Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 12, 13, 16, and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record does not alone or in any reasonable combination teach the claims. Further, no other prior art has been found that discloses all the limitations of the claims in any reasonable combination.
Claim 4
Yang et al. (CN 102624658 A) or Yang
Yang teaches inserting a guard interval between an OFDM data block and a training sequence. However, Yang fails to explicitly teach refraining from embedding embedded training sequences or ETSs in the last OFDM symbol carried in a data field as stated in dependent claim 4.
Claim 5
Zhang (US 20130202001 A1)
Zhang (US 20130202001 A1) teaches parsing encoded streams into at least one spatial stream and mapping into constellation points and symbols. However, Zhang fails to explicitly teach checking, before mapping payload data into a data field of a data unit, if at least one granularity conditions with respect to the spatial streams are fulfilled upon the ETSs being embedded as stated in dependent claim 5.
Lin et al. (US 20100165972 A1) or Lin
Lin teaches transmitting distributed sounding channels in a sounding pattern by a mobile device refrain from colliding with pilot signals in the same resource block with other mobile devices. However, Lin fails to explicitly teach checking, before mapping payload data into a data field of a data unit, if at least one granularity conditions with respect to the spatial streams are fulfilled upon the ETSs being embedded as stated in dependent claim 5.
Claim 12
Liu et al. (CN 107919945 A) or Liu and Lee et al. (US 20180176069 A1) or Lee
Liu teaches a constellation mapper encoding bits into complex data symbols and a low-density parity checker or LDPC interleaver configured to perform a permutation of complex data symbols as stated in dependent claim 12. However, Liu fails to explicitly teach mapping complex data symbols with a determined distance into data subcarriers of an ERUB. Liu also fails to explicitly teach the mapping distance being an integer number dividing the number of data subcarriers in the ERUB, which is half or partially used for embedding ETS, into integer parts as stated in dependent claim 12.
Lee teaches generating modulation symbols being half the data subcarriers of a resource unit. However, Lee fails to teach the mapping distance being an integer number dividing the number of data subcarriers in the ERUB, which is half or partially used for embedding ETS, into integer parts as stated in dependent claim 12.
Claim 13
Malkov et al. (US 20100214993 A1) or Malkov
Malkov teaches mapping a set of logical resource to a second set of physical resources including time-frequency subcarriers. However, Malkov fails to explicitly teach using an ETS mapping matrix for mapping at least one ETSs into at least one reserved subcarrier withing an ERUB as stated in dependent claim 13.
Claim 16
Douglas et al. (US 20070230403 A1) or Douglas
Douglas teaches time shifting a channel impulse response determined during long symbols producing minimum interference between OFDM symbols. However, Douglas fails to explicitly teach determining a time structure within the interference by detecting changes of the interference energy detected in OFDM symbols as stated in dependent claim 16.
Claim 21
Lin et al. (US 20100165972 A1) or Lin
Lin teaches reserving at least one subcarrier within at least one embedded training sequence resource unit blocks or ERUB in at least one orthogonal frequency division multiplexing OFDM symbols in the data field of a data unit with the ERUB spanning part or the complete bandwidth of the RU. Lin further teaches embedding at least one ETSs into at least one reserved subcarriers within at least one ERUB as stated in claims 1, 14, 18, and 19. However, Lin fails to explicitly teach at least one OFDM symbol carrying both payload data of the at least one spatial stream in subcarriers other than the reserved subcarriers and the at least one embedded ETSs in the at least one reserved subcarrier as stated in dependent claim 21.
Response to Arguments and Amendments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remark’s page 11, filed 18 June 2026 AD, with respect to objections for claims 1, 7, 14, 18, and 19 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remark’s page 11, filed 18 June 2026 AD, with respect to rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) for claims 8 and 20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 18 June 2026 AD with respect to rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 for claims 4, 5, 12, 13, and 16 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 18 June 2026 AD with respect to rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 for claims 1-3, 6-11, 14-15, 18-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Zhang et al. (US 20200145268 A1) or Zhang
Zhang teaches a first communication device transmitting data to a second communication device. The first communication device generates at least one spatial stream with each spatial stream carrying payload data, maps the payload data of each of the at least one spatial stream into a data field of a data unit with the data unit comprising a preamble and a data field carrying one or more OFDM symbols. Furthermore, Zhang teaches at least one resource unit or RU allocated to a data unit.
