Claim Status
The amended claim set filed 30 July 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1 and 3-16 are currently pending. Of those, claims 1, 3, 8, and 11-12 are currently amended, and no claims are new. Claim 2 is cancelled. Claims 1 and 3-16 will be examined on the merits herein.
Claim 1 has amendments that are not notated. Specifically, the list of antigen glycans has been amended relative to the claim set filed 12 March 2024. Nevertheless, the claims are being examined in the interest of compact prosecution.
Claim set filed 12 March 2024. Highlight marks the unmarked amendment.
Claim set filed 30 July 2026. Highlight marks the unmarked amendment.
For clarity of the record, references to the specification will use paragraph numbers from the Pre-Grant Publication US-20240383950-A1 in order to avoid ambiguity caused by different versions of the specification having the text located at different page and line numbers.
Response to Arguments
The Applicants’ arguments filed 30 July 2026 are acknowledged. For clarity, in this action, said arguments will be referred to as “Remarks” and the Non-Final Office Action mailed 3 Feb 2026 will be referred to as “NFOA.”
The drawings were received on 30 July 2026. These drawings are unacceptable (see objection to the drawings below).
Objection(s) and Rejection(s) Withdrawn
The objections to the specification (NFOA par. 13) are withdrawn in view of the amendments to the specification.
The objections to the claims (NFOA par. 15-16) are withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims.
The rejection of claims 1-16 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) relating to the “represented by SEQ ID NO:1” (NFOA par. 22) is withdrawn in view of amendments to the claims and arguments. The rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) related to claims 3, 8, and 12 (NFOA par. 24-25 and 27) are withdrawn in view of amendments to the claims and arguments.
The rejection of claims 1 and 9-16 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Demetriou et al. (NFOA par. 40-46) is withdrawn in view of the amendment to require a particular sequence identity in relation to SEQ ID NO: 1.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because they do not comply with 37 CFR 1.121(d) as required by the previous objection because they do not comply with the drawing standards in 37 C.F.R. 1.84. Specifically, the text (especially the sideways text) is pixelated rather than being solid lines as required by part (l) and is smaller than allowed by part (p). As a result, the text is blurry and cannot be interpreted. The examiner’s view of the figure is copied below.
Examiner’s view of Figure 5.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: subject-verb agreement. The claim reads “wherein the variant [[is]] being devoid of cysteine…”, but “is” is the correct verb tense. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding the fungal species referenced in all claims, the art teaches that Athelia rolfsii and Sclerotium rolfsii are alternate, synonymous names for the same species of fungus, see evidence in Pethylbridge et al. (2019; PTO-892 mailed 3 Feb 2026; Abstract). Both genus names have been searched. For clarity, only the name Sclerotium rolfsii will be used in this action to match the name used in the instant specification.
For claims 4-7, the claims define mutations using amino acid positions on the variant. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the term “variant” includes proteins that are fragments of the original SRL protein, so position 1 or 76 of the variant does not necessarily align with position 1 or 76 of SEQ ID NO: 1. Also, positions 142 and 143 of the variant do not necessarily follow the amino acid aligning with position 141 of SEQ ID NO: 1. For example, a variant that is amino acids 3-50 of SEQ ID NO: 1, and an additional cysteine at the carboxy terminal end, would have a K to S substitution at position 1 of the variant (corresponding to position 3 of SEQ ID NO: 1) and would not have any position 76 for a substitution at all. For example, a variant that has amino acids N-terminally fused to SEQ ID NO: 1 would already have amino acids present at positions 142-143 of the variant, so the modification would be a substitution mutation rather than an addition of new amino acids. Therefore, claims 4-7 are interpreted as product-by-process mutations. The search will include all variants with a S at position 1, a G at position 76, a C at position 142, or a SC at positions 142-143, even if the pre-mutation amino acid differs from what is described in the claim or the modification is a substitution rather than an “addition”.
See MPEP 2113: "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted). … However, in the context of an infringement analysis, a product-by-process claim is only infringed by a product made by the process recited in the claim. Id. at 1370 ("a product in the prior art made by a different process can anticipate a product-by-process claim, but an accused product made by a different process cannot infringe a product-by-process claim").”
