DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 50 and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for the method of treating cancer, does not reasonably provide enablement for any method in which the self-assembled polypeptide complex is administered nor the method of preventing cancer. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Claim 50 is broad, encompassing any method in which the self-assembled polypeptide complex or nanocage comprising an anti-DR5 antibody and an IgG1 Fc comprising a substitution at glycine 237, including, but not limited to methods of treating, preventing, or diagnosing any disease or condition; see paragraph 0096. Claim 52 encompasses any method in which the subject, to which the self-assembled polypeptide complex, has a tumor or is at risk of developing a tumor. Claim 52 is not limited to methods of treating or preventing any cancer but claim 52 encompasses such methods.
While the level of ordinary skill in the art is high, the level of unpredictability in the art is also high. DR5, also known as TNFRSF10B, is most associated with cancer, in which DR5 is overexpressed; see Ding et al. (International Journal of Nanomedicine. 6: 1991-2005; Published: September 14, 2011) page 1992 right column. DR5 propagates both pro-apoptotic and pro-survival signaling in response to TRAIL; see Abstract of Shlyakhtina et al. (Cell Death & Disease. 8: e3025; Published: August 31, 2017). To lesser extent, DR5 is known to be associated with Alzheimer’s disease and viral infection. Fossati et al. (Cell Death & Disease. 3: e321; Published: June 14, 2012) teaches that DR5 is upregulated and colocalized with amyloid-B and associated with pro-apoptotic signaling in Alzheimer’s disease; see Abstract. Du et al. (Cell Death and Differentiation. 16: 219-229; Published Online: October 17, 2008) teaches that Hepatitis B virus infected hepatocytes demonstrated significantly reduced expression of DR5 and reducing DR5-induced apoptosis of HBV-infected hepatocytes; see Abstract.
While targeting DR5 has been effective in vitro at reducing neurotoxicity in Alzheimer’s disease, in vivo targeting of DR5 has only demonstrated efficacy in the treatment of cancer; see Uberti et al. (Neuropsychopharmacology. 32: 872-880; Published: August 16, 2006), Kaplan-Lefko et al. (Cancer Biology & Therapy 9(8): 618-631; Published: April 15, 2010), and Overdijk et al. (Molecular Cancer Therapeutics. 19: 2126-2138; Published: October 2, 2020).
Claim 52 encompasses administering the claimed product to a subject at risk of developing cancer, including administering in a method of preventing cancer. Cancer development is understood to begin with genetic alteration and the resulting promotion and progression resulting in karyotypic instability and malignant growth; see Pitot et al. (Cancer. 73(3): 962-970; Published: August 1, 1993). The initiation, promotion, and progression of this genetic instability is multifactorial and can be brought about by a plethora of chemical, physical, or biologic carcinogens; see Pitot et al. Following the development of a single malignant cell, several enabling characteristics or hallmarks, including sustained proliferative signaling, avoidance of apoptosis, and immune evasion, further the progression of cancer; see Hanahan et al. (Cell. 144(5): 646-674; Published: March 4, 2011). While there exist several models for introducing genetic instability, there is currently no animal model to recapitulate the transition from immune surveillance to immune evasion and escape.
The nature of carcinogenesis clearly lies in genetic instability and, thus, a mode of cancer prevention should aim to reverse genetic instability. Yet, the nature of this invention aims to target cells, including malignant cells, overexpressing DR5 and induce apoptosis – thereby addressing enabling characteristics or hallmarks of cancer, but not the initiation itself.
Applicant has demonstrated the efficacy of treating a colon cancer xenograft mice model comprising administering self-assembled polypeptide complexes comprising ferritin L-chain monomers or subunits thereof, an anti-DR5 antibody, and an IgG1 Fc region comprising the L234A, L235A, G236R, G237A, and A330L mutations (called “LLRAL” in the disclosure). However, Applicant has not demonstrated the efficacy of the claimed self-assembled polypeptide complexes in preventing cancer. Nor has Applicant provided any guidance regarding preventative treatment, including preventative dosing regimens, how to identify a subject how would benefit from preventative treatment, or when to initiate preventative treatment. Similarly, Applicant has to demonstrated the efficacy of the self-assembled polypeptide complexes in targeting any other diseases or conditions besides cancer. Nor has Applicant detailed any other methods, besides the treatment of cancer, in which administering the claimed self-assembled polypeptide complexes would be appropriate.
