The amendment filed 7/7/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1, 4-9, 12, 15-18 and 20-25 are pending.
Claims 2-3, 10-11, 13-14 and 19 are canceled.
Claims 4, 8, 15, 20 and 24-25 are objected to.
Claims 1, 5-7, 9, 12, 16-18 and 21-23 stand rejected.
Examiner’s Note
The examiner attempted to contact Attorney Won Yoon by voicemail on 9/3/2026 and 9/9/2026, and contacted an associate by telephone on 9/10/2026, concerning a proposed examiner’s amendment. The examiner did not receive a reply.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niu et al. (Pub. No.: US 20240072939 A1) in view of Chen et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210021383 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Niu and Chen.
In regard to Claim 1, Niu teaches A method performed by a user equipment (UE) (the terminal device 120, Para. 60, FIG. 2), the method comprising: receiving a configuration (As shown in FIG. 2, the network device 110 may transmit 210 at least one SPS configuration, Para. 57, FIG. 2) regarding a plurality of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process-based HARQ acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebooks (FIG. 3 illustrates example HARQ-ACK codebooks for SPS PDSCH, Para. 61, FIG. 3. A HARQ-ACK codebook 382. A HARQ-ACK codebook 381. A HARQ-ACK codebook 383, Para. 62, FIGS. 2, 3), wherein the plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks are related to a plurality of subsets of HARQ processes configured for the UE, respectively (the terminal device 120 may generate HARQ feedback bits only for HARQ processes with HARQ feedback enabled. The terminal device 120 may only generate HARQ feedback bits 310, 330, 340, 350 and 370 for SPS PDSCH receptions 301, 303, 304, 305 and 307, respectively, Para. 62, FIGS. 2, 3).
Niu teaches generating the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook including HARQ-ACK information (The terminal device 120 may perform SPS PDSCH receptions accordingly and generate 250 a HARQ-ACK codebook for the SPS PDSCH receptions, Para. 60, FIG. 2. The terminal device 120 may order the HARQ feedback bits 310, 330, 340, 350 and 370 to generate the HARQ-ACK codebook for SPS PDSCH, Para. 62, FIGS. 2, 3) for each HARQ process in a related subset based on the configuration (as shown in FIG. 3, it is assumed that there are two SPS configurations: SPS configuration #1 corresponding to HARQ process #4; and SPS configuration #2 corresponding to HARQ processes #1, #2 and #3, Para. 61, FIG. 3).
Niu teaches transmitting the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook (the terminal device 120 transmits 260 the HARQ-ACK codebook for SPS PDSCH to the network device 110, Para. 60, FIG. 2), wherein the configuration includes or does not include a parameter related to code block group (CBG) level feedback (a Code Block Group (CBG) corresponding to a HARQ process, Para. 69. Put HARQ feedback bits for the CBG in the codebook, Para. 70. If CBG is configured, the terminal device 120 may generate NCBG/TB, max feedback bits indicating ACK, Para. 120, FIGS. 2, 3) per HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook included in the plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks (FIG. 3 illustrates example HARQ-ACK codebooks for SPS PDSCH, Para. 61, FIG. 3. A HARQ-ACK codebook 382. A HARQ-ACK codebook 381. A HARQ-ACK codebook 383, Para. 62, FIGS. 2, 3).
Although Niu teaches a plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks, Niu fails to teach receiving downlink control information (DCI) including information for indicating one HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook among the plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks, and although Niu teaches transmitting the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook, Niu fails to teach transmitting the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook based on the DCI, and Niu fails to teach wherein, based on the configuration including the parameter related to CBG level feedback for the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook, the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook includes CBG-level HARQ-ACK information, and wherein, based on the configuration not including the parameter related to CBG level feedback for the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook, the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook includes transport block, TB, level HARQ-ACK information.
Chen teaches receiving downlink control information (DCI) (the user equipment receives, on a first BWP, DCI for instructing the user equipment to switch to a second BWP, and receives a PDSCH on the second BWP, wherein code block group transmission is configured for the first BWP and code block group transmission is configured for the second BWP, Para. 84) including information for indicating one HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook (if the DCI is a normal DCI, the user equipment feeds back CBG level ACK/NACK or TB level ACK/NACK, Para. 86, emphasis added) among the plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks (the user equipment determines HARQ-ACK bits of the PDSCH in a case that the user equipment switches between two BWPs having two different code block group configurations, Para. 82).
