DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. In particular, this Application is the national stage application of an international application that claim foreign priority to a Chinese application filed on 14 Sept. 2021.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statements
The information disclosure statements, submitted on 13 Mar 2024, 11 Feb 2025, and 22 Aug 2025, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph 149 of the Specification, which recites in part, “otherwise, configuring an ECP indication in which a the total quantity of sub-indications is not greater than the first preset quantity,” needs corrected by deleting the “a.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Multiple claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
Several claims (e.g. claims 1, 8, and 22) lack a conjunction, such as “and” or “or” before its last limitation. For the sake of compact prosecution, an “and” is interpreted as conjoining the limitations of each claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Potentially Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-9, 11, 12, and 19-21 are not subject to an art rejection and therefore may be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim, assuming the claim objections and indefiniteness rejections are overcome.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
All claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C12, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites, in part, “an ECP slot within a preset unit length” and claim 15 recites, in part, “an ECP slot for a preset unit length.” It is unclear what “unit” the ECP slot must either fall “within” (i.e. claim 1) or be used “for” (i.e. claim 15). The breadth of “unit” is so great as to render the claim indefinite because nearly anything could be interpreted as a “unit.” Additionally, claims 1 and 15 seem to use the term differently. In claim 1, the ECP slot seems to be a subset of the preset unit length, while in claim 15, the ECP slot seems to have a duration of a preset unit length. This inconsistent use of the same claim terms adds to the confusion.
Claim 20 seems to imply that the present unit length is related to “a sequence of . . . slots.” Claim 20, lines 7 and 10-11. However, claim 20 uses the term “according,” which is relative, when claiming the sequence of slots. See claim 20:10-11 (“preset unit length according to a sequence of the all slots within the preset unit length”). As a result, the claimed invention of claim 20 is also indefinite.
All other claims are indefinite due to their dependence upon an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 15-18, 22, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shao (US 20220086832).
Regarding claims 1 and 22, Shao teaches a method executed by a user equipment, UE, and a UE comprises a processor and a memory; wherein the memory is configured to store computer instructions; the processor is configured to read the computer instructions (Shao, ¶232 and figure 7 – elements of a terminal device) and perform following operations:
determining whether an Extend Cyclic Prefix, ECP slot indication is valid for a slot carrying a Synchronous Signaling Block, SSB, according to an instruction from a network side device (Shao, ¶¶85 108 – four consecutive symbol locations need to be downlink for the slot format to be used for SSB [i.e. valid], where the slot format [indicated by an index] provided by the network device is used to perform both uplink and downlink transmissions);
determining an ECP slot within a preset unit length sent from the network side device according to a determination result of whether the ECP slot indication is valid for the slot carrying the SSB and the ECP slot indication. Shao, ¶¶118, 126 (slot format index indicates which symbols of a slot that include an extended cyclic prefix are downlink and which symbols are uplink/flexible); Shao, ¶160 (table 8 provides an example of a preset length of 12 symbols used for an ECP slot in contrast to, for example, table 4, which provides 14 symbols in a NCP slot).
Regarding claim 2, Shao also teaches in response to receiving a higher layer signaling comprising configuration information from the network side device, determining whether the ECP slot indication is valid for the slot carrying the SSB according to the configuration information. Shao, ¶¶106, 111, 114 (network device sends slot format index to terminal device); Shao, ¶¶107, 112, 117 (the slot format for the extended cyclic prefix may include symbols for downlink transmission, which make them valid for SSB transmission).
Regarding claim 3, Shao also teaches in response to receiving a higher layer signaling not comprising configuration information from the network side device, determining whether the ECP slot indication is valid for the slot carrying the SSB based on a default rule; wherein the default rule is that the ECP slot indication is valid for the slot carrying the SSB, or the ECP slot indication is invalid for the slot carrying the SSB. Shao, ¶¶108, 118 (the slot format of the ECP needs to have symbol locations designated for downlink to meet the SSB requirement [i.e. the slot format is valid or invalid based on its ability to accommodate a SSB transmission]).
