DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
A new claim set was filed on 8/25/26 with the following:
Amended claims
1-2, 5-10, 12-14
Newly canceled claims
16-20
Newly added claims
21-25
Previously canceled claims
Previously withdrawn claims
16-20, now canceled
Claims under instant examination
1-15, 21-25
Withdrawn Claim Objections/Rejections
All rejections pertaining to claims 16-20 are moot because the claims were cancelled in view of the amendments filed on 8/25/26.
The objections to claims 6, 9-10, 12 and 14 for minor informalities are hereby withdrawn in view of the claim amendments filed on 8/25/26.
The rejections of claims 2, 5-6, 9 and 12-14 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention are hereby withdrawn in view of the claim amendments filed on 8/25/26.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 22-25 directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: Claims 22-25 are directed to a distinct invention, as it requires a different combination of ingredients compared to the composition of claim 1 (i.e., elected group); specifically, claim 22 does not require the active agent, CBD, and excludes ethanol, both of which are required by instant claim 1. See prior art of record, Gabizon et al., which teaches the common technical feature of claims 1 and 22.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 22-25 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Drawing Objection
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show “a)”, “b)” and “c)” in Figure 2, as well as the one, two or three asterisks. The drawing and specification are silent with regards to the meaning of a, b, c and one, two or three asterisks. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Modified, New and Maintained Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-15 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gabizon et al. (US 2015/0044314; published: 2/12/15; of record), in view of Bassaganya-Riera et al. (US 2021/0251894; published: 8/19/21; in IDS dated 3/12/24).
Examiner’s Note: As indicated in MPEP 2111.03, the transitional phrase “consisting essentially of” limits the scope of a claim to the specified materials or steps “and those that do not materially affect the basic and novel characteristic(s)” of the claimed invention. In re Herz, 537 F.2d 549, 551-52, 190 USPQ 461, 463 (CCPA 1976). For the purposes of searching for and applying prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103, absent a clear indication in the specification or claims of what the basic and novel characteristics actually are, “consisting essentially of” will be construed as equivalent to “comprising.” See, e.g., PPG, 156 F.3d at 1355, 48USPQ2d at 1355. The instant specification fails to specify materials or steps that do not materially affect the basic and novel characteristics of the claimed invention, and is further devoid of the term “consisting essentially of”. If an applicant contends that additional steps or materials in the prior art are excluded by the recitation of “consisting essentially of,” applicant has the burden of showing that the introduction of additional steps or components would materially change the characteristics of applicant’s invention. In re De Lajarte, 337 F.2d 870, 143 USPQ 256 (CCPA 1964).
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Gabizon is directed to pomegranate oil for preventing and treating neurodegenerative diseases [Title].
With regards to instant claims 1, 3-4, 8 and 15, Gabizon teaches formulations for oral administration comprising the therapeutically active pomegranate seed oil, punicic acid fraction thereof into self-emulsifying composition (self-emulsifying drug delivery systems; SEDDS) and wherein said formulation further comprises additives such as mannitol [0088]. Gabizon teaches that the pomegranate seed oil comprises at least 50% punicic acid [claim 2]. Gabizon teaches that the abovementioned formulation is used to treat neurodegenerative diseases [see entire reference; e.g., abstract, claims].
With regards to instant claim 10, the language in [0088] makes it clear that the mannitol is not required to be present in the formulation (”mannitol may also be used”).
With regards to instant claim 11, Gabizon teaches wherein the composition further comprises a therapeutically acceptable diluent or carrier [0032].
With regards to instant claims 1, 12 and 14, Gabizon teaches that the pomegranate oil SEDDS is prepared by: 250 mg of Pomegranate oil, 350 mg of Tween 80, 155 mg of Span 80 and 50 μl of ethanol were mixed by a magnetic stirrer for 20 min, 10 μl of the mixture was then added to 3 ml of deionized water and vortexed for 30-60 seconds an emulsion with nano-sized droplets [0136].
