The amendment filed 5/22/2026 has been entered.
Claims 15, 17-21, 23-25, 27-31 and 33-34 are pending.
Claims 1-14, 16, 22, 26 and 32 are cancelled.
Claims 15, 17-21, 23-25, 27-31 and 33-34 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15, 18, 23, 25, 28 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Da Silva et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230337020 A1), hereafter referred to as Da Silva.
In regard to Claim 15, Da Silva teaches A method performed by a user equipment (UE) supporting a dual connectivity (DC) in a wireless communication system (NR network architecture and various dual connectivity (DC) arrangements, Para. 117, FIGS. 2-5. DC can be achieved by allowing a UE to connect to multiple DUs served by the same CU or by allowing a UE to connect to multiple DUs served by different CUs, Para. 121, FIGS. 3-5), the method comprising: receiving, from a base station (a network node, Para. 242, FIG. 20), a radio resource control (RRC) message including first information for performing a beam failure detection (BFD) (Radio Resource Control (RRC) layers between the UE and eNB, Para. 8, FIG. 2. FIG. 15A shows an ASN.1 data structure for an exemplary RRC RadioLinkMonitoringConfig IE, which can be used to configure resources for BFD, Para. 213, FIG. 15A) on a primary secondary cell (PSCell) (a serving cell in that cell group, which may be the PCell/PScell, Para. 177. The Serving Cells of the second cell group can be an SpCell (PSCell), Para. 273. The Serving Cell (e.g., PSCell), Para. 378, 379, 382, 383) when a secondary cell group (SCG) is deactivated (before the UE enters the reduced-energy mode for the SCG, sending to the UE one or more of the following information that is specific to the reduced-energy mode for the SCG: an SCG BFD configuration, Para. 60. The UE can determine if beam failure associated with the second cell group while the second cell group is in the second mode of operation (e.g., deactivated SCG) should be declared, Para. 249, FIG. 20) and configuration information (FIG. 15B shows an ASN.1 data structure for an exemplary SpCellConfig IE, including rlmInSyncOutOfSyncThreshold, Para. 214, FIG. 15B. BFR/RA parameters may be configured in a new beamFailureRecoveryConfig-deactivated-SCG IE or field, which possibly can be included in the BeamFailureRecoveryConfig IE show in FIG. 16. Parameters that can be included in such an IE or field: rsrp-ThresholdSSB, Para. 323, 326, FIG. 16. RRC configures the following parameters for the Random Access procedure: rsrp-ThresholdSSB, Para. 404, 406) for the BFD (The configured thresholds for BFD are Qout,LR and Qin,LR. The former corresponds to the default value of rlmInSyncOutOfSyncThreshold as configured in the RRC IE SpCellConfig. The latter corresponds to the value provided by fields rsrp-ThresholdSSB, Para. 214, FIG. 15B).
Da Silva teaches based on the first information (SCG BFD configuration, Para. 60. RRC RadioLinkMonitoringConfig IE, which can be used to configure resources for BFD, Para. 213, FIG. 15A) and the configuration information (FIG. 15B shows an ASN.1 data structure for an exemplary SpCellConfig IE, including rlmInSyncOutOfSyncThreshold, Para. 214, FIG. 15B. BFR/RA parameters may be configured in a new beamFailureRecoveryConfig-deactivated-SCG IE or field, which possibly can be included in the BeamFailureRecoveryConfig IE show in FIG. 16. Parameters that can be included in such an IE or field: rsrp-ThresholdSSB, Para. 323, 326, FIG. 16. RRC configures the following parameters for the Random Access procedure: rsrp-ThresholdSSB, Para. 404, 406) for the BFD (The configured thresholds for BFD are Qout,LR and Qin,LR. The former corresponds to the default value of rlmInSyncOutOfSyncThreshold as configured in the RRC IE SpCellConfig. The latter corresponds to the value provided by fields rsrp-ThresholdSSB, Para. 214, FIG. 15B), detecting a beam failure (When BFD is declared the UE considers beam failure to be detected, Para. 251, FIG. 20. When the second cell group is deactivated the UE stops BFD for the SCell(s) and only continues BFD for the PSCell, Para. 298, FIG. 20).
Da Silva teaches if a serving cell is the PSCeII (a serving cell in that cell group, which may be the PCell/PScell, Para. 177. The Serving Cells of the second cell group can be an SpCell (PSCell), Para. 273. The Serving Cell (e.g., PSCell), Para. 378, 379, 382, 383) and the SCG is deactivated (the UE can determine if beam failure associated with the second cell group while the second cell group is in the second mode of operation (e.g., deactivated SCG) should be declared, Para. 249, FIG. 20), indicating the beam failure (When BFD is declared the UE indicates this to the network via the first cell group, either in a MAC CE or RRC message. This way the network will immediately get the knowledge of the beam failure, Para. 252, FIG. 20) of the PSCeII (when the second cell group is deactivated the UE stops BFD for the SCell(s) and only continues BFD for the PSCell, Para. 298, FIG. 20) to an upper layer (Radio Resource Control (RRC) layers between the UE and eNB, Para. 8, FIG. 2. When BFD is declared the UE indicates this to the network via the first cell group, either in a MAC CE or RRC message, Para. 252, FIG. 20).
