DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and the species of KRAS in the reply filed on 26 February 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Status
3. Claims 1-18, 20-28 and 30-32 are pending.
Claims 30-32 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-18 and 20-28 read on the elected invention and have been examined herein. It is noted that claim 18 encompass the non-elected species of PIK3Ca, APC, FAT4, KMT2D, KMT2C and BRAF. Prior to the allowance of claims, any non-elected subject matter which has not been rejoined with the elected subject matter will be required to be removed from the claims.
Claim Objections
4. Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6 recites “method of claim 1, the amplification product is sequenced” whereas the claim should recite “method of claim 1, wherein the amplification product is sequenced”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) - Indefiniteness
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 is indefinite over the recitation of “the mixture” because it is not clear as to whether this refers to the mixture of the target and reference polynucleotide alone, or the sample that contains the mixture of the target and reference polynucleotide, as well as other polynucleotides, or to the reaction mixture comprising (i) the sample, and (ii)-(iv) of claim 1. Thereby, it is unclear as to what constitutes about 3% “of the mixture.”
Priority
6. The present claims are entitled to the filing date of International Application PCT/US2022/43169, filed 11 September 2022. It is noted that a claim as a whole is assigned an effective filing date rather than the subject matter within a claim being assigned individual effective filing dates. U.S. Application 62/243,390, filed 13 September 2021 does not provide support for each of the embodiments in independent claim 1 and each of the embodiments in the dependent claims. For example, while the ‘390 application teaches the recited amplification and sequencing method wherein the DNA polymerase is a Stoffel fragment and the DNA polymerase either has or lacks 5’-exonuclease activity, the ‘390 application does not disclose performing the PCR amplification using any “high fidelity DNA polymerase that lacks 5'→3' nuclease activity and comprises 3'→ 5' nuclease activity.” If Applicant asserts that the present claims are entitled to priority to the provisional application, Applicant should point to specific teachings (e.g., by page and line number) in the priority application to establish priority for each of the recitations set forth in the claims.
See MPEP 2163 II at “(b) New Claims, Amended Claims, or Claims Asserting Entitlement to the Benefit of an Earlier Priority Date or Filing Date under 35 U.S.C. 119, 120, 365, or 386” states “To comply with the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, or to be entitled to an earlier priority date or filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119, 120, 365, or 386, each claim limitation must be expressly, implicitly, or inherently supported in the originally filed disclosure.”
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5, 10-17 and 26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12291744. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims and the claims of ‘744 are both inclusive of methods for detecting a target polynucleotide comprising a genetic alteration relative to a reference polynucleotide lacking the genetic alteration in a sample comprising a mixture of the target polynucleotide and the reference polynucleotide, the methods comprising: performing a polymerase chain reaction (PCR) amplification to obtain an amplification product in a reaction mixture comprising: (i) the sample; (ii) a DNA polymerase that lacks 5'→3' nuclease activity and comprises 3'→5' nuclease activity; (iii) a pair of primers that flank the genetic alteration; and (iv) a blocking oligonucleotide that hybridizes selectively to the reference polynucleotide lacking the genetic alteration to form a blocking duplex; performing multiple cycles of PCR amplification; and sequencing the amplification product and detecting the genetic alteration in the amplification product (see claims 6 and 7 of ‘744), thereby detecting the target polynucleotide comprising the genetic alteration in the sample.
Regarding present claim 5, claim 2 of ‘744 encompasses methods wherein the DNA polymerase has an error rate of less than 10-5.
Regarding present claims 10-14, claim 1 of ‘744 recites that the method is one wherein the blocking oligonucleotide comprises one or more locked nucleic acids (LNAs) comprising a sugar moiety having a 2'-O conjugated to 4'-C via a methylene group; and the blocking oligonucleotide is 8-20, and thereby no more than 20, nucleotides.
Regarding present claims 15-17, claim 1 of ‘744 recites that the method is one in which “the genetic alteration is a substitution of one or more nucleotides, a deletion of one or more nucleotides, and/or an insertion of one or more nucleotides.”
Regarding present claim 26, claim 1 of ‘744 recites that the method is one in which the reference polynucleotide comprises a wild-type sequence with respect to the genetic alteration and the genetic alteration is a genetic mutation present in the target polynucleotide
8. Claims 2-4, 6-7, 9, 20-22, 24-25 and 27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12291744 in view of Makrigiorgos, G. (U.S. 20110217714) and Huang et al (Molecular and Cellular Probes. 2010. 24: 376-380; cited in the IDS of 11/22/2024).
The claims of ‘744 are discussed above.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, the claims of ‘744 do not recite that the target polynucleotide represents no more than about 3% of the mixture (claim 2) or that the target polynucleotide is present in the sample at a copy number less than about 30 (claim 3).
