DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hayakawa et al. (JP 2020177014 A and English machine translation thereof).
Regarding Claims 1-3 and 5: It is noted that the instant claim are directed to a colorant for fluorescent labeling. Hayakawa et al. teaches a colorant composition comprising a phthalocyanine dye compound of the following formula:
.
Such a compound reads on a compound of General Formula (1) wherein Z is a direct bond, L1 is OSiR2R3-, L2 is a substituted alkylene group, and L3 is COOM1 where M1 is H ([0010] of JP 2020177014 A and [0129] and [0140] of English machine translation).
The Office realizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, the reference(s) teaches all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts made by a substantially similar process. The original specification does not identify a feature that results in the claimed effect or physical property outside of the presence of the claimed components in the claimed amount. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. that a dispersion as claimed of the colorant would have the claimed absorbance retention would naturally arise and be achieved by a composition with all the claimed ingredients. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01. If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients.
Regarding Claim 4: Hayakawa et al. teaches the colorant in a fluorescent labeling agent ([0001] of English machine translation).
Correspondence
/PETER F GODENSCHWAGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767 June 5, 2026