DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Application filed on 3/12/2024. Claims 13-24 and 44-51 are pending in the case. Claims 1-12 and 25-43 have been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-18, 22-24, and 44-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamoun (US 20160125438 A1) in view of Sullivan et al. (US 20150052461 A1, hereinafter Sullivan).
As to independent claim 13, Kamoun teaches a computer-implemented method of operations performed as part of a computer-human interactive session (“A System and method for fast and nuance evaluation of the nature and/or intensity of the Sentiment of a Respondent in regard of a predefined Sentiment Indicator, with this person reacting to that Indicator by sliding one or several fingers on a touch sensitive surface,” Abstract), the method comprising:
presenting, by a computing device, a first statement on a touchscreen display device (Fig. 3, topic 310 is presented, “The term “Sentiment” refers herein to any kind of human attitude, opinion, appreciation, assessment, preference, emotion, humor, intention, feeling or combination of such Sentiments, all with respect to a particular Topic (10).” paragraph 0009);
presenting, by the computing device, a first user response that includes first text indicating a first extent of user agreeableness with the first statement (“a) a predefined Indicator (101) is presented to a Respondent (410) or selected from a list by a Respondent (301) for this Respondent to react in regard of that Indicator,” Pagraph 0012; “The term “Sentiment Indicator” or “Indicator” refers herein to a string of characters, a digital code, or any visual or audio element that a Respondent can interpret as a metrics of the nature and/or intensity of a Sentiment,” paragraph 0010, See Fig. 4 indicator 410);
presenting, by the computing device, one or more first graphical interface elements having a first configuration that graphically indicates the first extent of user agreeableness with the first statement (See Fig. 4, graphical element 413 a smiley emoji is displayed; “The term “Sentiment Indicator” or “Indicator” refers herein to a string of characters, a digital code, or any visual or audio element that a Respondent can interpret as a metrics of the nature and/or intensity of a Sentiment,” paragraph 0010, “Where either only a single Indicator can be submitted at once or several Indicators can be submitted at once, each Indicator in both cases along with related Rendering.” Claim 1, last sentence- this implies that two indicators (i.e., text indicator and visual indicator) may be displayed concurrently as shown in Fig. 4);
receiving, by the computing device, an indication that first user input contacts the touchscreen display device and moves across the touchscreen display device
changing, by the computing device, the presentation of the first user response from including the first text to including different, second text indicating a different, second extent of user agreeableness with the first statement, responsive to the first user input having moved
changing, by the computing device, the presentation of the one or more first graphical interface elements from having the first configuration to having a second configuration that graphically indicates the second extent of user agreeableness with the first statement, responsive to the first user input having moved an animated drawing or emotional character changing simultaneously with the “Value” (example: 316, 413),” Paragraph 0012, see Fig. 4, element 413,316);
receiving, by the computing device, an indication that the first user input has moved across the touchscreen display device
changing, by the computing device, the presentation of the first user response 106) on a screen (herein the “Rendering”) simultaneously to the Sliding figuring the nature and/or intensity of a Sentiment in order for the Respondent to adjust, redo and/or validate the related Value. The rendering may consist an alternative strings (examples on 313 “Yes” or “No”, “Like” or “Dislike”, “Happy” or “Unhappy”…)” Paragraph 0012); and
changing, by the computing device, the presentation of the one or more first graphical interface elements from having the second configuration to having a third configuration that graphically indicates the third extent of user agreeableness with the first statement, responsive to the first user input having moved an animated drawing or emotional character changing simultaneously with the “Value” (example: 316, 413),” Paragraph 0012, See Fig. 4, element 413,316).
Kamoun [0013] expressly teach predefined finger sliding patterns, [0014] sliding path, a touch sensitive surface (optionally with the screen) to catch and digitalize the finger(s) sliding (205), [0016] data processing circuit, electronic memory and software code (203) in order to display Indicators on the screen, in order to analyze the digitalized sliding data and to transform it into Values, in order to display the Rendering of the Values on the screen.
However, Kamoun does not appear to expressly teach receiving, by the computing device, an indication that the first user input has moved across the touchscreen display device from the first location to a second location and from the second location to a third location; and changing, by the computing device, the presentation of user response and the one or more first graphical interface elements…, responsive to the first user input having moved from the first location to a second location and from the second location to a third location; and
changing, by the computing device, the presentation of the first user response from including the second text to including different, third text indicating a different, third extent of user agreeableness.