Chen teaches transmitting the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook (determining the HARQ-ACK codebook based on the code block group configuration of the BWP where the at least one PDSCH corresponding to the HARQ-ACK codebook is located, Para. 83) based on the DCI (if the DCI is a normal DCI, the user equipment feeds back CBG level ACK/NACK or TB level ACK/NACK, Para. 86).
Chen teaches wherein, based on the configuration including the parameter related to CBG level feedback for the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook (the number of configured code block groups of the first BWP is N1, and the number of configured code block groups of the second BWP is N2, Para. 84. If N1<=N2, Para. 88), the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook includes CBG-level HARQ-ACK information (the user equipment feeds back CBG level ACK/NACK, Para. 88).
Chen teaches wherein, based on the configuration not including the parameter related to CBG level feedback for the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook (if N1>N2, Para. 87), the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook includes transport block, TB, level HARQ-ACK information (the user equipment feeds back TB level ACK/NACK, Para. 87).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Niu, since Peng provides a technique for determining codebooks in relation to DCI and parameters of BWPs, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Niu to permit appropriate codebooks are selected for transmission in response to receptions of certain DCI and conditions of bandwidth utilizations that have certain TB level or CBG level requirements for HARQ.
In regard to Claim 9, Niu teaches A user equipment (UE) (the terminal device 120, Para. 60, FIG. 2) comprising: at least one transceiver (communication module 1340, Para. 172, FIG. 13); at least one processor (processor 1310, Para. 175, FIG. 13); and at least one computer memory operably connected to the at least one processor and configured to store instructions that, when executed, cause the at least one processor to perform operations (processor 1310 may perform any suitable actions and processing by loading the program 1330 into the RAM 1322, Para. 175, FIG. 13) comprising: receiving a configuration (As shown in FIG. 2, the network device 110 may transmit 210 at least one SPS configuration, Para. 57, FIG. 2) regarding a plurality of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process-based HARQ acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebooks (FIG. 3 illustrates example HARQ-ACK codebooks for SPS PDSCH, Para. 61, FIG. 3. A HARQ-ACK codebook 382. A HARQ-ACK codebook 381. A HARQ-ACK codebook 383, Para. 62, FIGS. 2, 3), wherein the plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks are related to a plurality of subsets of HARQ processes configured for the UE, respectively (the terminal device 120 may generate HARQ feedback bits only for HARQ processes with HARQ feedback enabled. The terminal device 120 may only generate HARQ feedback bits 310, 330, 340, 350 and 370 for SPS PDSCH receptions 301, 303, 304, 305 and 307, respectively, Para. 62, FIGS. 2, 3).
Niu teaches generating the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook including HARQ-ACK information (The terminal device 120 may perform SPS PDSCH receptions accordingly and generate 250 a HARQ-ACK codebook for the SPS PDSCH receptions, Para. 60, FIG. 2. The terminal device 120 may order the HARQ feedback bits 310, 330, 340, 350 and 370 to generate the HARQ-ACK codebook for SPS PDSCH, Para. 62, FIGS. 2, 3) for each HARQ process in a related subset based on the configuration (as shown in FIG. 3, it is assumed that there are two SPS configurations: SPS configuration #1 corresponding to HARQ process #4; and SPS configuration #2 corresponding to HARQ processes #1, #2 and #3, Para. 61, FIG. 3).
Niu teaches transmitting the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook (the terminal device 120 transmits 260 the HARQ-ACK codebook for SPS PDSCH to the network device 110, Para. 60, FIG. 2), wherein the configuration includes or does not include a parameter related to code block group (CBG) level feedback (a Code Block Group (CBG) corresponding to a HARQ process, Para. 69. Put HARQ feedback bits for the CBG in the codebook, Para. 70. If CBG is configured, the terminal device 120 may generate NCBG/TB, max feedback bits indicating ACK, Para. 120, FIGS. 2, 3) per HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook included the plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks (FIG. 3 illustrates example HARQ-ACK codebooks for SPS PDSCH, Para. 61, FIG. 3. A HARQ-ACK codebook 382. A HARQ-ACK codebook 381. A HARQ-ACK codebook 383, Para. 62, FIGS. 2, 3).