Regarding claim 4, Shao also teaches for any preset unit length, determining whether a total quantity of sub-indications in the ECP slot indication for the preset unit length is greater than a first preset quantity (Shao, ¶79 – each SSB occupies four symbols, therefore a valid slot format must have four consecutive downlink symbols to be valid; Shao, ¶160 – see table 8 for examples of a slot format index having symbol indexes [i.e. sub-indications], where at least 4 consecutive downlink symbols are available);
wherein the sub-indication is configured to indicate whether a corresponding slot is the ECP slot (Shao, ¶160 – 4 consecutive symbol indexes of “D” indicates that the slot format supports SSB transmission);
in response to the total quantity of sub-indications in the ECP slot indication for the preset unit length being greater than the first preset quantity, determining that the ECP slot indication is valid for the slot carrying the SSB (Shao, ¶¶79, 160 – 4 consecutive symbol indexes of “D” indicates that the slot format supports SSB transmission);
in response to the total quantity of sub-indications in the ECP slot indication for the preset unit length not being greater than the first preset quantity, determining that the ECP slot indication is invalid for the slot carrying the SSB. Shao, ¶79 (any slot with fewer than four consecutive downlink symbols cannot support SSB transmission and therefore is considered invalid).
Regarding claims 15 and 29, Shao teaches a method and a network side device, comprises a processor and a memory (Shao, figure 9 and ¶258 – components of network device); wherein the memory stores computer instructions; the processor is configured to read the computer instructions and perform the method comprising:
sending an ECP slot indication for a preset unit length to a User Equipment, UE, according to whether the ECP slot indication is valid for a slot carrying a Synchronous Signaling Block, SSB. Shao, figure 3 (step s220); Shao, ¶¶85 108 (four consecutive symbol locations need to be downlink for the slot format to be used for SSB [i.e. valid], where the slot format [indicated by an index] provided by the network device is used to perform both uplink and downlink transmissions); Shao, ¶196 (network device configures the terminal device to determine a slot format of an extended cyclic prefix).
Regarding claim 16, Shao also teaches
sending a higher layer signaling comprising configuration information to the UE (Shao, ¶110 and figure 3 - step s220);
wherein the configuration information indicates that the ECP slot indication is valid for the slot carrying the SSB (Shao, ¶¶160, 162 – the slot format indicated by the transmitted slot format index ensures SSB transmission); or the configuration information indicates that the ECP slot indication is invalid for the slot carrying the SSB.
Regarding claim 17, Shao also teaches sending a higher layer signaling not comprising configuration information to the UE (Shao, ¶199 – higher layer signaling used to provide on an index [i.e. not individual symbol indices]), and the higher layer signaling not comprising the configuration information is configured to instruct the UE to determine whether the ECP slot indication is valid for the slot carrying the SSB based on a default rule (Shao, ¶¶156-157 – the slot format index provides a slot configuration that can accommodate an SSB transmission [i.e. a valid slot]); wherein the default rule is that the ECP slot indication is valid for the slot carrying the SSB, or the ECP slot indication is invalid for the slot carrying the SSB. Shao, ¶160, table 8 (all slot formats provide can carry a SSB transmission by having at least four consecutive downlink symbols).
Regarding claim 18, Shao also teaches in response to that the ECP slot indication is valid for the slot carrying the SSB, configuring the ECP slot indication in such a way that a total quantity of sub-indications in the ECP slot indication is greater than a first preset quantity (Shao, ¶79 – each SSB occupies four symbols, therefore a valid slot format must have four consecutive downlink symbols to be valid; Shao, ¶160 – see table 8 for examples of a slot format index having symbol indexes [i.e. sub-indications], where at least 4 consecutive downlink symbols are available);
in response to that the ECP slot indication is invalid for the slot carrying the SSB, configuring the ECP slot indication in such a way that the total quantity of sub-indications is not greater than the first preset quantity (Shao, ¶79 – any slot that lacks four consecutive downlink symbols cannot be used to transmit an SSB);
wherein the sub-indication is configured to indicate whether a corresponding slot is the ECP slot. (Shao, ¶160 – 4 consecutive symbol indexes of “D” indicates that the slot format supports SSB transmission).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, includes paragraphs 114 and 133 of Hwang, which teaches a number of slots per subframe based on SCS when using an extended cyclic prefix and transmitting a sidelink SSB.
/Benjamin Lamont/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461