Regarding claim 16, the term “transfected” describes a specific process by which a nucleic acid can be added to a cell. Demetriou et al. (US-20180169260-A1; PTO-892 mailed 3 Feb 2026) teaches that in addition to transfection, a cell can also be transformed or transduced to introduce nucleic acids into a host cell [0114]. Therefore, claim 16 is interpreted as a product-by-process claim. The search will include all cells comprising the polynucleotide, even if the cell was not made by the process of transfection. See the MPEP support for this decision above (par. 16).
Rejection(s) Maintained
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1 and 3-16 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim reads “Thomsen-Friedenreich (Galpl-3GalNAca-O-Ser/Thr, TF or T) antigen (0-GalNAc Core1 (T antigen))” and “'α2,3/6-sialyl Core1' (Sialyl-T antigen)”. The meaning of the phrases inside the parentheses is indefinite and cannot be determined from the context of the claim or specification, particularly in view of the amendment to include multiple, nested parentheses. If the parenthetical phrases are intended as defining the terms, then the claim is indefinite because T antigen is defined as being the same as Thomsen-Friedenreich and TF antigen, but is also defined as having all of the structures of Galpl-3GalNAca-O-Ser/Thr and 0-GalNAc Core1 and a non-sialylated version of 'α2,3/6-sialyl Core1'. If the parenthetical phrases are intended as examples of the Thomsen-Friedenreich antigen, 0-GalNAc Core1 and 'α2,3/6-sialyl Core1', then the parenthetical phrase with the same meaning as "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Dependent claims 2-16 are also rejected under this grounds because they depend from claim 1 and do not overcome the rejection. Clarification is requested. In the interest of compact prosecution, in this action the claim will be interpreted as being met if any of the listed names are present in the reference (for example, a reference to T antigen is interpreted as both Thomsen-Friedenreich antigen and 0-GalNAc Core1), unless context unambiguously indicates otherwise.
Regarding claims 11-13, the claims limit how the protein is used, rather than limiting the protein product. MPEP 2173.05(p) states: “A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1318, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1748-49 (Fed. Cir. 2011). In Katz, a claim directed to "[a] system with an interface means for providing automated voice messages…to certain of said individual callers, wherein said certain of said individual callers digitally enter data" was determined to be indefinite because the italicized claim limitation is not directed to the system, but rather to actions of the individual callers, which creates confusion as to when direct infringement occurs. Katz, 639 F.3d at 1318, 97 USPQ2d at 1749 (citing IPXL Holdings v. Amazon.com, Inc., 430 F.3d 1377, 1384, 77 USPQ2d 1140, 1145 (Fed. Cir. 2005), in which a system claim that recited "an input means" and required a user to use the input means was found to be indefinite because it was unclear "whether infringement … occurs when one creates a system that allows the user [to use the input means], or whether infringement occurs when the user actually uses the input means."); Ex parte Lyell, 17 USPQ2d 1548 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1990) (claim directed to an automatic transmission workstand and the method of using it held ambiguous and properly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph)” In this case, as in the cases cited in the MPEP, the claim includes both a product (a protein) and a use for the protein product, which makes the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether infringement occurs when the protein is created or when it is used as described in claims 11-13. In the interest of compact prosecution, in this action the claimed uses will be interpreted as intended uses that are anticipated if the product is capable of use in the claimed manner, as described in MPEP 2111.02.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues (Remarks pg. 2) that “Applicants further submit that the expressions appearing in parentheses in claim 1 are intended solely to identify the commonly accepted scientific names, structural descriptions, or synonymous nomenclature for the respective glycans as understood by a person of ordinary skill in the art, and are not intended to provide alternative claim limitations or exemplary embodiments. Accordingly, the parenthetical terminology does not render the claim indefinite.”
This argument has been carefully considered but is not found persuasive. As amended, the term TF antigen/T antigen is listed as having three different structures due to the two different parenthetical statements for TF antigen and the third definition of a third structure as sialyl-T antigen. Applicant’s intent that the claim not provide alternative claim limitations does not change that the claim does provide multiple different structures for the claimed term, including multiple nested parenthetical statements whose function is unclear, as discussed above.
