DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the Applicant’s communication filed on 03/12/2024.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “4003” in FIG 13. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 37 is objected to because of the following informalities: there are two commas after “quality evaluation” in the top line on p. 5 of the claim listing. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 11, 13, 18 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20230199522 (Manolakos).
Regarding claim 1, Manolakos teaches “A method of operating a wireless communication device (shown in FIG 7 with corresponding description; user equipment 500), the method comprising:
- during a positioning measurement period for performing a positioning measurement: monitoring for positioning signals transmitted by a cellular network (paragraph 0133: At stage 740, the UE 500 identifies one or more positioning signals to be received by the UE 500, identifies one or more radio communication signals to be received by and/or transmitted by the UE 500, and identifies corresponding processing time(s). For example, the UE 500 may identify scheduled DL PRS to be received and/or transmitted between the UE 500 and the serving TRP 300-1, another TRP 300-2, in positioning messages 741, 742, 743, respectively.) and in response to an interruption event halting said monitoring for the positioning signals (paragraph 0134: At stage 750, the UE 500 identifies a potential collision of a positioning session and a radio communication session. For example, the positioning priority unit 560 may be configured to identify an overlap in time of a positioning session and a radio communication session. This may correspond to the claimed “an interruption event”. Paragraph 0137: At stage 770, the server 400, e.g., the positioning priority unit 460, may assign a priority and send a priority assignment message 764 to the UE 500. The priority assignment message 764 may indicate which of a positioning session or a radio communication session has higher priority. Paragraph 0139: the server 400 may explicitly assign the priority through the priority assignment message 764. This priority assignment message may also correspond to “an interruption event”. Paragraph 0144: At stage 780, the UE 500 performs the positioning session and/or the radio communication session in accordance with the determined priority. Based on the priority and the relative timing of the positioning session and the radio communication session, some or all of either session may not be performed. The case when some or all of the positioning session may not be performed and instead performing the radio communication session corresponds to the claimed “halting said monitoring for the positioning signals”. Paragraph 0144: An example is shown in FIG. 8C, with the radio communication session 820 having priority over the positioning session 810, and the positioning signal 812 scheduled to be received during the radio communication session 820, the UE 500 may ignore the positioning signal 812, perform the entirety of the radio communication session 820, and perform none of the positioning session 810.), and
- in response to said halting of the monitoring: taking one or more actions associated with the interruption event (Paragraph 0144: At stage 780, the UE 500 performs the positioning session and/or the radio communication session in accordance with the determined priority. Based on the priority and the relative timing of the positioning session and the radio communication session, some or all of either session may not be performed. The case when some or all of the positioning session may not be performed and instead performing the radio communication session corresponds to the claimed “taking one or more actions associated with the interruption event”. As shown in FIG. 8C, with the radio communication session 820 having priority over the positioning session 810, and the positioning signal 812 scheduled to be received during the radio communication session 820, the UE 500 may ignore the positioning signal 812, perform the entirety of the radio communication session 820, and perform none of the positioning session 810.).”
Regarding claim 5, Manolakos teaches “wherein the interruption event comprises reception of a reference signal from the cellular network (paragraph 0133: The UE 500 may also identify received DL signals such as data signals, reference signals (e.g., CSIRS (Channel State Information Reference Signal)). Paragraph 0138: assign priority to the positioning signal based on the radio communication session comprising reception of a CSIRS signal for CSI.).”
Regarding claim 11, Manolakos teaches “wherein said halting of said monitoring for the positioning signals comprises aborting said monitoring for the positioning signals (paragraph 0144: As shown in FIG. 8C, with the radio communication session 820 having priority over the positioning session 810, and the positioning signal 812 scheduled to be received during the radio communication session 820, the UE 500 may ignore the positioning signal 812, perform the entirety of the radio communication session 820, and perform none of the positioning session 810. As shown in FIG. 9C, with the radio communication session 920 having priority over the positioning session, a PRS 912 may be received but positioning processing not completed, and instead resources directed to performance of the radio communication session 920. As shown in FIG. 10C, the radio communication session 1020 is completely performed while the positioning session 1010 is ignored, with a positioning signal 1012 being ignored due to receipt during the higher-priority radio communication session 1020. In all of these cases, the user equipment aborts “monitoring for the positioning signals”).”
