DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Application filed on 3/12/2024. Claims 1-11 and 16-24 are pending in the case.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-11, and 16-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coffman et al. (US 20200379946 A1, hereinafter Coffman) in view of Cranfill et al. (US 20130332886 A1, hereinafter Cranfill), and Gao (US 20200110529 A1).
As to independent claim 1, Coffman teaches a method, comprising:
establishing, by a first terminal device, a connection to a second terminal device (“the bootstrapping prompt user interface 534 includes a continue affordance 536, which, when selected (e.g., with a single or double tap gesture), causes the old device 504 to establish a connection with the new device 502 (e.g., as shown in FIGS. 5C and 5D).” paragraph 0165);
displaying, by the first terminal device, a first interface based on the first terminal device receiving migration data from the second terminal device, wherein the first interface comprises one or more of a data volume, a transmission progress, or a transmission time of the migration data (“In response to detecting the user input 523, the new device 502 initiates the direct transfer of data to the new device 502 from the old device 504 and also displays a direct transfer user interface 571 in FIG. 5J…. According to some embodiments, the direct transfer user interface 571 includes a time remaining indicator (e.g., 10 minutes) and a cancel affordance, 573,” paragraph 0175-0176);
starting, by the first terminal device, to import the migration data in a case that the first terminal device has finished receiving the migration data (“during the direct transfer, the new device 503 obtains (e.g., receives or retrieves) pre-existing data stored by the old device 504 such as settings, notes, messages, contacts, application data, media (e.g., photos, videos, and music), and/or the like.” Paragraph 0175, last sentence).
Coffman does not appear to expressly teach displaying, by the first terminal device, a second interface in a process in which the first terminal device imports the migration data, wherein the second interface comprises a first control;
displaying, by the first terminal device, a first desktop in response to a user operation of selecting the first control, wherein the first desktop comprises a first icon of a first application and a first import progress of the first application, and wherein an icon status of the first application is a first status; and
updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to a second status on the first desktop based on a change of the import progress of the first application, wherein the second status comprises a second icon of the first application and a second import progress.
Cranfill teaches displaying, by the first terminal device, a second interface in a process in which the first terminal device download/install application (“As shown in FIG. 7B, when a download or installing is in progress,” Paragraph 0112), wherein the second interface comprises a first control (“home button 96 or “menu button” may initiate an exit application store instruction, see paragraph 0075, Fig. 2A-2B, examiner notes that a “menu button” is a UI element);
displaying, by the first terminal device, a first desktop in response to a user operation of selecting the first control, wherein the first desktop comprises a first icon of a first application and a first install progress of the first application, and wherein an icon status of the first application is a first status (“Actuating a "home button" or "menu button" may initiate an exit application store instruction. For example, selection of the home button 96 (as shown in FIG. 2B) can present the user with an initial display screen including the first page of user interface elements (e.g., as shown in FIG. 2A).” paragraph 0075, a person of ordinary skill in the art will recognize that if the user actuates the home button 96 or menu button while the application is being installed (i.e. installing progress) as shown in 7B, can present the home screen shown in Fig. 8A with “installing” progress of the Find iPhone icon 80 status).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Coffman to comprise displaying, by the first terminal device, a second interface in a process in which the first terminal device imports the migration data, wherein the second interface comprises a first control; displaying, by the first terminal device, a first desktop in response to a user operation of selecting the first control, wherein the first desktop comprises a first icon of a first application and a first import progress of the first application, and wherein an icon status of the first application is a first status. One would have been motivated to improve the user experience during data transferring.
Coffman and Cranfill do not appear to expressly teach an application icon display method, comprising:
updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to a second status on the first desktop based on a change of the import progress of the first application, wherein the second status comprises a second icon of the first application and a second import progress.
Gao teaches an application icon display method (FIG. 1B to 1F are schematic diagrams showing application icons in different downloading/installing status;” paragraph 0073-0078), the method comprising:
updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to a second status on the first desktop based on a change of the download/install progress of the first application, wherein the second status comprises a second icon of the first application and a second download/install progress (“As shown in FIG. 1B, the downloading/installing status of the application is waiting for download, “waiting” is adopted to indicate waiting for download, and “waiting” is displayed at the location 11 used for displaying the name of the application…As shown in FIG. 1C, the downloading/installing status of the application is downloading in progress, “downloading” is adopted to indicate downloading in progress, and “downloading” is displayed at the location 11 used for displaying the name of the application.” paragraph 0074-0075)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Coffman to comprise an application icon display method, comprising: updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to a second status on the first desktop based on a change of the import progress of the first application, wherein the second status comprises a second icon of the first application and a second import progress. One would have been motivated to reassure users that the system is functioning correctly.
