DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments submitted 3/5/26 have been fully and carefully considered.
The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments and arguments submitted 3/5/26 (see arguments P5).
Regarding the claim rejections under 35 USC 102(a)(1) and 35 USC 103, applicant argues that the independent claims 1 and 11, as amended to require “feeding a pyrolyzing reactor with a pyrolysis feed, wherein the pyrolysis feed comprises a waste plastic with less than 5 weight percent biomass based on the weight of the entire pyrolysis feed” in the context of a pyrolysis process with recovering CO2 is not fairly taught or suggested by the closest prior art applied of Sundaram (US 2021/0130698) (see arguments P5-7) this is found persuasive however updated search and consideration is required. The same arguments presented further references relied upon in the 103 rejections are similarly persuasive, however updated search and consideration has found new references, Huber (US 2012/0203042) necessitated by amendment. This action will be made Final.
The ODP rejection is held in abeyance and is therefore maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sundaram (US 2021/0130698) in combination with Huber (US 2012/0203042).
Regarding claim 1, Sundaram teaches chemical recycling process, the process comprising: feeding a biomass 112 and waste plastic 114 to a pyrolyzer 120 to pyrolyze it to thereby form a pyrolysis effluent 125 (not shown) / 131 comprising a pyrolysis gas (“gas phase effluent 125” and 131, Fig, [0064], claim 1, 8); and (b) recovering CO2 (in PSA 140) from at least a portion of the pyrolysis gas 131 to thereby form a recovered CO2 stream 148 (Fig, [0040-0055,0064], claim 1, 8).
However Sundaram does not teach wherein the pyrolysis feed comprises a waste plastic with less than 5 weight percent biomass based on the weight of the entire pyrolysis feed.
Huber teaches a method for catalytic pyrolysis of biomass and hydrocarbonaceous materials for production of products (title, abstract), Huber teaches the process comprises feeding the hydrocarbonaceous materials to pyrolysis reactor 20, recovering gas products in 50/70 including CO2 (Fig 1, 7, [0064,0096-0097]) Huber teaches hydrocarbonaceous materials may be selected as any or all of biomass plant materials, and also selected waste plastic and recycled plastics [0103], Huber suggests this influences the products recovered in liquid and gaseous phases from the pyrolysis reactor [0102-0104].
Therefore the skilled artisan in view of Huber recognizes that the feed material to the pyrolysis reactor influences the products recovered, including gases and liquids, therefore in view of Huber the skilled artisan would be expected to select from the known materials, including biomass and/or waste/recycled plastics and modify the process of Sundaram to be a process wherein the pyrolysis feed comprises a waste plastic with less than 5 weight percent biomass based on the weight of the entire pyrolysis feed with the expected result of influencing the products recovered from the pyrolysis process of Sundaram.
Regarding claim 2, Sundaram teaches wherein the recovered CO2 stream is enriched in CO2 concentration relative to the pyrolysis gas [0040-0055].
Regarding claim 3, Sundaram teaches the recovered CO2 stream comprises at least 75 percent of the CO2 originally present in the pyrolysis gas [0040-0055].
Regarding claim 4, Sundaram teaches wherein the recovered CO2 stream comprises at least 90 mole percent of 002, based on the total molar content of the recovered CO2 stream [0040-0055].
Regarding claim 5, Sundaram teaches wherein the CO2 comprises recycle content CO2 [0040-0055].
Claim(s) 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sundaram (US 2021/0130698) taken in combination with Huber (US 2012/0203042) as applied above and further in combination with Foody et al (US 2017/0158503).
Regarding claim 6-9, Sundaram discloses all the limitations discussed above including that the absorber is a PSA but does not explicitly disclose the absorber system comprises an absorber column and stripper column, with solvents and HTM claimed.
Foody discloses the recovery of CO2 from plastic pyrolysis processes in order to reuse and recycle it, said recovery taking place using an absorber column with a solvent, such as, amine, monoethanolamine or selexol, i.e. DME/PEG ([0097-0098], [0107-0109] and [0135-0137]) Foody further recognizes solid absorbent steps, i.e. PSA, and liquid absorbent steps, i.e. absorption/scrubber paired columns, are known for CO2 separations ([0130]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to swap the solid, or PSA, absorption step of Sundaram with the liquid absorption step utilizing an amine or selexol (DME/PEG) in absorption scrubber columns with heat transfer mediums as taught by Foody because Foody recognizes both as art recognized equivalents to achieve the expected result of separating CO2 without unexpected results.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sundaram (US 2021/0130698) taken in combination with Huber (US 2012/0203042) as applied above and further in combination with of Ban et al (US 4,220,454).
