DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the communications filed 3-12-24 and 9-21-26.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the instant application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-8 and 16-19, in the reply filed on 9-21-26, is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the election of species is improper and the species should be rejoined. Upon further consideration, the species requirement is hereby withdrawn.
The requirement between inventions is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 9-15, and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 9-21-26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 2, 8, 16, 19 recite the term “molar ratio” to be “between 1000 and 20” (see, e.g., claim 16). It is unclear what ratio is being recited in the claims. A molar ratio is the ratio between the amounts, e.g., in moles, of any two compounds.
Appropriate correction is required.
In claims 1-6, 16-18, the terms “at least one dipeptide” and “at least one trace metal” are vague and indefinite. The metes and bounds cannot be determined.
Appropriate correction is required.
In claims 8 and 19, the term “from about “ is vague and indefinite. The metes and bounds cannot be determined.
Appropriate correction is required.
IN GENERAL.—The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention.
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The breadth of the claims:
The claims are broadly drawn to compositions comprising at least one dipeptide consisting of two amino acids, said amino acids being natural amino acids and at least one comprising cysteine (Cys), and at least one trace metal ion, which trace metal optionally comprises iron, lithium, zinc, copper, chromium, nickel, cobalt, vanadium, molybdenum, or manganese, which dipeptide concentration is between 0.1 and 200 mM and which trace metal ion concentration is between 0.1 and 400 pM, and which dipeptide optionally comprises Xxx-Cys or Cys-Xxx, wherein Xxx is a natural amino acid, the dipeptide optionally comprising Ala- Cys, Cys-Ala, Lys-Cys ,and/or Cys-Lys, wherein at least one dipeptide is optionally Xxx-Cys or Cys-Xxx and is optionally in the oxidized and dimerized form, which compositions optionally further comprise free cysteine, which dipeptide concentration is between 0.5 and 10 mM and the trace metal ion concentration is between 0.5 and 20 pM, wherein the molar ratio of the dipeptide bound cysteine to the free cysteine is from about 0.5 to 2.
Teachings in the specification
The specification teaches the following:
The addition of L-cysteine and Cu(II) at several concentrations to cell culture media resulted in a significant, concentration-depended reduction in cell viability (Figure 1 A and B). No toxic effect was observed replacing L-cysteine with an equimolar amount of the dipeptides (Ala-Cys)₂ and (Lys- Cys)₂. Instead, viability was even increased providing beneficial effects of combining dipeptides with Cu(II) (Figure 2 A and B, Figure 3 A and B).
Toxicity at highest concentration tested was only observed with L-cysteine (Figure 4).
Figure 1-A and 1-B shows the effects of Cu(II) and L-cysteine addition at different concentrations and ratios on the viability of MSCs and CHO cells, respectively. A strong increase in toxicity was observed with increasing concentrations of Cu as well as L-cysteine.
Figure 2-A and 2-B shows the effects of Cu(II) and (Ala-Cys)₂ addition at different concentrations and ratios on the viability of MSCs and CHO cells, respectively. In contrast to Figure 1-A and 1-B, no toxic effects were observed. For selected combinations of (Ala-Cys)₂ and Cu(II), a pronounced positive effect on viability was observed.
Figure 3-A and 3-B shows the effects of Cu(II) and (Ala-Cys)₂ addition at different concentrations and ratios on the viability of MSCs and CHO cells, respectively. In contrast to Figure 1-A and 1-B, no toxic effects were observed. For selected combinations of (Lys-Cys)₂ and Cu(II), a pronounced positive effect on viability was observed.
Figure 4 shows control experiments depicting the effect of the addition of single components (L-cysteine, (Ala-Cys)₂, (Lys-Cys)₂, Cu(II)) at various concentrations on the viability of MSCs. Only L- cysteine negatively affected viability. Cu(II) up to 5 µM (MSCs) or 40 µM (CHO cells) did not have a negative effect on viability.
[Emphases added] [Citations omitted].
The specification fails to provide the requisite guidance for making and using
the broad genus of formulations instantly claimed. The examples fail to provide a representative number of species adequately describing the broad genus claimed. Since the disclosure fails to describe the common attributes and characteristics concisely identifying members of the proposed genus, and because the claimed genus is highly variant, the description provided is insufficient. One of skill in the art would reasonably conclude that the disclosure fails to provide a concise description of the broad genus of formulations instantly claimed.
Thus, Applicant was not in possession of the broadly claimed genus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanchez-Kopper et al (AMB Expr., Vol. 6, No. 48, pages 1-12 (2016)), Yu et al (US 2018/0135077), and Barrett et al (WO 2011/133902), the combination in view of Qian, Z. (CN 2015/10406329), Kenerson, R. W. (US 2005/0287666), and Graham et al (Applied Microbiology and Biotechnology, Vol. 104, pages 1097-1108 (2020)).
