The preliminary amendment filed 3/12/2024 has been entered.
Claims 1-9 and 12-18 are pending.
Claims 10-11 and 19 are canceled.
Claims 1-9 and 12-18 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 and 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to Claim 1, Claim 1 recites: “wherein the configuration includes or does not include a parameter related to code block group (CBG) level feedback” (emphasis added). The language “includes or does not include” makes it unclear whether or not a “parameter related to code block group (CBG) level feedback” is actually required to be included in the configuration. The language “includes or does not include” effectively negates any meaningful limitation to the claim by covering all possible conditions of the configuration, where any configuration would either “include or not include” a particular parameter.
Claims 2-8 are rejected through dependence from Claim 1.
In regard to Claim 2, Claim 2 recites: “wherein based on the configuration including or not including the parameter related to CBG-level feedback for the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook, the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook includes or does not include CBG-level HARQ-ACK information” (emphasis added). The language “includes or does not include” makes it unclear whether or not a “CBG-level HARQ-ACK information” is actually required to be included in the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook. The language “includes or does not include” effectively negates any meaningful limitation to the claim by covering all possible conditions of the codebook, where any codebook would either “include or not include” particular information.
In addition, it is unclear how the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook “includes or does not include” CBG-level HARQ-ACK information “based on” the configuration “including or not including” the parameter.
Claim 3 is rejected through dependence from Claim 2.
In regard to Claim 4, Claim 4 recites: “the configuration includes or does not include a parameter related to new data indicator (NDI) feedback” (emphasis added). The language “includes or does not include” makes it unclear whether or not a “a parameter related to new data indicator (NDI) feedback” is actually required to be included in the configuration. The language “includes or does not include” effectively negates any meaningful limitation to the claim by covering all possible conditions of the configuration, where any configuration would either “include or not include” particular information.
In addition, Claim 4 recites: “wherein based on the configuration including or not including the parameter related to NDI feedback for the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook, the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook includes or does not include an NDI value” (emphasis added). It is unclear how the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook “includes or does not include” an NDI value “based on” the configuration “including or not including” the parameter.
In regard to Claim 9, Claim 9 recites: “wherein the configuration includes or does not include a parameter related to code block group (CBG) level feedback” (emphasis added). The language “includes or does not include” makes it unclear whether or not a “a parameter related to code block group (CBG) level feedback” is actually required to be included in the configuration. The language “includes or does not include” effectively negates any meaningful limitation to the claim by covering all possible conditions of the configuration, where any configuration would either “includes or does not include” a particular parameter.
In regard to Claim 12, Claim 12 recites: “wherein the configuration includes or does not include a parameter related to code block group (CBG) level feedback” (emphasis added). The language “includes or does not include” makes it unclear whether or not a “parameter related to code block group (CBG) level feedback” is actually required to be included in the configuration. The language “includes or does not include” effectively negates any meaningful limitation to the claim by covering all possible conditions of the configuration, where any configuration would either “includes or does not include” a particular parameter.
Claims 13-18 are rejected through dependence from Claim 12.
In regard to Claim 13, Claim 13 recites: “wherein based on that the configuration including or not including the parameter related to CBG-level feedback for the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook, the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook includes or does not include CBG-level HARQ-ACK information” (emphasis added). The language “includes or does not include” makes it unclear whether or not a “CBG-level HARQ-ACK information” is actually required to be included in the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook. The language “includes or does not include” effectively negates any meaningful limitation to the claim by covering all possible conditions of the codebook, where any codebook would either “include or not include” particular information.
In addition, it is unclear how the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook “includes or does not include” CBG-level HARQ-ACK information “based on” the configuration “including or not including” the parameter.
Claim 14 is rejected through dependence from Claim 13.
In regard to Claim 15, Claim 15 recites: “the configuration includes or does not a parameter related to new data indicator (NDI) feedback” (emphasis added). The language “includes or does not include” makes it unclear whether or not a “a parameter related to new data indicator (NDI) feedback” is actually required to be included in the configuration. The language “includes or does not include” effectively negates any meaningful limitation to the claim by covering all possible conditions of the configuration, where any configuration would either “include or not include” particular information.