The amount of experimentation required to formulate such guidance would be enormous. One would have to demonstrate the efficacy of the self-assembled polypeptide complexes in several models inducing genetic instability across several different types of cancers and determine the appropriate regimen (doses and frequency) for use of the self-assembled polypeptide complexes in a preventative setting. Further, one would have to conduct population analysis to identify definitive characteristics which indicate that a subject is at risk of developing any cancer to a degree that would outweigh potential adverse effects of treatment with the claimed self-assembled polypeptide complexes. Additionally, one would have to identify other diseases or conditions with which a subject may receive therapeutic benefit from ferroptosis induced by administration of the self-assembled polypeptide complexes. The prior art points towards Alzheimer’s disease and perhaps other diseases or conditions associated with abhorrent inflammatory or autoimmune response. However, the scope is enormous and one would first have to conduct in vitro assays followed by in vivo model experiments over a vast span of diseases and conditions.
Thus, considering the high level of skill in the art, the state of the art, the level of predictability, and the guidance and examples provided, the experimentation required to enable the full scope of the claimed invention would not be reasonable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 3, 4, 6, 18, 21, 39, 40, and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3, 4, and 6, which all depend from claim 2, recite “the ferritin monomer or subunit thereof”. Claim 2 recites that the nanocage monomer or subunit thereof in the first and second fusion polypeptides is a ferritin monomer or subunit thereof. It is unclear whether claims 3, 4, and 6 refer to the ferritin monomer or subunit thereof in the first or second fusion polypeptide or the ferritin monomers or subunits thereof in both the first and second fusion polypeptides. For the purpose of compact prosecution, claims 3, 4, and 6 are interpreted as referring to the ferritin monomers or subunits thereof in both the first and second fusion polypeptides.
Claims 18, 21, 39, and 40 recite that the fusion polypeptide (singular) comprises a Fab. However, a Fab fragment comprises two polypeptide chains: a heavy and a light chain. It is unclear how the singular fusion polypeptide could comprise a two polypeptide fragment. For the purpose of compact prosecution, the Fab is interpreted as a single-chain Fab fragment.
Claim 42 recites a third fusion protein comprising “a nanocage monomer or subunit thereof” and an antigen-binding antibody fragment and wherein the third fusion protein is “different than the second fusion polypeptide”. Claim 37, from which claim 42 depends, recites a second fusion protein comprising an anti-DR5 antibody fragment and a ferritin monomer or subunit thereof. It is unclear what different than the second fusion polypeptide in claim 42 means.
The nanocage monomer or subunit thereof in claim 37 is a ferritin monomer or subunit thereof. Can the third polypeptide comprise a different nanocage monomer? If so, it is unclear by what means the third polypeptide is forming the “self-assembled polypeptide complex” as claimed since the self-assembly is mediated by ferritin interactions per claim 37. Alternatively, is the third polypeptide different from the second polypeptide by the identity of the antigen-binding antibody fragment?
For the purpose of compact prosecution, claim 42 is interpreted as reciting that the self-assembled polypeptide complex of 37 further comprises a plurality of third fusion polypeptides comprising (1) an antigen-binding antibody fragment and (2) a ferritin monomer or subunit thereof, wherein the antigen-binding antibody fragment of the third fusion polypeptide is different from the antibody fragment capable of binding to DR5 in the second fusion polypeptide. This difference encompasses both an antigen-binding antibody fragment in the third fusion polypeptide which binds an antigen other than DR5 or an antigen-binding antibody fragment in the third fusion polypeptide which comprises a distinct amino acid sequence yet also binds DR5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 14 depends from claim 1 and recites that the Fc polypeptide comprises an IgG1 Fc chain. Claim 1 line 7 recites that the Fc polypeptide comprises and IgG1 Fc chain. Claim 14 fails to further limit claim 1 from which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 11, 14-18, 20, 21, 37, 42, 50, and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Julien et al. (WO 2019/023811 A1; Published: February 7, 2019) in view of Ding et al. (International Journal of Nanomedicine. 6: 1991-2005; Published: September 14, 2011) and Watkins et al. (US 2021/0122828 A1; Published: April 29, 2021).
