DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment filed July 16th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-2, 4, 7-9, and 18-19 have been amended.
The Section 102/103 rejections over Jung as made in the Office action mailed April 24th, 2026 have been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments.
The Section 102/103 rejections over Kim CN as made in the Office action mailed April 24th, 2026 have been partially withdrawn (those in view of Jung) and partially maintained due to Applicant’s amendments. The rejections have been updated to reflect Applicant’s amendments and reapplied as recited below.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 9-10 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons:
The related inventions are distinct if: (1) the inventions as claimed are either not capable of use together or can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect; (2) the inventions do not overlap in scope, i.e., are mutually exclusive; and (3) the inventions as claimed are not obvious variants. See MPEP § 806.05(j). In the instant case, the inventions as claimed the sealant layer has been removed. Furthermore, the inventions as claimed do not encompass overlapping subject matter and there is nothing of record to show them to be obvious variants.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 9-10 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 16th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Kim CN, Applicant argues that since nickel (of the plating layer) is provided between the copper and magnesium that would form intermetallic compounds that the three materials are melted and mixed together as taught by Kim CN [0074] does not meet the requirements for a solid solution comprising a chemical element of the conducting layer and a chemical element of the magnesium alloy. The Examiner disagrees.
Applicant seems to be interpreting the term “solid solution” more narrowly than is disclosed by specification. Applicant is referring to a specific embodiment of a solid solution regarding the ternary Mg-Cu-Zn system [0090-0091, 0127], but more broadly discloses heteroatoms generated/formed by ultrasonic welding, wherein the other material/intermediate alloy is not limited by the disclosure [PGPub; 0009, 0026], wherein a magnesium-copper solid solution is formed by ultrasonic point/spot welding. The disclosure further discloses that a nickel layer can be formed on two opposing surfaces of the base material of the conducting layer [PGPub; 0096]. The solid solution as disclosed would possibly not even eliminate the “undesirable” magnesium-copper intermetallic as described [PGPub; 0084] Applicant must be clearer within the claim to further narrow the term “solid solution” if they desire a more limited definition, such as the one argued.
Lastly, Zhao et al. (Simulation and Experimental Analysis of Different Interlayers in Cu-Mg Ultrasonic Welding) evidences that ultrasonic welding of Cu and Mg with an Ni interlayer exhibits a uniform distribution of Ni, Cu, and Mg at the weld interface (solid solution) [5. Conclusions], despite any intermetallic compounds being formed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 11, the transition layer being a solid solution is disclosed as being an exclusive embodiment to an electrically conductive adhesive layer [PGPub; 0009 & 0093].
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11, it is unclear how a transition region is an electrically conductive adhesive layer and also comprise a solid solution as claimed.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 3, it is unclear how a “welding point” could not be within a region corresponding to the connection through hole since a “welding region” is already disposed within a connection through hole. This does not further narrow the claim since a welding point is undifferentiated from a welding region.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-4 & 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Kim et al. (CN 107546505 A) (hereinafter “Kim CN”), OR, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kim in view of Kim et al. (KR 20180002478 A) (hereinafter “Kim KR 2018”), wherein claim 12 is evidenced by (or in view of) Chen et al. (CN 107227459 A) (hereinafter “Chen”) and wherein claim 13 is evidenced by (or in view of) Kim et al. (KR 102040290 B1) (hereinafter “Kim KR 2019”).
Regarding claims 1-4, Kim CN teaches an electronic communication device comprising a magnesium alloy casing having an insulting coating thereon that is removed to provide an electrical contact portion (through hole) for contact with an electrical clip (ground spring plate) that is prevented from being exposed by sealing/covering with an electrical connection terminal [0007-0010, 0015-0016, 0023, 0120], wherein the contact (conductive) layer of the electrical connection terminal is fixed to the housing via an adhesive layer (sealing material) followed by ultrasonic (not depicted) welding at two radial locations (All Figs. [40/42]) [0025, 0055, 0070-0074] that provide fusion of the copper alloy (conductive) core or the nickel plating alloy and the magnesium alloy of the casing (transition layer) within the height of the connection terminal for good electroconductivity [0074, 0099].