In addition, Claim 15 recites: “wherein based on the configuration including or not including the parameter related to NDI feedback for the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook, the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook includes or does not include an NDI value” (emphasis added). It is unclear how the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook “includes or does not include” an NDI value “based on” the configuration “including or not including” the parameter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 9, 12-14 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niu et al. (Pub. No.: US 20240072939 A1) in view of Wong et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230239874 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Niu and Wong.
In regard to Claim 1, Niu teaches A method of transmitting, by a user equipment (UE) (the terminal device 120, Para. 60, FIG. 2), hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information in a wireless communication system (the terminal device 120 transmits 260 the HARQ-ACK codebook for SPS PDSCH to the network device 110, Para. 60, FIG. 2), the method comprising: receiving a configuration (As shown in FIG. 2, the network device 110 may transmit 210 at least one SPS configuration, Para. 57, FIG. 2) regarding a plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks (FIG. 3 illustrates example HARQ-ACK codebooks for SPS PDSCH, Para. 61, FIG. 3. A HARQ-ACK codebook 382. A HARQ-ACK codebook 381. A HARQ-ACK codebook 383, Para. 62, FIGS. 2, 3), wherein the plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks are related to a plurality of subsets of HARQ processes configured for the UE, respectively (the terminal device 120 may generate HARQ feedback bits only for HARQ processes with HARQ feedback enabled. The terminal device 120 may only generate HARQ feedback bits 310, 330, 340, 350 and 370 for SPS PDSCH receptions 301, 303, 304, 305 and 307, respectively, Para. 62, FIGS. 2, 3).
Niu teaches generating the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook including HARQ-ACK information (The terminal device 120 may perform SPS PDSCH receptions accordingly and generate 250 a HARQ-ACK codebook for the SPS PDSCH receptions, Para. 60, FIG. 2. The terminal device 120 may order the HARQ feedback bits 310, 330, 340, 350 and 370 to generate the HARQ-ACK codebook for SPS PDSCH, Para. 62, FIGS. 2, 3) for each HARQ process in a related subset based on the configuration (as shown in FIG. 3, it is assumed that there are two SPS configurations: SPS configuration #1 corresponding to HARQ process #4; and SPS configuration #2 corresponding to HARQ processes #1, #2 and #3, Para. 61, FIG. 3).
Niu teaches transmitting the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook (the terminal device 120 transmits 260 the HARQ-ACK codebook for SPS PDSCH to the network device 110, Para. 60, FIG. 2), wherein the configuration includes or does not include a parameter related to code block group (CBG) level feedback (a Code Block Group (CBG) corresponding to a HARQ process, Para. 69. Put HARQ feedback bits for the CBG in the codebook, Para. 70. If CBG is configured, the terminal device 120 may generate NCBG/TB, max feedback bits indicating ACK, Para. 120, FIGS. 2, 3) for each of the plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks (FIG. 3 illustrates example HARQ-ACK codebooks for SPS PDSCH, Para. 61, FIG. 3. A HARQ-ACK codebook 382. A HARQ-ACK codebook 381. A HARQ-ACK codebook 383, Para. 62, FIGS. 2, 3).
Although Niu teaches a plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks, Niu fails to teach receiving downlink control information (DCI) including indication information indicating one HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook among the plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks, and although Niu teaches transmitting the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook, Niu fails to teach transmitting the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook based on the DCI.
Wong teaches receiving downlink control information (DCI) including indication information (DCI#2 and DCI#4 schedule PDSCH#H1 and PDSCH#H2 respectively, Para. 67, FIG. 9. A downlink control information, DCI, signalling message received from the wireless communications network, Para. 91, FIG. 9) indicating one HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook (whether the 1st HARQ-ACK codebook or the 2 nd HARQ-ACK codebook is used for multiplexing is explicitly indicated by the gNB using a DCI, Para. 91, FIG. 9. A new DCI field may be introduced, e.g. 1 bit in the DL Grant, to indicate either the Low L1 priority or High L1 priority codebook that will be carry the multiplexed HARQ-ACKs, Para. 92, FIG. 9) among the plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks (it is the L1 priorities of the 1st and 2nd HARQ-ACK codebooks which is used to determine which codebook should comprise the multiplexed HARQ-ACKs, Para. 87, FIG. 9).