Sullivan teaches receiving, by the computing device, an indication that the first user input has moved across the touchscreen display device from the first location to a second location and from the second location to a third location; and changing, by the computing device, the presentation…, responsive to the first user input having moved from the first location to a second location and from the second location to a third location (“For example, FIG. 4 illustrates the adjustable graphic 104 as defining a positive expression 104a, whereas FIG. 5 illustrates the adjustable graphic 104 as defining a negative expression 104c. Optionally, the adjustable graphic 104 may define a third state between the other two differing states.” Paragraph 0051-0052); and
changing, by the computing device, the presentation of the first user response from including the second text to including different, third text indicating a different, third extent of user agreeableness (FIGS. 4-7, the positions of the slider 108 positive or neutral states, or negative states, Paragraph 0052-0053, changing the presentation of the user response to three or more responses is possible).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kamoun to comprise receiving, by the computing device, an indication that the first user input has moved across the touchscreen display device from the first location to a second location and from the second location to a third location; and changing, by the computing device, the presentation…, responsive to the first user input having moved from the first location to a second location and from the second location to a third location. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to permit ease of capturing the thoughts or opinions of a user, while still allowing a relatively wide range or responses.
As to dependent claim 14, Kamoun teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 13, Kamoun further teaches wherein:
the computing device presents the first text concurrent with the one or more first graphical interface elements having the first configuration (“Where either only a single Indicator can be submitted at once or several Indicators can be submitted at once, each Indicator in both cases along with related Rendering.” Claim 1, last sentence- this implies that two indicators may be displayed concurrently as shown in Fig. 4);
the computing device presents the second text concurrent with the one or more first graphical interface elements having the second configuration (“Where either only a single Indicator can be submitted at once or several Indicators can be submitted at once, each Indicator in both cases along with related Rendering.” Claim 1, last sentence- this implies that two indicators may be displayed concurrently as shown in Fig. 4); and
the computing device presents the third text concurrent with the one or more first graphical interface elements having the third configuration (“Where either only a single Indicator can be submitted at once or several Indicators can be submitted at once, each Indicator in both cases along with related Rendering.” Claim 1, last sentence- this implies that two indicators may be displayed concurrently as shown in Fig. 4).
As to dependent claim 15, Kamoun teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 13, Kamoun does not appear to expressly teach wherein:
the first location, the second location, and the third location are located along a continuum, such that the second location is located between the first location and the third location; and
the first text, the second text, and the third text indicate a continuum of user agreeableness with the first statement, such that the first text indicates less agreeableness with the first statement than the second text, and the third text indicates more agreeableness with the first statement than the second text.
Sullivan teaches the first location, the second location, and the third location are located along a continuum, such that the second location is located between the first location and the third location (“In the embodiment illustrated in FIGS. 4-7, the legend indicates that positions of the slider 108 on the upper half the scale correspond to the adjustable graphic 104 defining positive or neutral states, or intermediate states therebetween. Further, the legend indicates that positions of the slider 108 on the lower half of the scale correspond to the adjustable graphic 104 defining neutral or negative states, or intermediate states therebetween. Accordingly, a user may know in advance of manipulating the selector 106 how manipulation thereof will affect the graphical image 106.” Paragraph 0053).; and
the first text, the second text, and the third text indicate a continuum of user agreeableness with the first statement, such that the first text indicates less agreeableness with the first statement than the second text, and the third text indicates more agreeableness with the first statement than the second text (Fig. 4, displays positive, neural, and negative states), paragraph 0012).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kamoun to comprise wherein: the first location, the second location, and the third location are located along a continuum, such that the second location is located between the first location and the third location; and the first text, the second text, and the third text indicate a continuum of user agreeableness with the first statement, such that the first text indicates less agreeableness with the first statement than the second text, and the third text indicates more agreeableness with the first statement than the second text. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to permit ease of capturing the thoughts or opinions of a user, while still allowing a relatively wide range or responses.
As to dependent claim 16, Kamoun teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 13, Kamoun does not appear to expressly teach wherein:
receiving the indication that first user input contacts the touchscreen display device and moves across the touchscreen display device from the first location to the second location includes the first user input contacting a control element and moving a displayed position of the control element from the first location to the second location; and
the control element is distinct from the one or more graphical elements.