Zhang also teaches, extracting, from the received data stream, payload data.
(See Zhang paragraph 0165, …a receiving device obtains channel estimates corresponding to each spatial stream based on the OFDM tones allocated to the spatial stream in a single training field OFDM symbol included in a data unit, and utilizes channel estimate replication or interpolation to demodulate OFDM tones (e.g., in a long OFDM symbol of the data portion of the data unit))
Shows a receiving device demodulating or extracting OFDM tones in a long OFDM symbol of the data portion of the data unit or payload data
Lin et al. (US 20100165972 A1) or Lin
Lin teaches reserving at least one subcarrier within at least one embedded training sequences or ETS resource unit or RU blocks or ERUB in at least one Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing or OFDM symbols in the data field of a data unit with the ERUB spanning part or the complete bandwidth of the RU. Furthermore, Lin discloses embedding at least one ETS into at least one reserved subcarrier within at least one ERUB.
See Lin FIG. 3
As shown in the figure above, Lin discloses “reserve one or more subcarriers (See Lin FIG. 3 [Frequency (Tone)] within one or more embedded training sequences or ETS RU blocks or ERUBs (See Lin FIG. 3 [TILE #3]) in one or more OFDM symbols in the data field of a data unit.
(See Lin paragraph 0005, The 6-subcarrier resource blocks are further called as a resource tile. Under a fixed number of OFDM symbols, an 18-subcarrier resource block accommodates three tiles.)
Shows each resource tile containing 6-subcarrier resource blocks with a fixed number of OFDM symbols or the Resource Unit or RU
(See Lin paragraph 0031, In the example of FIG. 3, however, sounding pattern 55 is consistent among all three tiles.)
Shows the sounding pattern 55 or ERUB spanning the complete bandwidth of tile #3 or the RU
Lin discloses embedding at least one ETS into at least one reserved subcarrier within at least one ERUB.
As shown in FIG. 3 of Lin, sounding pattern 55 or ERUB contains sounding signals embedded into all 6 subcarriers or at least one of the sounding pattern subcarriers.
Belotserkovsky et al. (US 20030053571 A1) or Belotserkovsky
Belotserkovsky teaches extracting from a received data stream, one or more embedded training sequences or ETSs.
(See Belotserkovsky paragraph 0020, Training symbol extractor 32 is configured to extract training symbols from training sequences that have been included in the transmitted OFDM signals. A training sequence contains predetermined transmission values for all of the subcarriers of the OFDM carrier.)
Shows extracting training symbols or embedded training sequences or ETSs from training sequences
On the other hand, Lin supplies “embedded into one or more reserved subcarriers within one or more ETS RU blocks or ERUBs that are reserved in one or more OFDM symbols in the data fiddle of a data unit with the ERUB spanning part or the complete bandwidth of the resource unit.”
Choi et al. (US 20210091840 A1) or Choi
Choi teaches determining the amount of ETSs to be embedded into a data field of a data unit.
(See Choi paragraph 0083, The electronic device 101 according to various embodiments of the disclosure, in operation 1010, may determine the number of training fields (e.g., a training field of FIG. 5) according to a pre-specified period or a specified condition (e.g., running of application related to transmission and reception of a radar signal).)
(See Choi FIG. 5)
In FIG. 5 as shown above, Choi teaches an ETS (See Choi FIG. 5 [550] [EDMG-STF]) embedded into a data field of a data unit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, and 6 - 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 20200145268 A1) or Zhang in view of Lin et al. (US 20100165972 A1) or Lin.
Claim 1
Zhang teaches,
First communication device configured to transmit data to a second communication device, the first communication device comprising circuitry configured to:
(See Zhang FIG. 1 [25-1] [Client])
- generate a number of one or more spatial streams, each spatial stream carrying payload data;
(See Zhang paragraph 0049, ...the data unit 200 is a multi-user (MU) data unit in independent data streams are simultaneously transmitted to (or by) multiple client stations 25, where each of the data streams is transmitted using one or more spatial streams within the data unit 200.)