In regard to Claim 18, Da Silva teaches if the serving cell is a secondary cell (SCell), triggering a beam failure recovery for the serving cell (the UE can determine if beam failure associated with the second cell group while the second cell group is in the second mode of operation (e.g., deactivated SCG) should be declared, and perform at least one of the following actions based on whether BFD is declared: Trigger random access for BFR on the second cell group (e.g., with the SpCell of the second cell group) if BFD is declared, Para. 249-250, FIG. 20. .The term “Special Cell” (or “SpCell” for short) refers to the PSCell of the SCG, Para. 16. The UE performs at least the actions as described in 3GPP TS 38.213 section 6 (“Link recovery procedures”) for the SpCell of the second cell group. These may be configured only for use while the second cell group is deactivated, Para. 300).
In regard to Claim 23, Da Silva teaches A method performed by a base station (a network node, Para. 242, FIG. 20) supporting a dual connectivity (DC) in a wireless communication system (NR network architecture and various dual connectivity (DC) arrangements, Para. 117, FIGS. 2-5. DC can be achieved by allowing a UE to connect to multiple DUs served by the same CU or by allowing a UE to connect to multiple DUs served by different CUs, Para. 121, FIGS. 3-5), the method comprising: generating a radio resource control (RRC) message including first information for performing a beam failure detection (BFD) (Radio Resource Control (RRC) layers between the UE and eNB, Para. 8, FIG. 2. FIG. 15A shows an ASN.1 data structure for an exemplary RRC RadioLinkMonitoringConfig IE, which can be used to configure resources for BFD, Para. 213, FIG. 15A) on a primary secondary cell (PSCell) (a serving cell in that cell group, which may be the PCell/PScell, Para. 177. The Serving Cells of the second cell group can be an SpCell (PSCell), Para. 273. The Serving Cell (e.g., PSCell), Para. 378, 379, 382, 383) when a secondary cell group (SCG) is deactivated (before the UE enters the reduced-energy mode for the SCG, sending to the UE one or more of the following information that is specific to the reduced-energy mode for the SCG: an SCG BFD configuration, Para. 60. The UE can determine if beam failure associated with the second cell group while the second cell group is in the second mode of operation (e.g., deactivated SCG) should be declared, Para. 249, FIG. 20. When the second cell group is deactivated the UE stops BFD for the SCell(s) and only continues BFD for the PSCell, Para. 298, FIG. 20) and configuration information (FIG. 15B shows an ASN.1 data structure for an exemplary SpCellConfig IE, including rlmInSyncOutOfSyncThreshold, Para. 214, FIG. 15B. BFR/RA parameters may be configured in a new beamFailureRecoveryConfig-deactivated-SCG IE or field, which possibly can be included in the BeamFailureRecoveryConfig IE show in FIG. 16. Parameters that can be included in such an IE or field: rsrp-ThresholdSSB, Para. 323, 326, FIG. 16. RRC configures the following parameters for the Random Access procedure: rsrp-ThresholdSSB, Para. 404, 406) for the BFD (The configured thresholds for BFD are Qout,LR and Qin,LR. The former corresponds to the default value of rlmInSyncOutOfSyncThreshold as configured in the RRC IE SpCellConfig. The latter corresponds to the value provided by fields rsrp-ThresholdSSB, Para. 214, FIG. 15B).
Da Silva teaches transmitting, to a user equipment (UE) (UE, Para. 60), the RRC message including the first information (SCG BFD configuration, Para. 60. RRC RadioLinkMonitoringConfig IE, which can be used to configure resources for BFD, Para. 213, FIG. 15A) and the configuration information (FIG. 15B shows an ASN.1 data structure for an exemplary SpCellConfig IE, including rlmInSyncOutOfSyncThreshold, Para. 214, FIG. 15B. BFR/RA parameters may be configured in a new beamFailureRecoveryConfig-deactivated-SCG IE or field, which possibly can be included in the BeamFailureRecoveryConfig IE show in FIG. 16. Parameters that can be included in such an IE or field: rsrp-ThresholdSSB, Para. 323, 326, FIG. 16. RRC configures the following parameters for the Random Access procedure: rsrp-ThresholdSSB, Para. 404, 406) for the BFD (The configured thresholds for BFD are Qout,LR and Qin,LR. The former corresponds to the default value of rlmInSyncOutOfSyncThreshold as configured in the RRC IE SpCellConfig. The latter corresponds to the value provided by fields rsrp-ThresholdSSB, Para. 214, FIG. 15B).