Ascertainment of the Difference Between the Scope of the Prior Art and Claims
(MPEP §2141.012)
Although Gabizon teaches incorporating therapeutically active agents (see, for e.g., claim 17), Gabizon does not teach incorporating CBD and specifically in an amount ranging from 1 mg to 125 mg, as required by instant claim 1. Gabizon does not teach the ratio between CBD and the pomegranate or snake gourd oil (e.g., 1:250-1:1, 1:120-1:1, or 1:12), as required by instant claims 2 and 5-6. However, such deficiency is cured by Bassaganya-Riera.
Bassaganya-Riera is directed to beverage compositions comprising water, lecithin, a punicic acid-containing oil, and a cannabinoid-containing oil. Bassaganya-Riera teaches that although CBD is not soluble in water, when vigorously mixed with water and pomegranate seed oil, CBD becomes immiscible [Figs. 3-6]. Bassaganya-Riera teach that punicic acid and cannabinoid synergistically decrease inflammation, can maintain or increase glucose uptake in CD4+ T-cells [claims]. With regards to the claimed ratio of pomegranate oil to full spectrum cannabis oil or CBD, Bassaganya-Riera teaches that the punicic acid-containing oil (e.g., pomegranate seed oil) is present in the composition in an amount ranging from 0.0001-5% w/v and the cannabinoid-containing oil (e.g., full spectrum cannabis oil or CBD) is present in the composition in an amount ranging from 0.001-5% w/v, which reads on, e.g., 1:1 or 1:12. As indicated in MPEP §2144.05(I): “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists.”
Gabizon does not teach in a particular embodiment wherein the punicic acid-SEDDS is formulated using snake gourd oil, as required by instant claim 7.
However, Gabizon teaches that punicic acid is also known as trichosanic acid and is found in the seed oil of Punica granatum (Punicaceae, Pomegranate) and Trichosanthes anguina (Cucurbitaceae, snake gourd) [0055].
With regards to instant claim 13, Gabizon teaches that formulating the pomegranate oil or fractions thereof into emulsions via a homogenizer [see Examples] and such significantly enhances the stability [0021]. Gabizon also teaches that the pomegranate oil within the emulsion is highly stable [0143], but they do not specifically teach the amount of time that it remains homogenous without phase separation, such as for 4 weeks at 40 °C, as required by instant claim 13. However, since the prior art comprises the same compounds at the approximately the same concentrations, the composition taught by Gabizon and Bassaganya-Riera must necessarily have the same physical/chemical characteristics as the instant composition; i.e., be capable of remaining homogenous for 4 weeks at 40 °C. When the structure taught by the reference is identical or substantially identical to that of the claims, the claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
Gabizon and Bassaganya-Riera are both directed to punicic acid-containing compositions. Based on these teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the punicic acid-containing SEDSS of Gabizon by further incorporating a cannabinoid (e.g., CBD) in a 1:1 w/v ratio to pomegranate seed oil to achieve the predictable result of obtaining a composition suitable for providing therapeutic effects. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Bassaganya-Riera teaches that the combination of punicic acid and CBD is advantageous for providing a synergistic anti-inflammatory effect.
With regards to instant claims 7, based on these teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute one punicic acid for another, each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose (punicic acid from Punica granatum (Punicaceae, Pomegranate) and Trichosanthes anguina (Cucurbitaceae, snake gourd) for the purpose of a biological effect in neurodegenerative diseases), in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose (See MPEP 2144.06).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Thus, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim 9 remains rejected and claim 21 is newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gabizon et al. (US 2015/0044314; published: 2/12/15; of record) and Bassaganya-Riera et al. (US 2021/0251894; published: 8/19/21; in IDS dated 3/12/24) as applied to claims 1-8 and 10-15 above, and further in view of Hassan (US 2021/0069113; published: 3/11/21; of record).
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Gabizon and Bassaganya-Riera teach the limitations of instant claims 1-8 and 10-15 (see rejection above for details).
