DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-19 and 44 are pending and examined on the merits.
Claims 20-43 and 45-46 are cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The two information disclosure statements (IDS’s) submitted on 03/12/2024 and 03/13/2024 were filed before the mailing date of the First Office Action on the Merits. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5, 7-11, 16-19, and 44 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2 (lines 8 and 10), 16 (lines 9 and 11), and 44 (lines 12 and 14), recite a first/second bore depending through the base. It is not clear from the claim language or from the Specification what Applicant intends to mean by a bore depending through a base. For the purposes of this Office Action, and in the interest in compact prosecution, Examiner will treat this language to mean that the bore extends through the base. Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Locke (U.S. Pre Grant Pub. No. 2014/0276499 A1) in view of Askem (U.S. Pre Grant Pub. No. 2018/0133378 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Locke teaches A system for negative-pressure therapy (see reduced pressure treatment system 10 at least in Fig. 1), the system comprising:
a dressing (see wound dressing 112 at least in Fig. 1) configured to be positioned adjacent to a tissue site (see at least Fig. 1 and para. [0021]);
a therapy unit (see pressure treatment unit 101 at least in Fig. 1) comprising:
a pump module (see reduced pressure source 108 at least in Fig. 2),
a forced air module (see positive pressure source 140 at least in Fig. 2), the forced air module comprising:
a forced air device positioned proximate to the pump module (para. [0035] teaches that the source of positive pressure 140 may be the exhaust of the source of negative pressure 108), the forced air device configured to generate a fluid flow (see para. [0035]); and
a canister (102 in Fig. 1 and para. [0019]), the canister comprising:
a pathway connection (Fig. 2 shows multiple pathway connections between the reduced pressure treatment unit 101 and the canister 102), the pathway connection configured to allow fluid communication between the pathway enclosure and the canister (see unlabeled conduit between the source of positive pressure 140 and canister 102 in Fig. 2);
an airflow pathway extending through the canister from the pathway connection (see airflow pathway 129 extending between successive absorptive layers 132 sandwiched between wicking layers 134); and
an evaporative membrane lining the airflow pathway (para. [0035] teaches that when the container 303 is permeable to vapor, the reduced pressure treatment unit 101 may further comprise a positive pressure source 140 that may provide positive pressure to container 303 to facilitate the evaporation of collected bodily fluid into vapor and the subsequent transmission of vapor through the container 303 and into the atmosphere; therefore, the absorptive layers 132 sandwiched between wicking layers 134 allow for evaporation of collected bodily fluid into vapor).
However, Locke fails to explicitly teach that the pump module comprises a pump casing, a piezoelectric pump, a lid, or a pathway enclosure forming a fluid path across the lid, as required by the claim.
Askem teaches an analogous system for negative pressure wound therapy (see Abstract) comprising a pump module (see pump assembly 400 at least in Fig. 18) comprising a pump casing (see pump chamber 470 in Figs. 19-20), a piezoelectric pump coupled to the pump casing (see diaphragm 550 in Figs. 19-20; para. [0230] teaches a piezoelectric transducer), and a lid coupled to the pump casing (see pump housing 420 in Figs. 19-20), the lid configured to seal the piezoelectric pump between the pump casing and the lid (see Figs. 19-20), and a pathway enclosure configured to form a fluid path across the lid (see outlet opening 429, exhaust channel 424, and exhaust port 428 in Figs. 19-20 and 22).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Locke to incorporate the teachings of Askem by substituting the pump module of Locke for the pump module of Askem at least because both elements are well known in the art, as evidenced by their disclosure in Locke and Askem, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have been reasonably motivated to substitute the elements to predictably provide negative pressure to a wound dressing positioned over a wound, as taught by Askem (see para. [0034]).