In regard to Claim 25, Da Silva teaches A user equipment (UE) supporting a dual connectivity (DC) in a wireless communication system (NR network architecture and various dual connectivity (DC) arrangements, Para. 117, FIGS. 2-5. DC can be achieved by allowing a UE to connect to multiple DUs served by the same CU or by allowing a UE to connect to multiple DUs served by different CUs, Para. 121, FIGS. 3-5), the UE comprising: a transceiver (Communication subsystem 3231 can be configured to include one or more transceivers, Para. 591, FIG. 32); and a controller coupled with the transceiver (processing circuitry 3201 that is operatively coupled to communication subsystem 3231, Para. 584, FIG. 32), and configured to: receive, from a base station (a network node, Para. 242, FIG. 20), a radio resource control (RRC) message including first information for performing a beam failure detection (BFD) (Radio Resource Control (RRC) layers between the UE and eNB, Para. 8, FIG. 2. FIG. 15A shows an ASN.1 data structure for an exemplary RRC RadioLinkMonitoringConfig IE, which can be used to configure resources for BFD, Para. 213, FIG. 15A) on a primary secondary cell (PSCell) (a serving cell in that cell group, which may be the PCell/PScell, Para. 177. The Serving Cells of the second cell group can be an SpCell (PSCell), Para. 273. The Serving Cell (e.g., PSCell), Para. 378, 379, 382, 383) when a secondary cell group (SCG) is deactivated (before the UE enters the reduced-energy mode for the SCG, sending to the UE one or more of the following information that is specific to the reduced-energy mode for the SCG: an SCG BFD configuration, Para. 60. The UE can determine if beam failure associated with the second cell group while the second cell group is in the second mode of operation (e.g., deactivated SCG) should be declared, Para. 249, FIG. 20) and configuration information (FIG. 15B shows an ASN.1 data structure for an exemplary SpCellConfig IE, including rlmInSyncOutOfSyncThreshold, Para. 214, FIG. 15B. BFR/RA parameters may be configured in a new beamFailureRecoveryConfig-deactivated-SCG IE or field, which possibly can be included in the BeamFailureRecoveryConfig IE show in FIG. 16. Parameters that can be included in such an IE or field: rsrp-ThresholdSSB, Para. 323, 326, FIG. 16. RRC configures the following parameters for the Random Access procedure: rsrp-ThresholdSSB, Para. 404, 406) for the BFD (The configured thresholds for BFD are Qout,LR and Qin,LR. The former corresponds to the default value of rlmInSyncOutOfSyncThreshold as configured in the RRC IE SpCellConfig. The latter corresponds to the value provided by fields rsrp-ThresholdSSB, Para. 214, FIG. 15B).
Da Silva teaches based on the first information (SCG BFD configuration, Para. 60. RRC RadioLinkMonitoringConfig IE, which can be used to configure resources for BFD, Para. 213, FIG. 15A) and the configuration information (FIG. 15B shows an ASN.1 data structure for an exemplary SpCellConfig IE, including rlmInSyncOutOfSyncThreshold, Para. 214, FIG. 15B. BFR/RA parameters may be configured in a new beamFailureRecoveryConfig-deactivated-SCG IE or field, which possibly can be included in the BeamFailureRecoveryConfig IE show in FIG. 16. Parameters that can be included in such an IE or field: rsrp-ThresholdSSB, Para. 323, 326, FIG. 16. RRC configures the following parameters for the Random Access procedure: rsrp-ThresholdSSB, Para. 404, 406) for the BFD (The configured thresholds for BFD are Qout,LR and Qin,LR. The former corresponds to the default value of rlmInSyncOutOfSyncThreshold as configured in the RRC IE SpCellConfig. The latter corresponds to the value provided by fields rsrp-ThresholdSSB, Para. 214, FIG. 15B), detect a beam failure (When BFD is declared the UE considers beam failure to be detected, Para. 251, FIG. 20. When the second cell group is deactivated the UE stops BFD for the SCell(s) and only continues BFD for the PSCell, Para. 298, FIG. 20).
Da Silva teaches if a serving cell is the PSCeII (a serving cell in that cell group, which may be the PCell/PScell, Para. 177. The Serving Cells of the second cell group can be an SpCell (PSCell), Para. 273. The Serving Cell (e.g., PSCell), Para. 378, 379, 382, 383) and the SCG is deactivated (the UE can determine if beam failure associated with the second cell group while the second cell group is in the second mode of operation (e.g., deactivated SCG) should be declared, Para. 249, FIG. 20), indicate the beam failure (When BFD is declared the UE indicates this to the network via the first cell group, either in a MAC CE or RRC message. This way the network will immediately get the knowledge of the beam failure, Para. 252, FIG. 20) of the PSCell (when the second cell group is deactivated the UE stops BFD for the SCell(s) and only continues BFD for the PSCell, Para. 298, FIG. 20) to an upper layer (Radio Resource Control (RRC) layers between the UE and eNB, Para. 8, FIG. 2. When BFD is declared the UE indicates this to the network via the first cell group, either in a MAC CE or RRC message, Para. 252, FIG. 20).
In regard to Claim 28, Da Silva teaches the controller is further configured to: if the serving cell is a secondary cell (SCell), trigger a beam failure recovery for the serving cell (the UE can determine if beam failure associated with the second cell group while the second cell group is in the second mode of operation (e.g., deactivated SCG) should be declared, and perform at least one of the following actions based on whether BFD is declared: Trigger random access for BFR on the second cell group (e.g., with the SpCell of the second cell group) if BFD is declared, Para. 249-250, FIG. 20. .The term “Special Cell” (or “SpCell” for short) refers to the PSCell of the SCG, Para. 16. The UE performs at least the actions as described in 3GPP TS 38.213 section 6 (“Link recovery procedures”) for the SpCell of the second cell group. These may be configured only for use while the second cell group is deactivated, Para. 300).