Ascertainment of the Difference Between the Scope of the Prior Art and Claims
(MPEP §2141.012)
Although Gabizon teaches incorporation of mannitol into its SEDDS composition, Gabizon does not teach wherein the total amount of mannitol is between 250 mg to 18 g per day, as required by instant claim 9. However, such deficiency is cured by Hassan.
Hassan is directed to solid unit dosage form for dose individualized drug delivery [Title]. Hassan teaches that such delivery system can be a self-emulsifying drug delivery system (SEDDS), like that of Gabizon. Hassan teaches that mannitol is a filler and is present in an amount ranging from 0.01 to 40% by weight of the solid unit dosage [0023], such as 20 wt% in SEDDS described in Example 25.
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
The amount of mannitol is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and would reasonably expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal amount of mannitol in order to best achieve the desired results as such would provide advantageous formulation. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to engage in routine experimentation to determine optimal or workable ranges that produce expected results. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the amount of mannitol provides the basis (i.e., behaves as a filler) for the formulation and therefore be an optimizable variable.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Thus, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments have been fully considered, but are not found persuasive.
Applicants argue that Gabizon and Bassaganya-Riera are directed to incompatible platforms; specifically, the presence or absence of water [Remarks: p. 8-9].
This is not found persuasive. In response, it appears that Applicants are arguing that these two references are non-analgous art. In response to such, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Gabizon teaches a composition comprising all of the claimed ingredients except for CBD and Bassaganya-Riera teaches a composition comprising the claimed punicic acid-containing oil and CBD. Therefore, the Examiner maintains that such references are in the field of the inventor’s endeavor (i.e., the claimed composition).
Applicants argue that Gabizon teaches away from an aqueous system and Bassaganya-Riera is directed to compositions comprising oils that are stably suspended in water [Remarks: p. 8-9].
This is not found persuasive. In response, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In the instant rejection, the Examiner indicates that it would be obvious to add the CFB taught by Bassaganya-Riera into the pomegranate seed oil-containing composition of Gabizon because Bassaganya-Riera teaches that the combination of punicic acid (e.g., in pomegranate seed oil) and CBD is advantageous for providing a synergistic anti-inflammatory effect. Such provides a motivation, teaching and suggestion and the Examiner is not suggested adding the water taught in Bassaganya-Riera into the non-aqueous composition of Gabizon.
Applicants argue that Gabizon does not suggest any of the recited actives, and the co-agents it names point elsewhere [Remarks: p. 10].
This is not found persuasive. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Since the instant rejection is an obviousness-type rejection, none of the references (i.e., Gabizon and Bassaganya-Riera) has to teach each and every claim limitation. It is the combination of the prior art references that renders the instant claims prima facie obvious and applicants did not provide any evidence that one of skill in the art would not have been motivated or would not have reasonably expected to be successful in arriving at the claimed invention as set forth in the rejection above. In the instant case, Bassaganya-Riera is relied upon for a teaching, suggestion and motivation of CBD.
Applicants argue that Bassaganya-Riera supplies no reasonable expectation of success for the claimed use [Remarks: p. 10-11]; specifically, the motivation relied upon in the rejection is synergy reported in Bassaganya-Riera, which is anti-inflammatory and immunometabolic in character and is no respect neuroprotective.
This is not found persuasive. In response, the instantly examined claims are directed to a composition and not a method of using (e.g., a method of providing neuroprotection). It is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., treatment of neurodegenerative disease) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Furthermore, Applicant is reminded that a rationale different from Applicant’s is permissible under 35 USC 103. MPEP 2144 states: The reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See, e.g., In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 987, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006) (motivation question arises in the context of the general problem confronting the inventor rather than the specific problem solved by the invention); Cross Med. Prods., Inc. v. Medtronic Sofamor Danek, Inc., 424 F.3d 1293, 1323, 76 USPQ2d 1662, 1685 (Fed. Cir. 2005) ("One of ordinary skill in the art need not see the identical problem addressed in a prior art reference to be motivated to apply its teachings."); In re Lintner, 458 F.2d 1013, 173 USPQ 560 (CCPA 1972) (discussed below); In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 500 U.S. 904 (1991). In the instant case, the examiner has addressed the obviousness of each limitation recited in the claim and the rejection is therefore proper under 35 USC 103.