Although Niu teaches a plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks, Niu fails to teach receiving downlink control information (DCI) including information for indicating one HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook among the plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks, and although Niu teaches transmitting the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook, Niu fails to teach transmitting the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook based on the DCI, and Niu fails to teach wherein, based on the configuration including the parameter related to CBG level feedback for the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook, the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook includes CBG-level HARQ-ACK information, and wherein, based on the configuration not including the parameter related to CBG level feedback for the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook, the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook includes transport block, TB, level HARQ-ACK information.
Chen teaches receiving downlink control information (DCI) (the user equipment receives, on a first BWP, DCI for instructing the user equipment to switch to a second BWP, and receives a PDSCH on the second BWP, wherein code block group transmission is configured for the first BWP and code block group transmission is configured for the second BWP, Para. 84) including information for indicating one HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook (if the DCI is a normal DCI, the user equipment feeds back CBG level ACK/NACK or TB level ACK/NACK, Para. 86, emphasis added) among the plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks (the user equipment determines HARQ-ACK bits of the PDSCH in a case that the user equipment switches between two BWPs having two different code block group configurations, Para. 82).
Chen teaches transmitting the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook (determining the HARQ-ACK codebook based on the code block group configuration of the BWP where the at least one PDSCH corresponding to the HARQ-ACK codebook is located, Para. 83) based on the DCI (if the DCI is a normal DCI, the user equipment feeds back CBG level ACK/NACK or TB level ACK/NACK, Para. 86).
Chen teaches wherein, based on the configuration including the parameter related to CBG level feedback for the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook (the number of configured code block groups of the first BWP is N1, and the number of configured code block groups of the second BWP is N2, Para. 84. If N1<=N2, Para. 88), the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook includes CBG-level HARQ-ACK information (the user equipment feeds back CBG level ACK/NACK, Para. 88).
Chen teaches wherein, based on the configuration not including the parameter related to CBG level feedback for the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook (if N1>N2, Para. 87), the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook includes transport block, TB, level HARQ-ACK information (the user equipment feeds back TB level ACK/NACK, Para. 87).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Niu, since Peng provides a technique for determining codebooks in relation to DCI and parameters of BWPs, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Niu to permit appropriate codebooks are selected for transmission in response to receptions of certain DCI and conditions of bandwidth utilizations that have certain TB level or CBG level requirements for HARQ.
In regard to Claim 12, Niu teaches A base station (BS) (network device 110, Para. 57, FIG. 2) comprising: at least one transceiver (communication module 1340, Para. 172, FIG. 13); at least one processor (processor 1310, Para. 175, FIG. 13); and at least one computer memory operably connected to the at least one processor and configured to store instructions that, when executed, cause the at least one processor to perform operations (processor 1310 may perform any suitable actions and processing by loading the program 1330 into the RAM 1322, Para. 175, FIG. 13) comprising: transmitting a configuration (As shown in FIG. 2, the network device 110 may transmit 210 at least one SPS configuration, Para. 57, FIG. 2) regarding a plurality of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process-based HARQ acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebooks to a user equipment (UE) (FIG. 3 illustrates example HARQ-ACK codebooks for SPS PDSCH, Para. 61, FIG. 3. A HARQ-ACK codebook 382. A HARQ-ACK codebook 381. A HARQ-ACK codebook 383, Para. 62, FIGS. 2, 3), wherein the plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks are related to a plurality of subsets of HARQ processes configured for the UE, respectively (the terminal device 120 may generate HARQ feedback bits only for HARQ processes with HARQ feedback enabled. The terminal device 120 may only generate HARQ feedback bits 310, 330, 340, 350 and 370 for SPS PDSCH receptions 301, 303, 304, 305 and 307, respectively, Para. 62, FIGS. 2, 3).