In regard to Claim 33, Da Silva teaches A base station (a network node, Para. 242, FIG. 20) supporting a dual connectivity (DC) in a wireless communication system (NR network architecture and various dual connectivity (DC) arrangements, Para. 117, FIGS. 2-5. DC can be achieved by allowing a UE to connect to multiple DUs served by the same CU or by allowing a UE to connect to multiple DUs served by different CUs, Para. 121, FIGS. 3-5), the base station comprising: a transceiver (radio frequency (RF) transceiver circuitry 3172, Para. 559, FIG. 31); and a controller (Processing circuitry 3170, Para. 557, FIG. 31) configured to: generate a radio resource control (RRC) message including first information for performing a beam failure detection (BFD) (Radio Resource Control (RRC) layers between the UE and eNB, Para. 8, FIG. 2. FIG. 15A shows an ASN.1 data structure for an exemplary RRC RadioLinkMonitoringConfig IE, which can be used to configure resources for BFD, Para. 213, FIG. 15A) on a primary secondary cell (PSCell) (a serving cell in that cell group, which may be the PCell/PScell, Para. 177. The Serving Cells of the second cell group can be an SpCell (PSCell), Para. 273. The Serving Cell (e.g., PSCell), Para. 378, 379, 382, 383) when a secondary cell group (SCG) is deactivated (before the UE enters the reduced-energy mode for the SCG, sending to the UE one or more of the following information that is specific to the reduced-energy mode for the SCG: an SCG BFD configuration, Para. 60. The UE can determine if beam failure associated with the second cell group while the second cell group is in the second mode of operation (e.g., deactivated SCG) should be declared, Para. 249, FIG. 20. When the second cell group is deactivated the UE stops BFD for the SCell(s) and only continues BFD for the PSCell, Para. 298, FIG. 20) and configuration information (FIG. 15B shows an ASN.1 data structure for an exemplary SpCellConfig IE, including rlmInSyncOutOfSyncThreshold, Para. 214, FIG. 15B. BFR/RA parameters may be configured in a new beamFailureRecoveryConfig-deactivated-SCG IE or field, which possibly can be included in the BeamFailureRecoveryConfig IE show in FIG. 16. Parameters that can be included in such an IE or field: rsrp-ThresholdSSB, Para. 323, 326, FIG. 16. RRC configures the following parameters for the Random Access procedure: rsrp-ThresholdSSB, Para. 404, 406) for the BFD (The configured thresholds for BFD are Qout,LR and Qin,LR. The former corresponds to the default value of rlmInSyncOutOfSyncThreshold as configured in the RRC IE SpCellConfig. The latter corresponds to the value provided by fields rsrp-ThresholdSSB, Para. 214, FIG. 15B).
Da Silva teaches transmit, to a user equipment (UE) (UE, Para. 60), the RRC message including the first information (SCG BFD configuration, Para. 60. RRC RadioLinkMonitoringConfig IE, which can be used to configure resources for BFD, Para. 213, FIG. 15A) and the configuration information (FIG. 15B shows an ASN.1 data structure for an exemplary SpCellConfig IE, including rlmInSyncOutOfSyncThreshold, Para. 214, FIG. 15B. BFR/RA parameters may be configured in a new beamFailureRecoveryConfig-deactivated-SCG IE or field, which possibly can be included in the BeamFailureRecoveryConfig IE show in FIG. 16. Parameters that can be included in such an IE or field: rsrp-ThresholdSSB, Para. 323, 326, FIG. 16. RRC configures the following parameters for the Random Access procedure: rsrp-ThresholdSSB, Para. 404, 406) for the BFD (The configured thresholds for BFD are Qout,LR and Qin,LR. The former corresponds to the default value of rlmInSyncOutOfSyncThreshold as configured in the RRC IE SpCellConfig. The latter corresponds to the value provided by fields rsrp-ThresholdSSB, Para. 214, FIG. 15B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Da Silva in view of Zhang et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220272752 A1), hereafter referred to as Zhang ‘752.
In regard to Claim 17, as presented in the rejection of Claim 15, Da Silva teaches reporting the beam failure of the PSCeII to the upper layer.
Da Silva fails to teach stopping a timer associated with the BFD after indicating the beam failure of the PSCeII to the upper layer.
Zhang ‘752 teaches stopping a timer associated with the BFD after indicating the beam failure of the PSCeII to the upper layer (beam specific channel sensing failure detection, reporting, and recovery operations are provided to enable enhanced operation in beam based operations. The parameters lbt-FailureDetectionTimer may be programed or configured, such as by RRC. The timer is reset or restarted with every LBT failure indication for the beam, Para. 70).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang ‘752 with the teachings of Da Silva since Zhang ‘752 provides a technique for managing timers based on beam failure operations, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Da Silva to permit the efficient management of timers in relation to BFD actions.