Regarding claims 1, 20, 37, and 42, Julien et al. (2019) teaches a plurality of fusion proteins which self-assemble to form a nanocage decorated on the exterior surface with antibodies or fragments thereof; see Abstract. Julien et al. (2019) teaches that the nanocages may form from identical fusion proteins or from multiple different fusion proteins resulting in a multivalent nanocage; see page 33 lines 9-11. Claims 1-3 of Julien et al. (2019) teach a fusion protein comprising a nanocage monomer and an antibody or fragment thereof comprising a first member of a binding pair which could be an antigen binding domain or an Fc region. Further, the antigen may be a tumor antigen; see claims 25 and 27. Regarding claim 11, Julien et al. (2019) teaches that the Fc portion may comprise a scFc; see Example 10.
Regarding claims 2-5, 16, 17, 18, and 21, Julien et al. (2019) teaches a nanocage comprising fusion proteins comprising an anti-CD20 or anti-CD19 Fab linked to the N-terminus of human ferritin L-chain; see Example 1.
Regarding claims 50 and 52, Julien et al. (2019) teaches that methods comprising administering the ferritin nanocage, such as for treating cancer; see claims 53-57.
Julien et al. (2019) does not teach that the Fc region comprises an IgG1 Fc chain, nor that the Fc comprises a mutation at position 237 while retaining the proline at position 329, nor further comprising an alanine at positions 234, 235, and 237, an arginine at position 236, and a leucine at position 330. While Julien et al. teaches the nanocage decorated with antibodies, including those specific to tumor antigens, the reference does not teach DR5.
Ding et al. teaches that DTIC-loaded PLA nanoparticles targeted to tumor cells overexpressing DR5 by covalent conjugation to an anti-DR5 antibody resulted in internalization of the nanoparticle and cancer cell apoptosis; see Abstract.
Similar to Julien et al. (2019), Ding et al. does not teach that the Fc region comprises an IgG1 Fc chain, nor that the Fc comprises a mutation at position 237 while retaining the proline at position 329, nor further comprising an alanine at positions 234, 235, and 237, an arginine at position 236, and a leucine at position 330.
Regarding claims 1, 14-16, and 37, Watkins et al. teaches substitutions to an IgG1 Fc region to reduce effector function by reducing FcyR binding resulting in decreased ADCC and CDC. Watkins et al. teaches several mutations, which can be combines, including the set of L234A, L235A, and G237A mutations, G236R, and A330L; see Table 3 and paragraph 0094. Watkins et al. discloses that such mutations improve half-life in vivo, but sacrifice antibody-mediated cytotoxicity; see paragraph 0170.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the pluralities of fusion proteins comprising antibodies, including those targeting tumor antigens such as DR5, and ferritin, including human L-ferritin, with the plurality of fusion proteins comprising Fc regions, including a scFc, and ferritin, including human L-ferritin, to generate a multivalent self-assembled ferritin nanocage. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Julien et al. (2019) teaches that multiple different fusion proteins, as opposed to multiple identical fusion proteins, can be combined to make a multivalent nanocage and teaches embodiments where the fusion protein comprises an antibody targeting a tumor antigen or where the fusion protein comprises an scFc. One would have been motivated to decorate the nanocage with two different antigen-binding domains to increase specificity for the target cell.
While Julien et al. (2019) does not teach targeting DR5, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to do so and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Julien et al. (2019) teaches targeting tumor antigens and Ding et al. teaches that DR5 is overexpressed in some cancers and teaches that targeting a nanoparticle conjugated to an anti-DR5 antibody resulted in internalization of the dacarbazine-loaded nanoparticle and cancer cell apoptosis; see Abstract. Furthermore, Julien et al. (2019) demonstrates that the anti-CD20 or anti-CD19 Fab ferritin nanocages were internalized by Bjab (lymphoma) cells; see Example 4. Together, one would reasonably expect that DR5 directed nanocages would be internalized and the difference in nanoparticle composition (i.e. ferritin vs. PLA) would not be a barrier to internalization.