Niu teaches receiving the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook from the UE (The terminal device 120 may perform SPS PDSCH receptions accordingly and generate 250 a HARQ-ACK codebook for the SPS PDSCH receptions, Para. 60, FIG. 2. The terminal device 120 transmits 260 the HARQ-ACK codebook for SPS PDSCH to the network device 110, Para. 60, FIG. 2. The terminal device 120 may order the HARQ feedback bits 310, 330, 340, 350 and 370 to generate the HARQ-ACK codebook for SPS PDSCH, Para. 62, FIGS. 2, 3) based on the configuration (as shown in FIG. 3, it is assumed that there are two SPS configurations: SPS configuration #1 corresponding to HARQ process #4; and SPS configuration #2 corresponding to HARQ processes #1, #2 and #3, Para. 61, FIG. 3), wherein the configuration includes or does not include a parameter related to code block group (CBG) level feedback (a Code Block Group (CBG) corresponding to a HARQ process, Para. 69. Put HARQ feedback bits for the CBG in the codebook, Para. 70. If CBG is configured, the terminal device 120 may generate NCBG/TB, max feedback bits indicating ACK, Para. 120, FIGS. 2, 3) per HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook included in the plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks (FIG. 3 illustrates example HARQ-ACK codebooks for SPS PDSCH, Para. 61, FIG. 3. A HARQ-ACK codebook 382. A HARQ-ACK codebook 381. A HARQ-ACK codebook 383, Para. 62, FIGS. 2, 3).
Although Niu teaches a plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks, Niu fails to teach transmitting downlink control information (DCI) including information for indicating one HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook among the plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks, and although Niu teaches receiving the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook from the UE based on the configuration, Niu fails to teach receiving the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook from the UE based on the DCI , and Niu fails to teach wherein, based on the configuration including the parameter related to CBG level feedback for the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook, the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook includes CBG-level HARQ-ACK information, and wherein, based on the configuration not including the parameter related to CBG level feedback for the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook, the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook includes transport block, TB, level HARQ-ACK information.
Chen teaches transmitting downlink control information (DCI) (the user equipment receives, on a first BWP, DCI for instructing the user equipment to switch to a second BWP, and receives a PDSCH on the second BWP, wherein code block group transmission is configured for the first BWP and code block group transmission is configured for the second BWP, Para. 84) including information for indicating one HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook (if the DCI is a normal DCI, the user equipment feeds back CBG level ACK/NACK or TB level ACK/NACK, Para. 86, emphasis added) among the plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks (the user equipment determines HARQ-ACK bits of the PDSCH in a case that the user equipment switches between two BWPs having two different code block group configurations, Para. 82).
Chen teaches receiving the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook (determining the HARQ-ACK codebook based on the code block group configuration of the BWP where the at least one PDSCH corresponding to the HARQ-ACK codebook is located, Para. 83) from the UE based on the DCI (if the DCI is a normal DCI, the user equipment feeds back CBG level ACK/NACK or TB level ACK/NACK, Para. 86).
Chen teaches wherein, based on the configuration including the parameter related to CBG level feedback for the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook (the number of configured code block groups of the first BWP is N1, and the number of configured code block groups of the second BWP is N2, Para. 84. If N1<=N2, Para. 88), the indicated HARQ process- based HARQ-ACK codebook includes CBG-level HARQ-ACK information (the user equipment feeds back CBG level ACK/NACK, Para. 88).
Chen teaches wherein, based on the configuration not including the parameter related to CBG level feedback for the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook (if N1>N2, Para. 87), the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook includes transport block, TB, level HARQ-ACK information (the user equipment feeds back TB level ACK/NACK, Para. 87).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Niu, since Peng provides a technique for determining codebooks in relation to DCI and parameters of BWPs, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Niu to permit appropriate codebooks are selected for transmission in response to receptions of certain DCI and conditions of bandwidth utilizations that have certain TB level or CBG level requirements for HARQ.
Claim(s) 5-6, 16-17 and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niu in view of Chen, and further in view of Gerami et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230239077 A1), hereafter referred to as Gerami.
In regard to Claim 5, Niu teaches the plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks include: ii) a HARQ-ACK codebook related to only some of the HARQ processes configured for the UE (the terminal device 120 may generate HARQ feedback bits only for HARQ processes with HARQ feedback enabled. The terminal device 120 may only generate HARQ feedback bits 310, 330, 340, 350 and 370 for SPS PDSCH receptions 301, 303, 304, 305 and 307, respectively, Para. 62, FIGS. 2, 3).