However, Makrigiorgos teaches methods for enriching a sample for a double-stranded target nucleic acid that comprises a genetic alteration wherein the method comprises performing a PCR assay in the presence of a blocking oligonucleotide that binds to a reference / wildtype nucleic acid and not to the target nucleic acid (e.g., claim 1; Figure 2 and para [0012-0015] and [0061-0064]). Makrigiorgos (para [0001]) states that the method disclosed therein are for “the amplification and enrichment of low prevalence target sequences, e.g. mutations, in nucleic acid samples.” See also para [0010] and [0012]).
Huang teaches methods of performing PCR using LNA oligonucleotide blockers (“WTB”) to suppress amplification of wild-type nucleic acids (e.g., abstract, Figure 1 and p. 377). It is stated that “In the present WTB-PCR system, a wild-type blocker (WTB) which was the chimeras of locked nucleic acid (LNA) and DNA oligonucleotides was used to specifically inhibit the amplification of wild-type KRAS gene. It is disclosed that the PCR amplification products are sequenced by Big Dye V3.1 Terminator sequencing (Section 2.4 at p. 377, col. 1). The results showed that the present WTB-PCR was a reliable and simple method to detect rare mutated KRAS in clinical FFPE sections with high sensitivity (0.01%) and a single copy level” (p. 377, col. 1). Huang teaches that PCR is performed using Pfu DNA polymerase (p. 377 section “2.3”). Huang states “to avoid hydrolysis of WTB by 5’→3’ exonuclease activities of traditional DNA polymerase (e.g., Taq DNA polymerase), a Pfu DNA polymerase, which is defect of such activities as the introductions of manufacturer (Promega), was used” (p. 377, col. 2).
Huang teaches that the PCR amplification method disclosed therein, using Pfu DNA polymerase and a wild-type blocker oligonucleotide, provided “a reliable and simple method to detect rare mutated KRAS in clinical FFPE sections with high sensitivity (0.01%) and a single copy level” (p. 377, col. 1, first para).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the method claimed in ‘744 to samples in which the target nucleic acid is present at no more than about 3% of the mixture (of target and reference nucleic acids) and is present at a copy number less than 30 because Makrigiorgos taches that the methods are applicable to detecting low abundance target nucleic acids comprising a mutation / genetic alteration and Huang teaches that methods of performing PCR amplification using Pfu DNA polymerase and a wild-type blocker oligonucleotide can detect rare mutations / genetic alterations present in a sample at levels as low as a single copy number.
Regarding claim 4, the claims of ‘744 do not specify the number PCR cycles that are used to amplify the target nucleic acid comprising the genetic alteration.
However, Makrigiorgos teaches that “The length and temperature of each step of a PCR cycle, as well as the number of cycles, are adjusted according to the stringency requirements in effect” (para [0044]). It is also stated that “In one embodiment, the steps of the method are repeated for 5-40 cycles and more preferably 10-30 cycles. The optimal number of cycles can be determined by one of ordinary skill in the art” (para [0060]).
Additionally, Huang states “55 cycles for WTB-PCR (to get enough PCR products for DNA sequencing” (p. 377, col. 1).
Accordingly, in view of the teachings of Makrigiorgos and Huang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized the number of PCR cycles used to amplify the target nucleic acids, including to have performed PCR amplification for 40 or 55 cycles, and thereby for less than 60 cycles. One would have been motivated to do so because Makrigiorgos and Huang each teach that these are an effective number of cycles to be performed for detecting the genetic alterations present at low frequency in the sample and Makrigiorgos teaches that it was within the skill of the ordinary artisan to select the optimal number of cycles of PCR to ensure accurate amplification and detection of genetic variations present at low frequency in a sample.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, the claims of ‘744 do not recite that the amplification product is sequenced to obtain multiple reads, and the genetic alteration is present in at least about 90% of the multiple reads (claim 6) or is present in at least about 90% of the amplification product (claim 7).
However, Makrigiorgos teaches that the methods disclosed therein are able to detect low abundant mutations / genetic alterations by amplifying the target nucleic acid comprising the mutation / genetic alteration and blocking the amplification of wild-type nucleic acid. Makrigiorgos also teaches that the amplified nucleic acids are subsequently sequenced, using methods such as second generation high throughput sequencing and dideoxy sequencing methods (para [0060]).
Huang teaches sequencing the PCR amplification products multiple times and reports that “in WTB-PCR system, the amplification of wild-type KRAS gene was almost completely inhibited until the mutated alleles were as low as 0.02%. For WTB-PCR, the peak of mutated allele which was as low as 0.01% was always much higher than that of wild-type allele” (p. 378, col. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method claimed in ‘744 so as to have generated multiple sequencing reads of the amplification product so as to have provided an accurate and sensitive method for detecting the presence of the mutation / genetic variation in the target nucleic acid. Modification of the method claimed in ‘744 as set forth above and so as to have sequenced the amplification products to generate multiple sequence reads would have resulted in a method in which the mutation / genetic alteration is present in at least about 90% of the multiple reads and in about 90% of the amplification products. The teachings of Huang evidence this finding since Huang (p. 378, col. 2) teaches that the PCR amplification method using Pfu DNA polymerase and a WTB oligonucleotide results in almost complete blockage of amplification of the wildtype nucleic acid.