In the event that the through hole in the protective layer is not explicitly taught: Kim KR 2018 teaches an electronic communication device comprising a magnesium alloy casing having an insulating paint thereon, wherein before adhesively bonding and welding an electronical contact, the area of electrical connection has the insulation layer removed therefrom to expose the metal casing [0004, 0044], wherein the corrosion of the exposed mounting portion is prevented by being covered by the adhesively bonded and welded electrical contact terminal [0023, 0053, 0058].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide an exposed contact portion by removing an insulating layer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide a desired feature via a known method.
Regarding claim 12, while a specific alloy is not explicitly taught: Chen evidences/further teaches electronic devices [0027[ comprising magnesium alloys are alloys composed of magnesium as the main element with aluminum, with the addition of elements such as zinc, manganese, and cerium [0004], wherein if it is not inherent that zinc and/or manganese is part of a magnesium alloy, it would have been obvious to and motivated for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide a magnesium alloy electronic casings comprising typical components.
Regarding claim 13, while the composition of the insulting layer is not taught: Kim KR 2019 teaches a mobile electronic communication device comprising magnesium alloys [0002], wherein the insulating layers are anodization (i.e. oxide) layers [0003, 0078], wherein if it is not inherent that the insulating layer is an anodization/oxide layer, it would have been obvious to and motivated for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide a known insulating layer for magnesium alloy electronic device casings.
Claims 5-6 & 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim CN, optionally Kim KR, as applied to claims 1-4 above, Koo et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0310423 A1) (hereinafter “Koo”) and Berger et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0074312 A1) (hereinafter “Berger”).
Regarding claims 5-6 and 22-24, a concave portion forming at least part of the transition layer embedded in the magnesium alloy body and the remainder above is not taught as claimed.
Koo teaches an electronic device comprising a metal case portion having a conductive metal sheet is bonded thereto via adhesive and ultrasonic bonding forming one or more bonding portions having a recessed/groove shape which forms the fused portions facilitating bonding and generating interatomic regions [0052-0058, 0061], the latter of which is desired by Kim CN.
Berger teaches the joining of magnesium alloy and another non-magnesium sheet where galvanic corrosion is a concern, wherein in the region of overlap/bonding deformation is provided [0020, 0022-0024], wherein the filling of the deformation with resin/polymer increases strength and further prevents galvanic corrosion and unwanted migration of water or other debris [0024, 0035, 0046] and provided as a flush arrangement [0035, 0049, 0058].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the concave portion formed during ultrasonic welding and provided it with filling material in a flush arrangement. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide the melted/fused regions as desired by Kim CN [Koo], wherein the filling material strengthens the joint and further prevents galvanic corrosion [Berger].
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim CN, optionally Kim KR, and Jung, as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Szymanski et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0089976 A1) (hereinafter “Szymanski”).
Regarding claim 11, the adhesive layer is not described as at least in part to be electrically conductive.
Szymanski teaches a method of vibration welding, wherein joints between magnesium material and a non-magnesium material have a mixture of adhesive material and metallic conductive powder, such as copper, tin, and zinc, which provides an increased strength due to the reaction of the metallic powder with parent metals and may also improve corrosion properties of the joint [0008-0012, 0025].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the transition layer as an electrically conductive adhesive. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide increased joint strength and improved corrosion resistance.
Claims 1-4, 11, 13, 18-19, & 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue et al. (CN 210167512 U) (hereinafter “Xue”), in view of Koo et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0310423 A1) (hereinafter “Koo”) and/or Yang et al. (WO 2020/151275 A1) (hereinafter “Yang”), optionally (further) in view of Macwan et al. (Microstructure and mechanical properties of ultrasonic spot welded copper-to-magnesium alloy joints) (hereinafter “Macwan”) and Lai (CN 109365983 A) (hereinafter “Lai”), wherein claims 7-8 and 20-21 are (further) in view of Yang.
Regarding claims 1-4, 13, 18-19, and 22-23, Xue teaches an electronic component, such as a mobile phone [0004, 0026] comprising magnesium alloy body (All Figs. [10]) having a protective layer (All Figs. [20]), such as a chemically formed/leather film, micro-arc oxidation film, or anodic oxidation form [0018-0020, 0023, 0053], having disposed thereon a conductive sheet (All Figs. [30]) comprising a copper alloy [0015, 0049], wherein the protective layer having at least one through-hole corresponding to a weld point (All Figs. [40]), wherein the weld point forms a concave upper surface and a lower surface being embedded into the magnesium alloy body [0012-0013, 0045] inherently forming an solid solution (weld diffusion layer) comprising at least copper and magnesium, wherein the conductive sheet serves as a contact point for a metal spring [0004].
