DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8, 10, 13, 16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landskroon et al. (US 20200080270 A1, “Landskroon”) in view of Jongsma et al. (WO 2021006735 A2, “Jongsma”).
Regarding claim 1, Landskroon discloses system for assessing soil properties, comprising one or more test tools, wherein a test tool of the one or more test tools includes: an elongated housing including a first end and a second end opposite the first end; a sensing section including: a cone penetrometer test (CPT) tool protruding from the first end of the housing ([0041], measuring probe comprises a conical nose section for measuring cone tip resistance) ([0037], soil probing device comprises a probing rod and a measuring probe. The probing rod and measuring probe are pushed downwardly into the ground), a first seismic sensor housed in the housing and configured to sense seismic waves([0050], measuring probe includes two detectors that is designed to detect generated compression and shear waves that have travelled through the ground layers)(Fig. 6, [0034], soil probing device may contain two detectors and two generators), one or more circuits housed in the housing and configured to process output of the first seismic sensor ([0042], inside the measuring probe is a CPU for processing data output by the detector),
Landskroon may not explicitly teach memory housed in the housing and coupled to the one or more circuits and configured to store data sensed by the sensing section; and a power source housed in the housing configured to provide power for the sensing section.
Jongsma teaches memory housed in the housing and coupled to the one or more circuits and configured to store data sensed by the sensing section ([0134], memory may comprise different types of sub-modules such as RAM for storing temporary data as well as a local memory); and a power source housed in the housing configured to provide power for the sensing section ([0056] cone rod unit comprises a power source).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of seismic sensor systems, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Landskroon, to include the memory and power source of Jongsma with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of storing data and providing power to the cone penetrometer test tool [0134][0056].
Regarding claim 2, Landskroon, as modified in view of Jongsma teaches the system of claim 1. Jongsma further teaches the sensing section further comprises: a communications interface coupled to the one or more circuits and disposed at the second end of the housing ([0053] control unit further comprises a communications unit that may enable wired or wireless communication).
Regarding claim 3, Landskroon, as modified in view of Jongsma teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the communications interface comprises a light transceiver, and the second end of the housing comprises an opening through which the light transceiver transmits and receives light(Implicit, [0053] control unit further comprises a communications unit that may enable wired or wireless communication. Wireless communications units may include optical communications).
Regarding claim 6, Landskroon, as modified in view of Jongsma teaches the system claim 1. Landskroon further teaches at least one seismic source configured to generate the seismic waves ([0038] measuring probe includes a built-in generator that alternatingly generates P-waves and S-waves).
Regarding claim 8, Landskroon, as modified in view of Jongsma teaches the system of claim 6. Landskroon further teaches the at least one seismic source comprises a first seismic source configured to generate P-waves and a second seismic source configured to generate S-waves (Fig. 6 [0034], illustrates the soil probing device with two generators, one of which being configured to generate compressional waves while the other is configured to generate shear waves).
Regarding claim 10, Landskroon, as modified in view of Jongsma teaches the system of claim 8. Landskroon further teaches wherein the second seismic source generates S waves that travel in a first direction and S waves that travel in a second direction substantially 180 degrees offset from the first direction(Fig. 6 [0034], illustrates the soil probing device with two generators, one of which being configured to generate compressional waves while the other is configured to generate shear waves)(Fig. 6 illustrates the shear wave generator generating shear waves in two directions which are offset from one another substantially by 180 degrees).
Regarding claim 13, Landskroon, as modified in view of Jongsma teaches the system of claim 1. Landkroon further teaches the sensing section further comprises: a second seismic sensor configured to sense the seismic waves, the second seismic sensor being housed in the housing and spaced apart from the first seismic sensor in a longitudinal direction of the housing(Fig. 6, [0050], measuring probe includes two detectors that is designed to detect generated compression and shear waves that have travelled through the ground layers).
Regarding claim 16, Landskroon, as modified in view of Jongsma teaches the system of claim 1. Jongsma further teaches the housing comprises a first section, a second section, a third section, and a fourth section, wherein the first section and the second section are detachably connected, the second section and the third section are detachably connected, and the third section and the fourth section are detachably connected(Fig. 2, control unit (150) is located in a section at one end of the device, intermediate rod unit (120) is another section, cone rod unit (110) is another section, cone rod interface unit (210) is another section, and cone (140) is another section).
Regarding claim 20, the claim is a device claim corresponding to claim 1 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landskroon in view of Jongsma and Farr et al. (US 20150372769 A1, “Farr”).
Regarding claim 4, Landskroon, as modified in view of Jongsma teaches the system of claim 3. Landskroon, as modified in view of Jongsma may not explicitly teach the light transceiver comprises a blue light modem.
Farr teaches the light transceiver comprises a blue light modem ([0039], primary emitter is an LED or array of LEDs preferably encompassing wavelengths within the blue color range).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of seismic sensor systems, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Landskroon, as modified in view of Jongsma to include the light transceiver of Farr with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of generating a signal to be transmitted through the medium [0039].
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landskroon in view of Jongsma and Albaghajati et al. (US 20170199525 A1, “Albaghajati”).