Regarding claim 9, the claims of ‘744 do not recite a step of determining the minimum number of PCR cycles necessary for detecting a target polynucleotide that is present in the mixture at a percentage of no more than 0.1%.
However, Huang teaches performing PCR for 55 cycles (p. 377, col. 1, section 2.3) to achieve high sensitivity (0.01%) and a single copy level” (p. 377, col. 1, first para).
Further, Makrigiorgos teaches a method for detecting a target polynucleotide comprising a genetic alteration relative to a reference polynucleotide in a sample comprising a mixture of target nucleic acid and reference nucleic acid, the method comprising the steps of: (a) performing a polymerase chain reaction (PCR) amplification to obtain an amplification product in a reaction mixture comprising: (i) the sample; (ii) a DNA polymerase; (iii) a pair of primers that flank the genetic alteration; and (iv) a blocking oligonucleotide that hybridizes selectively to the reference polynucleotide lacking the genetic alteration to form a blocking duplex; and (b) sequencing the amplification product and detecting the genetic alteration in the amplification product, thereby detecting the target polynucleotide comprising the genetic alteration in the sample. (e.g., claims 1 and 19; Figure 2 and para [0012-0015] and [0060-0064]).
Makrigiorgos teaches that “(t)he length and temperature of each step of a PCR cycle, as well as the number of cycles, are adjusted according to the stringency requirements in effect” (para [0044]). It is also stated that “In one embodiment, the steps of the method are repeated for 5-40 cycles and more preferably 10-30 cycles. The optimal number of cycles can be determined by one of ordinary skill in the art” (para [0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method claimed in ‘744 so as to have included a step of determining the minimum number of PCR cycles necessary for detecting a target polynucleotide that is present in the mixture at a percentage of no more than 0.1% since Makrigiorgos teaches to determine the optimal number of cycles of PCR that are required to obtain particular results, such as the sensitivity and specificity of amplification / detection. Optimization of the PCR method to arrive at the optimal number of cycles of PCR required to achieve a high level of detection sensitivity, including the detection of a genetic alteration present at no more than 0.1% would have been obvious to and well-within the skill of the artisan given the guidance and direction provided by Makrigiorgos.
Regarding claims 20-22, the claims of ‘744 do not specifically recite that the sample is from a subject and is a blood or a cell-free sample.
However, Huang teaches methods wherein the sample is a FFPE tissue sample from a cancer patient.
Makrigiorgos teaches that the methods for amplifying nucleic acids in the presence of a wildtype blocking oligonucleotide to detect a genetic alteration can be applied to a blood sample or a plasma sample (i.e., a cell-free blood sample; e.g., para [0002], [0047-0048] and [0051]). Makrigiorgos (para [0002]) states: “identification of tumor-circulating DNA in blood of cancer patients (where people are suspected of having cancer, to track the success of cancer treatment or to detect relapse) in the presence of a large excess of wild-type alleles.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method claimed in ‘744 so as to have used a blood or plasma (cell-free blood) sample because this would have provided the benefit that such samples can be obtained in a non-invasive manner and could be used to monitor cancer and response to treatment, as taught by Makrigiorgos.
Regarding claim 23, the claims of ‘744 do not recite treating the sample with a reagent that selectively modifies non-methylated cytosine residues to produce detectable modified residues but which does not modify methylated cytosine residues.
However, Makrigiorgos teaches that the method of PCR amplification in the presence of the wildtype blocking oligonucleotide can be used to detect whether methylation has occurred in a target sequence (para [0052]). It is stated that “(t)he methylation detection method comprises a chemical or enzymatic approach for methylation-sensitive treatment of DNA” (para [0052]). It is disclosed that the DNA may be treated with sodium bisulfite to selectively convert non-methylated cytosines to uracils (para [0052]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method claimed in ‘744 so as to have treated the sample with sodium bisulfite to selectively modify non-methylated cytosine residues, prior to performing PCR, for the advantage set forth by Makrigiorgos of that the method could then be used to detect differential methylation of a target nucleic acid.
Regarding claims 24, 25 and 27, the claims of ‘744 do not recite that the method is one in which the sample is from a subject who has cancer, and the genetic alteration is detected in a cancer sample and is associated with cancer.
However, Makrigiorgos teaches that the method is one that detects a genetic alteration associated with cancer, particularly in a sample from a subject having cancer, including a tumor sample (e.g., para [0002]). For instance, the reference (para [0002] and [0029]) states “identification of tumor-circulating DNA in blood of cancer patients (where people are suspected of having cancer, to track the success of cancer treatment or to detect relapse) in the presence of a large excess of wild-type alleles.”
