Request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to all pending claims have been fully considered, but they are moot because of the new ground of rejection. Applicant argues that cited references failed to disclose “ wherein the method further comprises at least one of: in response to determining that the operation is performed on publisher information displayed in the video play area, generating the video list based on videos posted by a publisher of the video that is currently played in the video play area; in response to determining that the operation is performed on a topic control displayed in the video play area, generating the video list based on videos associated with a topic, wherein the currently played video is associated with the topic; in response to determining that the operation is performed on a collection control displayed in the video play area, generating the video list based on a collection of videos to which the currently played video belongs; or in response to determining that the operation is performed on a hotspot control displayed in the video play area, generating the video list based on hotspot videos that correspond to the currently played video”. The applicant failed to insert properly the objected claims 6, 17 and 20 to the independent claims to move the case forward. Claims 6; 17; 20 are cancelled. Claims 22-24 were added.
However, Mei et al show in fig.4 a system having user interface for displaying a list of recommended video contents on specific area of screen and the list of recommended video content is displayed based on the category of the video content being displayed or played in the area 410 of the screen as disclosed in para.0052-0053. This action is made non-final.
Claims rejections-35 U.S.C. 103
Claim(s) 1-2; 7; 11; 13-15; 18-19; 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura(US.Pub.No.20050149977) in view of Mei(US.Pub.No.20090006368).
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura et al disclose a method for generating and displaying a video list(see fig.8 to fig.12d for displaying list of video contents), comprising:
displaying a plurality of interface elements in a video play area of a video play page
while playing a video in the video play area of the video play page(See fig.8 to fig.12D for displaying multiple user interfaces during presentation of the video content; 0072-0073);
in response to an operation performed on one of the plurality of interface elements displayed in the video play area of the video play page, generating a video list and displaying the video list in an extended state in a list display area of the video play page(see fig.8 to fig.12d for displaying video contents on the screen in expanded format based on user input or selection; 0063) , wherein the video list corresponds to the one of the plurality of interface elements(see fig.8 to fig.12d with list of video contents via user interface; abstract; 0070-0071), and wherein the list display area has a first display size when the video list is displayed in the extended state(see fig.8 to fig.12d for displaying list of video contents in a small area of the screen; 0007); and
in response to an instruction of folding the video (see fig.5 with the fold button b11; 0029; 0032-0034), switching the video list from the extended state to a folded state(the system is able to switch from one display format to another display format based on the user selection of the folding button;0062-0063;0073); wherein the list display area has a second display size when the video list is displayed in the folded state, wherein the second display size is smaller than the first display size(see fig.8 to fig.11d for displaying list of video contents in a reduced size or area of the screen; 0007;0039;0082).
But did not explicitly disclose wherein the method further comprises at least one of: in response to determining that the operation is performed on publisher information
displayed in the video play area, generating the video list based on videos posted by a publisher
of the video that is currently played in the video play area; in response to determining that the operation is performed on a topic control displayed in the video play area, generating the video list based on videos associated with a topic, wherein the currently played video is associated with the topic; in response to determining that the operation is performed on a collection control displayed in the video play area, generating the video list based on a collection of videos to which the currently played video belongs; or in response to determining that the operation is performed on a hotspot control displayed in the video play area, generating the video list based on hotspot videos that correspond to the currently played video.
However, Mei et al disclose wherein the method further comprises at least one of: in response to determining that the operation is performed on publisher information
displayed in the video play area, generating the video list based on videos posted by a publisher
of the video that is currently played in the video play area; in response to determining that the operation is performed on a topic control displayed in the video play area, generating the video list based on videos associated with a topic, wherein the currently played video is associated with the topic(see fig.4 for generating list of recommended video contents in the display area 420 based on the video content being displayed in the user interface 410;0052-0053); in response to determining that the operation is performed on a collection control displayed in the video play area, generating the video list based on a collection of videos to which the currently played video belongs; or in response to determining that the operation is performed on a hotspot control displayed in the video play area, generating the video list based on hotspot videos that correspond to the currently played video.
It would have been obvious before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Mei to modify Nakamura by providing options to display list of video contents associated with specific category for the purpose of improving viewing experiences accordingly.
