The preliminary amendment filed 3/12/2024 has been entered.
Claims 15-34 are pending.
Claims 1-14 are cancelled.
Claims 15-34 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-22 and 25-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to Claim 15, Claim 15 recites: “in case that a serving cell is a primary secondary cell (PSCeII) and a secondary cell group (SCG) is deactivated” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether or not a “case” actually occurs and is required. The examiner suggests adding in response to into Claim 15, so that the above claim excerpt includes: in response to a serving cell is a primary secondary cell (PSCeII) and a secondary cell group (SCG) is deactivated.
Claims 16-22 are rejected through dependence from Claim 15.
In regard to Claim 25, Claim 25 recites: “in case that a serving cell is a primary secondary cell (PSCeII) and a secondary cell group (SCG) is deactivated” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether or not a “case” actually occurs and is required. The examiner suggests adding in response to into Claim 25, so that the above claim excerpt includes: in response to a serving cell is a primary secondary cell (PSCeII) and a secondary cell group (SCG) is deactivated.
Claims 26-32 are rejected through dependence from Claim 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-16, 18, 23, 25, 28 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Da Silva et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230337020 A1), hereafter referred to as Da Silva.
In regard to Claim 15, Da Silva teaches A method performed by a user equipment (UE) supporting a dual connectivity (DC) in a wireless communication system (NR network architecture and various dual connectivity (DC) arrangements, Para. 117, FIGS. 2-5. DC can be achieved by allowing a UE to connect to multiple DUs served by the same CU or by allowing a UE to connect to multiple DUs served by different CUs, Para. 121, FIGS. 3-5), the method comprising: receiving, from a base station (a network node, Para. 242, FIG. 20), a radio resource control (RRC) message (Radio Resource Control (RRC) layers between the UE and eNB, Para. 8, FIG. 2. FIG. 15A shows an ASN.1 data structure for an exemplary RRC RadioLinkMonitoringConfig IE, which can be used to configure resources for BFD, Para. 213, FIG. 15A) including beam failure detection configuration information (before the UE enters the reduced-energy mode for the SCG, sending to the UE one or more of the following information that is specific to the reduced-energy mode for the SCG: an SCG BFD configuration, Para. 60).
Da Silva teaches based on the beam failure detection configuration information (SCG BFD configuration, Para. 60. RRC RadioLinkMonitoringConfig IE, which can be used to configure resources for BFD, Para. 213, FIG. 15A), detecting a beam failure (When BFD is declared the UE considers beam failure to be detected, Para. 251, FIG. 20. When the second cell group is deactivated the UE stops BFD for the SCell(s) and only continues BFD for the PSCell, Para. 298, FIG. 20).
Da Silva teaches in case that a serving cell is a primary secondary cell (PSCeII) (a serving cell in that cell group, which may be the PCell/PScell, Para. 177. The Serving Cells of the second cell group can be an SpCell (PSCell), Para. 273. The Serving Cell (e.g., PSCell), Para. 378, 379, 382, 383) and a secondary cell group (SCG) is deactivated (the UE can determine if beam failure associated with the second cell group while the second cell group is in the second mode of operation (e.g., deactivated SCG) should be declared, Para. 249, FIG. 20), reporting the beam failure (When BFD is declared the UE indicates this to the network via the first cell group, either in a MAC CE or RRC message. This way the network will immediately get the knowledge of the beam failure, Para. 252, FIG. 20) of the PSCeII (when the second cell group is deactivated the UE stops BFD for the SCell(s) and only continues BFD for the PSCell, Para. 298, FIG. 20) to a upper layer (Radio Resource Control (RRC) layers between the UE and eNB, Para. 8, FIG. 2. When BFD is declared the UE indicates this to the network via the first cell group, either in a MAC CE or RRC message, Para. 252, FIG. 20).
In regard to Claim 16, Da Silva teaches the RRC message further includes first information for performing a beam failure detection (BFD) (before the UE enters the reduced-energy mode for the SCG, sending to the UE one or more of the following information that is specific to the reduced-energy mode for the SCG: an SCG BFD configuration, Para. 60. FIG. 15A shows an ASN.1 data structure for an exemplary RRC RadioLinkMonitoringConfig IE, which can be used to configure resources for BFD, Para. 213, FIG. 15A) on the PSCeII when the SCG is deactivated (when the second cell group is deactivated the UE stops BFD for the SCell(s) and only continues BFD for the PSCell, Para. 298, FIG. 20).