Further, Huang teaches that the method is one that detects a genetic alteration associated with cancer (i.e., a KRAS mutation at codon 12 or 13 correlated with lack of response to treatment of mCRC to the cancer therapeutics of cetuximab and panitumumab), particularly in a sample from a subject having cancer, and is a tumor sample (e.g., sections 2.1 and 2.2 at p. 377, col. 1]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method claimed in ‘744 so as to have used a sample obtained from a cancer patient, including a sample comprising tumor cells or circulating DNA from tumor cells, to have detected a mutation correlated with cancer since Makrigiorgos and Huang teach that the methods of PCR amplification in the presence of wildtype blocking oligonucleotides are specifically useful for these purposes. The ordinary artisan would have recognized that such a modification would have provided an effective means for diagnosing or monitoring cancer or response of a cancer patient to treatment by assaying for the presence of the cancer associated mutation / genetic alteration in the sample from the subject, as taught by each of Makrigiorgos and Huang.
Regarding claim 28, the claims of ‘744 do not recite that the sample is from a cancer subject who is in remission from cancer.
However, Makrigiorgos teaches the need to detect mutations that are present at low levels, such as to detect relapse in cancer patients (para [0002]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have specifically applied the method claimed in ‘744 to a cancer patient that is currently in remission, as suggested by the teachings of Makrigiorgos. One would have been motivated to have done so in order to aid in monitoring relapse of the patient by detecting a mutation correlated with the tumor and thereby with the occurrence of relapse.
9. Claim 8 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12291744 in view of Albitar et al (J visualized Experiments. 2017. 121: e55130, 8 pages; cited in the IDS of 11/22/2024).
The claims of ‘744 are discussed above.
Regarding clam 8, the claims of ‘744 do not recite a step of removing the blocking oligonucleotide from the amplification product prior to sequencing the amplification product.
However, Albitar teaches methods of performing wild-type blocking PCR (WTB-PCR) using blocking oligonucleotides that comprise LNAs (p. 2). Albitar teaches removing the blocking oligonucleotide from the PCR amplification mixture following amplification and prior to sequencing (e.g., p. 3 “5. Purification of PCR Product by magnetic beads; and Figure 3). It is stated at p. 4:
“A characteristic drop-off in signal intensity (Figure 3) is often seen if too high a concentration of blocker is used or if post-PCR purification failed to remove blocker prior to bi-directional sequencing. The latter is demonstrated when magnetic bead purification is substituted for enzymatic purification. Though enzymatic purification is an attractive option when working with greater sample numbers, it is inappropriate for application with WTB-PCR as it fails to remove blocker from solution prior to sequencing.”
In view of the teachings of Albitar, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method claimed in ‘744 so as to have removed the blocking oligonucleotide from the amplification product. One would have been motivated to have done so because Albitar teaches that the presence of the wildtype blocking oligonucleotide, particularly if at high concentrations, can interfere with the sequencing of the amplification products.
10. Claim 18 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12291744 in view of Huang et al (Molecular and Cellular Probes. 2010. 24: 376-380; cited in the IDS of 11/22/2024).
The claims of ‘744 are discussed above.
Regarding present claim 18, the claims of ‘744 do not recite a method wherein the genetic alteration is present in a KRAS gene.
However, Huang teaches performing the PCR amplification assay with the oligonucleotide blocker of wildtype alleles to detect mutations in KRAS (abstract). Huang states “The missense mutations at codons 12 and 13 of KRAS gene have been confirmed as a predictor of nonresponse to EGFR-targeted therapy with monoclonal antibodies cetuximab and panitumumab in patients with metastatic colorectal carcinoma (mCRC)” (see abstract). It is further stated that “the development of reliable and sensitive methods to detect the low-abundant mutations of KRAS should be very useful to the clinical application of KRAS mutations in anti-EGFR antibodies therapies in mCRC” (p. 376, col. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the method claimed in ‘744 to the detection of a genetic variation at codon 12 or 13 of KRAS. One would have been motivated to have done so for the benefit set forth by Huang of screening for the presence of a KRAS mutation at codon 12 or 13 that would be indicative of the risk of non-responsiveness to treatment with cetuximab or panitumumab treatment in patients suffering from metastatic colorectal carcinoma.
11. Claims 23 and 28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12291744 in view of Makrigiorgos, G. (U.S. 20110217714; cited in the IDS of 11/22/2024).
Regarding claim 23, the claims of ‘744 do not recite treating the sample with a reagent that selectively modifies non-methylated cytosine residues to produce detectable modified residues but which does not modify methylated cytosine residues.
However, Makrigiorgos teaches that the method of PCR amplification in the presence of the wildtype blocking oligonucleotide can be used to detect whether methylation has occurred in a target sequence (para [0052]). It is stated that “(t)he methylation detection method comprises a chemical or enzymatic approach for methylation-sensitive treatment of DNA” (para [0052]). It is disclosed that the DNA may be treated with sodium bisulfite to selectively convert non-methylated cytosines to uracils (para [0052]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method claimed in ‘744 so as to have treated the sample with sodium bisulfite to selectively modify non-methylated cytosine residues, prior to performing PCR, for the advantage set forth by Makrigiorgos of that the method could then be used to detect differential methylation of a target nucleic acid.
Regarding claim 28, the claims of ‘744 do not recite that the sample is from a cancer subject who is in remission from cancer.