As to dependent claim 2, Coffman teaches the method according to claim 1, Coffman does not appear to expressly teach wherein the first status comprises a waiting for import state; and
wherein the updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to the second status on the first desktop comprises:
updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to an installing state on the first desktop based on the import progress of the first application changing from waiting for import to application installing.
Gao teaches wherein the first status comprises a waiting for download/install state (“As shown in FIG. 1B, the downloading/installing status of the application is waiting for download, “waiting” is adopted to indicate waiting for download, and “waiting” is displayed at the location 11 used for displaying the name of the application.” paragraph 0074); and
wherein the updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to the second status on the first desktop comprises:
updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to an installing state on the first desktop based on the import progress of the first application changing from waiting for download/install to application installing (“As shown in FIG. 1D, the downloading/installing status of the application is installing in progress, “installing” is used to indicate that it is being installed, and “installing” is displayed at the location 11 used for displaying the name of the application.” paragraph 0076. Gao, FIGS. 1B to 1F, different downloading/installing status are shown. Examiner notes that using different types of importing progress icon is well known and design choice).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Coffman to comprise wherein the first status comprises a waiting for import state; and wherein the updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to the second status on the first desktop comprises: updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to an installing state on the first desktop based on the import progress of the first application changing from waiting for import to application installing. One would have been motivated to reassure users that the system is functioning correctly.
As to dependent claim 3, Coffman teaches the method according to claim 1, Coffman does not appear to expressly teach wherein the first status comprises a waiting for import state; and
wherein the updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to the second status on the first desktop comprises:
updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to an importing state on the first desktop based on the import progress of the first application changing from waiting for import to importing application data.
Gao teaches wherein the first status comprises a waiting for download/install state (“As shown in FIG. 1B, the downloading/installing status of the application is waiting for download, “waiting” is adopted to indicate waiting for download, and “waiting” is displayed at the location 11 used for displaying the name of the application.” paragraph 0074); and
wherein the updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to the second status on the first desktop comprises:
updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to an importing state on the first desktop based on the import progress of the first application changing from waiting for download/install to downloading application data (“As shown in FIG. 1C, the downloading/installing status of the application is downloading in progress, “downloading” is adopted to indicate downloading in progress, and “downloading” is displayed at the location 11 used for displaying the name of the application.” paragraph 0075). Gao, FIGS. 1B to 1F, different downloading/installing status are shown. Examiner notes that using different types of importing progress icon is well known and design choice).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Coffman to comprise wherein the first status comprises a waiting for import state; and wherein the updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to the second status on the first desktop comprises: updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to an importing state on the first desktop based on the import progress of the first application changing from waiting for import to importing application data. One would have been motivated to reassure users that the system is functioning correctly.
As to dependent claim 4, Coffman teaches the method according to claim 1, Coffman does not appear to expressly teach wherein the first status comprises a waiting for import state; and
wherein the updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to the second status on the first desktop comprises:
updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to an import completion state on the first desktop based on the import progress of the first application changing from waiting for install to completed install.
Gao teaches wherein the first status comprises a waiting for download/install state (“As shown in FIG. 1B, the downloading/installing status of the application is waiting for download, “waiting” is adopted to indicate waiting for download, and “waiting” is displayed at the location 11 used for displaying the name of the application.” paragraph 0074); and
wherein the updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to the second status on the first desktop comprises:
updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to an import completion state on the first desktop based on the import progress of the first application changing from waiting for download/install to completed installed (“As shown in FIG. 1E, the downloading/installing status of the application is completing installation, at this time, the name of the application is displayed at the location 11, and a small dot is displayed on the left of the name of the application to indicate that the status is completing installation, and the translucent mask on the icon 13 has been completely faded.” paragraph 0077).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Coffman to comprise wherein the first status comprises an installing state; and wherein the updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to the second status on the first desktop comprises: updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to an importing state on the first desktop based on the import progress of the first application changing from application installing to importing application data. One would have been motivated to reassure users that the system is functioning correctly.
