DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Bansal et al. (U.S. 2020/0063782) in view of McClure (WO 2015/130533A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bansal et al. teaches a fastener 102 comprising a hollow tubular body 110 with a proximal end 114 and a distal end 116 and a central axis (figure 1), comprising a stop portion 132 extending radially inwards at the distal end, a hollow leg member 118 having a proximal end 120 and a distal end 122, the hollow leg member 118 being translatable within the body along the central axis of the body (paragraph [0027]), the hollow leg member 118 having a flange at the proximal end (located radially outwardly of 154), a threaded portion at 156 at the proximal end and a plurality of resilient legs at 124 at the distal end and wherein each leg has a head at 130 at the distal end for engaging with a workpiece (figure 5), and each leg is biased radially inwards towards the central axis (figure 1), a bolt 158 having a proximal end 160 and a distal end 172, with a threaded portion 168 at the proximal end for engaging with the threaded portion of the hollow leg member (figure 5), such that rotation of the bolt in one direction draws the hollow leg member in a proximal direction along the central axis and rotation in the other direction causes the threaded portion of the hollow leg portion to disengage from the threaded portion of the bolt, wherein the distal end of the bolt is configured to urge the legs radially outward (figure 5), and a spring 138 arranged between the flange of the hollow leg member and the stop portion 132 of the hollow tubular body and configured to urge the hollow leg member in a proximal direction with respect to the hollow tubular body (paragraph [0027]). The proximal end of the bolt has a flange 160 configured to fix the bolt in position with respect to the hollow tubular body 110, and the hollow tubular body (shown at lead line 162 in figure 5) has a shoulder arranged to block the bolt from moving in a distal direction.
Further regarding claim 1, Bansal et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the retaining means. McClure teaches that it is known to provide a hollow tubular body with a retaining means (see figures 1, 5-8). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the fastener of Bansal et al. with the retaining means, as taught by McClure, in order to prevent removal of the bolt.
Regarding claim 2, the flange of the hollow leg member (flange extends outwardly from 120) includes a flat surface (lower surface and upper surface are flat) perpendicular to the central axis of the fastener and the and the stop portion 132 of the hollow tubular body has a corresponding flat surface (upper and lower surfaces of 132 are flat) perpendicular to the central axis of the fastener (figure 1).
Regarding claim 3, the distal ends of the legs extend beyond the distal end of the bolt when the hollow leg member is in the most distal position (figure 1).
Regarding claim 4, the spring 138 is configured to urge the hollow leg member into a position of engagement in which the threaded portion of the hollow leg member is engaged with the threaded portion of the bolt (paragraph [0027]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 29, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Bansal et al. does not teach shoulder and the retaining means which blocks movement of the bolt. It is the examiner’s position that Bansal et al. teaches a shoulder(shown generally at lead line 162 in figure 5) which blocks the bolt from moving in a distal direction. The secondary reference of McClure is added to the rejection for the teaching of providing a retaining means to block movement in the proximal direction.
Conclusion
In view of the new grounds of rejection, THIS ACTION IS MADE NON-FINAL.
/NIKI M ELOSHWAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3736