However, Makrigiorgos teaches the need to detect mutations that are present at low levels, such as to detect relapse in cancer patients (para [0002]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have specifically applied the method claimed in ‘744 to a cancer patient that is currently in remission, as suggested by the teachings of Makrigiorgos. One would have been motivated to have done so in order to aid in monitoring relapse of the patient by detecting a mutation correlated with the tumor and thereby with the occurrence of relapse.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 10-12, 14, 15, 18, 20, and 24-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al (Molecular and Cellular Probes. 2010. 24: 376-380; cited in the IDS of 11/22/2024), as evidenced by Cline et al (Nucleic Acids Research. 1996. 24(18): 3546-3551; cited in the IDS of 11/22/2024)..
Huang teaches methods of performing PCR using LNA oligonucleotide blockers (“WTB”) to suppress amplification of wild-type nucleic acids (e.g., abstract, Figure 1 and p. 377). It is stated that “In the present WTB-PCR system, a wild-type blocker (WTB) which was the chimeras of locked nucleic acid (LNA) and DNA oligonucleotides was used to specifically inhibit the amplification of wild-type KRAS gene. It is disclosed that the PCR amplification products are sequenced by Big Dye V3.1 Terminator sequencing (Section 2.4 at p. 377, col. 1). The results showed that the present WTB-PCR was a reliable and simple method to detect rare mutated KRAS in clinical FFPE sections with high sensitivity (0.01%) and a single copy level” (p. 377, col. 1).
Huang teaches that PCR is performed using Pfu DNA polymerase (p. 377 section “2.3”). Huang states “to avoid hydrolysis of WTB by 5’→3’ exonuclease activities of traditional DNA polymerase (e.g., Taq DNA polymerase), a Pfu DNA polymerase, which is defect of such activities as the introductions of manufacturer (Promega), was used” (p. 377, col. 2).
The Pfu DNA polymerase used in the method of Huang has the property that it lacks 5’→3’ exonuclease activity (as taught by Huang) and comprises 3’→5’ exonuclease activity.
This finding is evidenced by the teachings of Cline et al. Cline (p. 3546, col. 1). Cline teaches that Pfu is a high fidelity DNA polymerase having 3’→5’ exonuclease activity. It is stated that the use of high fidelity DNA polymerases, such as Pfu, in PCR is essential for reducing the introduction of amplification errors in PCR products that will be sequences (p. 3546, col. 1).
Note that Cline is cited only to establish what is inherent to the teachings of Huang.
Accordingly, Huang teaches a method for detecting a target polynucleotide comprising a genetic alteration relative to a reference polynucleotide lacking the genetic alteration in a sample comprising a mixture of the target polynucleotide and the reference polynucleotide, the method comprising:(a) performing a polymerase chain reaction (PCR) amplification to obtain an amplification product in a reaction mixture comprising: (i) the sample; (ii) a high fidelity DNA polymerase - i.e., Pfu DNA polymerase, which lacks 5'→3' nuclease activity and comprises 3'→5' nuclease activity; (iii) a pair of primers that flank the genetic alteration; and (iv) a blocking oligonucleotide (i.e., a “WTB” oligonucleotide therein) that hybridizes selectively to the reference / wild type polynucleotide lacking the genetic alteration to form a blocking duplex; and (b) sequencing the amplification product and detecting the genetic alteration in the amplification product, thereby detecting the target polynucleotide comprising the genetic alteration in the sample.
Regarding claim 4, Huang states “55 cycles for WTB-PCR (to get enough PCR products for DNA sequencing” (p. 377, col. 1). Accordingly, Huang teaches that the PCR amplification is performed for no more than 60 cycles
Regarding claim 5, it is also a property of Pfu DNA polymerase that it has an error rate of less than 10-5. This fact is evidenced by the teachings of Cline which discloses that Pfu DNA polymerase has an error rate of 1.3 x 10-6 (see abstract and p. 3550, col. 1). It is noted that Cline is cited only to establish what is inherent to the method of Huang.
Regarding claims 10- 12, Huang teaches that the blocking oligonucleotides incorporate LNAs to enhance the selective binding of the blocking oligonucleotide to the reference nucleic acid (p. 379, col. 2)..
However, Huang (p. 379, col. 2) teaches:
“LNA is a nucleic acid analog with a 2’-O, 4’-C methylene bridge.
This bicyclic structure locks the ribose moiety into a C3’-endo conformation, which significantly increases binding affinity (i.e., stabilizes the duplex in A-form conformation) [20]. LNA can bind to natural DNA according to standard base-pairing rules, but
with much greater affinity than standard oligonucleotides [8,20]. Only one base mismatch between an LNA oligonucleotide and its complementary strand can significantly lower the melting temperatures, thereby allowing an LNA oligonucleotide to
discriminate a single base mismatch”
In view of the teachings of Huang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used LNAs having a 2’-O, 4’-C methylene bridge in the method of Makrigiorgos since Huang teaches that these are the types of LNAs that can be incorporated into wildtype / reference blocking oligonucleotides to increase the affinity of the binding of the blocking oligonucleotide to the wildtype / reference nucleic acid, thereby enhancing the stability and the suppression / blocking of amplification of wildtype / reference nucleic acid.