Wong teaches transmitting the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook (PUCCH#H1 carries HARQ-ACKs for PDSCH#H1, PDSCH#H2, PDSCH#L2 and PDSCH#L3. The HARQ-ACKs have been multiplexed into a High L1 priority HARQ-ACK codebook (i.e. PUCCH#H1), Para. 68, FIG. 9) based on the DCI (DCI#2 and DCI#4 schedule PDSCH#H1 and PDSCH#H2 respectively, Para. 67, FIG. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wong with the teachings of Niu, since Wong provides a technique for utilizing DCI for explicitly indicating HARQ-ACK codebooks, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Niu to permit network devices to explicitly indicate to terminal devices which HARQ-ACK codebooks to generate.
In regard to Claim 2, Niu teaches based on the configuration (As shown in FIG. 2, the network device 110 may transmit 210 at least one SPS configuration, Para. 57, FIG. 2. As shown in FIG. 3, it is assumed that there are two SPS configurations: SPS configuration #1 corresponding to HARQ process #4; and SPS configuration #2 corresponding to HARQ processes #1, #2 and #3, Para. 61, FIG. 3) including or not including the parameter related to CBG-level feedback for the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook (a Code Block Group (CBG) corresponding to a HARQ process, Para. 69. If CBG is configured, Para. 120, FIGS. 2, 3), the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook includes or does not include CBG-level HARQ-ACK information (Put HARQ feedback bits for the CBG in the codebook, Para. 70. If CBG is configured, the terminal device 120 may generate NCBG/TB, max feedback bits indicating ACK, Para. 120, FIGS. 2, 3).
In regard to Claim 3, Niu teaches based on the configuration not including the parameter related to CBG-level feedback for the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook (a transport block (TB) corresponding to a HARQ process, Para. 69), the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook includes only transport block (TB) level HARQ-ACK information for a related HARQ process rather than the CBG-level HARQ-ACK information (if the maximum number of TBs is 2 and spatial bundling is not configured, the terminal device 120 may generate 2 feedback bits indicating ACK, Para. 120, FIGS. 2, 3).
In regard to Claim 7, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Niu in view of Wong teaches the DCI.
Niu fails to teach the DCI includes information related to a slot for the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook.
Wong teaches the DCI includes information related to a slot for the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook (For a PDSCH ending in slot n, the corresponding PUCCH carrying the HARQ-ACK is transmitted in slot n+K1, where the value of K1 is indicated in the field PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator of the DL Grant (carried by Downlink Control Information (DCI) Format 1_0 or DCI Format 1_1), Para. 42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wong with the teachings of Niu, since Wong provides a technique for utilizing DCI for explicitly indicating HARQ-ACK codebooks, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Niu to permit network devices to explicitly indicate to terminal devices which HARQ-ACK codebooks to generate.
In regard to Claim 9, Niu teaches A user equipment (UE) (the terminal device 120, Para. 60, FIG. 2) configured to transmit hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information in a wireless communication system (the terminal device 120 transmits 260 the HARQ-ACK codebook for SPS PDSCH to the network device 110, Para. 60, FIG. 2), the UE comprising: at least one transceiver (communication module 1340, Para. 172, FIG. 13); at least one processor (processor 1310, Para. 175, FIG. 13); and at least one computer memory operably connected to the at least one processor and configured to store instructions that, when executed, cause the at least one processor to perform operations (processor 1310 may perform any suitable actions and processing by loading the program 1330 into the RAM 1322, Para. 175, FIG. 13) comprising: receiving a configuration (As shown in FIG. 2, the network device 110 may transmit 210 at least one SPS configuration, Para. 57, FIG. 2) regarding a plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks (FIG. 3 illustrates example HARQ-ACK codebooks for SPS PDSCH, Para. 61, FIG. 3. A HARQ-ACK codebook 382. A HARQ-ACK codebook 381. A HARQ-ACK codebook 383, Para. 62, FIGS. 2, 3), wherein the plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks are related to a plurality of subsets of HARQ processes configured for the UE, respectively (the terminal device 120 may generate HARQ feedback bits only for HARQ processes with HARQ feedback enabled. The terminal device 120 may only generate HARQ feedback bits 310, 330, 340, 350 and 370 for SPS PDSCH receptions 301, 303, 304, 305 and 307, respectively, Para. 62, FIGS. 2, 3).