The claims are drawn to compositions comprising at least one dipeptide consisting of two amino acids, said amino acids being natural amino acids and at least one comprising cysteine (Cys), and at least one trace metal ion, which trace metal optionally comprises iron, lithium, zinc, copper, chromium, nickel, cobalt, vanadium, molybdenum, or manganese, which dipeptide concentration is between 0.1 and 200 mM and which trace metal ion concentration is between 0.1 and 400 pM, and which dipeptide optionally comprises Xxx-Cys or Cys-Xxx, wherein Xxx is a natural amino acid, the dipeptide optionally comprising Ala- Cys, Cys-Ala, Lys-Cys ,and/or Cys-Lys, wherein at least one dipeptide is optionally Xxx-Cys or Cys-Xxx and is optionally in the oxidized and dimerized form, which compositions optionally further comprise free cysteine, which dipeptide concentration is between 0.5 and 10 mM and the trace metal ion concentration is between 0.5 and 20 pM, wherein the molar ratio of the dipeptide bound cysteine to the free cysteine is from about 0.5 to 2.
Sanchez-Kopper et al (AMB Expr., Vol. 6, No. 48, pages 1-12 (2016)) teach dipeptides as important molecules in cell cultures for boosting cell productivity. Dipeptides include alanyl-cysteine (second full para, page 2), providing significant increases in intracellular alanine and cystine (bridging para, pages 8-9, Fig. 8 on page 9, Discussion, bridging par, pages 6-7).
Yu et al (US 2018/0135077) teach cell culture compositions comprising dipeptides including Alanyl-Cysteine dimers (Table 1 on page 3, para 0090, claims 11, 13-14, 19).
Barrett et al (WO 2011/133902) teach cell culture compositions comprising dipeptides comprising cysteine, including at concentrations of between 8.5-1 g/L (second full para on page 4; third full para, page 7; claims 1-4, 8, 15-17, 26-30, 37-39).
The primary references do not teach the concentrations for both the dipeptide and the trace metal ions claimed.
Keenan et al (In Vitro Cellular and Developmental Biology, Vol. 54, pages 555-558 (2018)) teach copper as an essential trace element micronutrient for nutrition. Keenan teaches levels of copper, iron, manganese and zinc in cell culture compositions (pages 556-558).
Qian, Z. (CN 2015/10406329) teaches cell culture compositions comprising dipeptides between a concentration range of 0.5-3mM (page 2, claim 7). Qian teaches cell culture compositions comprising copper, zinc, selenium and/or cobalt at concentrations between .05 um -.1 M (page 2, claim 5).
Kenerson, R. W. (US 2005/0287666) teach cell culture media comprising the concentration optimization of trace metals, optionally comprising zinc, copper and macromolecules including peptides (page 5, first full para, page 5; para 0027, 0030, 0046, 0048, 0050, 0064, 0065, 0075-0156, 0161-0186, Tables 1-3 on page 13, claims 1-21, 25, 45-48, 60-65).
Graham et al (Applied Microbiology and Biotechnology, Vol. 104, pages 1097-1108 (2020)) (See IDS filed 5-1-24) teach the importance of trace metals in cell culture as affecting production and quality of translated proteins. Graham teaches the optimization of zinc and copper concentrations as supplements for cell cultures. Zn and copper concentrations were tested at e.g., 50uM (see esp. the Abstract, first two full paras on page 1098, bridging para pages 1098-1099, first full para on page 1099, Results, page 1100-1103, Fig. 6 on page 1105).
It would have been obvious to provide the dipeptide and trace metal compositions claimed in culture media because the prior art disclosed the importance of these entities for bolstering cell culture and translated protein production, as illustrated in the teachings of Sanchez-Kopper, Yu and Barrett. In addition, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide the trace metals of copper and zinc for enhancing production and quality of translated proteins in cell cultures, as taught by Qian, Kenerson, and Graham.
For these and the aforementioned reasons, the instant invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 and 16-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of copending Application No. 18/698,415 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to compositions comprising at least one dipeptide consisting of two amino acids, said amino acids being natural amino acids and at least one of the said amino acids being cysteine (Cys), and at least one trace metal ion.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Certain papers related to this application may be submitted to Art Unit 1637 by facsimile transmission. The faxing of such papers must conform with the notices published in the Official Gazette, 1156 OG 61 (November 16, 1993) and 1157 OG 94 (December 28, 1993) (see 37 C.F.R. ' 1.6(d)). The official fax telephone number for the Group is 571-273-8300. NOTE: If Applicant does submit a paper by fax, the original signed copy should be retained by applicant or applicant's representative. NO DUPLICATE COPIES SHOULD BE SUBMITTED so as to avoid the processing of duplicate papers in the Office.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Jane Zara whose telephone number is (571) 272-0765. The examiner’s office hours are generally Monday-Friday, 10:30am - 7pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Jennifer Dunston, can be reached on (571)-272-2916. Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application should be directed to the Group receptionist whose telephone number is (703) 308-0196.
Jane Zara
11-10-26
/JANE J ZARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637