Regarding claim 2, Locke in view of Askem teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Additionally, Askem, with reference to Image 1 above, teaches: the pump casing (see Image 1) comprising:
a base (see Image 1) with a first side (Id.) and a second side (Id.) opposite the first side;
a first wall (see Image 1) protruding from the first side of the base (Id.), a second wall opposite the first wall (Id.), a third wall perpendicular to and extending from the first wall to the second wall (Id.), and a fourth wall opposite the third wall (Id.);
a walled enclosure (see Image 1; the walled enclosure is the interior region between the 1st, 2nd, and 4th walls) disposed inboard of the first wall, the second wall, the third wall, and the fourth wall (see Image 1) defining a pump seat (see diaphragm chamber 472 in para. [0170]);
a first bore (see Image 1) depending through the base from the pump seat on the first side of the base to the second side of the base (as shown in Image 1, the first bore extends through the pump casing);
a second bore (see Image 1) depending through the base (as shown in Image 1, the second bore extends through the pump casing);
a first conduit (see para. [0176]; see also valve 450 in Figs. 23-24 and para. [0164]) extending from the second side of the base (para. [0176] teaches an intake valve fluidly connected with the inlet recess 476a which includes inlet opening 478a), the first conduit having at least one lumen fluidly coupled to the first bore (see opening or gap 458 in Figs. 23-24 and para. [0164]); and
a second conduit (see para. [0176]; see also valve 450 in Figs. 23-24 and para. [0164]) extending from the second side of the base (para. [0176] teaches an exhaust valve fluidly connected with the outlet recess 476b which includes outlet opening 478b), the second conduit having at least one lumen fluidly coupled to the second bore (see opening or gap 458 in Figs. 23-24 and para. [0164]).
Regarding claim 3, Locke in view of Askem teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 2. Additionally, Askem teaches that the piezoelectric pump is coupled to the first side of the base at the pump seat (as shown in Fig. 19, and as described in para. [0230], the diaphragm pump 550 is coupled to a first side of the base 470).
Regarding claim 5, Locke in view of Askem teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 2. Additionally, Locke teaches that the device includes a polyurethane material (see at least para. [0021]), which is an insulating material.
Regarding claim 13, Locke in view of Askem teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Additionally, Askem teaches the therapy unit further comprising a diaphragm pump (see at least para. [0230] and diaphragm 550 in Fig. 19).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Locke in view of Askem to further incorporate the teachings of Askem by including a diaphragm pump proximal to the pump module at least in order to pump a fluid through the pump assembly, as taught by Askem (see para. [0014]).
Regarding claim 14, Locke in view of Askem teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 13. Additionally, Askem teaches wherein the diaphragm pump is configured to operate in conjunction with the piezoelectric pump (see at least para. [0230]).
Regarding claim 15, Locke in view of Askem teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Additionally, Askem teaches wherein the pathway enclosure comprises a rigid plastic (para. [0163] teaches that the pump housing 420 can be made from plastics).
Claims 4 and 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Locke (U.S. Pre Grant Pub. No. 2014/0276499 A1), in view of Askem (U.S. Pre Grant Pub. No. 2018/0133378 A1), as applied above in claims 1 and 2, and further in view of Lessing (U.S. Pre Grant Pub. No. 2021/0085518 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Locke in view of Askem teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 3. However, neither Locke nor Askem explicitly teach the pump module further comprising a temperature sensor, the temperature sensor disposed between the pump casing and the lid, as required by the claim.
Lessing teaches an analogous system for providing negative-pressure therapy (see Abstract) comprising a temperature sensor 126 coupled to a thermoelectric module 124 (see para. [0044]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Locke in view of Askem to incorporate the teachings of Lessing by including a temperature sensor between the pump casing and the lid at least in order to monitor the temperature of the fluid moving between the pump casing and the lid in order to indicate to a user what that temperature is, as taught by Lessing (see para. [0007]).
Regarding claim 6, Locke in view of Askem teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. However, neither Locke nor Askem explicitly teach wherein the lid comprises a heat sink, as required by the claim.
Lessing teaches an analogous system for providing negative-pressure therapy (see Abstract) comprising a heat exchange chamber 330 (see para. [0075] and Fig. 2A) that includes a heatsink 350 (see para. [0075] and Fig. 2A).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Locke in view of Askem to incorporate the teachings of Lessing by including a heatsink at least in order to add and extract heat from fluid which would help stimulate healing of a tissue site, as taught by Lessing (see para. [0004]).