Moreover, given that Julien et al. (2019) teaches increasing the half-life of the nanocage by incorporating an Fc region (see the reference to Choe et al. summary on page 2, page 26, and Example 10) and Watkins et al. teaches modified IgG1 Fc regions for increased half-life, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include one or more of the Fc-silencing modifications taught by Watkins et al. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success adding an scFc to the self-assembled complex, including one with Fc-silencing modifications, because Example 10 of Julien et al. (2019) demonstrates that a scFc can be fused to a ferritin and fold correctly as evidenced by Protein A elution, Julien et al. (2019) guides one to using Fc regions as a strategy for improved half-life, and Watkin et al. teaches the FcyR-binding effect of each modification and that modifications can be combined.
Finally, given that Julien et al. (2019) teaches methods comprising administering the nanocages, including for the treatment of cancer, and that Ding et al. teaches anti-DR5 antibody decorated nanoparticles for treating cancer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success to administer the anti-DR5 and scFc decorated ferritin nanoparticles with Fc modifications for increased half-life for the treatment of cancer.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the application, as evidenced by the references.
Claims 6-8, 23, and 38-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Julien et al. (WO 2019/023811 A1; Published: February 7, 2019) in view of Ding et al. (International Journal of Nanomedicine. 6: 1991-2005; Published: September 14, 2011) and Watkins et al. (US 2021/0122828 A1; Published: April 29, 2021) as applied to claim(s) 1-5, 11, 14-18, 20, 21, 37, 42, 50, and 52 above, and further in view of Julien et al. (WO 2021/016724 A1; Published: February 4, 2021).
The teachings of Julien et al. (2019) in view of Ding et al. and Watkins et al. as related to claim(s) 1-5, 11, 14-18, 20, 21, 37, 42, 50, and 52, from which these claims depend are given previously in this Office action and are fully incorporated here.
Neither Julien et al. (2019), Ding et al., nor Watkins et al. teach a fusion protein comprising a subunit of ferritin (e.g. N-half or C-half).
Julien et al. (2021) teaches that the ferritin monomer can be split into two subunits: N-half, also called in N-ferritin, and C-half, also called C-ferritin; see page 57. Julien et al. (2021) teaches that this splitting of ferritin monomers into two halves allowed for improved breadth and mulitspecificity of the molecule – the nanocage was formerly a 24 monomer structure, but could be expanded to 32 monomers. Julien et al. (2021) teaches that the bipartite split of L chain ferritin demonstrated no significant differences in biophysical and functional properties of compared to nanocages assembled from full-length apoferritin; see page 57 lines 14-16. Page 54 teaches that the split of apoferritin separated residues 1-94 from 96-175. Julien et al. (2021) teaches that either the first, second, or third fusion proteins could comprise either N-half ferritin or C-half ferritin; see pages 6-7 and 44. In Figure 3a, Julien et al. (2021) exemplifies a nanocage comprising fusion proteins comprising scFc fused to the N-terminus of N-half ferritin or a scFab fused to the N-terminus of C-half ferritin.
Given that Julien et al. (2021) teaches that the L-chain of ferritin can be split into two halves and self-assemble without biophysical and functional properties compared to full L-chain ferritin and that the scFab or the scFc can be fused to the N-terminus of either N-half or C-half ferritin, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success making fusion proteins comprising N-half or C-half ferritin with a fusion partner (e.g. an scFab or scFc) at the N-terminus of each half. One would have been motivated to make the fusion proteins comprising N-half or C-half L-chain ferritin to increase the number of fusion partner antigen-binding moieties decorating the assembled nanocage.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the application, as evidenced by the references.
