DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
A preliminary amendment has not been filed. Thus claims 1-12 filed on 03/12/2024 are currently pending and are under examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities: DMC (line 2 in both claims) should be preceded by the full name to recite “double metal cyanide (DMC)”.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: replace the period “.” sign in line 2 with a comma “,” sign.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8:
The parenthetical limitation "(POE)" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether “POE” is part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
The acronym (POE) is not clear what it stands for and thus renders the claim vague and indefinite. For purpose of examination, (POE) is interpreted in view of the specification, i.e. polyoxyethylene.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerlach (Gerlach, C. D. et al. Patent application publication number US20220153670A1; effectively filed on Nov. 16, 2020) in view of McDaniel (McDaniel, K. G. et al. Patent application publication number US2008/0132728A1; cited in IDS 03/12/2024).
Regarding claims 1-4 and 10, Gerlach teaches that cannabinoids have very low water solubility and that an emulsifier system must be used to incorporate CBD into a water-based formulations, such as cosmetic formulations ([0005]). Gerlach thus teaches a method for preparing an alkoxylated cannabinoid (an emulsifier which is the poly(alkyleneoxide) ethers of cannabinoids) by the reaction of ethylene oxide (EO) or propylene oxide (PO) with a cannabinoid and particularly CBD ([0017]). The reference further teaches that more EO will make the resulting emulsifier more water soluble and adjust its emulsifying power and using CBD as the representative hydrophobe of the emulsifier ensures excellent compatibility with the native compound or free CBD oil ([0017]). Gerlach further teaches that the reaction of CBD isolate is conducted in the presence of KOH catalyst ([0046]).
Regarding claims 11-12, Gerlach is silent that the water solubility of the cannabinoid after alkoxylating is increased by at least about 5% or by at least about 100% as compared to the water solubility of the cannabinoid before alkoxylating. However, since Geralch teaches the same alkoxylated cannabinoid product as instant invention and that the solubility of alkoxylated cannabinoid in water is improved compared to cannabinoid before alkoxylation, the water solubility of the cannabinoid after alkoxylating in the reference is necessarily increased by at least about 5% or by at least about 100% as compared to the water solubility of the cannabinoid before alkoxylating.
Regarding claims 1 and 10, while Gerlach teaches the use of KOH catalyst, the reference fails to teach or suggest conducting the reaction in the presence of DMC isolate. The deficiency is however cured by McDaniel.
McDaniel teaches that alkyl and alkylaryl ethoxylates are produced via semi-batch processes utilizing base catalysis, typically potassium hydroxide (“KOH”) (same catalyst as Gerlach) ([0002]). The reference however discusses the disadvantages of using KOH:
As such, McDaniel teaches an improved and continuous process for the production of alkylphenol ethoxylates in the presence of a double metal cyanide (“DMC”) catalyst ([0011]). The catalyst in the reactor has on-going activity and new catalyst is continually activated as the process proceeds ([0028]) and the conditions are established when the reactor temperature, ethylene oxide pressure, catalyst level, degree of catalyst activation, presence of oxyalkylatable compounds within the reactor, etc., are such that upon addition of unreacted ethylene oxide to the reactor, ethoxylation takes place ([0033]).
McDaniel teaches that the continuous processes also eliminate the nonproductive sequences required for the semi-batch process that uses KOH catalyst ([0028]). The reference further discusses in [0028] the advantages of using the continuous processes
In view of the above advantages, a skilled artisan would have been motivated in using the process and DMC catalyst of McDaniel in the alkoxylation reaction of Gerlach’s cannabinoid and in place of KOH catalyst with a reasonable expectation of success in improving the productivity of alkoxylated cannabinoids.
Regarding claim 6, the catalyst concentration is preferably from 5 ppm to 1,000 ppm ([0032]).
Regarding claim 7, the preferred DMC catalyst used in McDaniel is zinc hexacyanocobaltate ([0031]).
Regarding claim 8, the instant specification describes POE as being equivalent to the molar ratio of ethylene oxide-to-cannabinoid (page 7, lines 27-29). McDaniel exemplifies the reaction of nonylphenol with ethylene oxide, in which 14.4 g/min of ethylene oxide and 15.2 g/min of nonylphenol have been charged to the reactor ([0041]). The amounts of ethylene oxide and nonylphenol are equivalent to 0.327 moles and 0.0690 moles, respectively, and thus the POE value is about 4.7 (calculated by 0.327moles/0.0690moles). It is noted here that nonylphenol has only one hydroxy group that is ethoxylated. However, most cannabinoids, and particularly CBD of Gerlach has two hydroxy groups and thus the ethylene oxide required would be twice the amount of that of McDaniel to obtain the ethoxylated CBD, i.e. a POE value of about 9.4 (4.7 x 2).
Regarding claim 9, the reaction is conducted at a temperature of 130° C ([0041]).
It would thus have been prima facie obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the instant invention to conduct
a process for preparing an alkoxylated cannabinoid comprising; (i) forming a mixture of a cannabinoid, an alkylene oxide and a DMC catalyst, and (ii) subjecting the mixture to conditions sufficient to activate the DMC catalyst and to alkoxylate the cannabinoid to form the alkoxylated cannabinoid; or
a method for increasing the water solubility of a cannabinoid comprising alkoxylating the cannabinoid in the presence of an alkylene oxide and a DMC catalyst
in view of the teachings of Gerlach and McDaniel.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerlach (Gerlach, C. D. et al. Patent application publication number US20220153670A1; effectively filed on Nov. 16, 2020) in view of McDaniel (McDaniel, K. G. et al. Patent application publication number US2008/0132728A1; cited in IDS 03/12/2024) as applied to claims 1-4 and 6-12 above, and further in view of Leanna Organics (Leanna Organics “Third Party Tested CBD” May 14, 2020; pages 1-7).
The teachings of Gerlach and McDaniel have been set forth above.
Regarding claim 5, Gerlach teaches the use of cannabinoid and in particular free CBD oil or CBD isolate ([0017] and [0046]), but fails to teach that the cannabinoid or the CBD isolate has a water content below about 1000 ppm. The deficiency is however cured by Leanna Organics as it teaches the commercial availability of CBD isolate at a purity of 99.99% before the effective filing date of the instant invention. Hence, if any water is present in the oil, the amount would be 100 ppm or less (calculated by [100%-99.99%] x 10,000). Accordingly, using the CBD isolate of Leanna Organics in the process of the combination of Gerlach and McDaniel would yield nothing more than the predictable alkoxylated CBD product.
It would thus have been prima facie obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the instant invention to conduct a process for preparing an alkoxylated cannabinoid comprising; (i) forming a mixture of a cannabinoid, an alkylene oxide and a DMC catalyst, and (ii) subjecting the mixture to conditions sufficient to activate the DMC catalyst and to alkoxylate the cannabinoid to form the alkoxylated cannabinoid; wherein the cannabinoid has a water content below about 1000 ppm in view of the teachings of Gerlach, McDaniel and Leanna Organics.
Conclusion
Claims 1-12 are rejected and no claims are allowed.
/MEDHANIT W BAHTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692