Regarding claim 7, Locke in view of Askem teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 2. However, neither Locke nor Askem explicitly teach wherein the lid comprises a plurality of ribs extending away from the pump module opposite the pump casing, as required by the claim.
Lessing teaches an analogous system for providing negative-pressure therapy (see Abstract) comprising a heat exchange chamber 330 (see para. [0075] and Fig. 2A) that includes a heatsink 350 (see para. [0075] and Fig. 2A) that comprises a plurality of ribs (see Fig. 2A) that extends away from a pump module (see thermoelectric module 124 in para. [0041 and 0073-0074]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Locke in view of Askem to incorporate the teachings of Lessing by including a heatsink on the lid that comprises a plurality of ribs extending away from the pump module opposite the pump casing at least in order to add and extract heat from fluid which would help stimulate healing of a tissue site, as taught by Lessing (see para. [0004]).
Regarding claim 8, Locke, in view of Askem, and further in view of Lessing teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 7. Additionally, in the device of Locke, in view of Askem, and further in view of Lessing, the plurality of ribs extend from the third wall to the fourth wall such that the ribs are parallel to the first wall and the second wall of the pump casing (in the device of Locke, Askem, and Lessing, the heatsink 350 of Lessing would be included on the pump casing 470 of Askem such that the claimed structural configuration is met).
Regarding claim 9, Locke, in view of Askem, and further in view of Lessing teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 8. Additionally, in the device of Locke, in view of Askem, and further in view of Lessing, the forced air device is configured to direct the fluid flow through the ribs the lid (since the heatsink of Lessing is included on the pump casing of Askem, directly adjacent the lid, see Fig. 19 of Askem, the forced air device of Locke is configured to direct fluid flow through the ribs of the heatsink).
Regarding claim 10, Locke, in view of Askem, and further in view of Lessing teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 9. However, while neither Locke, Askem, nor Lessing explicitly teach that the forced air device is positioned relative to the third wall of the pump casing at a non-perpendicular angle, it has been held that the particular placement of a device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice (see MPEP 2144), therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to position the forced air device at a non-perpendicular angle relative to the third wall of the pump casing.
Regarding claim 11, Locke, in view of Askem, and further in view of Lessing teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 10. Additionally, in the device of Locke, in view of Askem, and further in view of Lessing, the fluid flow defines a curved pathway (see at least arrow 129 at tube 118 in Fig. 2 of Locke).
Regarding claim 12, Locke in view of Askem teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. However, neither Locke nor Askem explicitly teach wherein the forced air device is an axial fan, as required by the claim.
Lessing teaches the inclusion of an axial fan (see fan 360 in Fig. 2A) which may be configured to draw air over the fins of the heatsink 350 (see para. [0075]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Locke in view of Askem to incorporate the teachings of Lessing by making the forced air device an axial fan at least in order to draw air over the fins of the heatsink, as taught by Lessing (see para. [0075]).
Claims 16-19 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Askem (U.S. Pre Grant Pub. No. 2018/0133378 A1) in view of Lessing (U.S. Pre Grant Pub. No. 2021/0085518 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Askem, with reference to Image 1 above, teaches A pump module (see Abstract) comprising:
a pump casing (see Image 1) comprising:
a base (see Image 1) with a first side (Id.) and a second side (Id.) opposite the first side;
a first wall (see Image 1) protruding from the first side of the base (Id.), a second wall opposite the first wall (Id.), a third wall perpendicular to and extending from the first wall to the second wall (Id.), and a fourth wall opposite the third wall (Id.);
a walled enclosure (see Image 1; the walled enclosure is the interior region between the 1st, 2nd, and 4th walls) disposed inboard of the first wall, the second wall, the third wall, and the fourth wall (see Image 1) defining a pump seat (see diaphragm chamber 472 in para. [0170]);
a first bore (see Image 1) depending through the base from the pump seat on the first side of the base to the second side of the base (as shown in Image 1, the first bore extends through the pump casing);
a second bore (see Image 1) depending through the base (as shown in Image 1, the second bore extends through the pump casing);
a first conduit (see para. [0176]; see also valve 450 in Figs. 23-24 and para. [0164]) extending from the second side of the base (para. [0176] teaches an intake valve fluidly connected with the inlet recess 476a which includes inlet opening 478a), the first conduit having at least one lumen fluidly coupled to the first bore (see opening or gap 458 in Figs. 23-24 and para. [0164]); and
a second conduit (see para. [0176]; see also valve 450 in Figs. 23-24 and para. [0164]) extending from the second side of the base (para. [0176] teaches an exhaust valve fluidly connected with the outlet recess 476b which includes outlet opening 478b), the second conduit having at least one lumen fluidly coupled to the second bore (see opening or gap 458 in Figs. 23-24 and para. [0164]).