Regarding claim 13, Manolakos teaches “performing a further positioning measurement after said taking one or more actions associated with the interruption event (paragraph 0144: As shown in FIG. 8C, with the radio communication session 820 having priority over the positioning session 810, and the positioning signal 812 scheduled to be received during the radio communication session 820, the UE 500 may ignore the positioning signal 812, perform the entirety of the radio communication session 820, and perform none of the positioning session 810. Thus, the positioning measurement is aborted during time period 840. Paragraph 0152: the priority may be determined such that the positioning session has lower priority than the radio communication session for a first measurement gap of multiple scheduled measurement gaps in response to a second measurement gap of the scheduled measurement gaps being dedicated to positioning. Multiple measurement gaps 840, 850 may be scheduled, with the positioning session 810 may have lower priority in the measurement gap 840 based on the measurement gap 850 being dedicated to positioning. In other words, during the measurement gap 850, the user equipment performs “a further positioning measurement”. This is done after performing communication session during the period 840 representing “taking one or more actions associated with the interruption event”).”
Regarding claim 18, Manolakos teaches “wherein said halting of said monitoring is selectively executed depending on a priority level of the interruption event (paragraph 0144: At stage 780, the UE 500 performs the positioning session and/or the radio communication session in accordance with the determined priority. Based on the priority and the relative timing of the positioning session and the radio communication session, some or all of either session may not be performed. In FIGS. 8B, 9B, 10B, and 11B, the positioning session has higher priority and in FIGS. 8C, 9C, 10C, and 11C, the radio communication session has higher priority. As explained, whether the positioning session is continued to be performed depends on the determined priority).”
Regarding claim 38, Manolakos teaches “A method of operating a node of a cellular network (shown in FIG 7 with corresponding description; server 400), the method comprising:
- during a positioning measurement period for performing a positioning measurement by a wireless communication device (paragraph 0133: At stage 740, the UE 500 identifies one or more positioning signals to be received by the UE 500, identifies one or more radio communication signals to be received by and/or transmitted by the UE 500, and identifies corresponding processing time(s). For example, the UE 500 may identify scheduled DL PRS to be received and/or transmitted between the UE 500 and the serving TRP 300-1, another TRP 300-2, in positioning messages 741, 742, 743, respectively.), transmitting an interruption signal to the wireless communication device, wherein the interruption signal causes an interruption event at the wireless communication device, and the interruption event causes the wireless communication device to halt monitoring for positioning signals transmitted by the cellular network (Paragraph 0137: At stage 770, the server 400, e.g., the positioning priority unit 460, may assign a priority and send a priority assignment message 764 to the UE 500. The priority assignment message 764 may indicate which of a positioning session or a radio communication session has higher priority. Paragraph 0139: the server 400 may explicitly assign the priority through the priority assignment message 764. This priority assignment message corresponds to “an interruption signal”. Paragraph 0144: At stage 780, the UE 500 performs the positioning session and/or the radio communication session in accordance with the determined priority. Based on the priority and the relative timing of the positioning session and the radio communication session, some or all of either session may not be performed. The case when some or all of the positioning session may not be performed and instead performing the radio communication session corresponds to the claimed “halting said monitoring for the positioning signals”. Paragraph 0144: As shown in FIG. 8C, with the radio communication session 820 having priority over the positioning session 810, and the positioning signal 812 scheduled to be received during the radio communication session 820, the UE 500 may ignore the positioning signal 812, perform the entirety of the radio communication session 820, and perform none of the positioning session 810.).”
Claims 1, 4, 7 – 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20120083278 (Kazmi’278) (of record).
Regarding claim 1, Kazmi’278 teaches “A method of operating a wireless communication device (shown in FIG 8 with corresponding description in paragraph 0103; user equipment 12 shown in FIG 2), the method comprising:
- during a positioning measurement period for performing a positioning measurement: monitoring for positioning signals transmitted by a cellular network (Par. 0103: The UE 12 receives communication signals from the network 10 on a first carrier as a primary carrier (block 202). The UE 12 performs one or more positioning measurements (block 204), such as OTDOA measurements on PRS. The UE 12 may perform a positioning procedure using the positioning measurements) and in response to an interruption event halting said monitoring for the positioning signals (Par. 0103: The UE 12 then receives an indication from a serving node 32, 52 that the primary carrier is to be switched from the first carrier to a second carrier (block 206). This may entail … suspending the positioning measurements. This indication message may correspond to “an interruption event”.), and
- in response to said halting of the monitoring: taking one or more actions associated with the interruption event (Par. 0103: The UE 12 switches to the second carrier as the primary carrier).”
Regarding claim 4, Kazmi’278 teaches “wherein the interruption event comprises reception of system information from the cellular network (Par. 0103: The UE 12 receives an indication from a serving node 32, 52 that the primary carrier is to be switched from the first carrier to a second carrier (block 206). This switching indication correspond to broadly recited “system information” as information on what carrier to use going forward).”