Niu teaches generating the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook including HARQ-ACK information (The terminal device 120 may perform SPS PDSCH receptions accordingly and generate 250 a HARQ-ACK codebook for the SPS PDSCH receptions, Para. 60, FIG. 2. The terminal device 120 may order the HARQ feedback bits 310, 330, 340, 350 and 370 to generate the HARQ-ACK codebook for SPS PDSCH, Para. 62, FIGS. 2, 3) for each HARQ process in a related subset based on the configuration (as shown in FIG. 3, it is assumed that there are two SPS configurations: SPS configuration #1 corresponding to HARQ process #4; and SPS configuration #2 corresponding to HARQ processes #1, #2 and #3, Para. 61, FIG. 3).
Niu teaches transmitting the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook (the terminal device 120 transmits 260 the HARQ-ACK codebook for SPS PDSCH to the network device 110, Para. 60, FIG. 2), wherein the configuration includes or does not include a parameter related to code block group (CBG) level feedback (a Code Block Group (CBG) corresponding to a HARQ process, Para. 69. Put HARQ feedback bits for the CBG in the codebook, Para. 70. If CBG is configured, the terminal device 120 may generate NCBG/TB, max feedback bits indicating ACK, Para. 120, FIGS. 2, 3) for each of the plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks (FIG. 3 illustrates example HARQ-ACK codebooks for SPS PDSCH, Para. 61, FIG. 3. A HARQ-ACK codebook 382. A HARQ-ACK codebook 381. A HARQ-ACK codebook 383, Para. 62, FIGS. 2, 3).
Although Niu teaches a plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks, Niu fails to teach receiving downlink control information (DCI) including indication information indicating one HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook among the plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks, and although Niu teaches transmitting the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook, Niu fails to teach transmitting the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook based on the DCI.
Wong teaches receiving downlink control information (DCI) including indication information (DCI#2 and DCI#4 schedule PDSCH#H1 and PDSCH#H2 respectively, Para. 67, FIG. 9. A downlink control information, DCI, signalling message received from the wireless communications network, Para. 91, FIG. 9) indicating one HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook (whether the 1st HARQ-ACK codebook or the 2 nd HARQ-ACK codebook is used for multiplexing is explicitly indicated by the gNB using a DCI, Para. 91, FIG. 9. A new DCI field may be introduced, e.g. 1 bit in the DL Grant, to indicate either the Low L1 priority or High L1 priority codebook that will be carry the multiplexed HARQ-ACKs, Para. 92, FIG. 9) among the plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks (it is the L1 priorities of the 1st and 2nd HARQ-ACK codebooks which is used to determine which codebook should comprise the multiplexed HARQ-ACKs, Para. 87, FIG. 9).
Wong teaches transmitting the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook (PUCCH#H1 carries HARQ-ACKs for PDSCH#H1, PDSCH#H2, PDSCH#L2 and PDSCH#L3. The HARQ-ACKs have been multiplexed into a High L1 priority HARQ-ACK codebook (i.e. PUCCH#H1), Para. 68, FIG. 9) based on the DCI (DCI#2 and DCI#4 schedule PDSCH#H1 and PDSCH#H2 respectively, Para. 67, FIG. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wong with the teachings of Niu, since Wong provides a technique for utilizing DCI for explicitly indicating HARQ-ACK codebooks, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Niu to permit network devices to explicitly indicate to terminal devices which HARQ-ACK codebooks to generate.
In regard to Claim 12, Niu teaches A base station (BS) (network device 110, Para. 57, FIG. 2) configured to receive hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information from a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (the terminal device 120 transmits 260 the HARQ-ACK codebook for SPS PDSCH to the network device 110, Para. 60, FIG. 2), the BS comprising: at least one transceiver (communication module 1340, Para. 172, FIG. 13); at least one processor (processor 1310, Para. 175, FIG. 13); and at least one computer memory operably connected to the at least one processor and configured to store instructions that, when executed, cause the at least one processor to perform operations (processor 1310 may perform any suitable actions and processing by loading the program 1330 into the RAM 1322, Para. 175, FIG. 13) comprising: transmitting a configuration (As shown in FIG. 2, the network device 110 may transmit 210 at least one SPS configuration, Para. 57, FIG. 2) regarding a plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks to the UE (FIG. 3 illustrates example HARQ-ACK codebooks for SPS PDSCH, Para. 61, FIG. 3. A HARQ-ACK codebook 382. A HARQ-ACK codebook 381. A HARQ-ACK codebook 383, Para. 62, FIGS. 2, 3), wherein the plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks are related to a plurality of subsets of HARQ processes configured for the UE, respectively (the terminal device 120 may generate HARQ feedback bits only for HARQ processes with HARQ feedback enabled. The terminal device 120 may only generate HARQ feedback bits 310, 330, 340, 350 and 370 for SPS PDSCH receptions 301, 303, 304, 305 and 307, respectively, Para. 62, FIGS. 2, 3).