In regard to Claim 27, as presented in the rejection of Claim 25, Da Silva teaches reporting the beam failure of the PSCeII to the upper layer.
Da Silva fails to teach the controller is further configured to: stop a timer associated with the BFD after indicating the beam failure of the PSCeII to the upper layer.
Zhang ‘752 teaches the controller is further configured to: stop a timer associated with the BFD after indicating the beam failure of the PSCeII to the upper layer (beam specific channel sensing failure detection, reporting, and recovery operations are provided to enable enhanced operation in beam based operations. The parameters lbt-FailureDetectionTimer may be programed or configured, such as by RRC. The timer is reset or restarted with every LBT failure indication for the beam, Para. 70).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang ‘752 with the teachings of Da Silva since Zhang ‘752 provides a technique for managing timers based on beam failure operations, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Da Silva to permit the efficient management of timers in relation to BFD actions.
Claim(s) 19 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Da Silva in view of Zhang et al. (Pub. No.: US 20250008389 A1), hereafter referred to as Zhang ‘389.
In regard to Claim 19, as presented in the rejection of Claim 15, Da Silva teaches the serving cell.
Da Silva fails to teach if the serving cell is a primary cell (PCell) or the serving cell is the PSCelI and the SCG is activated, initiating a random access procedure on the PCell or the PSCelI.
Zhang ‘389 teaches if the serving cell is a primary cell (PCell) or the serving cell is the PSCelI and the SCG is activated, initiating a random access procedure on the PCell or the PSCelI (UE 510 determines whether to perform a random access channel (RACH) to the new PSCell/SCG according to the (de) activation state of the old PSCell/SCG. The new PSCell/SCG may inherit the PSCell/SCG (de) activation state from the old PSCell/SCG. If the old PSCell/SCG is activated, the new PSCell/SCG is thus activated, and UE 510 may perform a RA procedure or send a data packet directly to the new PSCell/SCG, Para. 147, FIG. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang ‘389 with the teachings of Da Silva since Zhang ‘389 provides a technique for managing random access based on states of cells, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Da Silva to permit the efficient management of random access in relation to cell states.
In regard to Claim 29, as presented in the rejection of Claim 25, Da Silva teaches the serving cell.
Da Silva fails to teach the controller is further configured to: if the serving cell is a primary cell (PCell) or the serving cell is the PSCeIl and the SCG is activated, initiate a random access procedure on the PCell or the PSCeIl.
Zhang ‘389 teaches the controller is further configured to: if the serving cell is a primary cell (PCell) or the serving cell is the PSCeIl and the SCG is activated, initiate a random access procedure on the PCell or the PSCeIl (UE 510 determines whether to perform a random access channel (RACH) to the new PSCell/SCG according to the (de) activation state of the old PSCell/SCG. The new PSCell/SCG may inherit the PSCell/SCG (de) activation state from the old PSCell/SCG. If the old PSCell/SCG is activated, the new PSCell/SCG is thus activated, and UE 510 may perform a RA procedure or send a data packet directly to the new PSCell/SCG, Para. 147, FIG. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang ‘389 with the teachings of Da Silva since Zhang ‘389 provides a technique for managing random access based on states of cells, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Da Silva to permit the efficient management of random access in relation to cell states.
Claim(s) 20-21 and 30-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Da Silva in view of Koskela et al. (Pub. No.: US 20240163952 A1), hereafter referred to as Koskela.
In regard to Claim 20, as presented in the rejection of Claim 15, Da Silva teaches the beam failure detection configuration information.
Da Silva fails to teach the configuration information for the BFD includes second information on a maximum count value for a beam failure instance, third information on a beam failure detection timer, and fourth information indicating a synchronization signal block (SSB) or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) for the BFD.
Koskela teaches the configuration information for the BFD includes second information on a maximum count value for a beam failure instance, third information on a beam failure detection timer, and fourth information indicating a synchronization signal block (SSB) or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) for the BFD (The MAC layer uses a BFI-counter to count the BFI indications for each respective cell and when it counts a predefined number of BFI instances indicated by the lower layer for the corresponding cell (PCell/SCell), it initiates/triggers the BFR mechanism. The BFI-counter is supervised by a BFD timer. Each time the UE receives a new BFI indication, the BFD timer is triggered (started or restarted), and the BFI counter is incremented. If the BFD timer expires, the BFI-counter is reset. The BFI counter and BFD timer may be configured per TRP, per BFD-RS set or per serving beam or serving beam set, Para. 55. The TRP may configure the UE explicitly by using the BFD-RS for corresponding CORESET sets, Para. 58. Each of the predefined counter value and the predefined threshold value used in the above-defined rules may mean a value configured by the network in which the UE 500 communicates with the first and second TRPs, Para. 90. The UE may indicate a candidate beam that is on a candidate beam list (i.e. a list of candidate beam indices that are either SSB and/or CSI-RS indices), Para. 56, FIG. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Koskela with the teachings of Da Silva since Koskela provides a technique for managing BFD timers and BFI counters for beam recovery, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Da Silva to permit introduction of efficient timers for BFD and counters for appropriately starting beam recovery.