Regarding claim 14, Huang exemplifies a blocking oligonucleotide that is 13 nucleotides in length (section 2.3 at p. 377, col. 1), and thereby no more than 20 nucleotides in length.
Regarding claims 15 and 18, Huang teaches performing the PCR amplification assay with the oligonucleotide blocker of wildtype alleles to detect nucleotide substitutions in KRAS (abstract and Table 1). Huang states “The missense mutations at codons 12 and 13 of KRAS gene have been confirmed as a predictor of nonresponse to EGFR-targeted therapy with monoclonal antibodies cetuximab and panitumumab in patients with metastatic colorectal carcinoma (mCRC)” (see abstract). It is further stated that “the development of reliable and sensitive methods to detect the low-abundant mutations of KRAS should be very useful to the clinical application of KRAS mutations in anti-EGFR antibodies therapies in mCRC” (p. 376, col. 2).
Regarding claims 20, 24, 25, and 27, Huang teaches that the method is one that detects a genetic alteration associated with cancer (i.e., a KRAS mutation at codon 12 or 13 correlated with lack of response to treatment of mCRC to the cancer therapeutics of cetuximab and panitumumab), particularly in a sample from a subject having cancer, and is a tumor sample (e.g., sections 2.1 and 2.2 at p. 377, col. 1]).
Regarding claim 26, Huang teaches that the reference polynucleotide comprises a wild-type sequence with respect to the genetic alteration and the genetic alteration is a genetic mutation present in the target polynucleotide (e.g., Fig. 1 and p. 377, section 2.3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 6, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al (Molecular and Cellular Probes. 2010. 24: 376-380; cited in the IDS of 11/22/2024), as evidenced by Cline et al (Nucleic Acids Research. 1996. 24(18): 3546-3551; cited in the IDS of 11/22/2024).
The teachings of Huang are presented above.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Huang does not specifically recite that the target polynucleotide represents no more than about 3% of the mixture (claim 2) or that the target polynucleotide is present in the sample at a copy number less than about 30 (claim 3)..
However, Huang teaches that the PCR amplification method disclosed therein, using Pfu DNA polymerase and a wild-type blocker oligonucleotide, provided “a reliable and simple method to detect rare mutated KRAS in clinical FFPE sections with high sensitivity (0.01%) and a single copy level” (p. 377, col. 1, first para).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the method of Huang to samples in which the target nucleic acid is present at no more than about 3% of the mixture (of target and reference nucleic acids) and is present at a copy number less than 30 because Huang taches that the methods are applicable to detecting low abundance target nucleic acids comprising a mutation / genetic alteration and teaches that methods of performing PCR amplification using Pfu DNA polymerase and a wild-type blocker oligonucleotide can detect rare mutations / genetic alterations present in a sample at levels as low as a single copy number.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Huang does not teach that the amplification product is sequenced to obtain multiple reads, and the genetic alteration is present in at least about 90% of the multiple reads (claim 6) or is present in at least about 90% of the amplification product.
However, Huang does teach sequencing the PCR amplification products and reports that “in WTB-PCR system, the amplification of wild-type KRAS gene was almost completely inhibited until the mutated alleles were as low as 0.02%. For WTB-PCR, the peak of mutated allele which was as low as 0.01% was always much higher than that of wild-type allele” (p. 378, col. 2). Huang also teaches that all sequencing analysis were performed at least twice and that forward and reverse sequence were performed (section 2.4 at p. 377).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Huang so as to have generated multiple sequencing reads of the amplification product so as to have provided an accurate and sensitive method for detecting the presence of the mutation / genetic variation in the target nucleic acid. Modification of the method of Huang as set forth above and so as to have sequenced the amplification products to generate multiple sequence reads would have resulted in a method in which the mutation / genetic alteration is present in at least about 90% of the multiple reads and in about 90% of the amplification products. The teachings of Huang evidence this finding since Huang (p. 378, col. 2) teaches that the PCR amplification method using Pfu DNA polymerase and a WTB oligonucleotide results in almost complete blockage of amplification of the wildtype nucleic acid. Note that the present claims are recited very broadly and do not include any particular limitations or features which distinguish the claimed method over the modified method of Huang.
14. Claim(s) 9, 16, 17, 21, 22, 23 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al (Molecular and Cellular Probes. 2010. 24: 376-380; cited in the IDS of 11/22/2024), as evidenced by Cline et al (Nucleic Acids Research. 1996. 24(18): 3546-3551; cited in the IDS of 11/22/2024), and further in view of Makrigiorgos, G. (U.S. 20110217714; cited in the IDS of 11/22/2024).
The teachings of Huang are presented above.
