Claim(s) 1,8, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosokawa US 2005/0054338 in view Li US Pat. 12,170,901.
As per claim 1 and 12, Hosokawa teaches a method for registration, applied to a core network device, the method comprising ( Ref. Fig. 2,5-6, elements 111 and 114, para 0093-0109 and 0073-0074 comprises processing and storing section), acquiring a first registration request message sent by a first terminal device, wherein the first registration request message comprises a first identifier of the first terminal device ( Ref. Fig. 5-6, para 0095-0096) ; acquiring related information about a second terminal device associated with the first identifier( Ref. Fig. 5-6, para 0097) ; acquiring a second identifier of the first terminal device, in response to the related information about the second terminal device being in an active state (see ref. fig. 5-6 and para 0098); and performing a registration for the first terminal device according to the second identifier( Ref. Fig. 5-6, para 0102-0109). Hosokawa teaches the use of all the limitation except “wherein the first identifier is a first 5G-globally unique temporary User Equipment identity (5G-GUTI), and the first identifier and the second identifier are UE identifiers of different types”, however Li et al. in the same field of endeavor such limitation (see ref. Fig. 4 Col. 19, col. 24 line 55 – 25 line 40 specification).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hosokawa by incorporating the teachings of Li et al. because it would allows for better registration process of terminals for 5G environment. Furthermore, by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system of Hosokawa provides better registration process for terminals.
As per claims 8 and 13 Hosokawa teaches a method for registration and program executed by the processor applied to a first terminal device, the method comprising ( Ref. Fig. 5-6, para 0093-0109), sending a first registration request message to a core network device, wherein the first registration request message comprises a first identifier of the first terminal device( Ref. Fig. 5-6, para 0095) ; and sending a second identifier of the first terminal device to the core network device to complete a registration, in response to a satisfaction of a preset condition( Ref. Fig. 6, element 12 and 13, para 0107 and 0108); wherein the preset condition is directed to one of, an acquisition of an identifier request message sent by the core network device, or a failure in an acquisition of a message related to the registration sent by the core network device within a preset time ( Ref. Fig. 6, para 0105 and 0106).
Hosokawa teaches the use of all the limitation except “wherein the first identifier is a first 5G-globally unique temporary User Equipment identity (5G-GUTI), and the first identifier and the second identifier are UE identifiers of different types”, however Li et al. in the same field of endeavor such limitation (see ref. Fig. 4 Col. 19, col. 24 line 55 – 25 line 40 specification).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hosokawa by incorporating the teachings of Li et al. because it would allows for better registration process of terminals for 5G environment. Furthermore, by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system of Hosokawa provides better registration process for terminals.
6. Claims 2-7, 9-11 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication to Hosokawa 2005/0054338 in view of Li et al. US Pat. 12,170,901 and further in view of "3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and Systems Aspects; Security; Lawful Interception (LI) Implementation Guidance (Release 17)", 3GPP DRAFT; S3I210503, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), MOBILE COMPETENCE CENTRE; 650, ROUTE DES LUCIOLES; F-06921 SOPHIA-ANTIPOLIS CEDEX; FRANCE, 21 July 2021 (2021-07-21), XP052031831 (herein after 3GPP).
As per dependent claims 2 to 7 and 9 to 11, the combination of Hosokawa and Li et al. teach all the limitation except additional features recited in these claims, however 3GPP teaches all the claimed limitations:
wherein the related information about the second terminal device comprises at least one of, a context of the second terminal device; a security context of the second terminal device; or a non-access stratum (NAS) security context of the second terminal device (see ref. paragraph 6.3.5.2);
wherein before acquiring the first registration request message sent by the first terminal device, the method further comprises acquiring a second registration request message sent by the second terminal device, wherein the second registration request message comprises a third identifier of the second terminal device, 12248270.1 and the third identifier is identical to the first identifier; and performing a registration for the second terminal device according to the third identifier (see in particular figure 6.3.5-2); wherein before acquiring the first registration request message sent by the first terminal device, the method further comprises, assigning a third identifier to the second terminal device after the registration for the second terminal device is completed, wherein the third identifier is identical to the first identifier (see in particular figure 6.3.5-2); wherein acquiring the second identifier comprises, sending an identifier request message to the first terminal device; and acquiring an identifier response message sent by the first terminal device, wherein the identifier response message comprises the second identifier (see in particular paragraph 6.3.6.1 and figure 6.3.6-1); wherein acquiring the second identifier comprises, acquiring a third registration request message sent by the first terminal device, wherein the third registration request message comprises the second identifier (see in particular paragraph 6.3.6.1 and figure 6.3.6-1); wherein before acquiring the third registration request message sent by the first terminal device, the method further comprises, acquiring a fourth registration request message sent by the first terminal device, wherein the fourth registration request message comprises the first identifier; acquiring related information about the second terminal device associated with the first identifier; and discarding the fourth registration request message in response to the related information about the second terminal device being in an active state (see in particular paragraph 6.3.6.1 and figure 6.3.6-1); wherein the preset condition is directed to the acquisition of the identifier request message sent by the core network device; and sending the second identifier to the core network device comprises, sending an identifier response message to the core network device, wherein the identifier response message comprises the second identifier (see in particular "Identity Request for UE" and "Identity Response" in figure 6.3.6-1); wherein the preset condition is directed to the failure in the acquisition of the message related to the registration sent by the core network device within the preset time; and sending the second identifier to the core network device comprises, sending a third registration request message to the core network device, wherein the third registration request message comprises the second identifier (see in particular "Identity
Request for UE" and "Identity Response" in figure 6.3.6-1); wherein before sending the third registration request message to the core network device, the method further comprises, setting a current iteration number K to 0, and sending a fourth registration request message to the core network device, wherein the fourth registration request message comprises the first identifier; and setting the current iteration number K as K=K+1, in response to the failure in the acquisition of the message related to the registration sent by the core network device within the preset time; and keeping sending the fourth registration request message to the core network device in response to the current iteration number K being less than a maximum iteration number, until the current iteration number K equals to the maximum iteration number (see in particular "Identity Request for UE" and "Identity Response" in figure 6.3.6-1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Hosokawa and Li et al. by incorporating the teachings of 3GPP because it would allows for better registration process of terminals. The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system of Hosokawa provides better registration process for terminals.
As per claims 14-20, they are similarly rejected as to the claims 1-13.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476