In regard to Claim 21, as presented in the rejection of Claim 15, Da Silva teaches the method.
Da Silva fails to teach receiving, from a lower layer, a beam failure instance indication; starting the beam failure detection timer; increasing a beam failure instance counter; and if the beam failure instance counter is equal to or larger than the second information, detecting the beam failure.
Koskela teaches receiving, from a lower layer, a beam failure instance indication; starting the beam failure detection timer; increasing a beam failure instance counter; and if the beam failure instance counter is equal to or larger than the second information, detecting the beam failure (The MAC layer uses a BFI-counter to count the BFI indications for each respective cell and when it counts a predefined number of BFI instances indicated by the lower layer for the corresponding cell (PCell/SCell), it initiates/triggers the BFR mechanism. The BFI-counter is supervised by a BFD timer. Each time the UE receives a new BFI indication, the BFD timer is triggered (started or restarted), and the BFI counter is incremented. If the BFD timer expires, the BFI-counter is reset. The BFI counter and BFD timer may be configured per TRP, per BFD-RS set or per serving beam or serving beam set, Para. 55. The TRP may configure the UE explicitly by using the BFD-RS for corresponding CORESET sets, Para. 58. Each of the predefined counter value and the predefined threshold value used in the above-defined rules may mean a value configured by the network in which the UE 500 communicates with the first and second TRPs, Para. 90).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Koskela with the teachings of Da Silva since Koskela provides a technique for managing BFD timers and BFI counters for beam recovery, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Da Silva to permit introduction of efficient timers for BFD and counters for appropriately starting beam recovery.
In regard to Claim 30, as presented in the rejection of Claim 25, Da Silva teaches the beam failure detection configuration information.
Da Silva fails to teach the configuration information for the BFD includes second information on a maximum count value for a beam failure instance, third information on a beam failure detection timer, and fourth information indicating a synchronization signal block (SSB) or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) for the BFD.
Koskela teaches the configuration information for the BFD includes second information on a maximum count value for a beam failure instance, third information on a beam failure detection timer, and fourth information indicating a synchronization signal block (SSB) or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) for the BFD (The MAC layer uses a BFI-counter to count the BFI indications for each respective cell and when it counts a predefined number of BFI instances indicated by the lower layer for the corresponding cell (PCell/SCell), it initiates/triggers the BFR mechanism. The BFI-counter is supervised by a BFD timer. Each time the UE receives a new BFI indication, the BFD timer is triggered (started or restarted), and the BFI counter is incremented. If the BFD timer expires, the BFI-counter is reset. The BFI counter and BFD timer may be configured per TRP, per BFD-RS set or per serving beam or serving beam set, Para. 55. The TRP may configure the UE explicitly by using the BFD-RS for corresponding CORESET sets, Para. 58. Each of the predefined counter value and the predefined threshold value used in the above-defined rules may mean a value configured by the network in which the UE 500 communicates with the first and second TRPs, Para. 90. The UE may indicate a candidate beam that is on a candidate beam list (i.e. a list of candidate beam indices that are either SSB and/or CSI-RS indices), Para. 56, FIG. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Koskela with the teachings of Da Silva since Koskela provides a technique for managing BFD timers and BFI counters for beam recovery, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Da Silva to permit introduction of efficient timers for BFD and counters for appropriately starting beam recovery.
In regard to Claim 31, as presented in the rejection of Claim 25, Da Silva teaches the UE.
Da Silva fails to teach receive, from a lower layer, a beam failure instance indication, start the beam failure detection timer, increase a beam failure instance counter, and if the beam failure instance counter is equal to or larger than the second information, detect the beam failure.
Koskela teaches receive, from a lower layer, a beam failure instance indication, start the beam failure detection timer, increase a beam failure instance counter, and if the beam failure instance counter is equal to or larger than the second information, detect the beam failure (The MAC layer uses a BFI-counter to count the BFI indications for each respective cell and when it counts a predefined number of BFI instances indicated by the lower layer for the corresponding cell (PCell/SCell), it initiates/triggers the BFR mechanism. The BFI-counter is supervised by a BFD timer. Each time the UE receives a new BFI indication, the BFD timer is triggered (started or restarted), and the BFI counter is incremented. If the BFD timer expires, the BFI-counter is reset. The BFI counter and BFD timer may be configured per TRP, per BFD-RS set or per serving beam or serving beam set, Para. 55. The TRP may configure the UE explicitly by using the BFD-RS for corresponding CORESET sets, Para. 58. Each of the predefined counter value and the predefined threshold value used in the above-defined rules may mean a value configured by the network in which the UE 500 communicates with the first and second TRPs, Para. 90).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Koskela with the teachings of Da Silva since Koskela provides a technique for managing BFD timers and BFI counters for beam recovery, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Da Silva to permit introduction of efficient timers for BFD and counters for appropriately starting beam recovery.
Claim(s) 24 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Da Silva in view of Uesaka et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230354453 A1), hereafter referred to as Uesaka.
