Status of Claims
Currently claims 1-10 are pending and claims 1-10 are amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 6, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “cleaning fluid:” in line 3, this is double inclusion as the cleaning fluid is already claimed in 1.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "compressed air" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “cleaning fluid:” in line 4, this is double inclusion as the cleaning fluid is already claimed in 1.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "compressed air" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Rachow (U.S. 2020/0061643).
With respect to claim 1, Rachow discloses a cleaning apparatus for cleaning an exposed surface of a sensor apparatus of a vehicle (abstract and paragraph 0006, figures 1-6), the cleaning apparatus comprising;
a hydraulic device (flow path 40) configured to apply a cleaning fluid (within 40) to the exposed surface (via the nozzles of 14); and
a pneumatic device (flow path of 48) configured to apply an air flow to the exposed surface (via 18),
wherein the hydraulic device and the pneumatic device are combined in a common housing (the housing shown in figure 1 of assembly 10) extends extending along at least one edge of the exposed surface (as the system extending about cleaning target 20).
With respect to claim 2, Rachow discloses the hydraulic device comprises at least one hydraulic channel (being the channel of 40), and wherein the pneumatic device comprises at least one pneumatic channel (being the channel of 48) structurally separate from the at least one hydraulic channel (as shown in figures 3-5).
With respect to claim 3, Rachow discloses the at least one pneumatic channel has a cross-section (cross section in figure 5, at where 48 is indicating, at its largest point) larger than a cross-section of the at least one hydraulic channel (as shown in figure 3, where there is a smaller cross section between the bottom 18’s and that of 32 for the fluid in 40 to flow around; specifically, there are areas of 48 that are wider and larger in their cross section then areas of 40).
With respect to claim 4, Rachow discloses the housing comprises a first housing part (22) and a second housing part (24 with 26), and wherein the at least one hydraulic channel and the at least one pneumatic channel are formed by connecting together the first housing part and the second housing part (as the first and second channels are enclosed when the device as shown in figure 2 is put together as shown in figure 1).
With respect to claim 5, Rachow discloses a first row of nozzles (nozzles 14), configured for simultaneous spraying of cleaning fluid (fluid liquid from 14), arranged along the at least one hydraulic channel (along 40).
With respect to claim 6, Rachow discloses a second row of nozzles (18), configured for simultaneous expulsion of compressed air (from 46), arranged along the at least one pneumatic channel (from 48, see figure 5).
With respect to claim 7, Rachow discloses the first row of nozzles the second row of nozzles are configured as openings in a housing wall of the housing (as best shown in figure 3, being the opening in the side wall of the housing section 24).
With respect to claim 8, Rachow discloses the at least one hydraulic channel comprises a hydraulic connection (connection at 42) for simultaneous supply with cleaning fluid at each end among opposite ends thereof (as each end among the opposite ends would receive the cleaning fluid supplied there to simultaneously being equal distance from the middle supply port).
With respect to claim 9, Rachow discloses the at least one pneumatic channel comprises a pneumatic connection (the two connections at 30) for simultaneous supply with compressed air at each end among opposite ends thereof (as the air supply is supplied to each end).
With respect to claim 10, Rachow discloses the first row of nozzles and the second row of nozzles are arranged orthogonally relative to the exposed surface (as shown in figure 1) and transversely offset to one another (as shown in figures 1 and 3, where the nozzles of 18 and 14, are offset from one another transversely along the side wall of the housing).
Conclusion
/JOSEPH A GREENLUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752