Regarding claim 9, Huang does not teach that the method further comprises determining the minimum number of PCR cycles necessary for detecting a target polynucleotide that is present in the mixture at a percentage of no more than 0.1%.
However, Huang does teach performing PCR for 55 cycles (p. 377, col. 1, section 2.3) to achieve high sensitivity (0.01%) and a single copy level” (p. 377, col. 1, first para).
Further, Makrigiorgos teaches a method for detecting a target polynucleotide comprising a genetic alteration relative to a reference polynucleotide in a sample comprising a mixture of target nucleic acid and reference nucleic acid, the method comprising the steps of: (a) performing a polymerase chain reaction (PCR) amplification to obtain an amplification product in a reaction mixture comprising: (i) the sample; (ii) a DNA polymerase; (iii) a pair of primers that flank the genetic alteration; and (iv) a blocking oligonucleotide that hybridizes selectively to the reference polynucleotide lacking the genetic alteration to form a blocking duplex; and (b) sequencing the amplification product and detecting the genetic alteration in the amplification product, thereby detecting the target polynucleotide comprising the genetic alteration in the sample. (e.g., claims 1 and 19; Figure 2 and para [0012-0015] and [0060-0064]).
Makrigiorgos teaches that “(t)he length and temperature of each step of a PCR cycle, as well as the number of cycles, are adjusted according to the stringency requirements in effect” (para [0044]). It is also stated that “In one embodiment, the steps of the method are repeated for 5-40 cycles and more preferably 10-30 cycles. The optimal number of cycles can be determined by one of ordinary skill in the art” (para [0060]).
In view of the teachings of Makrigiorgos, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Huang so as to have included a step of determining the minimum number of PCR cycles necessary for detecting a target polynucleotide that is present in the mixture at a percentage of no more than 0.1% since Makrigiorgos teaches to determine the optimal number of cycles of PCR that are required to obtain particular results, such as the sensitivity and specificity of amplification / detection. Optimization of the PCR method to arrive at the optimal number of cycles of PCR required to achieve a high level of detection sensitivity, including the detection of a genetic alteration present at no more than 0.1% would have been obvious to and well-within the skill of the artisan given the guidance and direction provided by Makrigiorgos.
Regarding claims 16-17, Huang exemplifies methods wherein the genetic alteration is a missense mutation / substitution in KRAS (e.g., Table 1).
Huang does not specifically reach applying the methods therein to the detection of a deletion or insertion.
However, Makrigiorgos teaches that the genetic alteration / mutation in the target nucleic acid that is detected by PCR in the presence of the wild-type blocking oligonucleotide may be a substitution, deletion or insertion (e.g., para [0034 and [0055]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Huang so as to have applied the method to the detection of alternative nucleic acid alterations, including deletions and insertions since Makrigiorgos teaches that the method of PCR amplification using wildtype blocking oligonucleotides can be used to detect genetic alterations that are deletions and insertions, as well as substitutions.
Regarding claims 21 and 22, Huang teaches methods wherein the sample is a FFPE tissue sample from a cancer patient, but does not teach methods wherein the sample is a blood sample and particularly a plasma sample.
However, Makrigiorgos teaches that the methods for amplifying nucleic acids in the presence of a wildtype blocking oligonucleotide to detect a genetic alteration can be applied to a blood sample or a plasma sample (i.e., a cell-free blood sample; e.g., para [0002], [0047-0048] and [0051]). Makrigiorgos (para [0002]) states: “identification of tumor-circulating DNA in blood of cancer patients (where people are suspected of having cancer, to track the success of cancer treatment or to detect relapse) in the presence of a large excess of wild-type alleles.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Huang so as to have used a blood or plasma sample because this would have provided the benefit that such samples can be obtained in a non-invasive manner and could be used to monitor cancer and response to treatment, as taught by Makrigiorgos.
Regarding claim 23, Huang does not teach treating the sample with a reagent that selectively modifies non-methylated cytosine residues to produce detectable modified residues but which does not modify methylated cytosine residues.
However, Makrigiorgos teaches that the method of PCR amplification in the presence of the wildtype blocking oligonucleotide can be used to detect whether methylation has occurred in a target sequence (para [0052]). It is stated that “(t)he methylation detection method comprises a chemical or enzymatic approach for methylation-sensitive treatment of DNA” (para [0052]). It is disclosed that the DNA may be treated with sodium bisulfite to selectively convert non-methylated cytosines to uracils (para [0052]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Huang so as to have treated the sample with sodium bisulfite to selectively modify non-methylated cytosine residues, prior to performing PCR, for the advantage set forth by Makrigiorgos of that the method could then be used to detect differential methylation of a target nucleic acid.
Regarding claim 28, Huang does not teach that the subject is one who is in remission from cancer.
However, Makrigiorgos teaches the need to detect mutations that are present at low levels, such as to detect relapse in cancer patients (para [0002]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have specifically applied the method of Huang to a cancer patient that is currently in remission, as suggested by the teachings of Makrigiorgos. One would have been motivated to have done so in order to aid in monitoring relapse of the patient by detecting a mutation correlated with the tumor and thereby with the occurrence of relapse.