Claims 6-8, 23, and 38-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Julien et al. (WO 2019/023811 A1; Published: February 7, 2019) in view of Ding et al. (International Journal of Nanomedicine. 6: 1991-2005; Published: September 14, 2011) and Watkins et al. (US 2021/0122828 A1; Published: April 29, 2021) as applied to claim(s) 1-5, 11, 14-18, 20, 21, 37, 42, 50, and 52 above, and further in view of Rujas et al. (Nature Communications. 12: 3661; Published Online: June 16, 2021).
The teachings of Julien et al. (2019) in view of Ding et al. and Watkins et al. as related to claim(s) 1-5, 11, 14-18, 20, 21, 37, 42, 50, and 52, from which these claims depend are given previously in this Office action and are fully incorporated here.
Neither Julien et al. (2019), Ding et al., nor Watkins et al. teach a fusion protein comprising a subunit of ferritin (e.g. N-half or C-half).
Rujas et al. teaches that the ferritin monomer can be split into two subunits: N-half, also called in N-ferritin, and C-half, also called C-ferritin; see Figure 3. Rujas et al. teaches that this splitting of ferritin monomers into two halves allowed for higher valency nanocages; see pages 2-3. Rujas et al. teaches the bipartite split of L chain ferritin separated residues 1-90 from 91-175 with binding partners fused at the N-terminus; see Figure 3. Moreover, the coexpression of scFab-C-half ferritin and scFc-N-half ferritin in excess resulted in a self-assembly displaying high numbers of scFab and low numbers of scFc; see page 3 and Figure 3. Further, Rujas et al. teaches that the split ferritin nanocage demonstrated higher antigen avidity and the function of scFc was preserved; see Figure 3d, 3e, and page 3.
Given that Rujsas et al. teaches that the L-chain of ferritin can be split into two halves and self-assemble without biophysical and functional properties compared to full L-chain ferritin and that the scFab or the scFc can be fused to the N-terminus of either N-half or C-half ferritin, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success making fusion proteins comprising N-half or C-half ferritin with a fusion partner (e.g. an scFab or scFc) at the N-terminus of each half. One would have been motivated to make the fusion proteins comprising N-half or C-half L-chain ferritin to increase the number of fusion partner antigen-binding moieties decorating the assembled nanocage and/or increase the avidity of the antigen-binding fragment.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the application, as evidenced by the references.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 7, 8, 11, 14-18, 20, 21, 23, 37-39, 42, 50, and 52 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8, 11, 14-22, 25, 26, 28, 29, 31, 44-47, 49, 55, 57, and 58 of copending Application No. 18/691,267 in view of Ding et al. (International Journal of Nanomedicine. 6: 1991-2005; Published: September 14, 2011).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding instant claims 1, 14-16, and 37, copending claims 1, 14-17, and 44 teaches a fusion protein comprising an IgG1 Fc chain with a substitution at glycine 237 and a nanocage monomer or subunit thereof, a self-assembled polypeptide comprising a plurality of the fusion protein and a plurality of a second fusion protein comprising an antigen-binding antibody fragment and a nanocage monomer or subunit there, and another similar self-assembled polypeptide complex wherein the IgG1 Fc chain comprises an alanine at positions 234, 235, 237, an arginine at position 236, a proline at position 329, and a leucine at position 330.
Regarding instant claims 2-5, the fusion polypeptide comprises a nanocage monomer or subunit there is a ferritin monomer or subunit thereof and the ferritin is human ferritin or a ferritin light chain, and a self-assembled polypeptide complex comprising the fusion protein and wherein the complex does not comprise ferritin heavy chains; see copending claims 2-5 and 18-21.
Regarding instant claims 7, 8, 17, 23, 38, 39, and 40, the complex comprises nanocage monomers of N-half and C-half ferritin wherein the first and second fusion proteins comprise N-half and C-half ferritin linked at the N-terminus of the ferritin half; see copending claims 6-8, 31, 45-47 and 31.
Regarding instant claims 11, 18, 39, and 40, copending claims 11, 46, and 47 teach that the Fc polypeptide is a scFc and copending claims 26, 46, and 47 teach that the antibody is a Fab.
Regarding instant claims 20, 21, and 42, copending claims 28, 29, and 49 teach a third fusion protein comprising a Fab.