Regarding claim 7, Kazmi’278 teaches “wherein said halting of said monitoring for the positioning signals comprises temporarily suspending said monitoring for the positioning signals before said taking one or more actions associated with the interruption event (Par. 0103: The UE 12 receives an indication from a serving node 32, 52 that the primary carrier is to be switched from the first carrier to a second carrier (block 206). The UE 12 switches to the second carrier as the primary carrier while preserving the ongoing positioning measurements (block 208). This may entail suspending the positioning measurements and restarting them on the new primary carrier, which is the same as “temporarily suspending said monitoring for the positioning signals before said taking one or more actions associated with the interruption event”).”
Regarding claim 8, Kazmi’278 teaches “resuming said monitoring for the positioning signals after said taking one or more actions associated with the interruption event (Par. 0069: after switching the carriers (“taking one or more actions associated with the interruption event”) UE 12 can perform positioning measurements on a secondary carrier without gaps, or if there are PRS transmitted on the new primary carrier. The UE 12 can acquire this information (i.e., whether the new primary carrier transmits PRS or not) from the assistance data, which is either old assistance data or new data sent after the primary carrier is switched. Par. 0103: The UE 12 switches to the second carrier as the primary carrier (“taking one or more actions associated with the interruption event”) while preserving the ongoing positioning measurements (block 208). This may entail suspending the positioning measurements and restarting them on the new primary carrier. Although Kazmi’278 does not explicitly disclose in this paragraph “monitoring for the positioning signals”, the disclosure of restarting the positioning measurements on the new primary carrier implies that positioning reference signals are being monitored on the new primary carrier).”
Regarding claim 9, Kazmi’278 teaches “wherein said resuming of said monitoring for the positioning signals is in response to receiving a respective request from the cellular network (paragraph 0069: the UE 12 sends a message to the positioning node 40, 54 and/or radio network node 32, 52 indicating that it has switched the primary carrier while continuing the ongoing positioning session. It is then up to the network 10 whether to send updated assistance data to the UE 12 for positioning measurements, or alternatively the network 10 can ask UE 12 to abort the ongoing positioning session. In other words, sending updated assistance data to resume the positioning measurements, as opposed to aborting the positioning session, serves as an implicit “request from the cellular network”).”
Regarding claim 10, Kazmi’278 teaches “receiving further signaling, from the cellular network, associated with said monitoring for the positioning signals after said taking one or more actions associated with the interruption event (Par. 0069: after switching the carriers (“taking one or more actions associated with the interruption event”) UE 12 can perform positioning measurements on a secondary carrier without gaps, or if there are PRS transmitted on the new primary carrier (“receiving further signaling, from the cellular network, associated with said monitoring for the positioning signals”). The UE 12 can acquire this information (i.e., whether the new primary carrier transmits PRS or not) from the assistance data, which is either old assistance data or new data sent after the primary carrier is switched. Par. 0103: The UE 12 switches to the second carrier as the primary carrier (“taking one or more actions associated with the interruption event”) while preserving the ongoing positioning measurements (block 208). This may entail suspending the positioning measurements and restarting them on the new primary carrier. Although Kazmi’278 does not explicitly disclose in this paragraph “receiving further signaling, from the cellular network, associated with said monitoring for the positioning signals”, the disclosure of restarting the positioning measurements on the new primary carrier implies that positioning reference signals are being received on the new primary carrier (“receiving further signaling” “associated with said monitoring for the positioning signals”)).”
Regarding claim 11, Kazmi’278 teaches “wherein said halting of said monitoring for the positioning signals comprises aborting said monitoring for the positioning signals (Par. 0069: a UE 12 sends a message to a location services network node 40, 54 and/or radio network node 32, 52 indicating that an ongoing positioning session is aborted or terminated prematurely due to a primary carrier switch. The network 10 can ask UE 12 to abort the ongoing positioning session.).”
Regarding claim 13, Kazmi’278 teaches “performing a further positioning measurement after said taking one or more actions associated with the interruption event (Par. 0069: the UE 12 sends a message to the positioning node 40, 54 and/or radio network node 32, 52 indicating that it has switched the primary carrier while continuing the ongoing positioning session. It is then up to the network 10 (e.g. E-SMLC 40, 54) whether to send updated assistance data to the UE 12 for positioning measurements, which means that “a further positioning measurement” is performed after switching the primary carrier (“taking one or more actions associated with the interruption event”)).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230199522 (Manolakos) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of WO 2018184789 (SELVAGANAPATHY) (of record).
Regarding claim 6, while teaching various criteria for assigning priorities between positioning and communication, Manolakos does not disclose “wherein the interruption event comprises reception of high-priority application data from the cellular network.”