- map the payload data of each of the one or more spatial streams into a data field of a data unit,
(See Zhang paragraph 0049, In an embodiment in which the data unit 200 is an MU data unit, the HE-SIGB fields 235 in the data unit 200 are spatially mapped by a vector QP.sub.1, where Q is an antenna map or spatial mapping matrix that maps spatial streams,...)
wherein a data unit comprises a preamble and a data field carrying one or more OFDM symbols (See Zhang paragraph 0046, The data unit 200 includes a preamble 202, which, in turn, includes a legacy preamble portion 203 and a high efficiency (HE) preamble portion 204.)
Shows the data unit with a preamble
(See Zhang paragraph 0046, Each of the L-STF 205, the L-LTF 210, the L-SIG 215, the HE-SIGAs 220, the HE-STF 225, the M HE-LTFs 230, and the HE-SIGB 235 comprises an integer number of one or more OFDM symbols.)
Shows the preamble carrying OFDM symbols
(See Zhang paragraph 0046, ...the data unit 200 also includes a data portion 240. The data portion 240 includes a padding portion 244, in an embodiment. In an embodiment, the padding portion 244 includes only the last OFDM symbol of the data portion 240. In another embodiment, the padding portion 244 includes more than one OFDM symbol at the end of the of the data portion 240.)
Shows the data field carrying OFDM symbols
and wherein one or more resource units (RU) are allocated to a data unit;
(See Zhang paragraph 0059, ...each OFDM data unit 252 corresponds to a client station 25 and to a resource unit assigned to the client station 25.)
However, Zhang fails to explicitly teach,
- reserve one or more subcarriers within one or more embedded training sequences (ETS) RU blocks (ERU Es) in one or more OFDM symbols in the data field of a data unit, wherein an ERUB spans part of or the complete bandwidth of a RU; and
- embed one or more ETSs into the one or more reserved subcarriers within one or more ERUBs.
Nevertheless, Lin, in the same field of endeavor, teaches
- reserve one or more subcarriers within one or more embedded training sequences (ETS) RU blocks (ERUBs) in one or more OFDM symbols in the data field of a data unit, wherein an ERUB spans part of or the complete bandwidth of a RU; and
- embed one or more ETSs into the one or more reserved subcarriers within one or more ERUBs.
(See above arguments for teaching of Lin)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the method of generating a number of spatial streams carrying payload data, mapping the payload data into the data field of a data unit, the data unit comprising a preamble and data field with at least one orthogonal frequency division multiplexing or OFDM symbol, and allocate at least one resource unit or RU to a data unit as disclosed by Zhang with reserving at least one subcarrier withing an embedded training sequence or ETS resource unit or ERUB in at least one OFDM symbol in the data field of a data unit, the ERUB spanning the complete bandwidth of the RU, and embedding the ETS into a subcarrier of the ERUB as disclosed by Lin to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to increase the accuracy of determining the channel state of the signal transmitted by a first device).
Claim 6
Zhang fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 6. Nevertheless, Lin, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
First communication device as claimed in claim 5, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to check, as granularity condition, if …
- the total number of the subcarriers in all the OFDM symbols used for ETS embedded within one RU inside a data filed is divisible by the number of data subcarriers in the corresponding RU, or…
(See Lin FIG. 4)
Shows the number of subcarriers in all the OFDM symbols used for sounding channel 66 embedded within resource block 64 divides by the number of data subcarriers in the corresponding resource block 65
In other words:
Let n = number of subcarriers in all the OFDM symbols used for sounding channel 66
Let x = number of data subcarriers in the corresponding resource block 65
n mode x = 0
The motivation to combine Zhang and Lin in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 7
Zhang fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 7. Nevertheless, Lin, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
First communication device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine which ERUBs to reserve for embedding ETSs and/or …
(See Lin paragraph 0026, In step 42, the mobile station allocates a physical sounding channel structure within a resource block. In one example, the same sounding channel may span over multiple resource blocks.)
The motivation to combine Zhang and Lin in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 8
Zhang fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 8. Nevertheless, Lin, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
First communication device as claimed in claim 3 or 7,
wherein the information about interference comprises one or more of
…location of interference in time and/or frequency domain,…
(See Lin paragraph 0030, Second, sounding pattern 55 does not affect data transmission behavior of other mobile stations in the same resource block. As a basic principle, in order to minimize interference between sounding signals and other data signals, when a sounding signal is transmitted in a specific frequency tone by one antenna, then other antennas put null symbol in the same frequency tone.)
