DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant's arguments, filed on 01/16/2026 with respect to the pending claims iin the remarks, have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by the new limitations added to claims 1, 13 and 16 . See the rejection below of claims 1, 13 and 16 for relevant citations found in Bao and Choi disclosing the newly added limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, 10, 16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bao et al., (US 20230050701), (hereinafter, Bao).
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Bao discloses an anchor user equipment/method comprising at least one processing core, at least one memory including computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer program code being configured to, with the at least one processing core, cause the user equipment at least to:
receive from a wireless network node (= position estimation entity, see [0376]), a sidelink positioning reference signal configuration comprising a constraint set, the constraint set comprising at least one constraint (= sidelink anchor/UE 302 receives, from position estimate entity, a set of proximity-based sidelink PRS pre-configurations for on-demand PRS position estimation, see [0377, 0010-11]; position estimation entity instructs the UE to trigger the on-demand sidelink PRS position estimation session upon entry into at least one dead zone, see [0014 and 0026]; whereby the zone-specific parameter is being associated with the “constraint”), each of the at least one constraint being based on at least one of:
a location of the anchor user equipment, a time instant, a time duration, a radio measurement, a physical characteristic of surroundings of the anchor user equipment, a state of motion of the anchor user equipment and a connection status of the anchor user equipment to a network, network, wherein the sidelink positioning reference signal configuration further comprises angle information, absolute or relative, on an angle from which a sidelink positioning reference signal is to be received (= position estimation entity instructs the UE to trigger the on-demand sidelink PRS position estimation session upon entry into at least one dead zone, see [0014 and 0390]; and sidelink anchor receives, from a UE, sidelink PRS trigger configured to indicate a sidelink zone associated with the UE and proximity requirement for participation in the on-demand sidelink PRS position estimation, see [0378; 0309 and 0311-12 and 0385])
determine whether at least one constraint in the constraint set is satisfied, and responsive to the at least one constraint in the constraint set being satisfied, receive the sidelink positioning reference signal on said angle from a mobile device (= sidelink anchor determines that the sidelink anchor satisfies the proximity requirement to the sidelink zone, see [0379]; and sidelink anchor performs a sidelink PRS exchange with the UE associated with the on-demand sidelink PRS position estimation session based on the determination and in accordance with the at least one selected proximity-based sidelink PRS pre-configuration, see [0381]).
Regarding claims 3, as mentioned in claim 1, Bao discloses the anchor user equipment wherein at least one of the at least one constraint is based on the location of the anchor user equipment, wherein the constraint based on the location of the anchor user equipment is satisfied when the anchor user equipment is in a location specified in the constraint. (see, [0375 and 0378]).
Regarding claim 4, as mentioned in claim 3, Bao discloses the anchor user equipment wherein the location in the constraint is specified in terms of one or more of the following: geo-coordinates, a distance to a specific place or an object including another mobile or network node, an angular relation to a specific place with respect to the anchor user equipment's heading and/or orientation, a geographic area or a coverage area of a cell, sector or site of a cellular communication system (see, [0309 and 0312]).
Regarding claim 5, as mentioned in claim 3, Bao discloses the anchor user equipment
wherein at least one of the at least one constraint is based on the time instant, wherein the constraint based on the time instant is satisfied when a current time matches the time instant specified in the constraint (see, [0377]).
Regarding claim 6, as mentioned in claim 5, Bao discloses the anchor user equipment
wherein the time instant in the constraint is specified in terms of one or more of the following: an absolute or relative time instant, a time window, a periodicity, a subframe slot, a resource block, subframe number, time slot, or resource element (see, [0377]).
Regarding claim 10, as mentioned in claim 5, Bao discloses the anchor user equipment wherein at least one of the at least one constraint is based on the state of motion of the anchor user equipment, wherein the at least one constraint based on the state of motion of the anchor user equipment is satisfied when a current state of motion of the anchor user equipment matches the state of motion of the anchor user equipment specified in the constraint (see, [0377]).
Regarding claim 18, as mentioned in claim 16, Bao discloses the method wherein at least one of the at least one constraint is based on the location of the anchor user equipment, wherein the at least one constraint based on the location of the anchor user equipment is satisfied when the anchor user equipment is in a location specified in the constraint (see, [0375 and 0378]).
Regarding claim 19, as mentioned in claim 18, Bao discloses the method wherein the location in the constraint is specified in terms of one or more of the following: geo-coordinates, a distance to a specific place, an angular relation to a specific place with respect to the anchor user equipment's heading and/or orientation, a geographic area or a coverage area of a cell, sector or site of a cellular communication system (see, [0309 and 0312]).
Regarding claim 20, as mentioned in claim 19, Bao discloses the method wherein at least one of the at least one constraint is based on the time instant, wherein the at least one constraint based on the time instant is satisfied when a current time matches the time instant specified in the constraint (see, [0377]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Bao in view of Choi et al., (US 2022/0070924), (hereinafter, Choi).
Regarding claim 13, Bao discloses a network node comprising at least one processing core, at least one memory including computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer program code being configured to, with the at least one processing core, cause the network node at least to:
define a first mobile device as a target user equipment and at least one second mobile device as an anchor user equipment (= process 2400 may be performed by a position estimation entity such as a network component, see [0367 and 0369]);
transmit to each defined anchor user equipment a sidelink positioning reference signal configuration comprising a constraint set, the constraint set comprising at least one constraint (= position estimation entity transmits to a plurality of sidelink anchors and a UE, a set of proximity-based sidelink PRS configurations for on-demand PRS position estimation, see [0369]), each of the at least one constraint being based on at least one of:
a location of the anchor user equipment, a time instant, or a time duration, a radio measurement, a physical characteristic of surroundings of the anchor user equipment, a state of motion of the anchor user equipment and a connection status of the anchor user equipment to a network network, wherein the sidelink positioning reference signal configuration further comprises angle information, absolute or relative, on an angle from which the anchor user equipment shall expect a sidelink positioning reference signal to be received (= position estimation entity instructs the UE to trigger the on-demand sidelink PRS position estimation session upon entry into at least one dead zone, see [0014 and 0390]; and sidelink anchor receives, from a UE, sidelink PRS trigger configured to indicate a sidelink zone associated with the UE and proximity requirement for participation in the on-demand sidelink PRS position estimation, see [0378]).
Bao explicitly fails to disclose the claimed limitations of:
“participate in determining a location of the target user equipment based at least partly on results of measurements of sidelink positioning reference signals at the user equipment”.
However, Choi, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the claimed limitations of:
“participate in determining a location of the target user equipment based at least partly on results of measurements of sidelink positioning reference signals at the user equipment”(= UE 120 communicating using sidelink may utilize a PRS to determine the location of a UE, see [0069]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Choi with Bao for the benefit of achieving a communication system that eliminates interference between devices thereby improving the reliability and accuracy of PRS exchange in the system
Regarding claim 14, as mentioned in claim 13, Bao further discloses the network node wherein the network node is configured to define the at least one second mobile device as the anchor user equipment based at least partly on at least one of: a speed, a heading, a trajectory, a radio channel condition, a user equipment capability and an environmental condition relating to the at least one second mobile device (see, [0359]).
CONCLUSION
4. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
571-272-8566.The examiner can normally be reached on M-Sat (6am – 10pm).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8566.
/Kwasi Karikari/
Primary Examiner: Art Unit 2641.