SELVAGANAPATHY in FIG 6 with corresponding description on pages 16 – 17 teaches that at S1, the SGSN receives downlink data when the Multilateration TA procedure has already started (which corresponds to claimed in claim 1 “monitoring for positioning signals transmitted by a cellular network”). At S2, the SGSN indicates the arrival of DL user data to the serving BSS. At S3 a determination is made at the SGSN of whether the downlink user data is identified as high priority data (“high-priority application data from the cellular network”), in which case the SGSN indicates whether immediate resumption of user data transmission is required or not as described with respect to S4 and S5. If it is determined to be high priority data, At S8 the BSS sends an Acknowledgement message in the downlink associated control channel which may contain Resume-lnd indication. If this field is set to "immediate", MS should access the serving cell and send packet channel request for DL TBF. If this field is set to "normal", MS should send the packet channel request for DL TBF in the serving cell after completing the multilateration positioning procedure. Therefore as shown at S9, the BSS decides to establish a downlink TBF, or informs MS to switch to packet access and stop MTA.
The disclosed process means that the “the interruption event comprises reception of high-priority application data from the cellular network.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to utilize disclosed by SELVAGANAPATHY reception of high-priority downlink application data as an additional condition in deciding whether the communication session or positioning session has a priority over one another, in the system of Manolakos. Doing so would have increased functionality of the system by providing an additional criterion in selecting priorities for positioning session and communication session.
Regarding claim 14, Manolakos does not disclose “providing, to the cellular network, a partial measurement report comprising positioning data of the positioning measurement acquired until said aborting.”
SELVAGANAPATHY in FIG 7 with corresponding description on p. 18 lines 0 – 8 from the bottom of the page teaches the base station pausing/terminating the positioning measurements performed by the mobile station, and performing position estimation based on available Multilateration TA / OTD reports. This at least implies (or it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art) that partial positioning reports have been received by the base station prior to determination of the positioning session.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to utilize disclosed by SELVAGANAPATHY transmission of partial position measurement reports, in the system of Manolakos. Doing so would have allowed the base station to try to determine the position of the mobile station based on the partial measurements, if any, transmitted prior to interruption of the positioning session.
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230199522 (Manolakos) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20230180173 (Kazmi’173).
Regarding claim 2, while teaching different criteria for assigning priorities between positioning and communication, Manolakos does not disclose “wherein the interruption event comprises reception of signaling from the cellular network to switch a bandwidth part of a carrier.”
Kazmi’173 in FIG 17 with corresponding description in paragraphs 0213, 0217, 0220 teaches a method 1200 performed by a wireless device 110. At step 1202, the wireless device 110 determines that switching from a first active BWP to a second BWP (“switch a bandwidth part of a carrier”) will affect at least one PMO during which at least one positioning measurement is to be performed. At step 1204, the wireless device 110 suspends the at least one positioning measurement while performing the active BWP switching from the first active BWP to the second active BWP. This includes determining that the switch from the first active BWP to the second active BWP occurs during at least a portion of the at least one PMO. This also includes determining that switching from the first active BWP to the second BWP will affect at least one PMO includes determining that the switch from the first active BWP to the second active BWP will interrupt at least one reference signal (RS) resource within a PMO; the switch from the first active BWP to the second active BWP will overlap with at least a number of RS resources. FIG 3, paragraphs 0097, 0098 and 0218 specifically state that triggering to change the active BWP switching from a first BWP (BWP1) 54 to a new or target BWP, second BWP (BWP2) 56 may occur, for example, upon receiving a message from a network node such as, for example, a DCI command. This corresponds to the claimed “reception of signaling from the cellular network to switch a bandwidth part of a carrier.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to utilize disclosed by Kazmi’173 switching from a first active BWP to a second BWP, including reception of the “signaling from the cellular network to switch a bandwidth part of a carrier” as an additional condition for suspending positioning session, in the system of Manolakos. Doing so would have increased functionality of the system by providing an additional criterion in deciding whether to suspend or continue the positioning session.
Regarding claim 3, while teaching various criteria for assigning priorities between positioning and communication, Manolakos does not disclose “wherein the interruption event comprises performing a bandwidth part switching.”