Applicants argue that the recited ratio is not disclosed and is not the product of routine optimization [Remarks: p. 11-12]. Applicants indicate that arriving at the specific ratio constitutes impermissible hindsight reasoning.
This is not found persuasive. It is first noted that Applicants state that deriving a ratio of the two claimed ingredients from the teachings in Bassaganya-Riera that each ingredient can be present in a range from 0.0001% to 5% w/v equates to a ratio spanning approximately five orders of magnitude. The Examiner does not dispute that fact, but reminds Applicant that the instantly claimed ratio (see claim 1) spans an order of magnitude even larger (1:250 to 1:1), which signifies that the ratio can be wildly variable and still be an effective composition and is not critical. In fact, as indicated in the MPEP 2131.03, the Examiner should analyze what constitutes a “sufficient specificity” in order to determine if such teaching is either anticipatory or obvious; this determination takes into account the size of the ranges, extent of overlap and criticality of the claimed range relative to the prior art range. In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Applicants argue that the claimed combination produces a result the applied art does not predict; directing attention to [00192-00195] and Figure 2 [Remarks: p. 12].
This is not found persuasive. In response to Applicants’ argument of unexpected results, the Examiner responds with the following statements:
(a) It is not clear from the test data provided in the specification that there is a synergistic effect. It is first noted that it is unclear what “a)”, “b)” and “c)” refer to in Figure 2, as well as the one, two or three asterisks. It is likely that the asterisks denote statistical significance, but such is not described in the drawing or specification. Also, controls of pomegranate only and CBD only groups are needed to determine synergism.
(b) Evidence of unexpected properties may be in the form of a direct or indirect comparison of the claimed invention with the closest prior art which is commensurate in scope with the claims (See MPEP § 716.02(b)-III). In the instant case, the closest prior art (Gabizon) teach the claimed composition minus the incorporation of CBD. However, the data presented by the Applicants compare the instant inventive composition with a 12:1 pomegranate: CBD ratio to no post-MK 801 treatment (MK 801 only) or baseline (neutral group) or random (33%). The results do not show that the inventive composition provides results that are significantly different than that taught by the closest prior art (i.e., no statistical analysis is provided to indicate how the data presented was validated). The Examiner directs attention to MPEP § 716.02(b)-I, which states:
The evidence relied * > upon < should establish “that the differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance.” Ex parte Gelles, 22 USPQ2d 1318, 1319 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992) (Mere conclusions in appellants’ brief that the claimed polymer had an unexpectedly increased impact strength “are not entitled to the weight of conclusions accompanying the evidence, either in the specification or in a declaration.”); Ex parte C, 27 USPQ2d 1492 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992) (Applicant alleged unexpected results with regard to the claimed soybean plant, however there was no basis for judging the practical significance of data with regard to maturity date, flowering date, flower color, or height of the plant.). See also In re Nolan, 553 F.2d 1261, 1267, 193 USPQ 641, 645 (CCPA 1977) and In re Eli Lilly, 902 F.2d 943, 14 USPQ2d 1741 (Fed. Cir. 1990) as discussed in MPEP § 716.02(c).
In the instant case, it is not clear from the test data that there is a statistical difference between the applicants’ invention and the comparable compositions.