Regarding instant claims 50 and 52, copending claims 55, 57, and 58 teach administering the self-assembled polypeptide complex to a subject having or at risk of developing cancer.
The copending claims do not teach that the antibody fragment binds DR5.
Ding et al. teaches that DTIC-loaded PLA nanoparticles targeted to tumor cells overexpressing DR5 by covalent conjugation to an anti-DR5 antibody resulted in internalization of the nanoparticle and cancer cell apoptosis; see Abstract.
It would have been obvious to target DR5 with the antibody of the fusion protein of which the self-assembled polypeptide complex is comprised in part and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to target DR5 because Ding et al. teaches that DR5 is overexpressed in some cancers and teaches that targeting a nanoparticle conjugated to an anti-DR5 antibody resulted in internalization of the dacarbazine-loaded nanoparticle and cancer cell apoptosis; see Abstract. Furthermore, the copending claims teach a method encompassing treating cancer comprising administering the self-assembled polypeptide complex and one would have been motivated to target DR5 in order to treat DR5 overexpressing cancers.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the application, as evidenced by the references.
Claims 1-5, 11, 14-18, 20, 21, 37, 42, 50, and 52 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7, 9, 20-23, 54, 64-69, 71, and 75-77 of copending Application No. 18/578,239 in view of Julien et al. (WO 2019/023811 A1; Published: February 7, 2019), Ding et al. (International Journal of Nanomedicine. 6: 1991-2005; Published: September 14, 2011) and Watkins et al. (US 2021/0122828 A1; Published: April 29, 2021).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding instant claims 1, 14-16, and 37, copending claims 1, 2, 7, 20-23, 69, and 75-77 teach a self-assembled polypeptide complex comprising a plurality of fusion proteins comprising a Fc polypeptide and a nanocage monomer and a second plurality of fusion proteins comprising an antibody fragment and a nanocage monomer, wherein the Fc polypeptide is an IgG1 and comprises mutations including L234A, L235A, G236R, G237A, and A330L.
Regarding instant claims 2-5 and 37, copending claims 3-5 and 65-68 teach that the nanocage monomer is a ferritin monomer, including human ferritin or light chain ferritin, and does not comprise heavy chain ferritin.
Regarding instant claims 11 and 37, copending claims 9 and 71 teach that the Fc polypeptide is a scFc.
Regarding instant claims 50 and 52, copending claim 54 teaches a method comprising administering the self-assembled polypeptide complex to a subject.
The copending claims do not teach that the antibody binds DR5, a complex comprising a third fusion polypeptide, nor that the antibody is a Fab.
Regarding instant claims 1, 20, 37, and 42, Julien et al. (2019) teaches a plurality of fusion proteins which self-assemble to form a nanocage decorated on the exterior surface with antibodies or fragments thereof; see Abstract. Julien et al. (2019) teaches that the nanocages may form from identical fusion proteins or from multiple different fusion proteins resulting in a multivalent nanocage; see page 33 lines 9-11. Claims 1-3 of Julien et al. (2019) teach a fusion protein comprising a nanocage monomer and an antibody or fragment thereof comprising a first member of a binding pair which could be an antigen binding domain or an Fc region. Further, the antigen may be a tumor antigen; see claims 25 and 27. Regarding claim 11, Julien et al. (2019) teaches that the Fc portion may comprise a scFc; see Example 10.
Regarding instant claims 2-5, 16, 17, 18, and 21, Julien et al. (2019) teaches a nanocage comprising fusion proteins comprising an anti-CD20 or anti-CD19 Fab linked to the N-terminus of human ferritin L-chain; see Example 1.
Regarding instant claims 50 and 52, Julien et al. (2019) teaches that methods comprising administering the ferritin nanocage, such as for treating cancer; see claims 53-57.
While Julien et al. (2019) teaches targeting tumor antigens, the reference does not teach targeting DR5.
Ding et al. teaches that DTIC-loaded PLA nanoparticles targeted to tumor cells overexpressing DR5 by covalent conjugation to an anti-DR5 antibody resulted in internalization of the nanoparticle and cancer cell apoptosis; see Abstract.