However, a sealant material (formed between the conducting layer and the protective layer) is not taught.
Koo teaches an electronic device comprising a metal pad/case portion (Figs. 12A-12B [3]) having a conductive metal sheet (Figs. 12A-12B [10]) bonded thereto to prevent galvanic corrosion or fretting corrosion during contact with a spring plate [0011, 0049] via adhesive layer (Figs. 12A-12B [50]) having holes for the formation of ultrasonic welding points ((Figs. 12A-12B [20]) forming one or more bonding portions having a recessed/groove shape which forms the fused portions, similar/identical to those of Xue, wherein the adhesive stably attaches the conductive metal sheet without falling off or moving during ultrasonic welding minimizing welding defects.
AND/OR
Yang teaches an electronic product, such as a mobile phone, comprising an aluminum or magnesium alloy [0002], wherein most of the metal surface is provided with a protective layer such as an anodized layer except for a portion corresponding to a corrosion and wear resistant electrically conductive contact [0016, 0041], such as a copper/bronze alloy [0013, 0039], wherein at any gap or potential gap between the protective layer and the contact structure(s) a sealing material is provided, which can be in the form of a glue/adhesive [0007, 0023, 0029, Fig. 3], wherein in a modified embodiment a groove is formed in the surface of the casing and the corrosion and wear resistant electrically conductive contact, the sealing material, and the protective layer are all formed substantially flush with each other, wherein the groove improves the flatness of the casing surface [0034-0035, Fig. 6].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide an adhesive sealant material, formed between the conducting layer and the protective layer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide stable attachment of the conductive metal sheet to the magnesium alloy body without falling off or moving during ultrasonic welding minimizing welding defects [Koo], which may further assist in or additional require adhesive sealing material [Yang].
In the event that a solid solution layer is not taught: Macwan teaches that embrittlement and shear-based failure can be caused due to the inherent formation of intermetallic compounds of Mg and Cu during ultrasonic welding thereof [3.3 Tensile lap shear strength & 4. Conclusions] and/or Koo also teaches a case wherein a metal layer formed of at least one metal of tin, zinc, silver, gold, copper, indium, bismuth, and nickel or an alloy including at least one of these metals formed between the metal sheet and the metal case portion, such as coating the metal sheet or case portion, in order to facilitate bonding thereof [0059-0061, Figs. 11B].
Lai teaches ultrasonic bonding magnesium alloy via a copper/brass alloy, wherein the magnesium alloy is prepped by removing the oxide film in the welding region via the ultrasonic welding tool, which allows for ultrasonic welding without flux and/or a vacuum environment [0004, 0010, 0026, 0044], wherein the formation of brittle intermetallic compounds is avoided forming a solid solution joint of Mg (Cu, Zn) [0006, 0011, 0016-0017, 0025, 0039, 0045-0049], which increases the shear strength of the joint [0054].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the copper alloy at least partially comprising the Cu-Zn based alloy and/or provide the Cu-Zn alloy as a bonding interlayer therebetween which would have formed a solid solution transition layer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide an ultrasonic weld that does not form brittle intermetallic compounds and/or increases the bonding strength of the weld.
Further regarding claims 1 and 22-23 and regarding claims 7-8 and 20-21, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide a sealant as the transition layer and/or adhesive sealant material at a radial portion and/or spacing formed between the portion of the through hole the conducting layer, preferably in a flush relationship as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to additionally seal any edge area of a contact surface [Yang; 0003], especially in a relationship that improves the flatness of the casing surface [Yang; 0034-0035].
Claims 5-6 & 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue in view of Koo, and optionally Yang and/or Macwan/Lai, as applied to claims 1 & 4 above, (even) further in view of Berger et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0074312 A1) (hereinafter “Berger”).
Regarding claims 5-6 and 24, the concave portion is not taught to be filled (and flush) as claimed.