The motivation to combine Zhang and Lin in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 9
Zhang fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 9. Nevertheless, Lin, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
First communication device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to reserve all subcarriers of one or more ERUBs that span the complete bandwidth of a RU and to embed one or more ETSs into the reserved subcarriers covering one or more OFDM symbols and/or…
(See Lin paragraph 0025, In the example of FIG. 1, sounding channel 32 is allocated in the first OFDM symbol within resource block 33. The number of subcarriers of sounding channel 32 allocated in resource block 33 is equal to the number of subcarriers (i.e., eighteen) of the resource block. A sounding sequence is then mapped onto sounding channel 32 to be transmitted as multiple sounding signals via resource block 33.)
The motivation to combine Zhang and Lin in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 10
Zhang fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 10. Nevertheless, Lin, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
First communication device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to add, into the one or more spatial streams or into one or more data units, signaling information indicating one or more of: …
- predefined pattern of embedding ETSs into a data unit;
(See Lin paragraph 0025, ...sounding channel 32 is allocated with a sounding pattern such that sounding signals transmitted in resource block 33 by MS11 do not collide with pilot signals transmitted in the same resource block by other mobile stations.)
The motivation to combine Zhang and Lin in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 11
Zhang fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 11. Nevertheless, Lin, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
First communication device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to reserve one or more subcarriers of an ERUB and to embed one or more ETSs into the reserved subcarriers of ERUBs, wherein an ERUB is completely used, half used or partly used for embedding one or more ETSs.
(See Lin paragraph 0025, ...the length of a sounding sequence is the same as the number of subcarriers of a resource block, and the number of sounding signals carried in a sounding channel is thus the same as the number of subcarriers of the resource block.)
The motivation to combine Zhang and Lin in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 20200145268 A1) or Zhang in view of Lin et al. (US 20100165972 A1) or Lin in further view of Choi et al. (US 20210091840 A1) or Choi.
Claim 2
Zhang fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 2. Nevertheless, Choi, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
First communication device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the amount of ETSs to be embedded into a data field of a data unit and/or …
(See above arguments for teaching of Choi)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the method of generating a number of spatial streams carrying payload data, mapping the payload data into the data field of a data unit, the data unit comprising a preamble and data field with at least one orthogonal frequency division multiplexing or OFDM symbol, and allocate at least one resource unit or RU to a data unit as disclosed by Zhang with determining the amount of ETS to be embedded into a data field of a data unit as disclosed by Choi to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the amount of unneeded training fields in a signal).
Claim 3
Zhang fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 3. Nevertheless, Choi, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
First communication device as claimed in claim 2, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the amount of ETSs to be embedded into a data field of a data unit based on information about interference collected by the first communication device and/or the second communication device and/or an instruction to increase or decrease the amount.
(See Choi paragraph 0088, In the disclosure, a scheme of determining the number of training fields by Equation 9 may be referred to as a second scheme.)
Shows Equation 9 may be used to determine the number of training fields or ETSs
(See Choi Equation 9, NTRN + [Tradar / TTRN] )
(See Choi paragraph 0089, In Equation 9, N.sub.TRN may mean the number of training fields required for beam forming training. Information about N.sub.TRN according to various embodiments of the disclosure may be received from the external electronic device 104 or determined by the electronic device 101.)
Shows NTRN consists of the number of training fields required for beam forming training
Shows if the number of training fields required for beam forming training increase, the number of training fields increase and if the number of training fields required for beam forming training decrease, the number of training fields decrease
The motivation to combine Zhang, Lin, and Choi in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 2.
Claims 14, 15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 20200145268 A1) or Zhang in view of Lin et al. (US 20100165972 A1) or Lin in further view of Belotserkovsky et al (US 20030053571 A1) or Belotserkovsky.
Claim 14
Zhang teaches,
Second communication device configured to receive data from a first communication device, the second communication device comprising circuitry configured to:
(See Zhang FIG. 1 [14] [Access Point])
…of each of one or more spatial streams mapped into data fields of data units,
(See Zhang paragraph 0049, In an embodiment in which the data unit 200 is an MU data unit, the HE-SIGB fields 235 in the data unit 200 are spatially mapped by a vector QP.sub.1, where Q is an antenna map or spatial mapping matrix that maps spatial streams,...)
wherein a data unit comprises a preamble and a data field carrying one or more OFDM symbols and wherein one or more resource units are allocated to a data unit;
(See Zhang paragraph 0046, The data unit 200 includes a preamble 202, which, in turn, includes a legacy preamble portion 203 and a high efficiency (HE) preamble portion 204.)