Neither the copending claims nor Ding et al. teach the substitutions L234A, L235A, G236R, G237A, and A330L in one Fc.
Regarding instant claims 1, 14-16, and 37, Watkins et al. teaches substitutions to an IgG1 Fc region to reduce effector function by reducing FcyR binding resulting in decreased ADCC and CDC. Watkins et al. teaches several mutations, which can be combines, including the set of L234A, L235A, and G237A mutations, G236R, and A330L; see Table 3 and paragraph 0094. Watkins et al. discloses that such mutations improve half-life in vivo, but sacrifice antibody-mediated cytotoxicity; see paragraph 0170.
Given that Julien et al. (2019) teaches targeting tumor antigens and that the anti-CD20 or anti-CD19 Fab nanocages were internalized by Bjab (lymphoma) cells and Ding et al. teaches that DR5 is overexpressed in some cancers and teaches that targeting a nanoparticle conjugated to an anti-DR5 antibody resulted in internalization of the dacarbazine-loaded nanoparticle and cancer cell apoptosis, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success modifying the complex of the copending claims to comprise a Fab targeting DR5.
Moreover, given that the copending claims teach the Fc substitutions, Julien et al. (2019) teaches increasing the half-life of the nanocage by incorporating an Fc region (see Choe et al. summary on page 2, page 26, and Example 10) and Watkins et al. teaches modified IgG1 Fc regions for increased half-life, it would have been obvious to include one or more of the Fc modifications taught by the copending claims and Watkins et al. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Julien et al. (2019) guides one to using Fc regions as a strategy for improved half-life, and Watkin et al. teaches these modification improve half-life and the FcyR-binding effect of each modification.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the complex of the copending claims to comprise a third fusion polypeptide comprising an antibody fragment because Julien et al. (2019) teaches that different fusion proteins can be combined to make a multivalent nanocage. One would have been motivated to decorate the nanocage of the copending claims with two different antigen-binding domains to increase specificity for the target cell.
Finally, given that the copending claims teach administering the complex to a subject, Julien et al. (2019) teaches methods comprising administering the nanocages, including for the treatment of cancer, and that Ding et al. teaches anti-DR5 antibody decorated nanoparticles for treating cancer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success to administer the anti-DR5 Fab and scFc decorated ferritin nanoparticles with Fc modifications for increased half-life for the treatment of cancer.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the application, as evidenced by the references.
Claims 6-8, 23, and 38-40 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7, 9, 20-23, 54, 64-69, 71, and 75-77 of copending Application No. 18/578,239 in view of Julien et al. (WO 2019/023811 A1; Published: February 7, 2019), Ding et al. (International Journal of Nanomedicine. 6: 1991-2005; Published: September 14, 2011) and Watkins et al. (US 2021/0122828 A1; Published: April 29, 2021) as applied to claim(s) 1-5, 11, 14-18, 20, 21, 37, 42, 50, and 52 above, and further in view of Julien et al. (WO 2021/016724 A1; Published: February 4, 2021).
The teachings of copending Application No. 18/578,239, Julien et al. (2019), Ding et al. and Watkins et al. as related to claim(s) 1-5, 11, 14-18, 20, 21, 37, 42, 50, and 52, from which these claims depend are given previously in this Office action and are fully incorporated here.
Neither the copending claims, Julien et al. (2019), Ding et al., nor Watkins et al. teach a self-assembled complex comprising a ferritin subunit.
Julien et al. (2021) teaches that the ferritin monomer can be split into two subunits: N-half, also called in N-ferritin, and C-half, also called C-ferritin; see page 57. Julien et al. (2021) teaches that this splitting of ferritin monomers into two halves allowed for improved breadth and mulitspecificity of the molecule – the nanocage was formerly a 24 monomer structure, but could be expanded to 32 monomers. Julien et al. (2021) teaches that the bipartite split of L chain ferritin demonstrated no significant differences in biophysical and functional properties of compared to nanocages assembled from full-length apoferritin; see page 57 lines 14-16. Page 54 teaches that the split of apoferritin separated residues 1-94 from 96-175. Julien et al. (2021) teaches that either the first, second, or third fusion proteins could comprise either N-half ferritin or C-half ferritin; see pages 6-7 and 44. In Figure 3a, Julien et al. (2021) exemplifies a nanocage comprising fusion proteins comprising scFc fused to the N-terminus of N-half ferritin or a scFab fused to the N-terminus of C-half ferritin.