In regard to Claim 24, as presented in the rejection of Claim 23, Da Silva teaches the beam failure detection configuration information.
Da Silva fails to teach the configuration information for the BFD includes second information on a maximum count value for a beam failure instance, third information on a beam failure detection timer, and fourth information indicating a synchronization signal block (SSB) or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) for the BFD.
Uesaka teaches the configuration information for the BFD includes second information on a maximum count value for a beam failure instance, third information on a beam failure detection timer, and fourth information indicating a synchronization signal block (SSB) or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) for the BFD (Beam failure is detected in L1 (i.e., PHY) when the BLER of a (hypothetical) PDCCH is above a threshold for a certain time. This step is also called beam failure detection (BFD), In the second step, new candidate beams are identified by measuring beam identification RS, such as CSI-RS or SSB, Para. 109. The network node configures the UE's candidate beam reference signal list (e.g., via RRC signaling), which includes SSB ID(s) and/or CSI-RS resource ID(s). The network may also configure a timer (e.g., beamFailureRecoveryTimer) with a particular value (e.g., 100 ms), Para. 118).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Uesaka with the teachings of Da Silva since Uesaka provides a technique for configuring UEs with SSB IDs and/or CSI-RS resource IDs in relation to beam failure detection, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Da Silva to permit a network node to inform a UE of specific resources for the detection of beam failures.
In regard to Claim 34, as presented in the rejection of Claim 33, Da Silva teaches the beam failure detection configuration information.
Da Silva fails to teach the configuration information for the BFD includes second information on a maximum count value for a beam failure instance, third information on a beam failure detection timer, and fourth information indicating a synchronization signal block (SSB) or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) for the BFD.
Uesaka teaches the configuration information for the BFD includes second information on a maximum count value for a beam failure instance, third information on a beam failure detection timer, and fourth information indicating a synchronization signal block (SSB) or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) for the BFD (Beam failure is detected in L1 (i.e., PHY) when the BLER of a (hypothetical) PDCCH is above a threshold for a certain time. This step is also called beam failure detection (BFD), In the second step, new candidate beams are identified by measuring beam identification RS, such as CSI-RS or SSB, Para. 109. The network node configures the UE's candidate beam reference signal list (e.g., via RRC signaling), which includes SSB ID(s) and/or CSI-RS resource ID(s). The network may also configure a timer (e.g., beamFailureRecoveryTimer) with a particular value (e.g., 100 ms), Para. 118).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Uesaka with the teachings of Da Silva since Uesaka provides a technique for configuring UEs with SSB IDs and/or CSI-RS resource IDs in relation to beam failure detection, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Da Silva to permit a network node to inform a UE of specific resources for the detection of beam failures.
Response to Arguments
I. New Citations of Reference Responsive to Amendment
Da Silva teaches in Para. 213 and FIG. 15A: “FIG. 15A shows an ASN.1 data structure for an exemplary RRC RadioLinkMonitoringConfig IE, which can be used to configure resources for BFD” (emphasis added). An RRC Information Element (IE) used to configure resources for BFD of Da Silva, is substantively the same as a radio resource control (RRC) message including first information for performing a beam failure detection (BFD) of Claim 15.
Da Silva teaches in Para. 177: “the RS for a given TCI state is associated with a serving cell in that cell group, which may be the PCell/PScell or an associated SCell” (emphasis added). Da Silva teaches in Para. 249 and FIG. 20: “the UE can determine if beam failure associated with the second cell group while the second cell group is in the second mode of operation (e.g., deactivated SCG) should be declared” (emphasis added). This shows that a PScell can be a serving cell, and beam failure can be determined with a deactivated SCG. Determining a beam failure with a PScell as a serving cell and with a deactivated SCG of Da Silva, is substantively the same as performing a beam failure detection (BFD) on a primary secondary cell (PSCell) when a secondary cell group (SCG) is deactivated of Claim 15.
As a result, an RRC information element used to configure resources for BFD to determine a beam failure with a PScell as a serving cell and with a deactivated SCG of Da Silva, is substantively the same as a radio resource control (RRC) message including first information for performing a beam failure detection (BFD) on a primary secondary cell (PSCell) when a secondary cell group (SCG) is deactivated of Claim 15.
Da Silva teaches in Para. 214 and FIG. 15B: “FIG. 15B shows an ASN.1 data structure for an exemplary SpCellConfig IE, including rlmInSyncOutOfSyncThreshold” (emphasis added). Da Silva teaches in Para. 323, 326 and FIG. 16: “The following are some exemplary parameters that can be included in such an IE or field (see definitions in 3GPP TS 38.331 or 38.321): … rsrp-ThresholdSSB of RSRP-Range” (emphasis added). Da Silva teaches in Para. 404 and 406: “RRC configures the following parameters for the Random Access procedure: … rsrp-ThresholdSSB” (emphasis added). Information elements that configure rlmInSyncOutOfSyncThreshold and rsrp-ThresholdSSB of Da Silva, are substantively the same as configuration information of Claim 15.