Regarding claim 5, Landskroon, as modified in view of Jongsma teaches the system of claim 1. Landskroon, as modified in view of Jongsma may not explicitly teach a drill comprising a carousel from which the test tool is deployed.
Albaghajati teaches a drill comprising a carousel from which the test tool is deployed ([0035]-[0037], drill assembly allows drilling a variety of types of boreholes in the soil for deploying the seismic sensors. Robot chassis includes a carousel that includes a series of sensor slots to allow deployment of multiple seismic sensors).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of seismic sensor systems, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Landskroon, as modified in view of Jongsma to include the drill and carousel of Albaghajati with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of drilling boreholes in order to implant a number of sensors in the soil [0037].
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landskroon in view of Jongsma, and Iranpour (US 20190011586 A1, “Iranpour”).
Regarding claim 14, Landskroon, as modified in view of Jongsma teaches the system of claim 6. Landskroon, as modified in view of Jongsma may not explicitly teach the one or more circuits comprises a first clock, and wherein the at least one seismic source is coupled to a second clock synchronized with the first clock.
Iranpour teaches the one or more circuits comprises a first clock, and wherein the at least one seismic source is coupled to a second clock synchronized with the first clock ([0095], sensor package may include a 3C accelerometer which may include one or more clocks. In situations where the 3C accelerometer includes multiple clocks, synchronization circuitry helps reduce deviations between the clocks).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of seismic sensor systems, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Landskroon, as modified in view of Jongsma to include the clock synchronization of Iranpour with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of accounting for any deviations between the plurality of clocks [0095].
Regarding claim 15, Landskroon, as modified in view of Jongsma and Iranpour teaches the system of claim 14. Iranpour teaches one or more of the first clock and the second clock comprises an atomic clock ([0109], source control unit may include a rubidium atomic clock).
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landskroon in view of Jongsma and Payor et al. (US 8773947 B2, “Payor”).
Regarding claim 17, Landskroon, as modified in view of Jongsma teaches the system of claim 2. Jongsma further teaches wherein the housing comprises a first section, a second section, a third section, and a fourth section, wherein the first section and the second section are detachably connected, the second section and the third section are detachably connected, and the third section and the fourth section are detachably connected (Fig. 2, control unit (150) is located in a section at one end of the device, intermediate rod unit (120) is another section, cone rod unit (110) is another section, cone rod interface unit (210) is another section, and cone (140) is another section); and wherein the first section comprises the communications interface (Fig. 2, [0053], (150) illustrates a control unit positioned at one end of the test string which includes communications unit (152)),
Landskroon further teaches wherein the sensing section further comprises a second seismic sensor configured to sense the seismic waves, the second seismic sensor being housed in the housing and spaced apart from the first seismic sensor in a longitudinal direction of the housing ([0050] soil probing device includes two detectors designed to detect compressional and shear waves, respectively. Both detectors are stacked on top of one another in a longitudinal manner); the fourth section comprises the first seismic sensor and the second seismic sensor ([0050] both the compressional and shear wave detector are placed on top of one another, with or without flexible connection)(Fig. 6 illustrates the conical tip being connected to both detectors, which implicitly indicates they belong to the same section which the examiner interprets as being equivalent to a fourth section). .
Landskroon, as modified in view of Jongsma may not explicitly teach teaches the second section comprises the power source, the third section comprises the one or more circuits and the memory.
Payor teaches the second section comprises the power source, the third section comprises the one or more circuits and the memory ([column 2, lines 40-45], to retrieve logged data, memory module may be attached after disassembling the probe)(Fig. 1 [column 6, lines 43-50], (3) illustrates a battery pack module, which is its own section and the examiner interprets to implicitly mean it is modular and therefore detachable).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of seismic sensor systems, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Landskroon, as modified in view of Jongsma to include the memory and power source modules of Payor with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of collected logged data and providing power to the device [column 2, lines 40-45], [column 6, lines 43-50].
Regarding claim 18, Landskroon, as modified in view of Jongsma and Payor teaches the system of claim 17. Jongsma further teaches wherein the first end of the housing from which the CPT tool protrudes is at an end of the fourth section, and wherein the second end of the housing is at an end of the first section(Fig. 2, [0053], (150) illustrates a control unit positioned at one end of the test string which includes communications unit (152))(Fig. 2, cone unit (140) is located at the bottom of the test string at an end which is opposite from control unit (150)).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jongsma in view of Landskroon, Payor, and Kumar (US 20130308424 A1, “Kumar”).
Regarding claim 21, Jongsma discloses a test tool, comprising: an elongated housing including a first section, a second section, a third section, and a fourth section, wherein the first section and the second section are detachably connected, the second section and the third section are detachably connected, and the third section and the fourth section are detachably connected(Fig. 2, control unit (150) is located in a section at one end of the device, intermediate rod unit (120) is another section, cone rod unit (110) is another section, cone rod interface unit (210) is another section, and cone (140) is another section); and a sensing section including: a cone penetrometer test (CPT) tool protruding from the fourth section(Fig. 2, [0086]CPT string comprises cone unit (140) is located at the bottom of the test string at an end which is opposite from control unit (150)); and a communications interface housed in the first section, coupled to the one or more circuits(Fig. 2, [0053], (150) illustrates a control unit positioned at one end of the test string which includes communications unit (152)).