Niu in view of Chen fails to teach i) a HARQ-ACK codebook related to all of the HARQ processes configured for the UE.
Gerami teaches i) a HARQ-ACK codebook related to all of the HARQ processes configured for the UE (FIG. 6, in block 601, the processing circuitry 303, responsive to operating in a first mode, reports the HARQ-ACK codebook for each scheduled transmission to a network node, Para. 145, FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gerami with the teachings of Niu in view of Chen, since Gerami provides a technique for a HARQ-ACK codebook for to report each scheduled transmission to a network node, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Niu in view of Chen to permit HARQ-ACK codebooks to include bits for cases where HARQ feedback enabled is enabled for all HARQ processes.
In regard to Claim 6, Niu teaches the plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks include: i) a HARQ-ACK codebook related to only some of the HARQ processes configured for the UE, rather than all of the HARQ processes configured for the UE (the terminal device 120 may generate HARQ feedback bits only for HARQ processes with HARQ feedback enabled. The terminal device 120 may only generate HARQ feedback bits 310, 330, 340, 350 and 370 for SPS PDSCH receptions 301, 303, 304, 305 and 307, respectively, Para. 62, FIGS. 2, 3).
Niu in view of Chen fails to teach ii) a HARQ-ACK codebook related to only other some of the HARQ processes configured for the UE, rather than all of the HARQ processes configured for the UE.
Gerami teaches ii) a HARQ-ACK codebook related to only other some of the HARQ processes configured for the UE, rather than all of the HARQ processes configured for the UE (In block 603, the processing circuitry 303, responsive to operating in a second mode, reports the HARQ-ACK codebook to the network node if at least one of the HARQ-ACK information in the codebook is ACK, Para. 146, FIG. 6. In block 605, the processing circuitry 303, responsive to operating in a third mode, reporting the HARQ-ACK codebook to the network node if at least one of the HARQ-ACK information in the codebook is negative acknowledgement (NACK), Para. 148, FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gerami with the teachings of Niu in view of Chen, since Gerami provides a technique for a HARQ-ACK codebook for to report each scheduled transmission to a network node, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Niu in view of Chen to permit HARQ-ACK codebooks to include bits for cases where HARQ feedback enabled is enabled for all HARQ processes.
In regard to Claim 16, Niu teaches the plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks include: ii) a HARQ-ACK codebook related to only some of the HARQ processes configured for the UE (the terminal device 120 may generate HARQ feedback bits only for HARQ processes with HARQ feedback enabled. The terminal device 120 may only generate HARQ feedback bits 310, 330, 340, 350 and 370 for SPS PDSCH receptions 301, 303, 304, 305 and 307, respectively, Para. 62, FIGS. 2, 3).
Niu in view of Chen fails to teach i) a HARQ-ACK codebook related to all of the HARQ processes configured for the UE.
Gerami teaches i) a HARQ-ACK codebook related to all of the HARQ processes configured for the UE (FIG. 6, in block 601, the processing circuitry 303, responsive to operating in a first mode, reports the HARQ-ACK codebook for each scheduled transmission to a network node, Para. 145, FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gerami with the teachings of Niu in view of Chen, since Gerami provides a technique for a HARQ-ACK codebook for to report each scheduled transmission to a network node, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Niu in view of Chen to permit HARQ-ACK codebooks to include bits for cases where HARQ feedback enabled is enabled for all HARQ processes.
In regard to Claim 17, Niu teaches the plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebooks include: i) a HARQ-ACK codebook related to only some of the HARQ processes configured for the UE, rather than all of the HARQ processes configured for the UE (the terminal device 120 may generate HARQ feedback bits only for HARQ processes with HARQ feedback enabled. The terminal device 120 may only generate HARQ feedback bits 310, 330, 340, 350 and 370 for SPS PDSCH receptions 301, 303, 304, 305 and 307, respectively, Para. 62, FIGS. 2, 3).
Niu in view of Chen fails to teach ii) a HARQ-ACK codebook related to only other some of the HARQ processes configured for the UE, rather than all of the HARQ processes configured for the UE.