Niu teaches receiving the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook from the UE (The terminal device 120 may perform SPS PDSCH receptions accordingly and generate 250 a HARQ-ACK codebook for the SPS PDSCH receptions, Para. 60, FIG. 2. The terminal device 120 transmits 260 the HARQ-ACK codebook for SPS PDSCH to the network device 110, Para. 60, FIG. 2. The terminal device 120 may order the HARQ feedback bits 310, 330, 340, 350 and 370 to generate the HARQ-ACK codebook for SPS PDSCH, Para. 62, FIGS. 2, 3) based on the configuration (as shown in FIG. 3, it is assumed that there are two SPS configurations: SPS configuration #1 corresponding to HARQ process #4; and SPS configuration #2 corresponding to HARQ processes #1, #2 and #3, Para. 61, FIG. 3), wherein the configuration includes or does not include a parameter related to code block group (CBG) level feedback (a Code Block Group (CBG) corresponding to a HARQ process, Para. 69. Put HARQ feedback bits for the CBG in the codebook, Para. 70. If CBG is configured, the terminal device 120 may generate NCBG/TB, max feedback bits indicating ACK, Para. 120, FIGS. 2, 3) for each of the plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks (FIG. 3 illustrates example HARQ-ACK codebooks for SPS PDSCH, Para. 61, FIG. 3. A HARQ-ACK codebook 382. A HARQ-ACK codebook 381. A HARQ-ACK codebook 383, Para. 62, FIGS. 2, 3).
Although Niu teaches a plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks, Niu fails to teach transmitting downlink control information (DCI) including indication information indicating one HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook among the plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks, and although Niu teaches receiving the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook from the UE based on the configuration, Niu fails to teach receiving the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook from the UE based on the DCI.
Wong teaches transmitting downlink control information (DCI) including indication information (DCI#2 and DCI#4 schedule PDSCH#H1 and PDSCH#H2 respectively, Para. 67, FIG. 9. A downlink control information, DCI, signalling message received from the wireless communications network, Para. 91, FIG. 9) indicating one HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook (whether the 1st HARQ-ACK codebook or the 2 nd HARQ-ACK codebook is used for multiplexing is explicitly indicated by the gNB using a DCI, Para. 91, FIG. 9. A new DCI field may be introduced, e.g. 1 bit in the DL Grant, to indicate either the Low L1 priority or High L1 priority codebook that will be carry the multiplexed HARQ-ACKs, Para. 92, FIG. 9) among the plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks (it is the L1 priorities of the 1st and 2nd HARQ-ACK codebooks which is used to determine which codebook should comprise the multiplexed HARQ-ACKs, Para. 87, FIG. 9).
Wong teaches receiving the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook from the UE (PUCCH#H1 carries HARQ-ACKs for PDSCH#H1, PDSCH#H2, PDSCH#L2 and PDSCH#L3. The HARQ-ACKs have been multiplexed into a High L1 priority HARQ-ACK codebook (i.e. PUCCH#H1), Para. 68, FIG. 9) based on the DCI (DCI#2 and DCI#4 schedule PDSCH#H1 and PDSCH#H2 respectively, Para. 67, FIG. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wong with the teachings of Niu, since Wong provides a technique for utilizing DCI for explicitly indicating HARQ-ACK codebooks, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Niu to permit network devices to explicitly indicate to terminal devices which HARQ-ACK codebooks to generate.