Jongsma may not explicitly teach first and second seismic sensors housed in the fourth section and configured to sense seismic waves, wherein the first and second seismic sensors are spaced apart from one another in a longitudinal direction of the fourth section; one or more circuits housed in the third section and configured to process output of the first seismic sensor; memory housed in the third section, coupled to the one or more circuits, and configured to store data sensed by the sensing section; and the communications interface configured to wirelessly communicate with a corresponding communications interface on a drill that deploys the test tool; and wherein the test tool further comprises: a power source housed in the second section and configured to provide power for the sensing section.
Landskroon teaches first and second seismic sensors housed in the fourth section and configured to sense seismic waves, wherein the first and second seismic sensors are spaced apart from one another in a longitudinal direction of the fourth section (Fig. 6, [0050], measuring probe includes two detectors that is designed to detect generated compression and shear waves that have travelled through the ground layers) (it is the examiner’s interpretation that the two detectors may be incorporated into a 4th section); one or more circuits housed in the third section and configured to process output of the first seismic sensor (Fig. 2 (CPU) illustrates a central processing unit configured to analyze received data);
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of seismic sensor systems, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the test tool of Jongsma, to include the first and second seismic sensors of Landskroon with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of simultaneously receiving both compressional and shear waves [0050].
Jongsma, as modified in view of Landskroon may not explicitly teach memory housed in the third section, coupled to the one or more circuits, and configured to store data sensed by the sensing section; and the communications interface configured to wirelessly communicate with a corresponding communications interface on a drill that deploys the test tool; and wherein the test tool further comprises: a power source housed in the second section and configured to provide power for the sensing section.
Payor teaches memory housed in the third section, coupled to the one or more circuits, and configured to store data sensed by the sensing section; and wherein the test tool further comprises: a power source housed in the second section and configured to provide power for the sensing section. ([column 2, lines 40-45], to retrieve logged data, memory module may be attached after disassembling the probe)(Fig. 1 [column 6, lines 43-50], (3) illustrates a battery pack module, which is its own section and the examiner interprets to implicitly mean it is modular and therefore detachable).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of seismic sensor systems, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the test tool of Jongsma, as modified in view of Landskroon to include the memory and power source modules of Payor with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of collected logged data and providing power to the device [column 2, lines 40-45], [column 6, lines 43-50].
Jongsma, as modified in view of Landskroon and Payor may not explicitly teach the communications interface configured to wirelessly communicate with a corresponding communications interface on a drill that deploys the test tool;
Kumar teaches the communications interface configured to wirelessly communicate with a corresponding communications interface on a drill that deploys the test tool ([0028], downhole processor enables communication with the drill bit sensor and various exemplary seismic receivers)
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of seismic sensor systems, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the test tool of Jongsma, as modified in view of Landskroon and Payor to include the drill wireless communications of Kumar with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of enabling the sensors to perform various calculations to estimate parameters [0028].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 9, 11, and 12 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 7, Landskroon, as modified in view of Jongsma teaches the system of claim 6. Landskroon, as modified in view of Jongsma may not explicitly teach comprising a drill comprising a carousel from which the test tool is deployed, wherein the drill comprises a plurality of retractable legs, and wherein the at least one seismic source is mounted to at least one retractable leg of the plurality of retractable legs.
Albaghajati teaches a drill comprising a carousel from which the test tool is deployed ([0035]-[0037], drill assembly allows drilling a variety of types of boreholes in the soil for deploying the seismic sensors. Robot chassis includes a carousel that includes a series of sensor slots to allow deployment of multiple seismic sensors).
Landskroon, as modified in view of Jongsma and Albaghajati may not explicitly teach the drill comprises a plurality of retractable legs, and wherein the at least one seismic source is mounted to at least one retractable leg of the plurality of retractable legs.
Gregg et al. (US 11643886 B2, “Gregg”) teaches the drill comprises a plurality of retractable legs, and wherein the at least one seismic source is mounted to at least one retractable leg of the plurality of retractable legs ([column 23, lines 63-67]-[column 24, lines 1-3] one or more support legs include a plurality of legs which are height adjustable to accommodate for surface irregularities encountered by the rig, however none of Landskroon, Jongsma, Albaghajati, nor Gregg teaches at least one seismic sensor being mounted to at least one retractable leg, nor do any identified prior art teach any aspects of the limitation in part with sufficient motivation to combine).
Regarding claims 9, 11, and 12, the claims are indicated as containing allowable subject matter due to their respective dependency upon a claim indicated as containing allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record though not relied upon in the present basis of rejection are noted in the attached PTO 892 and include:
Clark et al. (WO 2018162988 A2) which discloses a foot structure for an underwater drilling device
Goujon et al. (US 20170146673 A1) which discloses an ground-implantable seismic sensor
/CHRISTOPHER RICHARD WALKER/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645