Applicant argues (Remarks pg. 2) that “claim 12 has been amended to clearly recite the intended therapeutic use of the recombinant glycan binding protein, rather than implying a process of preparing a medicament. The claim is not directed to a method of manufacture and therefore is not intended to encompass any preparation steps.”
This argument has been carefully considered but is not found persuasive. First, there are no arguments for the rejections of claims 11 and 13, nor are there claim amendments that overcome the rejection of record, so those rejections are maintained for the reasons of record. Second, as cited above, MPEP 2173.05(p) states: “A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Applicant’s intent that claim 12 not encompass preparation steps doesn’t change that the current claims do currently claim both a product and a use of the product and therefore are indefinite. It is suggested that applicant compare with the examples and requirements for functional language found in MPEP 2173.05(g).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1 and 3-16 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
MPEP 2163 states:
An original claim may lack written description support when (1) the claim defines the invention in functional language specifying a desired result but the disclosure fails to sufficiently identify how the function is performed or the result is achieved or (2) a broad genus claim is presented but the disclosure only describes a narrow species with no evidence that the genus is contemplated. See Ariad Pharms., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1349-50 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc). The written description requirement is not necessarily met when the claim language appears in ipsis verbis in the specification. "Even if a claim is supported by the specification, the language of the specification, to the extent possible, must describe the claimed invention so that one skilled in the art can recognize what is claimed. The appearance of mere indistinct words in a specification or a claim, even an original claim, does not necessarily satisfy that requirement." Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen-Probe, Inc., 323 F.3d 956, 968, 63 USPQ2d 1609, 1616 (Fed. Cir. 2002).
Thus, the written description requirement may be satisfied through disclosure of function and minimal structure when there is a well-established correlation between structure and function. In contrast, without such a correlation, the capability to recognize or understand the structure from the mere recitation of function and minimal structure is highly unlikely. In this latter case, disclosure of function alone is little more than a wish for possession; it does not satisfy the written description requirement. See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406 (written description requirement not satisfied by merely providing "a result that one might achieve if one made that invention"); In re Wilder, 736 F.2d 1516, 1521, 222 USPQ 369, 372-73 (Fed. Cir. 1984) (affirming a rejection for lack of written description because the specification does "little more than outline goals appellants hope the claimed invention achieves and the problems the invention will hopefully ameliorate").
This rejection is related to the possession of SRL variants that can to bind to generic “modified forms of TF and T antigens” from claim 1 and the possession of variants that have mutations at defined amino acid positions, even though those amino acid position numbers do not necessarily correspond to the same part of the protein in as the original SRL sequence, as in claims 4-7.
First, the claims are drawn to recombinant glycan binding proteins that comprise a SRL variant whose structure is only defined as “compris[ing] an additional cysteine at carboxy terminal end”, but which must have the function of “retains binding affinity toward one or more antigens selected from Thomsen-Friedenreich (Galpl-3GalNAca-O-Ser/Thr, TF or T) antigen, 0-GalNAc Corel (T antigen), Core2, 'u2,3/6-sialyl Corel' (Sialyl-T antigen), 'u2,6/6-sialyl Core2' and modified forms of TF and T antigens”. The broadest reasonable interpretation of “modified forms of TF and T antigens” is broad and includes highly varied sugar structures, such as changing sugar monomer types, changing linkages between the sugars, etc.
The instant specification measured what types of glycans are bound by the SRL protein with SEQ ID NO: 2 [Example 3]. This protein does not fall within the scope of claimed variants because it only has one cysteine at position 76 (i.e. does not comprise an additional cysteine at carboxy terminal end). The instant specification teaches “The Lectin having SEQ ID NO: 2 showed specific binding to N-glycans containing GlcNac at the non-reducing end;… Lectin having SEQ ID NO:2 showed strong and broad binding profile to O-glycans, specifically to T-antigen and its extended core structures” [0075-0076]. So, the binding properties of SRL vary depending on the type of linkage (N-linked or O-linked). The specification does not teach what variations of the SRL protein will make the protein able to bind modified versions of the sugars that have different linkages.