In regard to Claim 13, Niu teaches based on that the configuration (As shown in FIG. 2, the network device 110 may transmit 210 at least one SPS configuration, Para. 57, FIG. 2. As shown in FIG. 3, it is assumed that there are two SPS configurations: SPS configuration #1 corresponding to HARQ process #4; and SPS configuration #2 corresponding to HARQ processes #1, #2 and #3, Para. 61, FIG. 3) including or not including the parameter related to CBG-level feedback for the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook (a Code Block Group (CBG) corresponding to a HARQ process, Para. 69. If CBG is configured, Para. 120, FIGS. 2, 3), the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook includes or does not include CBG-level HARQ-ACK information (Put HARQ feedback bits for the CBG in the codebook, Para. 70. If CBG is configured, the terminal device 120 may generate NCBG/TB, max feedback bits indicating ACK, Para. 120, FIGS. 2, 3).
In regard to Claim 14, Niu teaches based on the configuration not including the parameter related to CBG-level feedback for the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook (a transport block (TB) corresponding to a HARQ process, Para. 69), the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook includes only transport block (TB) level HARQ-ACK information for a related HARQ process rather than the CBG-level HARQ-ACK information (if the maximum number of TBs is 2 and spatial bundling is not configured, the terminal device 120 may generate 2 feedback bits indicating ACK, Para. 120, FIGS. 2, 3).
In regard to Claim 18, as presented in the rejection of Claim 12, Niu in view of Wong teaches the DCI.
Niu fails to teach the DCI includes information related to a slot for the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook.
Wong teaches the DCI includes information related to a slot for the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook (For a PDSCH ending in slot n, the corresponding PUCCH carrying the HARQ-ACK is transmitted in slot n+K1, where the value of K1 is indicated in the field PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator of the DL Grant (carried by Downlink Control Information (DCI) Format 1_0 or DCI Format 1_1), Para. 42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wong with the teachings of Niu, since Wong provides a technique for utilizing DCI for explicitly indicating HARQ-ACK codebooks, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Niu to permit network devices to explicitly indicate to terminal devices which HARQ-ACK codebooks to generate.
Claim(s) 4 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niu in view of Wong, and further in view of Wang et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220045801 A1), hereafter referred to as Wang.
In regard to Claim 4, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Niu in view of Wong teaches the configuration.
Niu in view of Wong fails to teach the configuration includes or does not include a parameter related to new data indicator (NDI) feedback for each of the plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks, and wherein based on the configuration including or not including the parameter related to NDI feedback for the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook, the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook includes or does not include an NDI value for each HARQ-ACK information reported in the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook.
Wang teaches the configuration includes or does not include a parameter related to new data indicator (NDI) feedback for each of the plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks, and wherein based on the configuration including or not including the parameter related to NDI feedback for the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook, the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook includes or does not include an NDI value for each HARQ-ACK information reported in the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook (The Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook consists of the HARQ-ACK bits for all DL HARQ processes of the configured cells. In addition, each NDI value of the HARQ process in the scheduling DCI may be appended to the HARQ-ACK bit of the corresponding HARQ process, Para. 91. An RRC parameter, e.g., pdsch-HARQ-ACK-OneShotFeedbackNDI-r16, may be configured in PhysicalCellGroupConfig to indicate NDI is included in one Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook, Para. 97. Action 102: Receive a first RRC configuration including at least one parameter, Para. 167, FIG. 1. Action 108: Transmit the HARQ-ACK codebook based on the DCI format and one of the first Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook size and the second Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook size, Para. 170, FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Niu in view of Wong, since Wang provides a technique for utilizing RRC for configuring HARQ-ACK codebooks in relation to NDIs, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Niu in view of Wong to permit management of HARQ-ACK codebook to include NDIs when it benefits network devices to be informed of new data in relation to acknowledgements.
In regard to Claim 15, as presented in the rejection of Claim 12, Niu in view of Wong teaches the configuration.
Niu in view of Wong fails to teach the configuration includes or does not a parameter related to new data indicator (NDI) feedback for each of the plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks, and wherein based on the configuration including or not including the parameter related to NDI feedback for the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook, the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook includes or does not include an NDI value for each HARQ-ACK information reported in the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook.