Da Silva teaches in Para. 214 and FIG. 15B: “The configured thresholds for BFD (mentioned above) are Qout,LR and Qin,LR. The former corresponds to the default value of rlmInSyncOutOfSyncThreshold as configured in the RRC IE SpCellConfig and described further in 3GPP TS 38.133. The latter corresponds to the value provided by fields rsrp-ThresholdSSB or rsrp-ThresholdBFR-r16.” (emphasis added). As a result, information elements of Da Silva providing rlmInSyncOutOfSyncThreshold and rsrp-ThresholdSSB that correspond to thresholds for BFD, are substantively the same as configuration information for the BFD of Claim 15.
II. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 112
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed 5/22/2026, with respect to the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 112 have been withdrawn.
III. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 102
Applicant's arguments filed 5/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Page 9 of the Remarks presents the argument that Paragraph [0298] of Da Silva discloses that "when the SCG is deactivated, the terminal discontinues BFD on the SCell but continues to perform BFD on the PSCell." This means that BFD on the PSCell in Da Silva is an operation that must be unconditionally performed in the deactivated state. In contrast, the present application defines "first information" separately from "configuration information for the BFD" for the purpose of detecting beam failure, and differs in that beam failure is detected not always on the PSCell, but based on the "first information." This argument is not persuasive. Claim 15 recites: “receiving, from a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) message including first information for performing a beam failure detection (BFD) on a primary secondary cell (PSCell) when a secondary cell group (SCG) is deactivated and configuration information for the BFD; based on the first information and the configuration information for the BFD, detecting a beam failure” (emphasis added). The limitations of Claim 15 do not positively recite features where beam failure is detected not always on the PSCell. Claim 15 clearly requires that the first information itself is for performing a beam failure detection (BFD) on a primary secondary cell (PSCell). In other words, Claim 15 does not positively recite features where detecting a beam failure based on the first information includes beam failure that is detected not always on the PSCell. Claim 15 clearly requires that performing a beam failure detection (BFD) on a primary secondary cell (PSCell) is an action that the first information itself is for.
Da Silva teaches in Para. 213 and FIG. 15A: “FIG. 15A shows an ASN.1 data structure for an exemplary RRC RadioLinkMonitoringConfig IE, which can be used to configure resources for BFD” (emphasis added). An RRC Information Element (IE) used to configure resources for BFD of Da Silva, is substantively the same as a radio resource control (RRC) message including first information for performing a beam failure detection (BFD) of Claim 15.
In addition, Claim 15 clearly requires performing a beam failure detection (BFD) on a primary secondary cell (PSCell) when a secondary cell group (SCG) is deactivated. A BFD operation on the PSCell of Da Silva performed with a deactivated SCG, is substantively the same as performing a beam failure detection (BFD) on a primary secondary cell (PSCell) when a secondary cell group (SCG) is deactivated of Claim 15.
In addition, the claim language also does not clearly require that configuration information for the BFD is completely independent and completely unrelated to first information for performing a beam failure detection (BFD) on a primary secondary cell (PSCell) when a secondary cell group (SCG) is deactivated.
Page 10 of the Remarks presents the argument that However, Applicant submits that a distinction exists in that Da Silva does not separately disclose "first information for performing a beam failure detection (BFD) on a primary secondary cell (PSCell) when a secondary cell group (SCG) is deactivated" and "configuration information for the BFD" as separate elements apart from"configuration information for the BFD." This argument is not persuasive. Da Silva teaches in Para. 214 and FIG. 15B: “FIG. 15B shows an ASN.1 data structure for an exemplary SpCellConfig IE, including rlmInSyncOutOfSyncThreshold” (emphasis added). Da Silva teaches in Para. 323, 326 and FIG. 16: “The following are some exemplary parameters that can be included in such an IE or field (see definitions in 3GPP TS 38.331 or 38.321): … rsrp-ThresholdSSB of RSRP-Range” (emphasis added). Da Silva teaches in Para. 404 and 406: “RRC configures the following parameters for the Random Access procedure: … rsrp-ThresholdSSB” (emphasis added). Information elements that configure rlmInSyncOutOfSyncThreshold and rsrp-ThresholdSSB of Da Silva, are substantively the same as configuration information of Claim 15.
Da Silva teaches in Para. 214 and FIG. 15B: “The configured thresholds for BFD (mentioned above) are Qout,LR and Qin,LR. The former corresponds to the default value of rlmInSyncOutOfSyncThreshold as configured in the RRC IE SpCellConfig and described further in 3GPP TS 38.133. The latter corresponds to the value provided by fields rsrp-ThresholdSSB or rsrp-ThresholdBFR-r16.” (emphasis added). As a result, information elements of Da Silva providing rlmInSyncOutOfSyncThreshold and rsrp-ThresholdSSB that correspond to thresholds for BFD, are substantively the same as configuration information for the BFD of Claim 15.
Claim 15 does not clearly require that configuration information for the BFD is completely independent and completely unrelated to first information for performing a beam failure detection (BFD) on a primary secondary cell (PSCell) when a secondary cell group (SCG) is deactivated.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
7-10-2026
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477