Shows the data unit with a preamble
(See Zhang paragraph 0046, Each of the L-STF 205, the L-LTF 210, the L-SIG 215, the HE-SIGAs 220, the HE-STF 225, the M HE-LTFs 230, and the HE-SIGB 235 comprises an integer number of one or more OFDM symbols.)
Shows the preamble carrying OFDM symbols
(See Zhang paragraph 0046, ...the data unit 200 also includes a data portion 240. The data portion 240 includes a padding portion 244, in an embodiment. In an embodiment, the padding portion 244 includes only the last OFDM symbol of the data portion 240. In another embodiment, the padding portion 244 includes more than one OFDM symbol at the end of the of the data portion 240.)
Shows the data field carrying OFDM symbols
- reconstruct a number of one or more spatial streams, each spatial stream carrying payload data; and…
(See Zhang paragraph 0049, ...the data unit 200 is a multi-user (MU) data unit in independent data streams are simultaneously transmitted to (or by) multiple client stations 25, where each of the data streams is transmitted using one or more spatial streams within the data unit 200.)
- extract, from the received data stream, payload data…
(See Zhang paragraph 0165, …a receiving device obtains channel estimates corresponding to each spatial stream based on the OFDM tones allocated to the spatial stream in a single training field OFDM symbol included in a data unit, and utilizes channel estimate replication or interpolation to demodulate OFDM tones (e.g., in a long OFDM symbol of the data portion of the data unit))
Shows a receiving device demodulating or extracting OFDM tones in a long OFDM symbol of the data portion of the data unit or payload data
Zhang fails to explicitly teach,
- extract, from a received data stream, one or more embedded training sequences (ETSs)…
Nevertheless, Belotserkovsky, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
- extract, from a received data stream, one or more embedded training sequences (ETSs)…
(See Belotserkovsky paragraph 0020, Training symbol extractor 32 is configured to extract training symbols from training sequences that have been included in the transmitted OFDM signals. A training sequence contains predetermined transmission values for all of the subcarriers of the OFDM carrier.)
Shows the extracting of training sequences in OFDM symbols
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the method of generating a number of spatial streams carrying payload data, mapping the payload data into the data field of a data unit, the data unit comprising a preamble and data field with at least one orthogonal frequency division multiplexing or OFDM symbol, allocate at least one resource unit or RU to a data unit, and extract payload data from a received data stream as disclosed by Zhang with extracting from a received data stream ETSs as disclosed by Belotserkovsky to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to increase estimating the interreference or channel stated of the transmitted signal).
Zhang also fails to explicitly teach,
…that are embedded into one or more reserved subcarriers within one or more ETS RU blocks (ERUBs) that are reserved in one or more OFDM symbols in the data field of a data unit, wherein an ERUB spans part of or the complete bandwidth of a resource unit (RU);
…- perform detection and/or estimation of interference and/or channel state based on the extracted ETSs.
Nevertheless, Lin, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…that are embedded into one or more reserved subcarriers within one or more ETS RU blocks (ERUBs) that are reserved in one or more OFDM symbols in the data field of a data unit, wherein an ERUB spans part of or the complete bandwidth of a resource unit (RU);
(See above arguments for teaching of Lin)
…- perform detection and/or estimation of interference and/or channel state based on the extracted ETSs.
(See Lin paragraph 0026, After the base station receives the sounding signals, the base station performs UL channel estimation for DL close-loop transmission (Step 44).)
The motivation to combine Zhang and Lin in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 15
Zhang teaches,
Second communication device as claimed in claim 14,
(See Zhang FIG. 1 [14] [Access Point])
However, Zhang fails to explicitly teach,
…wherein the processing circuitry is configured to extract, from the received data stream, signaling information indicating one or more of:…
Nevertheless, Belotserkovsky, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…wherein the processing circuitry is configured to extract, from the received data stream, signaling information indicating one or more of:…
(See Belotserkovsky paragraph 0020, Training symbol extractor 32 is configured to extract training symbols from training sequences that have been included in the transmitted OFDM signals. A training sequence contains predetermined transmission values for all of the subcarriers of the OFDM carrier.)