Wang teaches the configuration includes or does not a parameter related to new data indicator (NDI) feedback for each of the plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks, and wherein based on the configuration including or not including the parameter related to NDI feedback for the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook, the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook includes or does not include an NDI value for each HARQ-ACK information reported in the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook (The Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook consists of the HARQ-ACK bits for all DL HARQ processes of the configured cells. In addition, each NDI value of the HARQ process in the scheduling DCI may be appended to the HARQ-ACK bit of the corresponding HARQ process, Para. 91. An RRC parameter, e.g., pdsch-HARQ-ACK-OneShotFeedbackNDI-r16, may be configured in PhysicalCellGroupConfig to indicate NDI is included in one Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook, Para. 97. Action 102: Receive a first RRC configuration including at least one parameter, Para. 167, FIG. 1. Action 108: Transmit the HARQ-ACK codebook based on the DCI format and one of the first Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook size and the second Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook size, Para. 170, FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Niu in view of Wong, since Wang provides a technique for utilizing RRC for configuring HARQ-ACK codebooks in relation to NDIs, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Niu in view of Wong to permit management of HARQ-ACK codebook to include NDIs when it benefits network devices to be informed of new data in relation to acknowledgements.
Claim(s) 5-6 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niu in view of Wong, and further in view of Gerami et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230239077 A1), hereafter referred to as Gerami.
In regard to Claim 5, Niu teaches the plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks include: ii) a HARQ-ACK codebook related to only some of the HARQ processes configured for the UE (the terminal device 120 may generate HARQ feedback bits only for HARQ processes with HARQ feedback enabled. The terminal device 120 may only generate HARQ feedback bits 310, 330, 340, 350 and 370 for SPS PDSCH receptions 301, 303, 304, 305 and 307, respectively, Para. 62, FIGS. 2, 3).
Niu in view of Wong fails to teach i) a HARQ-ACK codebook related to all of the HARQ processes configured for the UE.
Gerami teaches i) a HARQ-ACK codebook related to all of the HARQ processes configured for the UE (FIG. 6, in block 601, the processing circuitry 303, responsive to operating in a first mode, reports the HARQ-ACK codebook for each scheduled transmission to a network node, Para. 145, FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gerami with the teachings of Niu in view of Wong, since Gerami provides a technique for a HARQ-ACK codebook for to report each scheduled transmission to a network node, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Niu in view of Wong to permit HARQ-ACK codebooks to include bits for cases where HARQ feedback enabled is enabled for all HARQ processes.
In regard to Claim 6, Niu teaches the plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks include: i) a HARQ-ACK codebook related to only some of the HARQ processes configured for the UE, rather than all of the HARQ processes configured for the UE (the terminal device 120 may generate HARQ feedback bits only for HARQ processes with HARQ feedback enabled. The terminal device 120 may only generate HARQ feedback bits 310, 330, 340, 350 and 370 for SPS PDSCH receptions 301, 303, 304, 305 and 307, respectively, Para. 62, FIGS. 2, 3).
Niu in view of Wong fails to teach ii) a HARQ-ACK codebook related to only other some of the HARQ processes configured for the UE, rather than all of the HARQ processes configured for the UE.
Gerami teaches ii) a HARQ-ACK codebook related to only other some of the HARQ processes configured for the UE, rather than all of the HARQ processes configured for the UE (In block 603, the processing circuitry 303, responsive to operating in a second mode, reports the HARQ-ACK codebook to the network node if at least one of the HARQ-ACK information in the codebook is ACK, Para. 146, FIG. 6. In block 605, the processing circuitry 303, responsive to operating in a third mode, reporting the HARQ-ACK codebook to the network node if at least one of the HARQ-ACK information in the codebook is negative acknowledgement (NACK), Para. 148, FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gerami with the teachings of Niu in view of Wong, since Gerami provides a technique for a HARQ-ACK codebook for to report each scheduled transmission to a network node, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Niu in view of Wong to permit HARQ-ACK codebooks to include bits for cases where HARQ feedback enabled is enabled for all HARQ processes.
In regard to Claim 16, Niu teaches the plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks include: ii) a HARQ-ACK codebook related to only some of the HARQ processes configured for the UE (the terminal device 120 may generate HARQ feedback bits only for HARQ processes with HARQ feedback enabled. The terminal device 120 may only generate HARQ feedback bits 310, 330, 340, 350 and 370 for SPS PDSCH receptions 301, 303, 304, 305 and 307, respectively, Para. 62, FIGS. 2, 3).
Niu in view of Wong fails to teach i) a HARQ-ACK codebook related to all of the HARQ processes configured for the UE.