Kazmi’173 in FIG 17 with corresponding description in paragraphs 0213, 0217, 0220 teaches a method 1200 performed by a wireless device 110. At step 1202, the wireless device 110 determines that switching from a first active BWP to a second BWP will affect at least one PMO during which at least one positioning measurement is to be performed. At step 1204, the wireless device 110 suspends the at least one positioning measurement while performing the active BWP switching from the first active BWP to the second active BWP. This includes determining that the switch from the first active BWP to the second active BWP occurs during at least a portion of the at least one PMO. This also includes determining that switching from the first active BWP to the second BWP will affect at least one PMO includes determining that the switch from the first active BWP to the second active BWP will interrupt at least one reference signal (RS) resource within a PMO; the switch from the first active BWP to the second active BWP will overlap with at least a number of RS resources.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to utilize disclosed by Kazmi’173 switching from a first active BWP to a second BWP as an additional condition for suspending positioning session, in the system of Manolakos. Doing so would have increased functionality of the system by providing an additional criterion in deciding whether to suspend or continue the positioning session.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20120083278 (Kazmi’278) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of US 20230180173 (Kazmi’173).
Regarding claim 12, Kazmi’278 does not disclose “in response to said aborting of said monitoring for the positioning signals, discarding positioning data of the positioning measurement acquired until said aborting.”
Kazmi’173 in FIG 17 with corresponding description in paragraphs 0213, 0217, 0220 teaches a method 1200 performed by a wireless device 110. At step 1202, the wireless device 110 determines that switching from a first active BWP to a second BWP will affect at least one PMO during which at least one positioning measurement is to be performed. At step 1204, the wireless device 110 suspends the at least one positioning measurement while performing the active BWP switching from the first active BWP to the second active BWP. This includes determining that the switch from the first active BWP to the second active BWP occurs during at least a portion of the at least one PMO. This also includes determining that switching from the first active BWP to the second BWP will affect at least one PMO includes determining that the switch from the first active BWP to the second active BWP will interrupt at least one reference signal (RS) resource within a PMO; the switch from the first active BWP to the second active BWP will overlap with at least a number of RS resources.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to utilize disclosed by Kazmi’173 switching from a first active BWP to a second BWP as an additional condition for suspending positioning session, in the system of Kazmi’278. Doing so would have increased functionality of the system by providing an additional criterion in deciding whether to suspend or continue the positioning session.
Further, Kazmi’173 in paragraph 0121 teaches completing the active BWP switching while suspending the positioning measurements or dropping the affected positioning occasion: The UE may complete the active BWP switching, but the ongoing positioning measurement may be suspended temporarily and then resumed after the completion of the active BWP switching. When the PMO comprises a measurement gap, then the UE does not fully or partially use the measurement gap for performing the measurement. Instead, the UE performs the active BWP switching during the time which at least partially overlaps with duration of the measurement gap. If the active BWP switching impact is determined to be critical, the UE may send a message to a network node (e.g. base station) requesting the network node to configure the UE with measurement gap pattern for positioning measurements. Upon being configured with gaps (based on UE requests), the UE may further be allowed to restart the positioning upon configured with the measurement gaps (e.g. the UE may be allowed to discard the previous measurement samples (taken before receiving the gaps or the new gap) and take new samples during the gaps). This corresponds to the claimed “discarding positioning data of the positioning measurement acquired until said aborting.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to utilize disclosed by Kazmi’173 procedure of requesting measurement gaps when needed and discarding previously collected positioning data, in the system of Kazmi’278. Doing so would have allowed to perform positioning measurements when BWP switching is prioritized.
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over one or more of (US 20120083278 (Kazmi’278) and/or US 20230199522 (Manolakos)) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20230035711 (Zheng).
Regarding claim 37, while teaching acquiring positional measurements until occurrence of interruption event, Kazmi’278 or Manolakos do not disclose “performing a quality evaluation of positioning data of the positioning measurement acquired until said aborting, and depending on a result of the quality evaluation,, discarding the positioning data of the positioning measurement acquired until said aborting or providing, to the cellular network, the positioning data.”
Zheng in paragraph 0026 teaches techniques for determining and reporting a position estimate for the UE. Measurements corresponding to the best position estimate hypothesis may be screened, e.g., such that any measurement not meeting a threshold is ignored and remaining measurements are used to determine a candidate position estimate. If the candidate position estimate meets a desired quality of service, then the candidate position estimate may be reported.
In other words, Zheng teaches “performing a quality evaluation of positioning data of the positioning measurement acquired …, and depending on a result of the quality evaluation,, discarding the positioning data of the positioning measurement … or providing, to the cellular network, the positioning data.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to utilize disclosed by Zheng procedure of quality evaluating positional measurements and reporting only those measurements that meet certain threshold, in the system of either Kazmi’278 or Manolakos capable of acquiring positional measurements until occurrence of interruption event. Doing so would have allowed the user equipment to report only those partial measurements that meet certain quality.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15 – 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/GENNADIY TSVEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648