Shows the extracting of training sequences in OFDM symbols in
The motivation to combine Zhang and Belotserkovsky in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 15.
Zhang also fails to explicitly teach,
- predefined pattern of embedding ETSs into a data unit;
Nevertheless, Lin, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
- predefined pattern of embedding ETSs into a data unit;
(See Lin paragraph 0025, ...sounding channel 32 is allocated with a sounding pattern such that sounding signals transmitted in resource block 33 by MS11 do not collide with pilot signals transmitted in the same resource block by other mobile stations.)
The motivation to combine Zhang and Lin in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 18
First communication method of a first communication device for transmitting data to a second communication device, the first communication method comprising:
(See Zhang FIG. 1 [25-1] [Client])
- generating a number of one or more spatial streams, each spatial stream carrying payload data;
(See Zhang paragraph 0049, ...the data unit 200 is a multi-user (MU) data unit in independent data streams are simultaneously transmitted to (or by) multiple client stations 25, where each of the data streams is transmitted using one or more spatial streams within the data unit 200.)
- mapping the payload data of each of the one or more spatial streams into a data field of a data unit,
(See Zhang paragraph 0049, In an embodiment in which the data unit 200 is an MU data unit, the HE-SIGB fields 235 in the data unit 200 are spatially mapped by a vector QP.sub.1, where Q is an antenna map or spatial mapping matrix that maps spatial streams,...)
wherein a data unit comprises a preamble and a data field carrying one or more OFDM symbols
(See Zhang paragraph 0046, The data unit 200 includes a preamble 202, which, in turn, includes a legacy preamble portion 203 and a high efficiency (HE) preamble portion 204.)
Shows the data unit with a preamble
(See Zhang paragraph 0046, Each of the L-STF 205, the L-LTF 210, the L-SIG 215, the HE-SIGAs 220, the HE-STF 225, the M HE-LTFs 230, and the HE-SIGB 235 comprises an integer number of one or more OFDM symbols.)
Shows the preamble carrying OFDM symbols
(See Zhang paragraph 0046, ...the data unit 200 also includes a data portion 240. The data portion 240 includes a padding portion 244, in an embodiment. In an embodiment, the padding portion 244 includes only the last OFDM symbol of the data portion 240. In another embodiment, the padding portion 244 includes more than one OFDM symbol at the end of the of the data portion 240.)
Shows the data field carrying OFDM symbols
and wherein one or more resource units (RU) are allocated to a data unit;
(See Zhang paragraph 0059, ...each OFDM data unit 252 corresponds to a client station 25 and to a resource unit assigned to the client station 25.)
However, Zhang fails to explicitly teach,
- reserving one or more subcarriers within one or more embedded training sequences (ETS) RU blocks (ERUBs) in one or more OFDM symbols in the data field of a data unit, wherein an ERUB spans part of or the complete bandwidth of a RU; and
- embedding one or more embedded training sequences, ETSs, into the one or more reserved subcarriers within one or more ERUBs.
Nevertheless, Lin, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
- reserving one or more subcarriers within one or more embedded training sequences (ETS) RU blocks (ERUBs) in one or more OFDM symbols in the data field of a data unit,
wherein an ERUB spans part of or the complete bandwidth of a RU; and
- embedding one or more embedded training sequences, ETSs, into the one or more reserved subcarriers within one or more ERUBs.
(See above arguments for teaching of Lin)
The motivation to combine Zhang and Lin in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 19
Second communication method of a second communication device for receiving data from a first communication device, the second communication method comprising:
(See Zhang FIG. 1 [14] [Access Point])
…of each of one or more spatial streams mapped into data fields of data units,
(See Zhang paragraph 0049, In an embodiment in which the data unit 200 is an MU data unit, the HE-SIGB fields 235 in the data unit 200 are spatially mapped by a vector QP.sub.1, where Q is an antenna map or spatial mapping matrix that maps spatial streams,...)
wherein a data unit comprises a preamble and a data field carrying one or more OFDM symbols and wherein one or more resource units are allocated to a data unit;
(See Zhang paragraph 0046, The data unit 200 includes a preamble 202, which, in turn, includes a legacy preamble portion 203 and a high efficiency (HE) preamble portion 204.)