15. Claim(s) 8 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al (Molecular and Cellular Probes. 2010. 24: 376-380; cited in the IDS of 11/22/2024), as evidenced by Cline et al (Nucleic Acids Research. 1996. 24(18): 3546-3551; cited in the IDS of 11/22/2024), and further in view of Albitar et al (J visualized Experiments. 2017. 121: e55130, 8 pages; cited in the IDS of 11/22/2024).
The teachings of Huang are presented above.
Regarding clam 8, Huang does not specifically teach removing the blocking oligonucleotide from the amplification product prior to sequencing the amplification product.
However, Albitar teaches methods of performing wild-type blocking PCR (WTB-PCR) using blocking oligonucleotides that comprise LNAs (p. 2). Albitar teaches removing the blocking oligonucleotide from the PCR amplification mixture following amplification and prior to sequencing (e.g., p. 3 “5. Purification of PCR Product by magnetic beads; and Figure 3). It is stated at p. 4:
“A characteristic drop-off in signal intensity (Figure 3) is often seen if too high a concentration of blocker is used or if post-PCR purification failed to remove blocker prior to bi-directional sequencing. The latter is demonstrated when magnetic bead purification is substituted for enzymatic purification. Though enzymatic purification is an attractive option when working with greater sample numbers, it is inappropriate for application with WTB-PCR as it fails to remove blocker from solution prior to sequencing.”
In view of the teachings of Albitar, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Huang so as to have removed the blocking oligonucleotide from the amplification product. One would have been motivated to have done so because Albitar teaches that the presence of the wildtype blocking oligonucleotide, particularly if at high concentrations, can interfere with the sequencing of the amplification products
Regarding claim 13, Huang does not teach that all of the nucleotides in the blocking oligonucleotides are LNAs.
Albitar provides guidance as to how to design the most effective blocking oligonucleotides. For example, Albitar (p. 2) teaches:
In view of the teachings of Albitar, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized the blocking oligonucleotides used in the method of Huang so as to have selected the appropriate number of LNA nucleotides to be included in the blocking oligonucleotides, including using a LNA at each position in the blocking oligonucleotide, so as to ensure the highest level of affinity of the blocking oligonucleotide to the reference / wildtype nucleic acid and distinction between the melting temperature of the blocking oligonucleotide bound to reference / wildtype nucleic acid as compared to target / mutant nucleic acid. Albitar teaches the parameters of the LNA blocking oligonucleotide which affect its ability to suppress amplification of reference / wildtype nucleic acids, including length of the blocking oligonucleotide, sequence of the blocking oligonucleotide and concentration of the blocking oligonucleotide (e.g., p. 2). One would have been motivated to have incorporated an optimum number of LNAs in the blocking oligonucleotide, including using a LNA for each of the nucleotides in the blocking oligonucleotide, in order to have accomplished the objective set forth by Albitar of optimizing the blocking of amplification of the reference / wildtype nucleic acid to ensure the sensitive detection of small quantities of mutated nucleic acids in a sample.
16. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al (Molecular and Cellular Probes. 2010. 24: 376-380; cited in the IDS of 11/22/2024), as evidenced by Cline et al (Nucleic Acids Research. 1996. 24(18): 3546-3551; cited in the IDS of 11/22/2024), and further in view of Nelson (WO2021/050100, published 18 March 2022, filed 22 January 2020; cited in the IDS of 03/20/2025).
The teachings of Huang are presented above.
Regarding claim 13, Huang does not teach that all of the nucleotides in the blocking oligonucleotides are LNAs.
However, Nelson (e.g., [0412-0415]) teaches methods for detecting a genetic alteration of interest in a target nucleic acid by performing PCR in the presence of a blocking oligonucleotide. It is disclosed that “The blocking oligonucleotide is a locked nucleic acid (LNA) and all nucleotides of the blocking oligonucleotide are locked nucleotides. The locked nucleotides comprised an extra methylene bridge fixed to the ribose moiety either in the C3'-endo (beta-D-LNA) or C2'-endo (alpha-L-LNA) conformation” (para [0418]). See also para [0244]: “In some embodiments, all of the nucleotides of a blocking oligonucleotide are locked nucleotides.” Nelson (para [0242]) also states “Locked nucleotides are modified nucleotide bases that when present in a hybridized nucleic acid, increase the melting temperature of the hybridized duplex compared to the melting temperature of the same duplex that consists of only naturally occurring nucleotide bases.”
In view of the teachings of Nelson, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized the blocking oligonucleotides used in the method of Huang so as to have used a blocking nucleotide in which a LNA was incorporated at each position in the blocking oligonucleotide. One would have been motivated to have done so for the benefit set forth by Nelson of enhancing the affinity of the blocking oligonucleotide for the reference / wildtype nucleic acid and increasing the difference between the melting temperature of the blocking oligonucleotide bound to reference / wildtype nucleic acid as compared to target / mutant nucleic acid.
/CARLA J MYERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682