The art teaches the structure of wild-type, unmodified SRL and the interactions between the protein and the sugars that it binds. Leonidas et al. (2007; PTO-892 mailed 3 Feb 2026) teaches “The crystal structures of the SRL in complex with two carbohydrates, GalNAc and GlcNAc, which differ only in the configuration of a single epimeric hydroxyl group,” (Abstract). Despite the high similarity of these two sugars, they interact with the SRL protein at completely different sites: “GalNAc binds at the primary site, whereas GlcNAc binds only at the secondary site” (Abstract). Peppa et al. (2015; PTO-892 mailed 3 Feb 2026) created two recombinant variants of SRL, SSR1 and SSR2. “[D]eliberate replacement of the amino acid is incorporated between SRL and SSR1 at 14th, 113th and 123rd positions, where the amino acids Asn, Glu and Glu residues were replaced by Asp, Gln and Gln, respectively. In case of SSR2 amino acids at the 1st, 14th, 34th, 113th and 123rd were replaced with Val, Asp, Ser, Gln and Gln, respectively” (pg. 10851 col. 2, Figure 2). Peppa et al. also published SRL protein structures highlighting the modified amino acids (Figure 2). Peppa et al. found that SSR1 had a modified glycan affinity compared to SRL, but SSR2 had an unaltered glycan affinity (Abstract).
One of ordinary skill in the art would believe that the instant specification demonstrated possession of SRL variants that retain the existing SRL carbohydrate-binding surfaces and the resulting existing SRL carbohydrate-binding properties, due to the well-known wild-type SRL structure that was published in multiple references beginning more than 10 years before the effective filing date, and due to the high level of skill in the art. See MPEP 2163: “What is conventional or well known to one of ordinary skill in the art need not be disclosed in detail. See Hybritech Inc. v. Monoclonal Antibodies, Inc., 802 F.2d at 1384, 231 USPQ at 94.”
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would not believe that the specification demonstrated possession of variant SRL proteins capable of binding to modified forms of the TF or T sugar antigens, because the instant specification did not describe how to modify the SRL structure to change its binding properties and both the specification and the art show that SRL-sugar binding is highly specific (i.e. the claim defines the invention in functional language specifying a desired result but the disclosure fails to sufficiently identify how the function is performed or the result is achieved, see MPEP 2163). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would not believe that the species variant SRL proteins that bind to unmodified TF and T antigens is representative of the broader genus of variant SRL proteins that bind to the broader genus of modified TF and T antigens (i.e. a broad genus claim is presented but the disclosure only describes a narrow species with no evidence that the genus is contemplated, see MPEP 2163).
Second, the dependent claims 4-7 define mutations using amino acid positions on the variant. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the term “variant” includes proteins that are fragments of the original SRL protein or proteins that could have additional N-terminal amino acids before the beginning of the fragment corresponding to SEQ ID NO: 1. So position 1 or 76 of the variant does not necessarily correspond structurally to position 1 or 76 of SEQ ID NO: 1, and positions 142 and 143 of the variant do not necessarily follow the amino acid corresponding to position 141 of SEQ ID NO: 1. For example, a variant that is amino acids 3-50 of SEQ ID NO: 1, and an additional cysteine at the carboxy terminal end, would have a K to S substitution at position 1 of the variant (corresponding to position 3 of SEQ ID NO: 1) and would not have any position 76 for a substitution at all. For example, a variant that has amino acids N-terminally fused to SEQ ID NO: 1 would already have amino acids present at positions 142-143 of the variant, so the modification would be a substitution mutation rather than an addition of new amino acids.
The instant specification describes the claimed mutations as having specific functions related to the structure of the unmodified SRL protein. The substitution at position 1 of SEQ ID NO: 2 is performed to remove the threonine and aid in the efficient removal of an N-terminal Methionine at the zero position [0047]. The substitution at position 76 of SEQ ID NO: 2 is performed to remove a cysteine that could form an undesired disulfide bond [0049]. The specification describes the 142nd position as being at the carboxy terminal end of SEQ ID NO: 2 [0049], and the modification at the 142nd and 143rd positions is described as “The addition of Serine at 142nd position may aid in providing the space and flexibility between the c-terminal cystine and the protein, further providing flexibility to the conjugated drug” [0051]. The specification does not discuss how to modify the mutations when making variants that are fragments of SRL and does not discuss the possibility of N-terminal insertions before SRL.