In regard to Claim 18, Da Silva teaches in case that the serving cell is a secondary cell (SCell), triggering a beam failure recovery for the serving cell (the UE can determine if beam failure associated with the second cell group while the second cell group is in the second mode of operation (e.g., deactivated SCG) should be declared, and perform at least one of the following actions based on whether BFD is declared: Trigger random access for BFR on the second cell group (e.g., with the SpCell of the second cell group) if BFD is declared, Para. 249-250, FIG. 20. .The term “Special Cell” (or “SpCell” for short) refers to the PSCell of the SCG, Para. 16. The UE performs at least the actions as described in 3GPP TS 38.213 section 6 (“Link recovery procedures”) for the SpCell of the second cell group. These may be configured only for use while the second cell group is deactivated, Para. 300).
In regard to Claim 23, Da Silva teaches A method performed by a base station (a network node, Para. 242, FIG. 20) supporting a dual connectivity (DC) in a wireless communication system (NR network architecture and various dual connectivity (DC) arrangements, Para. 117, FIGS. 2-5. DC can be achieved by allowing a UE to connect to multiple DUs served by the same CU or by allowing a UE to connect to multiple DUs served by different CUs, Para. 121, FIGS. 3-5), the method comprising: generating a radio resource control (RRC) message including first information for performing a beam failure detection (BFD) (Radio Resource Control (RRC) layers between the UE and eNB, Para. 8, FIG. 2. FIG. 15A shows an ASN.1 data structure for an exemplary RRC RadioLinkMonitoringConfig IE, which can be used to configure resources for BFD, Para. 213, FIG. 15A) on a primary secondary (PSCell) when a secondary cell group (SCG) is deactivated (the UE can determine if beam failure associated with the second cell group while the second cell group is in the second mode of operation (e.g., deactivated SCG) should be declared, Para. 249, FIG. 20. When the second cell group is deactivated the UE stops BFD for the SCell(s) and only continues BFD for the PSCell, Para. 298, FIG. 20) and a beam failure detection configuration information (before the UE enters the reduced-energy mode for the SCG, sending to the UE one or more of the following information that is specific to the reduced-energy mode for the SCG: an SCG BFD configuration, Para. 60).
Da Silva teaches transmitting, to a user equipment (UE) (UE, Para. 60), the RRC message including first information (Radio Resource Control (RRC) layers between the UE and eNB, Para. 8, FIG. 2. FIG. 15A shows an ASN.1 data structure for an exemplary RRC RadioLinkMonitoringConfig IE, which can be used to configure resources for BFD, Para. 213, FIG. 15A) and the beam failure detection configuration information (before the UE enters the reduced-energy mode for the SCG, sending to the UE one or more of the following information that is specific to the reduced-energy mode for the SCG: an SCG BFD configuration, Para. 60).
In regard to Claim 25, Da Silva teaches A user equipment (UE) supporting a dual connectivity (DC) in a wireless communication system (NR network architecture and various dual connectivity (DC) arrangements, Para. 117, FIGS. 2-5. DC can be achieved by allowing a UE to connect to multiple DUs served by the same CU or by allowing a UE to connect to multiple DUs served by different CUs, Para. 121, FIGS. 3-5), the UE comprising: a transceiver (Communication subsystem 3231 can be configured to include one or more transceivers, Para. 591, FIG. 32); and a controller (processor 3201, Para. 589, FIG. 32) configured to: receive, from a base station (a network node, Para. 242, FIG. 20), a radio resource control (RRC) message (Radio Resource Control (RRC) layers between the UE and eNB, Para. 8, FIG. 2. FIG. 15A shows an ASN.1 data structure for an exemplary RRC RadioLinkMonitoringConfig IE, which can be used to configure resources for BFD, Para. 213, FIG. 15A) including beam failure detection configuration information (before the UE enters the reduced-energy mode for the SCG, sending to the UE one or more of the following information that is specific to the reduced-energy mode for the SCG: an SCG BFD configuration, Para. 60).