Gerami teaches ii) a HARQ-ACK codebook related to only other some of the HARQ processes configured for the UE, rather than all of the HARQ processes configured for the UE (In block 603, the processing circuitry 303, responsive to operating in a second mode, reports the HARQ-ACK codebook to the network node if at least one of the HARQ-ACK information in the codebook is ACK, Para. 146, FIG. 6. In block 605, the processing circuitry 303, responsive to operating in a third mode, reporting the HARQ-ACK codebook to the network node if at least one of the HARQ-ACK information in the codebook is negative acknowledgement (NACK), Para. 148, FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gerami with the teachings of Niu in view of Chen, since Gerami provides a technique for a HARQ-ACK codebook for to report each scheduled transmission to a network node, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Niu in view of Chen to permit HARQ-ACK codebooks to include bits for cases where HARQ feedback enabled is enabled for all HARQ processes.
In regard to Claim 21, Niu teaches the plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ- ACK codebooks include: ii) a HARQ-ACK codebook related to only some of the HARQ processes configured for the UE (the terminal device 120 may generate HARQ feedback bits only for HARQ processes with HARQ feedback enabled. The terminal device 120 may only generate HARQ feedback bits 310, 330, 340, 350 and 370 for SPS PDSCH receptions 301, 303, 304, 305 and 307, respectively, Para. 62, FIGS. 2, 3).
Niu in view of Chen fails to teach i) a HARQ-ACK codebook related to all of the HARQ processes configured for the UE.
Gerami teaches i) a HARQ-ACK codebook related to all of the HARQ processes configured for the UE (FIG. 6, in block 601, the processing circuitry 303, responsive to operating in a first mode, reports the HARQ-ACK codebook for each scheduled transmission to a network node, Para. 145, FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gerami with the teachings of Niu in view of Chen, since Gerami provides a technique for a HARQ-ACK codebook for to report each scheduled transmission to a network node, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Niu in view of Chen to permit HARQ-ACK codebooks to include bits for cases where HARQ feedback enabled is enabled for all HARQ processes.
In regard to Claim 22, Niu teaches the plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ- ACK codebooks include: i) a HARQ-ACK codebook related to only some of the HARQ processes configured for the UE, rather than all of the HARQ processes configured for the UE (the terminal device 120 may generate HARQ feedback bits only for HARQ processes with HARQ feedback enabled. The terminal device 120 may only generate HARQ feedback bits 310, 330, 340, 350 and 370 for SPS PDSCH receptions 301, 303, 304, 305 and 307, respectively, Para. 62, FIGS. 2, 3).
Niu in view of Chen fails to teach ii) a HARQ-ACK codebook related to only other some of the HARQ processes configured for the UE, rather than all of the HARQ processes configured for the UE.
Gerami teaches ii) a HARQ-ACK codebook related to only other some of the HARQ processes configured for the UE, rather than all of the HARQ processes configured for the UE (In block 603, the processing circuitry 303, responsive to operating in a second mode, reports the HARQ-ACK codebook to the network node if at least one of the HARQ-ACK information in the codebook is ACK, Para. 146, FIG. 6. In block 605, the processing circuitry 303, responsive to operating in a third mode, reporting the HARQ-ACK codebook to the network node if at least one of the HARQ-ACK information in the codebook is negative acknowledgement (NACK), Para. 148, FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gerami with the teachings of Niu in view of Chen, since Gerami provides a technique for a HARQ-ACK codebook for to report each scheduled transmission to a network node, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Niu in view of Chen to permit HARQ-ACK codebooks to include bits for cases where HARQ feedback enabled is enabled for all HARQ processes.
Claim(s) 7, 18 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niu in view of Chen, and further in view of Wong et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230239874 A1), hereafter referred to as Wong.
In regard to Claim 7, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Niu in view of Chen teaches the DCI.
Niu in view of Chen fails to teach the DCI includes information related to a slot for the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook.
Wong teaches the DCI includes information related to a slot for the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook (For a PDSCH ending in slot n, the corresponding PUCCH carrying the HARQ-ACK is transmitted in slot n+K1, where the value of K1 is indicated in the field PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator of the DL Grant (carried by Downlink Control Information (DCI) Format 1_0 or DCI Format 1_1), Para. 42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wong with the teachings of Niu in view of Chen, since Wong provides a technique for utilizing DCI for explicitly indicating HARQ-ACK codebooks, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Niu in view of Chen to permit network devices to explicitly indicate to terminal devices which HARQ-ACK codebooks to generate.