As discussed above (par. 30-31), the specification and art show that the protein-sugar binding structure is highly specific. So one of ordinary skill in the art know that a mutation to a specific amino acid position of the SRL variant would not be correlated with the required function of binding to the sugar antigens unless mutation occurs at the defined place in the protein’s structure (i.e. the claim defines the invention in functional language specifying a desired result but the disclosure fails to sufficiently identify how the function is performed or the result is achieved, see MPEP 2163). Also, the specification describes a broad genus of SRL variants which have mutations throughout the protein due to the breadth of the term “variant” including fragments or proteins with N-terminal insertions, but the specification only describes the narrow species of SRL variants that have mutations at one specific location that aligns with the same amino acid position number of the original SRL sequence (i.e. a broad genus claim is presented but the disclosure only describes a narrow species with no evidence that the genus is contemplated, see MPEP 2163).
For these reasons, claims 1 and 3-16 are rejected as lacking adequate written description because each claim has at least one of the problems discussed above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues (Remarks pg. 2-3) that “the amended claims are fully supported by the specification as originally filed, which expressly describes the recombinant SRL variants, the specific amino acid substitutions and additions relative to SEQ ID NO:1, and their retained glycan-binding properties. The amendments further clarify that the claimed amino acid positions are defined with reference to SEQ ID NO:1, thereby removing any ambiguity regarding the location of the mutations and excluding variants such as fragments or proteins with unrelated N-terminal insertions. Moreover, the claimed variants are not directed to an unexplored functional genus but to structurally defined SRL proteins possessing specific sequence modifications disclosed in the specification.”
This argument has been carefully considered but is not found persuasive. Claims 4-7 have not been amended to “further clarify that the claimed amino acid positions are defined with reference to SEQ ID NO:1”. Claims 4-7 are the originally presented claims. Applicant’s proposal to “further clarify that the claimed amino acid positions are defined with reference to SEQ ID NO:1” seems likely to overcome the second part of the rejection relating to the protein mutations in claims 4-7, if claims were submitted that incorporated that amendment. The argument does not address the breadth of binding to “modified forms of TF and T antigens” that includes varying the sugar structure beyond the known binding partners for SRL, and which is not a functional limitation that is supported by the specification as originally filed for the reasons discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5 and 11-16 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sathe et al. (WO-2020044296-A2; hereafter Sathe; PTO-892 mailed 3 Feb 2026).
Regarding claim 1, Sathe teaches “modified lectin protein is provided having at least one amino acid modification in an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO. 1” [Abstract], these proteins are recombinant [Title]. Sathe teaches modified SRL having an amino acid substitution [pg. 21 par 2] that can include a R105C modification that introduces an additional cysteine within the C-terminal end of the SRL protein [pg. 22 par. 2 (d)]. As the term “C-terminal end” has not been defined in the in the instant specification, it is understood broadly as referring to the final part (“end”) of the existing SRL amino acid sequence or following the existing SRL amino acid sequence. The Sathe modified SRL with the R105C and C76G mutations (see discussion of claims 3 and 5 below) has 98.6% identity with instant SEQ ID NO: 1 (see alignment following the rejection).
There is no evidence of record that the binding affinity of the SRL variant would change (i.e. it retains binding affinity toward one or more antigens selected from Thomsen-Friedenreich (Galpl-3GalNAca-O-Ser/Thr, TF or T) antigen, 0-GalNAc Corel (T antigen), Core2, 'u2,3/6-sialyl Corel' (Sialyl-T antigen), 'u2,6/6-sialyl Core2' and modified forms of TF and T antigens). MPEP 2112.01 states: when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433. In this case, the structure is substantially the same (the SRL carbohydrate-binding region), so the specific sugars bound by the SRL variant are assumed to be inherent, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 4, Sathe teaches the protein can have an amino acid substitution at position 1 where the final amino acid is serine [pg. 8 par. 3].