Da Silva teaches based on the beam failure detection configuration information (SCG BFD configuration, Para. 60. RRC RadioLinkMonitoringConfig IE, which can be used to configure resources for BFD, Para. 213, FIG. 15A), detect a beam failure (When BFD is declared the UE considers beam failure to be detected, Para. 251, FIG. 20. When the second cell group is deactivated the UE stops BFD for the SCell(s) and only continues BFD for the PSCell, Para. 298, FIG. 20).
Da Silva teaches in case that a serving cell is a primary secondary cell (PSCeII) (a serving cell in that cell group, which may be the PCell/PScell, Para. 177. The Serving Cells of the second cell group can be an SpCell (PSCell), Para. 273. The Serving Cell (e.g., PSCell), Para. 378, 379, 382, 383) and a secondary cell group (SCG) is deactivated (the UE can determine if beam failure associated with the second cell group while the second cell group is in the second mode of operation (e.g., deactivated SCG) should be declared, Para. 249, FIG. 20), report the beam failure (When BFD is declared the UE indicates this to the network via the first cell group, either in a MAC CE or RRC message. This way the network will immediately get the knowledge of the beam failure, Para. 252, FIG. 20) of the PSCeII (when the second cell group is deactivated the UE stops BFD for the SCell(s) and only continues BFD for the PSCell, Para. 298, FIG. 20) to a upper layer (Radio Resource Control (RRC) layers between the UE and eNB, Para. 8, FIG. 2. When BFD is declared the UE indicates this to the network via the first cell group, either in a MAC CE or RRC message, Para. 252, FIG. 20).
In regard to Claim 26, Da Silva teaches the RRC message further includes first information for performing a beam failure detection (BFD) (before the UE enters the reduced-energy mode for the SCG, sending to the UE one or more of the following information that is specific to the reduced-energy mode for the SCG: an SCG BFD configuration, Para. 60. FIG. 15A shows an ASN.1 data structure for an exemplary RRC RadioLinkMonitoringConfig IE, which can be used to configure resources for BFD, Para. 213, FIG. 15A) on the PSCeII when the SCG is deactivated (when the second cell group is deactivated the UE stops BFD for the SCell(s) and only continues BFD for the PSCell, Para. 298, FIG. 20).
In regard to Claim 28, Da Silva teaches the controller is further configured to: in case that the serving cell is a secondary cell (SCell), trigger a beam failure recovery for the serving cell (the UE can determine if beam failure associated with the second cell group while the second cell group is in the second mode of operation (e.g., deactivated SCG) should be declared, and perform at least one of the following actions based on whether BFD is declared: Trigger random access for BFR on the second cell group (e.g., with the SpCell of the second cell group) if BFD is declared, Para. 249-250, FIG. 20. .The term “Special Cell” (or “SpCell” for short) refers to the PSCell of the SCG, Para. 16. The UE performs at least the actions as described in 3GPP TS 38.213 section 6 (“Link recovery procedures”) for the SpCell of the second cell group. These may be configured only for use while the second cell group is deactivated, Para. 300).
In regard to Claim 33, Da Silva teaches A base station (a network node, Para. 242, FIG. 20) supporting a dual connectivity (DC) in a wireless communication system (NR network architecture and various dual connectivity (DC) arrangements, Para. 117, FIGS. 2-5. DC can be achieved by allowing a UE to connect to multiple DUs served by the same CU or by allowing a UE to connect to multiple DUs served by different CUs, Para. 121, FIGS. 3-5), the base station comprising: a transceiver (radio frequency (RF) transceiver circuitry 3172, Para. 559, FIG. 31); and a controller (Processing circuitry 3170, Para. 557, FIG. 31) configured to: generate a radio resource control (RRC) message including first information for performing a beam failure detection (BFD) (Radio Resource Control (RRC) layers between the UE and eNB, Para. 8, FIG. 2. FIG. 15A shows an ASN.1 data structure for an exemplary RRC RadioLinkMonitoringConfig IE, which can be used to configure resources for BFD, Para. 213, FIG. 15A) on a primary secondary (PSCell) when a secondary cell group (SCG) is deactivated (the UE can determine if beam failure associated with the second cell group while the second cell group is in the second mode of operation (e.g., deactivated SCG) should be declared, Para. 249, FIG. 20. When the second cell group is deactivated the UE stops BFD for the SCell(s) and only continues BFD for the PSCell, Para. 298, FIG. 20) and a beam failure detection configuration information (before the UE enters the reduced-energy mode for the SCG, sending to the UE one or more of the following information that is specific to the reduced-energy mode for the SCG: an SCG BFD configuration, Para. 60).