As to dependent claim 5, Coffman teaches the method according to claim 1, Coffman does not appear to expressly teach wherein the first status comprises an installing state; and
wherein the updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to the second status on the first desktop comprises:
updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to an importing state on the first desktop based on the import progress of the first application changing from application installing to importing application data.
Gao teaches wherein the first status comprises an installing state (“As shown in FIG. 1D, the downloading/installing status of the application is installing in progress, “installing” is used to indicate that it is being installed,” paragraph 0076); and
wherein the updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to the second status on the first desktop comprises:
updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to an importing state on the first desktop based on the import progress of the first application changing from application installing to importing application data (“Taking a=20 as an example, the download progress of the application is 100% at this time, and the area of the translucent mask 12 is 20% of the area of the icon 13 of the application.” Paragraph 0076, Gao, FIGS. 1B to 1F, different downloading/installing status are shown. Examiner notes that using different types of importing progress icon is well known and design choice).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Coffman to comprise wherein the first status comprises an installing state; and wherein the updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to the second status on the first desktop comprises: updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to an importing state on the first desktop based on the import progress of the first application changing from application installing to importing application data. One would have been motivated to reassure users that the system is functioning correctly.
As to dependent claim 6, Coffman teaches the method according to claim 1, Coffman does not appear to expressly teach wherein the first status comprises an installing state; and
wherein the updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to the second status on the first desktop comprises:
updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to an import completion state on the first desktop based on the import progress of the first application changing from application installing to completed import.
Gao teaches wherein the first status comprises an installing state (Fig. 1D “installing” status displayed); and
wherein the updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to the second status on the first desktop comprises:
updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to an import completion state on the first desktop based on the import progress of the first application changing from application installing to completed import As shown in FIG. 1E, the downloading/installing status of the application is completing installation, at this time, the name of the application is displayed at the location 11, and a small dot is displayed on the left of the name of the application to indicate that the status is completing installation, and the translucent mask on the icon 13 has been completely faded. Gao, FIGS. 1B to 1F, different downloading/installing status are shown. Examiner notes that using different types of importing progress icon is well known and design choice).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Coffman to comprise wherein the first status comprises an installing state; and wherein the updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to the second status on the first desktop comprises: updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to an import completion state on the first desktop based on the import progress of the first application changing from application installing to completed import. One would have been motivated to reassure users that the system is functioning correctly.
As to dependent claim 7, Coffman teaches the method according to claim 1, Coffman does not appear to expressly teach wherein the first status comprises an importing state; and
wherein the updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to the second status on the first desktop comprises:
updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to an import completion state on the first desktop based on the import progress of the first application changing from importing application data to completed import.
Gao teaches wherein the first status comprises an importing state (Gao, FIGS. 1B to 1F, different downloading/installing status are shown. Examiner notes that using different types of progress or status indicator is well known and design choice); and
wherein the updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to the second status on the first desktop comprises:
updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to an import completion state on the first desktop based on the import progress of the first application changing from importing application data to completed import (Gao, FIGS. 1B to 1F, different downloading/installing status are shown. Examiner notes that using different types of importing progress icon is well known and design choice);
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Coffman to comprise wherein the first status comprises an importing state; and wherein the updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to the second status on the first desktop comprises: updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to an import completion state on the first desktop based on the import progress of the first application changing from importing application data to completed import. One would have been motivated to reassure users that the system is functioning correctly.
As to dependent claim 8, Coffman teaches the method according to claim 1, Coffman does not appear to expressly teach wherein the updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to the second status on the first desktop comprises:
detecting, by the first terminal device, the import progress of the first application;
sending, by the first terminal device, a first broadcast based on detecting a change in the import progress, wherein the first broadcast indicates to update the icon status of the first application; and updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to the second status on the first desktop based on the first broadcast.