Regarding claim 2, Nakamura et al disclose further comprising: creating the list display area with the first display size in the video play page and adjusting a display size of the video play area based on the first display size of the list display area before displaying the video list in the extended state in the list display area of the video play page; and adjusting the display size of the video play area based on the second display size of the list display area after switching the video list from the extended state to the folded state( see fig.5 and fig.8 to fig.12d for adjusting the display area of video contents based on inputs being received from users; 0007; 0029;0037; 0039;0082).
Regarding claim 7, Nakamura et al disclose wherein the video list comprises information of videos posted by a publisher of the video that is currently played in the video play area(the system can display video content in the focus area; 0064-0065; 0069;0073) , and wherein the method further comprises: in response to determining that a video item corresponding to the currently played video is not displayed in the list display area, displaying a location tag in the list display area to indicate(the system can display location tag or location pointer on the screen; see fig.8 to fig.12d; 0065-0066), via the location tag(see fig.8 to fig.12d; ), a relative position relationship in the video list between video items displayed in the list display area and the video item corresponding to the currently played video(the system can scroll the pointer or the tag in different positions on the screen; 0065-0066; 0074-0075).
Regarding claim 11, Nakamura et al disclose wherein before adjusting the video list from the extended state to the folded state in response to the list folding instruction(see fig.5 and fig.8 to fig.12d for allowing the system to switch from one display format to another display format;0073;0039;0062-0063) ; the method further comprises: in response to a video switching instruction indicative of switching from the video that is currently played to a target video, generating the list folding instruction and switching from the video to the target video(0062-0063), wherein a video item corresponding to the target video is located in the video list, and wherein the target video is different from the video that was played in the video play area before the switching(see fig.8 to fig.12d for moving video content to focus area based on user inputs; 0064-0065;0073-0076).
Regarding claim 13, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 2.
Regarding claim 18, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 7.
Regarding claim 19, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 11.
Regarding claim 21, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 7.
Regarding claim 22, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 2.
Regarding claim 23, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 10.
Regarding claim 24, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 11.
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura(US.Pub.No.20050149977) in view of Mei(US.Pub.No.20090006368) and Shoemaker(US.Pub.No.20080091526).
Regarding claim 8, Nakamura et al disclose wherein after displaying the location tag in the list display area, the method further comprises(see fig.8 to fig.12d for displaying location tag and location pointer on specific area of the screen; 0064-0066;0033;0077).
But did not explicitly disclose in response to a trigger operation performed on the location tag, controlling a plurality of video items displayed in the list display area to move simultaneously, and moving the video item corresponding to the currently played video into the list display area for display.
However, Shoemaker et al disclose in response to a trigger operation performed on the location tag, controlling a plurality of video items displayed in the list display area to move simultaneously, and moving the video item corresponding to the currently played video into the list display area for display(the system is able to display additional contents on the screen based on trigger event or action; 0037-0038; 0042).
It would have been obvious before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Shoemaker to modify Nakamura and Mei by introducing trigger event or action of Shoemaker to the system of Nakamura resulting in “ in response to a trigger operation performed on the location tag, controlling a plurality of video items displayed in the list display area to move simultaneously, and moving the video item corresponding to the currently played video into the list display area for display” for the purpose of activating specific commands accordingly.
Regarding claim 9, Nakamura and Mei et al did not explicitly disclose wherein the video list comprises information of videos posted by a publisher of the video that is currently played in the video play area, and wherein the method further comprises: in response to a trigger operation performed on publisher information displayed in the list display area, displaying a personal homepage of the publisher who published the video that is currently played.
However, Shoemaker et al disclose wherein the video list comprises information of videos posted by a publisher of the video that is currently played in the video play area, and wherein the method further comprises: in response to a trigger operation performed on publisher information displayed in the list display area, displaying a personal homepage of the publisher who published the video that is currently played(the system is able to provide web contents based on trigger actions; 0042;0049; 0051;0056-0057).
It would have been obvious before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Shoemaker to modify Nakamura and Mei by introducing trigger event or action of Shoemaker to the system of Nakamura and resulting in “ wherein the video list comprises information of videos posted by a publisher of the video that is currently played in the video play area, and wherein the method further comprises: in response to a trigger operation performed on publisher information displayed in the list display area, displaying a personal homepage of the publisher who published the video that is currently played ” for the purpose of activating specific commands accordingly.
Regarding claim 10, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 8.
Conclusion
/JEAN D SAINT CYR/Examiner, Art Unit 2425
/Brian T Pendleton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2425