Da Silva teaches transmit, to a user equipment (UE) (UE, Para. 60), the RRC message including first information (Radio Resource Control (RRC) layers between the UE and eNB, Para. 8, FIG. 2. FIG. 15A shows an ASN.1 data structure for an exemplary RRC RadioLinkMonitoringConfig IE, which can be used to configure resources for BFD, Para. 213, FIG. 15A) and the beam failure detection configuration information (before the UE enters the reduced-energy mode for the SCG, sending to the UE one or more of the following information that is specific to the reduced-energy mode for the SCG: an SCG BFD configuration, Para. 60).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Da Silva in view of Zhang et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220272752 A1), hereafter referred to as Zhang ‘752.
In regard to Claim 17, as presented in the rejection of Claim 15, Da Silva teaches reporting the beam failure of the PSCeII to the upper layer.
Da Silva fails to teach stopping a beam failure detection timer after reporting the beam failure of the PSCeII to the upper layer.
Zhang ‘752 teaches stopping a beam failure detection timer after reporting the beam failure of the PSCeII to the upper layer (beam specific channel sensing failure detection, reporting, and recovery operations are provided to enable enhanced operation in beam based operations. The parameters lbt-FailureDetectionTimer may be programed or configured, such as by RRC. The timer is reset or restarted with every LBT failure indication for the beam, Para. 70).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang ‘752 with the teachings of Da Silva since Zhang ‘752 provides a technique for managing timers based on beam failure operations, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Da Silva to permit the efficient management of timers in relation to BFD actions.
In regard to Claim 27, as presented in the rejection of Claim 25, Da Silva teaches reporting the beam failure of the PSCeII to the upper layer.
Da Silva fails to teach the controller is further configured to: stop a beam failure detection timer after reporting the beam failure of the PSCeII to the upper layer.
Zhang ‘752 teaches the controller is further configured to: stop a beam failure detection timer after reporting the beam failure of the PSCeII to the upper layer (beam specific channel sensing failure detection, reporting, and recovery operations are provided to enable enhanced operation in beam based operations. The parameters lbt-FailureDetectionTimer may be programed or configured, such as by RRC. The timer is reset or restarted with every LBT failure indication for the beam, Para. 70).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang ‘752 with the teachings of Da Silva since Zhang ‘752 provides a technique for managing timers based on beam failure operations, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Da Silva to permit the efficient management of timers in relation to BFD actions.
Claim(s) 19 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Da Silva in view of Zhang et al. (Pub. No.: US 20250008389 A1), hereafter referred to as Zhang ‘389.
In regard to Claim 19, as presented in the rejection of Claim 15, Da Silva teaches the serving cell.
Da Silva fails to teach in case that the serving cell is a primary cell (PCell) or the serving cell is the PSCelI and the SCG is activated, initiating a random access procedure on the PCell or the PSCelI.
Zhang ‘389 teaches in case that the serving cell is a primary cell (PCell) or the serving cell is the PSCelI and the SCG is activated, initiating a random access procedure on the PCell or the PSCelI (UE 510 determines whether to perform a random access channel (RACH) to the new PSCell/SCG according to the (de) activation state of the old PSCell/SCG. The new PSCell/SCG may inherit the PSCell/SCG (de) activation state from the old PSCell/SCG. If the old PSCell/SCG is activated, the new PSCell/SCG is thus activated, and UE 510 may perform a RA procedure or send a data packet directly to the new PSCell/SCG, Para. 147, FIG. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang ‘389 with the teachings of Da Silva since Zhang ‘389 provides a technique for managing random access based on states of cells, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Da Silva to permit the efficient management of random access in relation to cell states.