Berger teaches the joining of magnesium alloy and another non-magnesium sheet where galvanic corrosion is a concern, wherein in the region of overlap/bonding deformation is provided [0020, 0022-0024], wherein the filling of the deformation with resin/polymer increases strength and further prevents galvanic corrosion and unwanted migration of water or other debris [0024, 0035, 0046] and provided as a flush arrangement [0035, 0049, 0058].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the concave portion formed during ultrasonic welding with filling material in a flush arrangement. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to strengthen the joint and further prevent galvanic corrosion [Berger].
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue in view of Koo and/or Yang and/or Macwan/Lai, as applied to claim 1 above, as evidenced by or (even) further in view of Chen et al. (CN 107227459 A) (hereinafter “Chen”).
Regarding claim 12, while a specific magnesium alloy is not explicitly taught: Chen evidences/further teaches electronic devices [0027[ comprising magnesium alloys are alloys composed of magnesium as the main element with aluminum, with the addition of elements such as zinc, manganese, and cerium [0004], wherein if it is not inherent that zinc and/or manganese is part of a magnesium alloy, it would have been obvious to and motivated for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide a magnesium alloy electronic casings comprising typical components.
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 11-13, & 18-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (CN 112134000 A) (hereinafter “Lin) in view of Li et al. (CN 110581344 A) (hereinafter “Li”) and Koo et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0310423 A1) (hereinafter “Koo”) and/or Yang et al. (WO 2020/151275 A1) (hereinafter “Yang”), and optionally Lai (CN 109365983 A) (hereinafter “Lai”).
Regarding claims 1-4, 7-8, 11-13, and 18-23, Lin teaches a mobile terminal, such as a mobile phone [0004] comprising a metal part such as die-cast aluminum (alloy) [0047], wherein a laser engraved area is provided on the surface of the metal part (connection through hole through inherent oxidized layer) or on the inner wall of a groove provided thereon, wherein a first conductive layer is provided integrally thereon [0037-0038], wherein the laser engraving area may or may not be formed when using welding in a vacuum environment, wherein the first conductive layer includes a copper substate having an upper layer of gold/silver plating [0041-0046], wherein the first conductive layer serves as a contact point for an elastic conductive element (spring plate) [0037-0038, 0043-0044].
However, a magnesium alloy is not taught, a protective layer is not explicitly taught, and in the event that a connection through-hole is not taught: Li teaches a mobile terminal casing for a device, such as a mobile phone [0009], wherein a magnesium-lithium alloy is lightweight and low-density, often die-cast as part of conductors to participate in the conduction of antenna lines, which oxidize when exposed to air [0004-0005, 0049-0050], wherein a feed point can be exposed via laser engraving [0070], and providing an additional layer via welding is done by ultrasonic or laser welding, wherein ultrasonic welding provides at least one concave welding point providing an embedded portion (solid solution layer) [0058, Fig. 4].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide ultrasonic welding through an inherent oxide layer, optionally within a removed area, in a magnesium-lithium alloy to provide a feed point for an antenna. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a magnesium(-lithium) alloy that is often used for antenna based structures due to it being light in weight and density (i.e. lower in cost), using at least one known welding technique providing an inherent structure.
Koo teaches an electronic device comprising a metal pad/case portion (Figs. 12A-12B [3]) having a conductive metal sheet (Figs. 12A-12B [10]) bonded thereto to prevent galvanic corrosion or fretting corrosion during contact with a spring plate [0011, 0049] via adhesive layer (Figs. 12A-12B [50]) having holes for the formation of ultrasonic welding points ((Figs. 12A-12B [20]) forming one or more bonding portions having a recessed/groove shape which forms the fused portions, similar/identical to those of Xue, wherein the adhesive stably attaches the conductive metal sheet without falling off or moving during ultrasonic welding minimizing welding defects.
AND/OR
Yang teaches an electronic product, such as a mobile phone, comprising an aluminum or magnesium alloy [0002], wherein most of the metal surface is provided with a protective layer such as an anodized layer except for a portion corresponding to a corrosion and wear resistant electrically conductive contact [0016, 0041], such as a copper/bronze alloy [0013, 0039], wherein at any gap or potential gap between the protective layer and the contact structure(s) a sealing material is provided, which can be in the form of a glue/adhesive [0007, 0023, 0029, Fig. 3], wherein in a modified embodiment a groove is formed in the surface of the casing and the corrosion and wear resistant electrically conductive contact, the sealing material, and the protective layer are all formed substantially flush with each other, wherein the groove improves the flatness of the casing surface [0034-0035, Fig. 6].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide an (ultrasonic welded) electrical contact sheet attached to a conductive housing portion with an adhesive sealant material, formed between the conducting layer and the protective layer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide stable attachment of the conductive metal sheet to the magnesium alloy body without falling off or moving during ultrasonic welding minimizing welding defects [Koo], which may further assist in or additional require adhesive sealing material [Yang].
