DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 7-10 in the reply filed on 5/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-6 and 11-15 have been withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (CN 104384003) in view of Wu (US Pub 2017/0223813 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou discloses a device for dispensing material, comprising: a material store (material from element 21 entering element 22); a screen to disperse material from the material store (element 3); induced vibration in the material store, thereby causing at least some of the material to be dispensed through the screen (element 22 vibratory feeding material to element 3 to distribute material); but Zhou does not disclose a motor and an ion generator configured to emit charged ions to the dispensed material.
Zhou as set forth above teach all that is claimed except for expressly teaching a motor to induce vibration. These features, however, are all well-known means of powering a vibration within a feeding device in the mechanical arts and Examiner takes Official Notice of such. Therefore, it obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify the invention of Zhou as is well known in the art.
Wu teaches an ion generator configured to emit charged ions to the dispensed material (paragraph 0042) for the purpose of dissipating an electrostatic charge from items to be packaged. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Zhou, as taught by Wu, for the purpose of dissipating an electrostatic charge from items to be packaged.
Regarding claim 8, Zhou does not disclose the claim limitations. Wu teaches a charge sensor, wherein a controller of the device configures the ion generator according to a charge detected by the charge sensor (paragraph 0042; elements 51 and 41) for the purpose of dissipating an electrostatic charge from items to be packaged. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Zhou, as taught by Wu, for the purpose of dissipating an electrostatic charge from items to be packaged.
Regarding claim 9, Zhou does not disclose the claim limitations. Wu teaches the controller configures the ion generator to: emit a positive ion when a negative charge is detected; and emit a negative ion when a positive charge is detected (paragraphs 0042-0043 sensing and dissipate static values) for the purpose of dissipating an electrostatic charge from items to be packaged. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Zhou, as taught by Wu, for the purpose of dissipating an electrostatic charge from items to be packaged.
Regarding claim 10, Zhou does not disclose the claim limitations. Wu teaches a controller of the device configures the ion generator to emit a sequence of positive ions and a negative ions according to a predetermined schedule (paragraph 0039-0040 where a planned pattern of alternating ions are generated to disperse any charge) for the purpose of dissipating an electrostatic charge from items to be packaged. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Zhou, as taught by Wu, for the purpose of dissipating an electrostatic charge from items to be packaged.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Webb (USP 3,970,546) discloses vibratory feeding with charge induction to manipulate materials.
/K.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3653
/MICHAEL MCCULLOUGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3653