Gao teaches detecting, by the first terminal device, the import progress of the first application (Referring to FIGS. 1B to 1F, different downloading/installing status are shown. Examiner notes that using different types of importing progress icon is well known and design choice);
sending, by the first terminal device, a first broadcast based on detecting a change in the import progress, wherein the first broadcast indicates to update the icon status of the first application; and updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to the second status on the first desktop based on the first broadcast (Gao, FIGS. 1B to 1F, different downloading/installing status are shown. Examiner notes that using different types of importing progress icon is well known and design choice).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Coffman to comprise detecting, by the first terminal device, the import progress of the first application; sending, by the first terminal device, a first broadcast based on detecting a change in the import progress, wherein the first broadcast indicates to update the icon status of the first application; and updating, by the first terminal device, the icon status of the first application to the second status on the first desktop based on the first broadcast. One would have been motivated to reassure users that the system is functioning correctly.
As to dependent claim 10, Coffman teaches the method according to claim 1, Coffman does not appear to expressly teach the method further comprising:
clearing, by the first terminal device, icons of target applications from the first desktop in a case of detecting that a user operation is a predefined operation, wherein the target applications comprise applications that have not been installed.
Gao teaches clearing, by the first terminal device, icons of target applications from the first desktop in a case of detecting that a user operation is a predefined operation, wherein the target applications comprise applications that have not been installed (“during the download process and the installation process, if the task for downloading the application is deleted or an abnormality occurs, causing that the download and the installation fails, then the system application process promptly notifies the desktop process to delete the icon of the application.” Paragraph 0175).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Coffman to comprise clearing, by the first terminal device, icons of target applications from the first desktop in a case of detecting that a user operation is a predefined operation, wherein the target applications comprise applications that have not been installed. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to prevent duplication.
As to dependent claim 11, Coffman teaches the method according to claim 1, Coffman further teaches wherein the starting, by the first terminal device, to import the migration data in the case that the first terminal device has finished receiving the migration data comprises:
receiving, by the first terminal device, second indication information from the second terminal device, wherein the second indication information indicates that all the migration data has been sent (“In response to detecting the user input 523, the new device 502 causes the old device 504 to display a direct transfer status interface 582 overlaid on the wake screen user interface 516 in FIG. 5J.” paragraph 0175); and
starting, by the first terminal device, to import the migration data in a case of determining based on the second indication information that the migration data has been received (“According to some embodiments, a local wireless communication link is established between the new device 502 and the old device 504 via Wi-Fi, BLUETOOTH, ZIGBEE, NFC, or the like to complete the direct transfer. According to some embodiments, during the direct transfer, the new device 503 obtains (e.g., receives or retrieves) pre-existing data stored by the old device 504 such as settings, notes, messages, contacts, application data, media (e.g., photos, videos, and music), and/or the like.” Paragraph 0175).
Claims 16-24 are substantially the same as claims 1-8 and 10-11 and are therefore rejected under the same rationale as above.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coffman et al. in view of Cranfill et al., Gao, and further in view of Xu (US 20230367614 A1, which is equivalent of CN 202011002130.0 filed on 9/22/2020).
As to dependent claim 9, Coffman teaches the method according to claim 8, Coffman does not appear to expressly teach the method further comprising:
sending, by the first terminal device, first indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates a position of the icon of the first application on the first desktop;
receiving, by the first terminal device, the first indication information; and
placing, by the first terminal device, the icon of the first application on the first desktop based on the first indication information.
Xu teaches wherein the first indication information indicates a position of the icon of the first application on the first desktop (“the icon layout of each first display screen may be obtained based on a layout setting of the to-be-migrated device.” Paragraph 0115, 0110);
receiving, by the first terminal device, the first indication information (“Icon data that is selected to be migrated is determined based on a received selection operation of the user, and the icon data is used as partial icon data and sent to the to-be-migrated device.” paragraph 0110); and
placing, by the first terminal device, the icon of the first application on the first desktop based on the first indication information (at step 116, display an icon corresponding to the actual icon data).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Coffman to comprise sending, by the first terminal device, first indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates a position of the icon of the first application on the first desktop; receiving, by the first terminal device, the first indication information; and placing, by the first terminal device, the icon of the first application on the first desktop based on the first indication information. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to make it easier for users to locate data and reducing the time spent searching.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kim et al. US 20170097956 teaches a method for importing one or more datasets using a computing system with a small display screen. Fig. 4G shows importing status.
/MAHELET SHIBEROU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171