a piezoelectric pump coupled to the first side of the base at the pump seat (see diaphragm 550 in Figs. 19-20; para. [0230] teaches a piezoelectric transducer);
a lid coupled to the pump casing (see pump housing 420 in Figs. 19-20), the lid configured to seal the piezoelectric pump between the pump casing and the lid (see Figs. 19-20); and
wherein the pump casing and the lid are configured to optimize an efficiency of the piezoelectric pump (para. [0157] teaches that the valves 450 are used to control the flow of fluids through the diaphragm chamber, which includes the piezoelectric pump, which is defined between the pump chamber body 470 and the diaphragm 550; see also Fig. 19 and para. [0164]).
However, Askem fails to explicitly teach a temperature sensor disposed between the pump casing and the lid, as required by the claim.
Lessing teaches an analogous system for providing negative-pressure therapy (see Abstract) comprising a temperature sensor 126 coupled to a thermoelectric module 124 (see para. [0044]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Askem to incorporate the teachings of Lessing by including a temperature sensor between the pump casing and the lid at least in order to monitor the temperature of the fluid moving between the pump casing and the lid in order to indicate to a user what that temperature is, as taught by Lessing (see para. [0007]).
Regarding claim 17, Askem in view of Lessing teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 16. Additionally, Askem teaches wherein the pump casing further comprises an opening extending through the first wall (see slots 482 in Fig. 25).
Regarding claim 18, Askem in view of Lessing teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 17. Additionally, Askem teaches further comprising:
a projection extending from the piezoelectric pump (see slots 508 in Fig. 19), the projection configured to extend through the opening in the first wall (see Fig. 19 and para. [0192]); and
an electrical connection coupled to a first side of the projection (para. [0151] teaches various electrical components that control the function of the pump assembly 400), the electrical connection configured to be coupled to a potential source outside of the pump casing (see para. [0151]).
Regarding claim 19, Askem in view of Lessing teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 16. However, Additionally, in the device of Askem in view of Lessing, the temperature sensor is coupled to the piezoelectric pump opposite of the pump seat at least because Lessing teaches that the temperature sensor 126 is coupled to the module 124 (see para. [0004]), and therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to couple the temperature sensor to the piezoelectric pump opposite of the pump seat at least in order to monitor the temperature of the fluid moving between the pump casing and the lid in order to indicate to a user what that temperature is, as taught by Lessing (see para. [0007]).