In regard to Claim 18, as presented in the rejection of Claim 12, Niu in view of Chen teaches the DCI.
Niu in view of Chen fails to teach the DCI includes information related to a slot for the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook.
Wong teaches the DCI includes information related to a slot for the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook (For a PDSCH ending in slot n, the corresponding PUCCH carrying the HARQ-ACK is transmitted in slot n+K1, where the value of K1 is indicated in the field PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator of the DL Grant (carried by Downlink Control Information (DCI) Format 1_0 or DCI Format 1_1), Para. 42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wong with the teachings of Niu in view of Chen, since Wong provides a technique for utilizing DCI for explicitly indicating HARQ-ACK codebooks, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Niu in view of Chen to permit network devices to explicitly indicate to terminal devices which HARQ-ACK codebooks to generate.
In regard to Claim 23, as presented in the rejection of Claim 9, Niu in view of Chen teaches the DCI.
Niu in view of Chen fails to teach the DCI includes information related to a slot for the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook.
Wong teaches the DCI includes information related to a slot for the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook (For a PDSCH ending in slot n, the corresponding PUCCH carrying the HARQ-ACK is transmitted in slot n+K1, where the value of K1 is indicated in the field PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator of the DL Grant (carried by Downlink Control Information (DCI) Format 1_0 or DCI Format 1_1), Para. 42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wong with the teachings of Niu in view of Chen, since Wong provides a technique for utilizing DCI for explicitly indicating HARQ-ACK codebooks, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Niu in view of Chen to permit network devices to explicitly indicate to terminal devices which HARQ-ACK codebooks to generate.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 15 and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 20 and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
I. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 112
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-11, filed 7/7/2026, with respect to the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 112 have been withdrawn.
II. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 103
Applicant's arguments filed 7/7/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Page 13 of the Remarks presents the argument that In particular, the plurality of HARQ process-based HARQ codebooks are different if their related subsets of HARQ processes are different, and the priority level does not have to be configured for the different HARQ process-based HARQ codebooks and does not have to be included in a DCI triggering a transmission of a HARQ process based HARQ codebook. This argument is not persuasive. The limitations introduced by amendment of Claims 1, 9 and 12, which are not taught by Niu, are taught by Chen et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210021383 A1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220039029 A1) teaches wherein, based on the configuration including the parameter related to CBG level feedback for the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook, the indicated HARQ process- based HARQ-ACK codebook includes CBG-level HARQ-ACK information, and wherein, based on the configuration not including the parameter related to CBG level feedback for the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook, the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook includes transport block, TB, level HARQ-ACK information (The DAI information can be DAI information of a TB-level HARQ-ACK sub-codebook with priority index of 0, such as T-DAI, and/or DAI information of a CBG-level HARQ-ACK sub-codebook with priority index of 0, Para. 145, FIGS. 2, 4).
PENG et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200213044 A1) teaches wherein, based on the configuration including the parameter related to CBG level feedback for the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook, the indicated HARQ process- based HARQ-ACK codebook includes CBG-level HARQ-ACK information, and wherein, based on the configuration not including the parameter related to CBG level feedback for the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook, the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook includes transport block, TB, level HARQ-ACK information (the first DCI is used to indicate to feed back code block group CBG-level hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgment HARQ-ACK information for data scheduled by using the first DCI, and the second DCI is used to indicate to feed back transport block TB-level HARQ-ACK information for data scheduled by using the second DCI, Para. 8, 106, FIG. 7).
Marinier et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200195386 A1) teaches wherein, based on the configuration including the parameter related to CBG level feedback for the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook, the indicated HARQ process- based HARQ-ACK codebook includes CBG-level HARQ-ACK information, and wherein, based on the configuration not including the parameter related to CBG level feedback for the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook, the indicated HARQ process-based HARQ-ACK codebook includes transport block, TB, level HARQ-ACK information (a transmission including HARQ-ACK for multiple PDSCHs that may be at a TB-level or a CBG-level, even if the same codebook size is utilized, Para. 186).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
9-15-2026
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477