Sullivan teaches receiving the indication that first user input contacts the touchscreen display device and moves across the touchscreen display device from the first location to the second location includes the first user input contacting a control element and moving a displayed position of the control element from the first location to the second location (“the user may adjust a position of the slider 108 on the scale 110 to thereby adjust the adjustable graphic between the at least two differing states. In this regard, FIG. 7 illustrates the slider 108 as defining a position on the scale 110 corresponding to an intermediate state 104d of the adjustable graphic 104 between the positive and neutral states 104a, b” paragraph 0052); and
the control element is distinct from the one or more graphical elements (Slider 108).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kamoun to comprise wherein: receiving the indication that first user input contacts the touchscreen display device and moves across the touchscreen display device from the first location to the second location includes the first user input contacting a control element and moving a displayed position of the control element from the first location to the second location. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to permit ease of capturing the thoughts or opinions of a user, while still allowing a relatively wide range or responses.
As to dependent claim 17, Kamoun teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 16, Kamoun does not appear to expressly teach wherein:
the one or more first graphical elements do not move in a same direction and amount as the control element, responsive to the first user input moving the displayed position of the control element from the first location to the second location.
Sullivan teaches the one or more first graphical elements do not move in a same direction and amount as the control element, responsive to the first user input moving the displayed position of the control element from the first location to the second location (element 104 do not move in a same direction responsive to the user input moving the displayed position of the slider 108).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kamoun to comprise wherein: the one or more first graphical elements do not move in a same direction and amount as the control element, responsive to the first user input moving the displayed position of the control element from the first location to the second location. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to permit ease of capturing the thoughts or opinions of a user, while still allowing a relatively wide range or responses.
As to dependent claim 18, Kamoun teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 16, Kamoun does not appear to expressly teach wherein:
the control element is presented along a displayed line that represents a path across which the first user input is able to move the control element.
Sullivan teaches the control element is presented along a displayed line that represents a path across which the first user input is able to move the control element (“In order to adjust the adjustable graphic 104, the system may provide for manipulation of a selector. In the illustrated embodiment a selector 106 comprises a slider 108 on a track or scale 110. Accordingly, the user may adjust a position of the slider 108 on the scale 110 to thereby adjust the adjustable graphic between the at least two differing states. In this regard, FIG. 7 illustrates the slider 108 as defining a position on the scale 110 corresponding to an intermediate state 104d of the adjustable graphic 104 between the positive and neutral states 104a, b.” paragraph [0052).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kamoun to comprise wherein: the control element is presented along a displayed line that represents a path across which the first user input is able to move the control element. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to permit ease of capturing the thoughts or opinions of a user, while still allowing a relatively wide range or responses.
As to dependent claim 22, Kamoun teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 13, Kamoun does not appear to expressly teach wherein: the one or more first graphical interface elements comprise one or more lines;
the one or more first graphical interface elements having the first configuration that graphically indicates the first extent of user agreeableness with the first statement includes the set of one or more lines having a first level of waviness;
the one or more first graphical interface elements having the second configuration that graphically indicates the second extent of user agreeableness with the first statement includes the set of one or more lines having a second level of waviness with greater waviness than the first level of waviness; and
the one or more first graphical interface elements having the third configuration that graphically indicates the third extent of user agreeableness with the first statement includes the set of one or more lines having a third level of waviness with greater waviness than the second level of waviness.
However, Kamoun [0052] teaches predefined renderings 200 for visual sentiment indicators, “the Value is rendered (106) on a screen (herein the “Rendering”) simultaneously to the Sliding figuring the nature and/or intensity of a Sentiment in order for the Respondent to adjust, redo and/or validate the related Value. The Rendering may basically consist in a visual indicator (examples: number of highlighted stars, levered/scaled bar, gauge, traffic light . . . ), an animated drawing or emotional character changing simultaneously with the “Value” (paragraph 0052, Fig. 3, 316 and Fig. 4, 413)”. It will be obvious by those skilled in the art that using line(s) as a visual indicator is a design choice, as they are used to communicate information to a user without words.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kamoun to comprise wherein: the one or more first graphical interface elements comprise one or more lines; the one or more first graphical interface elements having the first configuration that graphically indicates the first extent of user agreeableness with the first statement includes the set of one or more lines having a first level of waviness; the one or more first graphical interface elements having the second configuration that graphically indicates the second extent of user agreeableness with the first statement includes the set of one or more lines having a second level of waviness with greater waviness than the first level of waviness; and the one or more first graphical interface elements having the third configuration that graphically indicates the third extent of user agreeableness with the first statement includes the set of one or more lines having a third level of waviness with greater waviness than the second level of waviness. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to permit ease of capturing the thoughts or opinions of a user, while still allowing a relatively wide range or responses.