Regarding claim 5, Sathe teaches “it is believed that the cysteine residue at position 76 of SEQ ID NO. 1 mediates dimer formation though the formation of a disulphide linkage. In certain embodiments, it is preferable to reduce dimer formation such that only one form of the protein (i.e. the monomeric form) is present. Thus in a fourth embodiment of the present invention, the modified lectin protein contains an amino acid substitution at position 76 of SEQ ID NO. 1 or a corresponding position of a sequence having at least 60% homology thereto such that the amino acid residue at that position is no longer cysteine. In a preferred embodiment, the substituting amino acid (i.e. that which replaces the original amino acid) at position 76 is glycine.” [pg. 25 par. 1-2].
Regarding claims 11-13, the modified lectin of Sathe is presumed to be capable of use for these functions. MPEP 2112.01 states: when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433. In this case, the structure is substantially the same (the SRL carbohydrate-binding region), so the specific functions that the protein is capable of performing are presumed to be inherent, absent evidence to the contrary. Also, regarding claim 12-13, Sathe teaches that the modified lectin can be used for detection of a cancer cell, cancer diagnosis and/or cancer therapy, and can be administered in a pharmaceutical composition (i.e. used for preparation of medicament for treatment of cancer) [pg. 9 par. 2-3].
Regarding claim 14, Sathe teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising the modified SRL protein and a pharmaceutically acceptable diluent or excipient [pg. 9 par. 1].
Regarding claim 15, Sathe teaches a nucleic acid molecule encoding the modified SRL protein that can be a recombinant vector [pg. 10 par. 3].
Regarding claim 16, Sathe teaches a transformed host cell comprising the nucleic acid molecule [pg. 11 par. 1]. There is no evidence of record that the disclosed process of transformation compared to the claimed process of transfection leads to a different structure in the resulting cell product; in both cases, the result is a cell comprising the nucleic acid.
Figure 1: Alignment of instant SEQ ID NO: 1 and the Sathe R105C and C76G modified SRL protein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues (Remarks pg. 3) that “Sathe does not disclose the presently claimed recombinant SRL variant comprising an additional cysteine added at the C-terminal end of SEQ ID NO:1 together with the specific structural modifications recited in the amended claims. In particular, Sathe teaches substitution of an internal amino acid residue (e.g., R105C) to introduce a cysteine within the SRL sequence, which is structurally and functionally distinct from the presently claimed addition of a cysteine residue at the C-terminus of the protein.”
This argument has been carefully considered but is not found persuasive. The claim does not define the claim 1 limitation “additional cysteine at carboxy terminal end relative to the wild type SRL” and the arguments do not point out any definition from the specification that disputes the rejection of record’s interpretation that “As the term “C-terminal end” has not been defined in the in the instant specification, it is understood broadly as referring to the final part (“end”) of the existing SRL amino acid sequence or following the existing SRL amino acid sequence.” (NFOA par. 48, also copied above). The examiner remains of the opinion that the 105th residue of the protein, which is in the final third of the protein, is at the protein’s carboxy terminal end.
Applicant argues (Remarks pg. 3) that “Furthermore, the Examiner's conclusion that the claimed glycan-binding properties and therapeutic uses are inherent is unsupported by evidence demonstrating that such properties necessarily result from the proteins disclosed in Sathe. Inherency cannot be established by mere probability or similarity of structure, particularly where the claimed protein contains distinct structural modifications that may influence binding characteristics.”
This argument has been carefully considered but is not found persuasive. MPEP 2112.01 states: when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433.
The rejection of record established that the structure is substantially identical to that of the claims. “In this case, the structure is substantially the same (the SRL carbohydrate-binding region)” (NFOA par. 49) and also note the very high structural identity even compared to the claimed genus “the Sathe modified SRL with the R105C and C76G mutations (see discussion of claims 3 and 5 below) has 98.6% identity with instant SEQ ID NO: 1 (see alignment following the rejection).” (NFOA par. 50). Therefore, a prima facie case of anticipation was established. Applicant has not provided evidence showing that the prior art product does not necessarily possess the glycan binding characteristics of the claimed product. So the argument is not persuasive because it does not meet applicant’s burden of proof.