In the event that a solid solution layer is not taught: Koo also teaches a case wherein a metal layer formed of at least one metal of tin, zinc, silver, gold, copper, indium, bismuth, and nickel or an alloy including at least one of these metals formed between the metal sheet and the metal case portion, such as coating the metal sheet or case portion, in order to facilitate bonding thereof [0059-0061, Figs. 11B].
Lai teaches ultrasonic bonding magnesium alloy via a copper/brass alloy, wherein the magnesium alloy is prepped by removing the oxide film in the welding region via the ultrasonic welding tool, which allows for ultrasonic welding without flux and/or a vacuum environment [0004, 0010, 0026, 0044], wherein the formation of brittle intermetallic compounds is avoided forming a solid solution joint of Mg (Cu, Zn) [0006, 0011, 0016-0017, 0025, 0039, 0045-0049], which increases the shear strength of the joint [0054].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the copper alloy at least partially comprising the Cu-Zn based alloy and/or provide the Cu-Zn alloy as a bonding interlayer therebetween which would have formed a solid solution transition layer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide an ultrasonic weld that does not require a vacuum environment and/or increases the bonding strength of the weld.
Further regarding claims 1 and 22-23 and regarding claims 7-8 and 20-21, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide a sealant as the transition layer and/or adhesive sealant material at a radial portion and/or spacing formed between the portion of the through hole the conducting layer, preferably in a flush relationship as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to additionally seal any edge area of a contact surface [Yang; 0003], especially in a relationship that improves the flatness of the casing surface [Yang; 0034-0035].
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Li and Koo, optionally Yang, as applied to claim 1 above, (even) further in view of Szymanski et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0089976 A1) (hereinafter “Szymanski”).
Regarding the laser engraved and weld + tape embodiment of Lin/Li/Koo(/Yang), a conductive adhesive is not taught.
Szymanski teaches a method of vibration welding, wherein joints between magnesium material and a non-magnesium material have a mixture of adhesive material and metallic conductive powder, such as copper, tin, and zinc, which provides an increased strength due to the reaction of the metallic powder with parent metals and may also improve corrosion properties of the joint [0008-0012, 0025].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the transition layer as an electrically conductive adhesive. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide increased joint strength and improved corrosion resistance.
Claims 5-6 & 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Li and Koo, and optionally Lai and/or Yang, as applied to claims 1 & 4 above, (even) further in view of Berger et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0074312 A1) (hereinafter “Berger”).
Koo teaches an electronic device comprising a metal case portion having a conductive metal sheet is bonded thereto via adhesive and ultrasonic bonding forming one or more bonding portions having a recessed/groove shape which forms the fused portions facilitating bonding and generating interatomic regions [0052-0058, 0061].
Berger teaches the joining of magnesium alloy and another non-magnesium sheet where galvanic corrosion is a concern, wherein in the region of overlap/bonding deformation is provided [0020, 0022-0024], wherein the filling of the deformation with resin/polymer increases strength and further prevents galvanic corrosion and unwanted migration of water or other debris [0024, 0035, 0046] and provided as a flush arrangement [0035, 0049, 0058].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the concave portion formed during ultrasonic welding and provided it with filling material in a flush arrangement. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide the melted/fused regions facilitating bonding and generating interatomic regions [Koo], wherein the filling material strengthens the joint and further prevents galvanic corrosion [Berger].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Li (CN 206585063 U) teaches a terminal comprising an aluminum alloy that comprises a contact portion that comprises a conductive adhesive (All Figs. [2]) and a gold plated sheet (All Figs. [3]), wherein it would have been obvious to modify this reference to comprise magnesium alloy and with Yang to either extend the conductive adhesive to at least partially within a radial gap formed between the gold plated sheet and the casing and/or add additional sealant material to the radial gap.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFREY A VONCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781 October 3rd, 2026