In regard to Claim 29, as presented in the rejection of Claim 25, Da Silva teaches the serving cell.
Da Silva fails to teach the controller is further configured to: in case that the serving cell is a primary cell (PCell) or the serving cell is the PSCeIl and the SCG is activated, initiate a random access procedure on the PCell or the PSCeIl.
Zhang ‘389 teaches the controller is further configured to: in case that the serving cell is a primary cell (PCell) or the serving cell is the PSCeIl and the SCG is activated, initiate a random access procedure on the PCell or the PSCeIl (UE 510 determines whether to perform a random access channel (RACH) to the new PSCell/SCG according to the (de) activation state of the old PSCell/SCG. The new PSCell/SCG may inherit the PSCell/SCG (de) activation state from the old PSCell/SCG. If the old PSCell/SCG is activated, the new PSCell/SCG is thus activated, and UE 510 may perform a RA procedure or send a data packet directly to the new PSCell/SCG, Para. 147, FIG. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang ‘389 with the teachings of Da Silva since Zhang ‘389 provides a technique for managing random access based on states of cells, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Da Silva to permit the efficient management of random access in relation to cell states.
Claim(s) 20-21 and 30-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Da Silva in view of Koskela et al. (Pub. No.: US 20240163952 A1), hereafter referred to as Koskela.
In regard to Claim 20, as presented in the rejection of Claim 15, Da Silva teaches the beam failure detection configuration information.
Da Silva fails to teach the beam failure detection configuration information includes second information on a maximum count value for triggering a beam failure recovery and third information on a beam failure detection timer.
Koskela teaches the beam failure detection configuration information includes second information on a maximum count value for triggering a beam failure recovery and third information on a beam failure detection timer (The MAC layer uses a BFI-counter to count the BFI indications for each respective cell and when it counts a predefined number of BFI instances indicated by the lower layer for the corresponding cell (PCell/SCell), it initiates/triggers the BFR mechanism. The BFI-counter is supervised by a BFD timer. Each time the UE receives a new BFI indication, the BFD timer is triggered (started or restarted), and the BFI counter is incremented. If the BFD timer expires, the BFI-counter is reset. The BFI counter and BFD timer may be configured per TRP, per BFD-RS set or per serving beam or serving beam set, Para. 55. The TRP may configure the UE explicitly by using the BFD-RS for corresponding CORESET sets, Para. 58. Each of the predefined counter value and the predefined threshold value used in the above-defined rules may mean a value configured by the network in which the UE 500 communicates with the first and second TRPs, Para. 90).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Koskela with the teachings of Da Silva since Koskela provides a technique for managing BFD timers and BFI counters for beam recovery, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Da Silva to permit introduction of efficient timers for BFD and counters for appropriately starting beam recovery.
In regard to Claim 21, as presented in the rejection of Claim 15, Da Silva teaches the method.
Da Silva fails to teach receiving, from a lower layer, a beam failure instance indication; starting the beam failure detection timer; increasing a beam failure instance counter; and in case that the beam failure instance counter is equal to or larger than the second information, detecting the beam failure.
Koskela teaches receiving, from a lower layer, a beam failure instance indication; starting the beam failure detection timer; increasing a beam failure instance counter; and in case that the beam failure instance counter is equal to or larger than the second information, detecting the beam failure (The MAC layer uses a BFI-counter to count the BFI indications for each respective cell and when it counts a predefined number of BFI instances indicated by the lower layer for the corresponding cell (PCell/SCell), it initiates/triggers the BFR mechanism. The BFI-counter is supervised by a BFD timer. Each time the UE receives a new BFI indication, the BFD timer is triggered (started or restarted), and the BFI counter is incremented. If the BFD timer expires, the BFI-counter is reset. The BFI counter and BFD timer may be configured per TRP, per BFD-RS set or per serving beam or serving beam set, Para. 55. The TRP may configure the UE explicitly by using the BFD-RS for corresponding CORESET sets, Para. 58. Each of the predefined counter value and the predefined threshold value used in the above-defined rules may mean a value configured by the network in which the UE 500 communicates with the first and second TRPs, Para. 90).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Koskela with the teachings of Da Silva since Koskela provides a technique for managing BFD timers and BFI counters for beam recovery, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Da Silva to permit introduction of efficient timers for BFD and counters for appropriately starting beam recovery.