(c) Whether the unexpected results are the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the “objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support.” In other words, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range (see MPEP § 716.02(d)). In the instant case, the broadest claim is directed to a composition comprising at least 20% 9w.w) of SEDDS which is consisting essentially of pomegranate seed or snake gourd oil comprising at least 20% (w/w) punicic acid, polysorbate 80, sorbitan monoleate and ethanol and wherein the composition further comprises CBD in an amount ranging from 1 mg to 125 mg. The broadest claim does not narrow the weight ratio of CBD to pomegranate seed or snake gourd oil. Based on the description of the treatment group “pomegranate/CBD”, it is not clear what other ingredients are in the composition and in what concentration. For example, are the other abovementioned claimed ingredients in the treatment group composition?
Applicants argue claim 13 as amended does not read on any inherent property of the cited compositions [Remarks: p. 13].
This is not found persuasive. The 103 rejection has been modified to incorporate teachings from the prior art that read on the structural limitations of the instant claims. To rebut Applicants argument, the Examiner directs attention to (1) MPEP 2112.01 which states: when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent; (2) Persion Pharmaceutical v. Alvogen Malta Operations (2019), which states: “To the extent Persion contends that inherency can only satisfy a claim limitation when all other limitations are taught in a single reference, that position is contrary to our prior recognition that inherency may supply a missing claim limitation in an obviousness analysis where the limitation at issue is the natural result of the combination of prior art elements” (p. 12-13) and (3) MPEP 2112 IV which states: But see, Persion Pharms. LLC v. Alvogen Malta Operations LTD., 945 F.3d 1184, 1191, 2019 USPQ2d 494084 (Fed. Cir. 2019), where the court stated that a proper finding of inherency does not require that all limitations are taught in a single reference, and that inherency may meet a missing claim limitation when the limitation is “the natural result of the combination of prior art elements.” (emphasis in original). The court found that pharmacokinetic limitations of the asserted claims were inherently met by combining prior art references because the limitations were necessarily present in the prior art combination. Id. See also Hospira, Inc. v. Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC, 946 F.3d 1322, 1329-32, 2020 USPQ2d 6227 (Fed. Cir. 2020). Such support the position the Examiner has with such stability limitations being an inherent feature of the composition taught by the prior art.
Applicants argue that optimization reasoning requires that the prior art recognize the parameter in question as one which affects the result sought to be optimized, whereas Hassan recognizes mannitol solely as a bulking and granulation aid bearing upon bead formation and hardness, and is wholly silent as to any effect of mannitol upon neuroprotective efficacy [Remarks: p. 14-15].
This is not found persuasive. In response, the instantly examined claims are directed to a composition and not a method of using (e.g., a method of providing neuroprotection); and specifically, does not claim that the mannitol ingredient is one that provides neuroprotection. It is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., treatment of neurodegenerative disease) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In the instant case, the examiner directs attention to the teachings in Hassan, which first generally teach a similar technology to Gabizon and the claims: drug delivery via a self-emulsifying drug delivery system. Secondly, Hassan teaches that mannitol is incorporated in such drug delivery system as a filler and can be present in a wide range (0.01-40% by weight). As indicated in the above 103 rejection, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the amount of mannitol provides the basis (i.e., behaves as a filler) for the formulation and therefore be an optimizable variable. It is well known in the pharmaceutical industry that fillers are used to add inert bulk volume; clearly the amount of filler could be adjusted to change the bulk volume. Furthermore, Applicant is reminded that a rationale different from Applicant’s is permissible under 35 USC 103. MPEP 2144 states: The reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See, e.g., In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 987, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006) (motivation question arises in the context of the general problem confronting the inventor rather than the specific problem solved by the invention); Cross Med. Prods., Inc. v. Medtronic Sofamor Danek, Inc., 424 F.3d 1293, 1323, 76 USPQ2d 1662, 1685 (Fed. Cir. 2005) ("One of ordinary skill in the art need not see the identical problem addressed in a prior art reference to be motivated to apply its teachings."); In re Lintner, 458 F.2d 1013, 173 USPQ 560 (CCPA 1972) (discussed below); In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 500 U.S. 904 (1991).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GENEVIEVE S ALLEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617