Given that Julien et al. (2021) teaches that the L-chain of ferritin can be split into two halves and self-assemble without biophysical and functional properties compared to full L-chain ferritin and that the scFab or the scFc can be fused to the N-terminus of either N-half or C-half ferritin, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the complex of the copending claims to comprise fusion proteins comprising N-half or C-half ferritin with a fusion partner (e.g. an scFab or scFc) at the N-terminus of each half. One would have been motivated to modify the complex of the copending claims to comprise the fusion proteins comprising N-half or C-half L-chain ferritin to increase the number of fusion partner antigen-binding moieties decorating the assembled nanocage.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the application, as evidenced by the references.
Claims 1-7, 11, 14-16, 23, 37-40, 50, and 52 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7, 9, 20-23, 54, 64-69, 71, and 75-77 of copending Application No. 19/109,525 in view of Tosha et al. (Protein Structure and Folding. 287(16): 13016-13025; Published Online: February 23, 2012) and Julien et al. (WO 2019/023811 A1; Published: February 7, 2019).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding instant claims 1, 11, 14-16, 37, 50, and 52, copending claims 58, 59, and 65-76 teach a method of treating a subject having or at risk of having a tumor with a self-assembled polypeptide complex comprising a plurality of polypeptides comprising an antibody fragment which binds to DR5 and a nanocage monomer or subunit thereof and a second plurality of polypeptides comprising an Fc polypeptide and a nanocage monomer or subunit thereof, where the Fc is a scFc IgG1 and comprise an alanine at positions 234, 235, and 237, an arginine at position 236, and a leucine at position 330.
Regarding instant claims 2-5, copending claims 60-63 teach that the nanocage monomer is a light chain or human ferritin or the complex does not comprise a heavy chain.
Regarding instant claims 6, 7, 23, and 38-40, copending claim 64 teaches that the nanocage is a subunit of ferritin wherein the antibody fragment and the Fc polypeptide is fused to either the N-half or the C-half of ferritin.
The copending claims do not teach the antibody is a Fab fragment nor that the Fab or scFc is attached to the N-terminus of the N-half or C-half ferritin.
Tosha et al. teaches that the N-terminus and the BC loop or the approximate midpoint of the antiparallel helices of ferritin are solvent accessible.
Tosha et al. does not teach a Fab antibody fragment nor a complex comprising a third fusion protein.
Julien et al. (2019) teaches a plurality of fusion proteins which self-assemble to form a nanocage decorated on the exterior surface with antibodies or fragments thereof; see Abstract. Julien et al. (2019) teaches that the nanocages may form from identical fusion proteins or from multiple different fusion proteins resulting in a multivalent nanocage; see page 33 lines 9-11. Regarding the Fab antibody fragment, Julien et al. (2019) teaches a nanocage comprising fusion proteins comprising an anti-CD20 or anti-CD19 Fab linked to the N-terminus of human ferritin L-chain; see Example 1.
Given that Tosha et al. teaches that the N-terminus and BC loop are solvent accessible, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success fusing the antibody fragment or the Fc region to the N-terminus of the N-half or C-half ferritin. One would have been motivated to fuse the antibody fragment or Fc region to the N-terminus of the N-half and C-half of ferritin in order to have the antibody fragment and Fc externally exposed on the self-assembled polypeptide complex of the copending claims.
Given that Julien et al. (2019) teaches multivalent nanocage, similar to that of the copending claims, comprising different fusion polypeptides, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success modifying the complex to comprise a third fusion polypeptide comprising another Fab fragment and a nanocage monomer. One would have been motivated to modify the complex to comprise the third polypeptide in order to increase specificity to the target cell.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the application, as evidenced by the references.
Conclusion
/KATHERINE ANN HOLTZMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1646
/JULIET C SWITZER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682