In regard to Claim 30, as presented in the rejection of Claim 25, Da Silva teaches the beam failure detection configuration information.
Da Silva fails to teach the beam failure detection configuration information includes second information on a maximum count value for triggering a beam failure recovery and third information on a beam failure detection timer.
Koskela teaches the beam failure detection configuration information includes second information on a maximum count value for triggering a beam failure recovery and third information on a beam failure detection timer (The MAC layer uses a BFI-counter to count the BFI indications for each respective cell and when it counts a predefined number of BFI instances indicated by the lower layer for the corresponding cell (PCell/SCell), it initiates/triggers the BFR mechanism. The BFI-counter is supervised by a BFD timer. Each time the UE receives a new BFI indication, the BFD timer is triggered (started or restarted), and the BFI counter is incremented. If the BFD timer expires, the BFI-counter is reset. The BFI counter and BFD timer may be configured per TRP, per BFD-RS set or per serving beam or serving beam set, Para. 55. The TRP may configure the UE explicitly by using the BFD-RS for corresponding CORESET sets, Para. 58. Each of the predefined counter value and the predefined threshold value used in the above-defined rules may mean a value configured by the network in which the UE 500 communicates with the first and second TRPs, Para. 90).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Koskela with the teachings of Da Silva since Koskela provides a technique for managing BFD timers and BFI counters for beam recovery, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Da Silva to permit introduction of efficient timers for BFD and counters for appropriately starting beam recovery.
In regard to Claim 31, as presented in the rejection of Claim 25, Da Silva teaches the UE.
Da Silva fails to teach receive, from a lower layer, a beam failure instance indication, start the beam failure detection timer, increase a beam failure instance counter, and in case that the beam failure instance counter is equal to or larger than the second information, detect the beam failure.
Koskela teaches receive, from a lower layer, a beam failure instance indication, start the beam failure detection timer, increase a beam failure instance counter, and in case that the beam failure instance counter is equal to or larger than the second information, detect the beam failure (The MAC layer uses a BFI-counter to count the BFI indications for each respective cell and when it counts a predefined number of BFI instances indicated by the lower layer for the corresponding cell (PCell/SCell), it initiates/triggers the BFR mechanism. The BFI-counter is supervised by a BFD timer. Each time the UE receives a new BFI indication, the BFD timer is triggered (started or restarted), and the BFI counter is incremented. If the BFD timer expires, the BFI-counter is reset. The BFI counter and BFD timer may be configured per TRP, per BFD-RS set or per serving beam or serving beam set, Para. 55. The TRP may configure the UE explicitly by using the BFD-RS for corresponding CORESET sets, Para. 58. Each of the predefined counter value and the predefined threshold value used in the above-defined rules may mean a value configured by the network in which the UE 500 communicates with the first and second TRPs, Para. 90).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Koskela with the teachings of Da Silva since Koskela provides a technique for managing BFD timers and BFI counters for beam recovery, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Da Silva to permit introduction of efficient timers for BFD and counters for appropriately starting beam recovery.
Claim(s) 22, 24, 32 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Da Silva in view of Uesaka et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230354453 A1), hereafter referred to as Uesaka.
In regard to Claim 22, as presented in the rejection of Claim 15, Da Silva teaches the beam failure detection configuration information.
Da Silva fails to teach the beam failure detection configuration information includes fourth information on a detection resource, and wherein the detection resource is one of a synchronization signal block (SSB) or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS).
Uesaka teaches the beam failure detection configuration information includes fourth information on a detection resource, and wherein the detection resource is one of a synchronization signal block (SSB) or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) (Beam failure is detected in L1 (i.e., PHY) when the BLER of a (hypothetical) PDCCH is above a threshold for a certain time. This step is also called beam failure detection (BFD), In the second step, new candidate beams are identified by measuring beam identification RS, such as CSI-RS or SSB, Para. 109. The network node configures the UE's candidate beam reference signal list (e.g., via RRC signaling), which includes SSB ID(s) and/or CSI-RS resource ID(s), Para. 118).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Uesaka with the teachings of Da Silva since Uesaka provides a technique for configuring UEs with SSB IDs and/or CSI-RS resource IDs in relation to beam failure detection, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Da Silva to permit a network node to inform a UE of specific resources for the detection of beam failures.
