DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 12-23, 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG et al PG PUB 2016/0227483 in view of Damnjanovic et al PG PUB 2021/0173637.
Re Claims 1, 15 and 29-30, WANG et al teaches in figure 2a, a device (a first device; CRM) comprising a memory [0107]; and controller 240 (a processor) whereby a management unit 242 of the controller 240 configured to determine a first transmission between the first device and Medical service 140 (a second device), See figure 1, wherein the first device support BT-LE (a low power device) [0003] associated with a Energy Harvesting Unit 230 (an energy harvesting capability); the management unit 2452 perform an action of the first transmission based on a battery status associated with the first device [0062 0063].
WANG et al fails to explicitly teach “a second transmission between the first device and the second device…wherein the second transmission and first transmission are separated by a quantity of symbols that satisfies a threshold value;”.
However, Damnjanovic et al teaches when number of Symbols reaches a maximum number of symbols connection (the first transmission) with low power PICO [0084, the maximum number of symbols can be reserved to connection (the second transmission) with a high-power base station [0110 also See figure 9].
By combining the teachings, the when the first transmission in WANG et al is determined with the maximum number of symbols, in view of the device Damnjanovic et al, the device in WANG et al, can be switched to the high-power base station to mitigate for interference.
One skilled in the art would have been motivated to mitigate for interference. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled to have combined the teachings.
Re Claims 2, 16, WANG et al teaches figure 6, S604 when the stored energy less than the threshold (the battery status) [0076], S608 End of SE-slot (configured to drop the first connection).
Re Claims 3, 17, Damnjanovic et al the symbols in the first and/or second transmission are transmitting by OFDM (multiplex) [0110].
Re Claims 4, 18, Damnjanovic et al teaches the UE receiving RRC signaling [0065] configuring the maximum # of symbols.
Re Claims 5, 6, 19, 20, Damnjanovic et al teaches traffic based on a particular coding scheme (a cost, MCS) [0123].
Re Claims 7, 21, Damnjanovic et al teaches the terminal device communicates a wireless connection capability to a BS [0043]. Examiner takes notice that the capability signaling can include costs per MCS and per TBS.
Re Claims 8, 9, 22, 23, Damnjanovic et al teaches the wireless technology supported can be LTE [0041] which includes PDSCH, PUSCH, PUCCH for the first and second transmission of WANG et al.
Re Claims 12, 13, 26, 27, WANG et al teaches the partially or fully harvesting the first/second transmission based on the RF energy capability [0046].
Re Claim 14, 28, Damnjanovic et al teaches device is a UE communicating with a base station.
Claims 10, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG et al PG PUB 2016/0227483 in view of Damnjanovic et al PG PUB 2021/0173637 as applied to Claim 1 above and further in view of HASSAN PG PUB 2021/0022090.
Re Claims 10, 24, WANG et al in view of Damnjanovic et al fails to explicitly teach “modifying a power configuration …of the first transmission…”. However, HASSAN teaches when the n Symbols exceed a threshold transmission power, the transmit power can modified to minimize power spikes [0072]. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to minimize power spikes in the transmitted symbols. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled to have combined the teachings.
Claims 11, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG et al PG PUB 2016/0227483 in view of Damnjanovic et al PG PUB 2021/0173637 as applied to Claim 1 above and further in view of Monson et al PG PUB 2022/0354373.
Re Claims 11, 25, WANG et al teaches the battery status relating to the remaining battery level. WANG et al in view of Damnjanovic et al fails to explicitly teach a predicted energy harvesting at the first device. However, Monson et al teaches a device a controller adjusts the operation of the wireless device based on a predicted energy harvesting and prioritize and selectively control the activation based on the energy made available from the harvesting device [0028]. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to have operated based on the predicted energy harvesting to enable reliable connection with the wireless network. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled to have combined the teachings.
/ANDREW LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475