Gerami teaches i) a HARQ-ACK codebook related to all of the HARQ processes configured for the UE (FIG. 6, in block 601, the processing circuitry 303, responsive to operating in a first mode, reports the HARQ-ACK codebook for each scheduled transmission to a network node, Para. 145, FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gerami with the teachings of Niu in view of Wong, since Gerami provides a technique for a HARQ-ACK codebook for to report each scheduled transmission to a network node, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Niu in view of Wong to permit HARQ-ACK codebooks to include bits for cases where HARQ feedback enabled is enabled for all HARQ processes.
In regard to Claim 17, Niu teaches the plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks include: i) a HARQ-ACK codebook related to only some of the HARQ processes configured for the UE, rather than all of the HARQ processes configured for the UE (the terminal device 120 may generate HARQ feedback bits only for HARQ processes with HARQ feedback enabled. The terminal device 120 may only generate HARQ feedback bits 310, 330, 340, 350 and 370 for SPS PDSCH receptions 301, 303, 304, 305 and 307, respectively, Para. 62, FIGS. 2, 3).
Niu in view of Wong fails to teach ii) a HARQ-ACK codebook related to only other some of the HARQ processes configured for the UE, rather than all of the HARQ processes configured for the UE.
Gerami teaches ii) a HARQ-ACK codebook related to only other some of the HARQ processes configured for the UE, rather than all of the HARQ processes configured for the UE (In block 603, the processing circuitry 303, responsive to operating in a second mode, reports the HARQ-ACK codebook to the network node if at least one of the HARQ-ACK information in the codebook is ACK, Para. 146, FIG. 6. In block 605, the processing circuitry 303, responsive to operating in a third mode, reporting the HARQ-ACK codebook to the network node if at least one of the HARQ-ACK information in the codebook is negative acknowledgement (NACK), Para. 148, FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gerami with the teachings of Niu in view of Wong, since Gerami provides a technique for a HARQ-ACK codebook for to report each scheduled transmission to a network node, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Niu in view of Wong to permit HARQ-ACK codebooks to include bits for cases where HARQ feedback enabled is enabled for all HARQ processes.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niu in view of Wong, and further in view of Lei et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220209901 A1), hereafter referred to as Lei.
In regard to Claim 8, as presented in the rejection of Claim 7, Niu in view of Wong teaches the slot.
Niu in view of Wong fails to teach, based on a HARQ- ACK codebook, which is different from the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook, being scheduled in the slot: generating a new HARQ-ACK codebook by adding the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook to the different HARQ-ACK codebook; and transmitting the new HARQ-ACK codebook in the slot.
Lei teaches, based on a HARQ-ACK codebook, which is different from the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook, being scheduled in the slot: generating a new HARQ-ACK codebook by adding the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook to the different HARQ-ACK codebook; and transmitting the new HARQ-ACK codebook in the slot (HARQ-ACK feedback information transmitted in slot 9 comprises both a retransmitted HARQ-ACK codebook 201 and a new HARQ-ACK codebook 202, Para. 36, FIG. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lei with the teachings of Niu in view of Wong, since Lei provides a technique for including different HARQ-ACK codebooks for transmitting in a slot, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Niu in view of Wong to permit combining of different HARQ-ACK codebooks into slots for new transmissions to network devices.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
HOSSEINI et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210377767 A1) teaches receiving downlink control information (DCI) including indication information indicating one HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook among the plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks (the UE may be configured with two slot-based codebooks, two sub-slot based codebooks, or one slot-based codebook and one sub-slot based codebook, Para. 58, FIG. 5. In FIG. 5, a priority indicator field in downlink control information (DCI) may indicate which codebook a UE is to use for identifying a resource to transmit HARQ feedback, Para. 59, FIG. 5).
Babaei (Pub. No.: US 20210135946 A1) teaches receiving downlink control information (DCI) including indication information indicating one HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook among the plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks (The plurality of DL SPS configurations may be associated with a plurality of HARQ feedback codebooks. In an example, configuration parameters of a DL SPS configuration, in the plurality of DL SPS configurations, may comprise a parameter indicating a HARQ feedback codebook in the plurality of HARQ feedback codebooks, Para. 189. The wireless device may receive an activation DCI indicating activation of a plurality of resources based on a DL SPS configuration, in the plurality of DL SPS configurations, wherein the activation DCI may indicate a HARQ feedback codebook, Para. 190).
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
4-1-2026
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477