Shows the data unit with a preamble
(See Zhang paragraph 0046, Each of the L-STF 205, the L-LTF 210, the L-SIG 215, the HE-SIGAs 220, the HE-STF 225, the M HE-LTFs 230, and the HE-SIGB 235 comprises an integer number of one or more OFDM symbols.)
Shows the preamble carrying OFDM symbols
(See Zhang paragraph 0046, ...the data unit 200 also includes a data portion 240. The data portion 240 includes a padding portion 244, in an embodiment. In an embodiment, the padding portion 244 includes only the last OFDM symbol of the data portion 240. In another embodiment, the padding portion 244 includes more than one OFDM symbol at the end of the of the data portion 240.)
Shows the data field carrying OFDM symbols
- reconstructing a number of one or more spatial streams, each spatial stream carrying payload data; and…
(See Zhang paragraph 0049, ...the data unit 200 is a multi-user (MU) data unit in independent data streams are simultaneously transmitted to (or by) multiple client stations 25, where each of the data streams is transmitted using one or more spatial streams within the data unit 200.)
- extract, from the received data stream, payload data…
(See Zhang paragraph 0165, …a receiving device obtains channel estimates corresponding to each spatial stream based on the OFDM tones allocated to the spatial stream in a single training field OFDM symbol included in a data unit, and utilizes channel estimate replication or interpolation to demodulate OFDM tones (e.g., in a long OFDM symbol of the data portion of the data unit))
Shows a receiving device demodulating or extracting OFDM tones in a long OFDM symbol of the data portion of the data unit or payload data
Zhang fails to explicitly teach,
- extracting, from a received data stream, one or more embedded training sequences (ETSs)…
Nevertheless, Belotserkovsky, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
- extracting, from a received data stream, one or more embedded training sequences (ETSs)…
(See Belotserkovsky paragraph 0020, Training symbol extractor 32 is configured to extract training symbols from training sequences that have been included in the transmitted OFDM signals. A training sequence contains predetermined transmission values for all of the subcarriers of the OFDM carrier.)
Shows the extracting of training sequences in OFDM symbols
The motivation to combine Zhang and Beloteserkovsky in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 14.
Zhang also fails to explicitly teach,
…that are embedded into one or more reserved subcarriers within one or more ETS RU blocks (ERUBs) that are reserved in one or more OFDM symbols in the data field of a data unit, wherein an ERUB spans part of or the complete bandwidth of a resource unit (RU);
…- perform detection and/or estimation of interference and/or channel state based on the extracted ETSs.
Nevertheless, Lin, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…that are embedded into one or more reserved subcarriers within one or more ETS RU blocks (ERUBs) that are reserved in one or more OFDM symbols in the data field of a data unit, wherein an ERUB spans part of or the complete bandwidth of a resource unit (RU);
(See above arguments for teaching of Lin)
…- performing detection and/or estimation of interference and/or channel state based on the extracted ETSs.
(See Lin paragraph 0026, After the base station receives the sounding signals, the base station performs UL channel estimation for DL close-loop transmission (Step 44).)
The motivation to combine Zhang and Lin in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 20
A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium that stores therein a computer program product, which, when executed by a processor,…
(See Zhang paragraph 0208, At least some of the various blocks, operations, and techniques described above may be implemented utilizing hardware, a processor executing firmware instructions, a processor executing software instructions, or any combination thereof. When implemented utilizing a processor executing software or firmware instructions, the software or firmware instructions may be stored in any computer readable memory such as on a magnetic disk, an optical disk, or other storage medium, in a RAM or ROM or flash memory, processor, hard disk drive, optical disk drive, tape drive, etc.)
Zhang fails to explicitly teach,
…causes the method according to claim 18 or 19 to be performed.
Nevertheless, Lin and Belotserkovsky teach limitations of claim 18 and 19.
The motivation to combine Zhang, Lin, and Belotserkovsky in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cao et al. (US 10243711 B1) or Cao teaches a device generating multiple orthogonal frequency division multiplexing or OFDM symbols.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMUEL ROBERGE BETTENDORF/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/SITHU KO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414