As to dependent claim 23, Kamoun teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 13, wherein:
the one or more first graphical interface elements graphically depict an object (sentiment indicator 413, paragraph 0009-0010);
the one or more first graphical interface elements having the first configuration that graphically indicates the first extent of user agreeableness with the first statement includes the object being depicted with a first level of detail (“d) the Value is rendered (106) on a screen (herein the “Rendering”) simultaneously to the Sliding figuring the nature and/or intensity of a Sentiment in order for the Respondent to adjust, redo and/or validate the related Value. The Rendering may basically consist in a simple number (example: 412), or vary for each Indicator consisting in…, an animated drawing or emotional character changing simultaneously with the “Value” (example: 316, 413),” paragraph 0012);
the one or more first graphical interface elements having the second configuration that graphically indicates the second extent of user agreeableness with the first statement includes the object being depicted with a second level of detail that is greater than the first level of detail (“an animated drawing or emotional character changing simultaneously with the “Value” (example: 316, 413),” paragraph 0012); and
the one or more first graphical interface elements having the third configuration that graphically indicates the third extent of user agreeableness with the first statement includes the object being depicted with a third level of detail that is greater than the second level of detail (“an animated drawing or emotional character changing simultaneously with the “Value” (example: 316, 413),” paragraph 0012).
Claims 24 and 44-48 are substantially the same as claims 13-18 and are therefore rejected under similar rationale as above.
Claims 19 and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamoun in view of Sullivan et al., and Kokemohr (US 20140250396 A1).
As to dependent claim 19, Kamoun teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 16, Kamoun does not appear to expressly teach wherein:
the first user input moves across at least a portion of the one or more first graphical elements, such that the control element is presented as superimposed over at least the portion of the one or more first graphical elements.
Kokemohr teaches a control element can include features such as a slider in Fig. 1 is superimposed over at least the portion of the image and a user input moves across at least a portion the image (see fig. 1).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kamoun to comprise wherein: the first user input moves across at least a portion of the one or more first graphical elements, such that the control element is presented as superimposed over at least the portion of the one or more first graphical elements. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to permit ease of capturing the thoughts or opinions of a user, while still allowing a relatively wide range or responses.
Claim 49 is substantially the same as claim 19 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale as above.
Claims 20-21 and 50-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamoun in view of Sullivan et al., and White (US 20220382450 A1).
As to dependent claim 20, Kamoun teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 13, Kamoun does not appear to expressly teach method comprising:
receiving, by the computing device an indication that the first user input has released from the touchscreen display device at the third location;
receiving, by the computing device, user selection of an interface element to transition the touchscreen from presenting a first interface screen that includes the first statement to presenting a second interface screen; and
assigning, by the computing device, the third extent of user agreeableness with the first statement as the first user response to the first statement.
White teaches receiving, by the computing device an indication that the first user input has released from the touchscreen display device at the third location (“FIG. 6A shows an example where user input is captured for the input prompt “I like to draw attention to myself.” After the user input is captured (e.g., after the user releases the input slider, terminates input to a touch-sensitive input area, etc.),” paragraph 0129);
receiving, by the computing device, user selection of an interface element to transition the touchscreen from presenting a first interface screen that includes the first statement to presenting a second interface screen (“a new user input prompt “How many hours do you sleep in a normal 24 hour period?” may be displayed (e.g., as shown in FIG. 6B). As such, user input may be rapidly captured for various user input prompts (e.g., as subsequent user input prompts may automatically be displayed in response to user input release from touch-sensitive input areas).” Paragraph 0129); and
assigning, by the computing device, the third extent of user agreeableness with the first statement as the first user response to the first statement (Fig. 6B, slide me to answer “yes” or “no”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kamoun to comprise receiving, by the computing device an indication that the first user input has released from the touchscreen display device at the third location; receiving, by the computing device, user selection of an interface element to transition the touchscreen from presenting a first interface screen that includes the first statement to presenting a second interface screen; and assigning, by the computing device, the third extent of user agreeableness with the first statement as the first user response to the first statement. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to permit ease of capturing the thoughts or opinions of a user, while still allowing a relatively wide range or responses.