In regard to Claim 24, as presented in the rejection of Claim 23, Da Silva teaches the beam failure detection configuration information.
Da Silva fails to teach the beam failure detection configuration information includes second information on a maximum count value for triggering a beam failure recovery, third information on a beam failure detection timer, and fourth information on a detection resource, and wherein the detection resource is one of a synchronization signal block (SSB) or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS).
Uesaka teaches the beam failure detection configuration information includes second information on a maximum count value for triggering a beam failure recovery, third information on a beam failure detection timer, and fourth information on a detection resource, and wherein the detection resource is one of a synchronization signal block (SSB) or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) (Beam failure is detected in L1 (i.e., PHY) when the BLER of a (hypothetical) PDCCH is above a threshold for a certain time. This step is also called beam failure detection (BFD), In the second step, new candidate beams are identified by measuring beam identification RS, such as CSI-RS or SSB, Para. 109. The network node configures the UE's candidate beam reference signal list (e.g., via RRC signaling), which includes SSB ID(s) and/or CSI-RS resource ID(s). The network may also configure a timer (e.g., beamFailureRecoveryTimer) with a particular value (e.g., 100 ms), Para. 118).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Uesaka with the teachings of Da Silva since Uesaka provides a technique for configuring UEs with SSB IDs and/or CSI-RS resource IDs in relation to beam failure detection, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Da Silva to permit a network node to inform a UE of specific resources for the detection of beam failures.
In regard to Claim 32, as presented in the rejection of Claim 25, Da Silva teaches the beam failure detection configuration information.
Da Silva fails to teach the beam failure detection configuration information includes fourth information on a detection resource, and wherein the detection resource is one of a synchronization signal block (SSB) or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS).
Uesaka teaches the beam failure detection configuration information includes fourth information on a detection resource, and wherein the detection resource is one of a synchronization signal block (SSB) or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) (Beam failure is detected in L1 (i.e., PHY) when the BLER of a (hypothetical) PDCCH is above a threshold for a certain time. This step is also called beam failure detection (BFD), In the second step, new candidate beams are identified by measuring beam identification RS, such as CSI-RS or SSB, Para. 109. The network node configures the UE's candidate beam reference signal list (e.g., via RRC signaling), which includes SSB ID(s) and/or CSI-RS resource ID(s), Para. 118).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Uesaka with the teachings of Da Silva since Uesaka provides a technique for configuring UEs with SSB IDs and/or CSI-RS resource IDs in relation to beam failure detection, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Da Silva to permit a network node to inform a UE of specific resources for the detection of beam failures.
In regard to Claim 34, as presented in the rejection of Claim 33, Da Silva teaches the beam failure detection configuration information.
Da Silva fails to teach the beam failure detection configuration information includes second information on a maximum count value for triggering a beam failure recovery, third information on a beam failure detection timer, and fourth information on a detection resource, and wherein the detection resource is one of a synchronization signal block (SSB) or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS).
Uesaka teaches the beam failure detection configuration information includes second information on a maximum count value for triggering a beam failure recovery, third information on a beam failure detection timer, and fourth information on a detection resource, and wherein the detection resource is one of a synchronization signal block (SSB) or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) (Beam failure is detected in L1 (i.e., PHY) when the BLER of a (hypothetical) PDCCH is above a threshold for a certain time. This step is also called beam failure detection (BFD), In the second step, new candidate beams are identified by measuring beam identification RS, such as CSI-RS or SSB, Para. 109. The network node configures the UE's candidate beam reference signal list (e.g., via RRC signaling), which includes SSB ID(s) and/or CSI-RS resource ID(s). The network may also configure a timer (e.g., beamFailureRecoveryTimer) with a particular value (e.g., 100 ms), Para. 118).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Uesaka with the teachings of Da Silva since Uesaka provides a technique for configuring UEs with SSB IDs and/or CSI-RS resource IDs in relation to beam failure detection, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Da Silva to permit a network node to inform a UE of specific resources for the detection of beam failures.
Conclusion
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
2-18-2026
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477