Applicant argues (Remarks pg. 3-4) that “The amended claims further clarify the precise location of the amino acid modifications with reference to SEQ ID NO:1, thereby further distinguishing the claimed subject matter from Sathe.”
This argument has been carefully considered but is not found persuasive. The rejection of claim 3 has been withdrawn in view of the claim amendments, but this argument does not appear relevant to the other rejected claims. If the examiner has misunderstood, clarification is requested.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 3-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8, 10, 12, and 18-24 of copending Application No. 18/692,059 (reference application) as evidenced by the Martin and Hine A Dictionary of Biology “genetic engineering (recombinant DNA technology)” (2008; PTO-892 mailed 3 Feb 2026). The comparison is being made to the amended ‘059 claims filed 14 Mar 2024. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
‘059 claims 3, 26 teaches SEQ ID NOs: 5 and 8, which are identical to instant SEQ ID NOs: 3 and 4 (see alignments below, these sequences have the genetic modifications of claims 1, 3-8). Also, ‘059 claim 1 (and dependent claims) teach a recombinant lectin with a drug conjugated at the cysteine terminus (right side) and ‘059 claim 5 teaches that the lectin can be conjugated by a free thiol moiety, which is present on a cysteine. One of ordinary skill in the art would consider it obvious to achieve this by adding a C-terminal cysteine as shown in the sequences from ‘059 claims 3, 26 because the claims teach that this is a successful way to achieve the result. Oxford Reference teaches that recombinant DNA and proteins are made by “altering the characters of an organism by inserting genes from another organism into its DNA” (par. 1), so the teaching of a recombinant lectin also inherently teaches a recombinant polynucleotide encoding the protein and a cell (organism) comprising the recombinant polynucleotide. ‘059 claim 12 teaches that the protein drug can be formulated into a pharmaceutical composition and used for treatment and prevention of cancer.
Figure 3: Alignment of instant SEQ ID NO: 3 and Sequence 5, US/18692059A.
Figure 4: Alignment of instant SEQ ID NO: 4 and Sequence 8, US/18692059A.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues (Remarks pg. 4) that “The presently amended claims are directed to a structurally distinct recombinant SRL variant defined by specific amino acid modifications relative to SEQ ID NO:1, including the defined C-terminal cysteine addition and corresponding functional characteristics, which distinguish the claimed subject matter from the claims of the cited co-pending applications. The amended pending claims further recite a distinct combination of structural and functional limitations that is neither disclosed nor claimed in Application Nos. 18/692,059 and 19/130,824.”
The argument has been carefully considered and is not found persuasive. The copending application teaches the same protein as SEQ ID NOs: 3 and 4, which are part of the genus of claim 1 and are specifically claimed in current claim 8. So the disclosed proteins recite all structural limitations of the claimed recombinant glycan-binding protein. If applicant is arguing that SEQ ID NOs: 3 and 4 do not have the functional characteristics required by claim 1, then applicant must either submit evidence to that effect or make a clear admission on the record. See MPEP 2145: “An argument by the applicant is not evidence unless it is an admission, in which case, an examiner may use the admission in making a rejection.” An argument that the functional limitations are not disclosed in the claims of the copending application, even though SEQ ID NOs: 3 and 4 actually have the functional properties, is not persuasive because MPEP 2112 states: “"[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).”
Claims 1, 3-8 and 11-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7, 9-10, and 13-15 of copending Application No. 19/130,824 (reference application). The comparison is being made to the amended ‘824 claims filed 16 May 2025. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
‘059 claim 7 teaches a recombinant plasmid encoding SEQ ID NOs: 13 and 16, which are identical to instant SEQ ID NOs: 3 and 4 (see alignments below, these sequences have the genetic modifications of claims 1, 3-8 and the properties of claim 1 and 12-13). ‘059 claims 13-14 teach host cells comprising the plasmid. ‘059 claims 9-10 teach expressing and using the recombinant protein encoded in the plasmid and using it in cancer diagnosis or cancer therapy, and ‘059 claim 15 teaches a method of producing the protein of interest. For instant claims 11-13, the proteins are capable of use in these ways because it is the same sequences as disclosed in the specification as being capable of use in these ways.