As to dependent claim 21, Kamoun teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 20, Kamoun further teaches the method comprising:
presenting, by the computing device, a second statement on the second interface screen (“The term “Sentiment” refers herein to any kind of human attitude, opinion, appreciation, assessment, preference, emotion, humor, intention, feeling or combination of such Sentiments, all with respect to a particular Topic (10).” paragraph 0009, see topic 310, 510, 610 are presented) and White further teaches (“a new user input prompt “How many hours do you sleep in a normal 24 hour period?” may be displayed (e.g., as shown in FIG. 6B). As such, user input may be rapidly captured for various user input prompts (e.g., as subsequent user input prompts may automatically be displayed in response to user input release from touch-sensitive input areas).” Paragraph 0129);
presenting, by the computing device, a second user response that includes same said first text indicating the first extent of user agreeableness with the first statement (“a) a predefined Indicator (101) is presented to a Respondent (410) or selected from a list by a Respondent (301) for this Respondent to react in regard of that Indicator,” Kamoun Pagraph 0012; “The term “Sentiment Indicator” or “Indicator” refers herein to a string of characters, a digital code, or any visual or audio element that a Respondent can interpret as a metrics of the nature and/or intensity of a Sentiment,” paragraph 0010);
presenting, by the computing device, the one or more first graphical interface elements in the first configuration that graphically indicates the first extent of user agreeableness with the second statement (Fig. 4, graphical element 413- smiley emoji is display; “Where either only a single Indicator can be submitted at once or several Indicators can be submitted at once, each Indicator in both cases along with related Rendering.” Claim 1, last sentence- this implies that two indicators may be displayed concurrently as shown in Fig. 4);
receiving, by the computing device, an indication that second user input contacts the touchscreen display device and moves across the touchscreen display device from
changing, by the computing device, the presentation of the second user response from including the first text to including the second text indicating the second extent of user agreeableness with the first statement, responsive to the second user input having moved
changing, by the computing device, the presentation of the one or more first graphical interface elements from having the first configuration to having the second configuration that graphically indicates the second extent of user agreeableness with the second statement, responsive to the second user input having moved
Kamoun does not appear to expressly teach receiving, by the computing device, an indication that the first user input has moved across the touchscreen display device from the first location to a second location and from the second location to a third location; and changing, by the computing device, the presentation…, responsive to the first user input having moved from the first location to a second location and from the second location to a third location.
Sullivan teaches receiving, by the computing device, an indication that the first user input has moved across the touchscreen display device from a fourth location to a fifth location; and changing, by the computing device, the presentation…, responsive to the first user input having moved from a fourth location to a fifth location (“For example, FIG. 4 illustrates the adjustable graphic 104 as defining a positive expression 104a, whereas FIG. 5 illustrates the adjustable graphic 104 as defining a negative expression 104c. Optionally, the adjustable graphic 104 may define a third state between the other two differing states.” Paragraph 0051).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kamoun to comprise receiving, by the computing device, an indication that the first user input has moved across the touchscreen display device from a fourth location to a fifth location; and changing, by the computing device, the presentation…, responsive to the first user input having moved from the fourth location to a fifth location. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to permit ease of capturing the thoughts or opinions of a user, while still allowing a relatively wide range or responses.
Claims 50-51 are substantially the same as claims 20-21 and are therefore rejected under similar rationale as above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Rozga et al. US 20170053299 A1, Abstract discloses systems and methods for more effectively obtaining and understanding a person's responses to a survey, poll, or questionnaire, specifically for persons providing a response using a mobile device (such as a smartphone). In some embodiments, a user of a mobile device may be provided with a survey or poll and asked to respond by using a gesture, a combination of a gesture and an audio input, a combination of a gesture and a key press, etc.
Abowd et al. US 20140298260 A, paragraph 0050 discloses a question widget can be designed to support a question with multiple short answers. FIG. 3 shows an example of a question widget 302 embodied as a ratings scale question. This is one example of a question that has a number of (3 or more) possible short answers. The responder is asked a question, in this case "How would you rate our service today?" and the options arranged along the circumference of a circle, representing a range of responses along a discrete scale from 0 (representing the most negative impression and accompanied by a frowning face icon) to 10 (representing the most positive impression and accompanied by a smiling face icon). A circular control object 304 in the middle of the circle can be selected by touch and moved in a single dragging gesture (or flicking or flinging gesture) to the circumference towards the desired response.
Karty US 12033169 B1, Abstract discloses Software user interfaces, methods, and systems provide highly interactive survey questions on mobile internet devices. The software user interfaces are uniquely designed to provide the intensive use of rich media in questions and answers that are delivered on small screens of mobile internet devices, to incorporate unique modes of interaction, and to integrate the array of inputs that are now ubiquitous in such devices into novel response mechanisms. The associated methods and systems provide efficient gathering of response data pertaining to conscious and pre-conscious thoughts, including impulses, feelings, perceptions, sentiments, associations, and emotions. The associated methods and systems gather and aggregate the response data into databases and create derived metrics, interpretive frameworks, and predictive frameworks from this data.
/MAHELET SHIBEROU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171