Regarding claim 44, Askem, with reference to Image 1 above, teaches A method for generating negative pressure (see Abstract) comprising:
positioning a dressing adjacent to a tissue site (see Abstract);
coupling a therapy unit having a pump module to the dressing (see Abstract), the pump module comprising:
a pump casing (see Image 1), the pump casing comprising:
a base (see Image 1) with a first side (Id.) and a second side (Id.) opposite the first side;
a first wall (see Image 1) protruding from the first side of the base (Id.), a second wall opposite the first wall (Id.), a third wall perpendicular to and extending from the first wall to the second wall (Id.), and a fourth wall opposite the third wall (Id.);
a walled enclosure (see Image 1; the walled enclosure is the interior region between the 1st, 2nd, and 4th walls) disposed inboard of the first wall, the second wall, the third wall, and the fourth wall (see Image 1) defining a pump seat (see diaphragm chamber 472 in para. [0170]);
a first bore (see Image 1) depending through the base from the pump seat on the first side of the base to the second side of the base (as shown in Image 1, the first bore extends through the pump casing);
a second bore (see Image 1) depending through the base (as shown in Image 1, the second bore extends through the pump casing);
an exhaust conduit (see para. [0176]; see also valve 450 in Figs. 23-24 and para. [0164]) extending from the second side of the base (para. [0176] teaches an exhaust valve fluidly connected with the outlet recess 476b which includes outlet opening 478b), the exhaust conduit having at least one lumen fluidly coupled to the first bore (see opening or gap 458 in Figs. 23-24 and para. [0164]); and
an intake conduit (see para. [0176]; see also valve 450 in Figs. 23-24 and para. [0164]) extending from the second side of the base (para. [0176] teaches an intake valve fluidly connected with the inlet recess 476a which includes inlet opening 478a), the intake conduit having at least one lumen fluidly coupled to the second bore (see opening or gap 458 in Figs. 23-24 and para. [0164]);
a piezoelectric pump coupled to the first side of the base at the pump seat (see diaphragm 550 in Figs. 19-20; para. [0230] teaches a piezoelectric transducer);
a lid coupled to the pump casing, the lid (see pump housing 420 in Figs. 19-20) configured to seal the piezoelectric pump between the pump casing and the lid (see Figs. 19-20); and
drawing the tissue site to a desired negative pressure comprising:
starting the piezoelectric pump (para. [0157] teaches that actuating the diaphragm 550, which includes the piezoelectric pump can result in changes in pressure; see also para. [0230]);
starting a diaphragm pump (see para. [0157]), the diaphragm pump positioned proximate to the pump module in the therapy unit and configured to be in fluid communication with the tissue site (see diaphragm 550 in Figs. 19-20);
using the intake conduit to draw fluid from the tissue site into the pump module (see para. [0176]);
using the exhaust conduit to allow the fluid from the pump module to escape from the pump module (see para. [0176]).
However, Askem fails to explicitly teach a temperature sensor or a forced air device, as required by the claim.
Lessing teaches an analogous system for providing negative-pressure therapy (see Abstract) comprising a temperature sensor 126 coupled to a thermoelectric module 124 (see para. [0044]). Additionally, Lessing teaches:
operating a forced air device (see fan 360 in Fig. 2A) positioned proximate to the pump module to regulate an internal temperature of the pump module (see at least para. [0075]) comprising:
monitoring the internal temperature of the pump module with the temperature sensor (para. [0044] teaches that the temperature sensor includes an output for providing temperature signal to a controller 110; para. [0089] teaches that the controller is coupled to the thermoelectric module 124 which is coupled to the fan 360; see para. [0075]);
if the internal temperature is greater than a predetermined temperature, starting a forced air device (see at least para. [0075]);
using the forced air device to direct a fluid flow over the lid (para. [0075] teaches that the fan 360 expels heat energy; as broadly recited, the fan 360 draws air, which is a fluid), the fluid flow configured to reduce the internal temperature of the pump module (see para. [0075]); and
if the internal temperature is less than the predetermined temperature, stopping the forced air device (para. [0005-0006] teaches that the thermoelectric module maintains a fluid within a predetermined temperature range in the second heat exchange chamber by extracting heat; para. [0075] teaches that the fan 360 is responsible for moderating the heat energy; therefore, the fan 360 stops if the internal temperature is less than the predetermined temperature).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Askem to incorporate the teachings of Lessing by including a temperature sensor between the pump casing and the lid at least in order to monitor the temperature of the fluid moving between the pump casing and the lid in order to indicate to a user what that temperature is, as taught by Lessing (see para. [0007]). Additionally, It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Askem to incorporate the teachings of Lessing by including a forced air device positioned proximate the pump module at least in order to expel heat energy from the pump casing, as taught by Lessing (see para. [0075]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Locke ‘707 (U.S. Pre Grant Pub. No. 2013/0190707 A1) - Reduced-Pressure Treatment Systems and Methods Employing a Fluidly Isolated Pump Control Unit
Kurihara (U.S. Pre Grant Pub. No. 2016/0271305 A1) – Suction Device
/JIHAD DAKKAK/ Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/ANDREW J MENSH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781