximum thickness of 0.1-200 micrometers. (par. [0063]). The aspect ratio implicitly taught would lie in the range of 1 to 2000 (0.1/0.1 to 200/0.1) based on the disclosure of the thickness and maximum planar dimension. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 28, Torita et al. discloses an MXene having the general formula Mn+1Xn where n= 1, 2 or 3 where M may include a metal from Group 3, 4, 5, 6, or 7 and X is C, N or a combination thereof. (Abstract). Torita et al. teaches specific compounds for M include Sc, Ti, Zr, Hf. V, Nb, Ta, Cr, Mo and Mn. (par. [0054]).
With respect to the limitation “obtained by the process of claim 6”, the method of forming the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the Examiner could reasonably conclude that the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. MPEP 2113. Given that the MXene material of Torita et al. teaches all of the claimed structural features of the compound of claim 28, the claim is unpatentable “even though the prior product was made by a different process”, In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Torita et al. therefore anticipates or renders obvious the limitation “obtained by the process of claim 6”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torita (U.S. App. Pub. No. 2018/0338352).
Regarding claim 1, Torita et al. discloses an MXene having the general formula Mn+1Xn where n= 1, 2 or 3 where M may include a metal from Group 3, 4, 5, 6, or 7 and X is C, N or a combination thereof. (Abstract). Torita et al. teaches specific compounds for M include Sc, Ti, Zr, Hf. V, Nb, Ta, Cr, Mo and Mn. (par. [0054]). Furthermore, the MXene may have the general formula Ti3C2Tx (par. [0060]) where T represents a terminal group including hydroxyl, fluorine, oxygen, hydrogen or a combination thereof. (Abstract).
With respect to the shape of the MXene, Torita et al. teaches that the material has two opposing surfaces of parallel planes (Abstract, par. [0062]-[0063], Fig. 3) and may be in the shape of a flakes, particles, powders and laminates of several MXene layers. (par. [0062]). The MXene structure has a maximum dimension parallel to the plane layer in the range of 0.1-200 micrometers with a maximum thickness of 0.1-200 micrometers. (par. [0063]). The aspect ratio implicitly taught would lie in the range of 1 to 2000 (0.1/0.1 to 200/0.1) based on the disclosure of the thickness and maximum planar dimension. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 2, the MXene may have the general formula Ti3C2Tx (par. [0060]).
Conclusion
/ALEXANDRE F FERRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 06/02/2026