Figure 5: Alignment of instant SEQ ID NO: 3 and Sequence 13, US/19130824.
Figure 6: Alignment of instant SEQ ID NO: 4 and Sequence 16, US/19130824.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues (Remarks pg. 4) that “The presently amended claims are directed to a structurally distinct recombinant SRL variant defined by specific amino acid modifications relative to SEQ ID NO:1, including the defined C-terminal cysteine addition and corresponding functional characteristics, which distinguish the claimed subject matter from the claims of the cited co-pending applications. The amended pending claims further recite a distinct combination of structural and functional limitations that is neither disclosed nor claimed in Application Nos. 18/692,059 and 19/130,824.”
The argument has been carefully considered and is not found persuasive. The copending application teaches the same protein as SEQ ID NOs: 3 and 4, which are part of the genus of claim 1 and are specifically claimed in current claim 8. So the disclosed proteins recite all structural limitations of the claimed recombinant glycan-binding protein. If applicant is arguing that SEQ ID NOs: 3 and 4 do not have the functional characteristics required by claim 1, then applicant must either submit evidence to that effect or make a clear admission on the record. See MPEP 2145: “An argument by the applicant is not evidence unless it is an admission, in which case, an examiner may use the admission in making a rejection.” An argument that the functional limitations are not disclosed in the claims of the copending application, even though SEQ ID NOs: 3 and 4 actually have the functional properties, is not persuasive because MPEP 2112 states: “"[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).”
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Demetriou et al. (US-20180169260-A1; hereafter Demetriou; PTO-892 mailed 3 Feb 2026), teaches “a composition for treating cancer comprising a peptide comprising a tumor-associated carbohydrate antigen (TACA)-binding domain derived from a lectin, wherein the TACA-binding domain specifically binds to a TACA of a tumor cell” [0006]. The lectin can be Sclerotium rolfsii lectin (SRL) [0007]. No protein sequence is provided for this protein. Specifically, the tumor-binding peptide is an Fc fusion protein comprising the TACA-binding domain that “further comprises a domain that specifically binds to an immune effector cell” [0011-0012], and the immune effector cell-binding domain can have the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 9 [0013]. Inspection reveals that this sequence comprises several cysteines (see also alignment in NFOA). The example peptide SEQ ID NO: 11 [0013] teaches that the immune effector cell-binding SEQ ID NO: 9 is found at the carboxy terminal (C-terminal) end of the protein, following the example peptide’s TACA-binding domain. So, Demetriou teaches a recombinant glycan binding protein that comprises a variant of SRL (varied by being in a fusion protein), that comprises additional cysteines at the C-terminal end from the cysteines in SEQ ID NO: 9. Additionally, Demetriou also teaches that the protein of the invention can be made into a cyclic derivative by adding cysteines at the “right and left position” (i.e. N- and C-terminal) and forming a disulfide bond between them [0166-0167]. See also the prior 102 rejection for additional teachings from this reference.
There is NOT a 103 rejection using this reference because even if one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing were to look up an art-known SRL sequence for use in the Demetriou fusion protein, for example, a C76G mutant from the Sathe reference used in the rejection above, the resulting variant protein would have much less than 70% identity with the SRL of SEQ ID NO: 1 (see alignment below). There is also no clear disclosure or rationale in the art to further modify the Demetriou reference to use only part of the Fc protein in order to increase the % identity with instant SEQ ID NO: 1.
Figure 2: Alignment of a combination that is Sathe SEQ ID NO: 1 with a C76G mutation fused to Demetriou SEQ ID NO: 9, compared to instant SEQ ID NO: 1. The alignment has 36.5% identity.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
AMELIA N DICKENS
Examiner
Art Unit 1645
/AMELIA NICOLE DICKENS/Examiner, Art Unit 1645
/SAMIRA J JEAN-LOUIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1642