Regarding claim 10, Sundaram discloses all the limitations discussed above but does not explicitly disclose the disposition of the recovered CO2 as introduced to a gasification facility.
Ban teaches a process and system of use of the process for gasifying carbonaceous materials in a gasification facility to produce a low BTU gas in an oxidizing reaction zone with a controlled amount of air and steam and/or carbon dioxide gas (title, abstract, Fig 1-2, C6:L8-28).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the resulting CO2 stream in known processes that utilizes CO2, such as the gasification facility of Ban motivated to utilize the recovered CO2 in applicable system and methods in order to obtain a BTU gas product as taught by Ban that can be used for the BTU energy content.
Claim(s) 11-14 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sundaram (US 2021/0130698) taken in combination with of Ban et al (US 4,220,454) and Huber (US 2012/0203042).
Regarding claim 11, Sundaram teaches chemical recycling process, the process comprising: (a) feeding a biomass 112 and waste plastic 114 to a pyrolyzer 120 to pyrolyze it to thereby form a pyrolysis effluent 125 (not shown) / 131 comprising a pyrolysis gas (“gas phase effluent 125” and 131, Fig, [0064], claim 1, 8); (b) separating at least a portion of the effluent to form pyrolysis gas and pyrolysis oil ([0013,0031-0033], in pyrolysis hydrocarbon products are created, and the selectivity of the temperature can product more products, which are cooled in a conventional heat exchanger); and (c) recovering CO2 (in PSA 140) from at least a portion of the pyrolysis gas 131 to thereby form a recovered CO2 stream 148 (Fig, [0040-0055,0064], claim 1, 8).
However, Sundaram does not explicitly disclose the disposition of the recovered CO2 as introduced to a gasification facility.
Ban teaches a process and system of use of the process for gasifying carbonaceous materials in a gasification facility to produce a low BTU gas in an oxidizing reaction zone with a controlled amount of air and steam and/or carbon dioxide gas (title, abstract, Fig 1-2, C6:L8-28).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the resulting CO2 stream in known processes that utilizes CO2, such as the gasification facility of Ban motivated to utilize the recovered CO2 in applicable system and methods in order to obtain a BTU gas product as taught by Ban that can be used for the BTU energy content.
However Sundaram does not teach wherein the pyrolysis feed comprises a waste plastic with less than 5 weight percent biomass based on the weight of the entire pyrolysis feed.
Huber teaches a method for catalytic pyrolysis of biomass and hydrocarbonaceous materials for production of products (title, abstract), Huber teaches the process comprises feeding the hydrocarbonaceous materials to pyrolysis reactor 20, recovering gas products in 50/70 including CO2 (Fig 1, 7, [0064,0096-0097]) Huber teaches hydrocarbonaceous materials may be selected as any or all of biomass plant materials, and also selected waste plastic and recycled plastics [0103], Huber suggests this influences the products recovered in liquid and gaseous phases from the pyrolysis reactor [0102-0104].
Therefore the skilled artisan in view of Huber recognizes that the feed material to the pyrolysis reactor influences the products recovered, including gases and liquids, therefore in view of Huber the skilled artisan would be expected to select from the known materials, including biomass and/or waste/recycled plastics and modify the process of Sundaram to be a process wherein the pyrolysis feed comprises a waste plastic with less than 5 weight percent biomass based on the weight of the entire pyrolysis feed with the expected result of influencing the products recovered from the pyrolysis process of Sundaram.
Regarding claim 12, Sundaram teaches wherein the recovered CO2 stream is enriched in CO2 concentration relative to the pyrolysis gas [0040-0055].
Regarding claim 13, Sundaram teaches the recovered CO2 stream comprises at least 75 percent of the CO2 originally present in the pyrolysis gas [0040-0055].
Regarding claim 14, Sundaram teaches wherein the recovered CO2 stream comprises at least 90 mole percent of 002, based on the total molar content of the recovered CO2 stream [0040-0055].
Regarding claim 19, in modified Sundaram, Ban teaches the gasification facility comprises gasifier.
Regarding claim 20, Sundaram teaches wherein the CO2 comprises recycle content CO2 [0040-0055].
Claim(s) 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sundaram (US 2021/0130698) taken in combination with of Ban et al (US 4,220,454) and Huber (US 2012/0203042), as applied above and further in combination with of Foody et al (US 2017/0158503).
Regarding claim 15-18, Sundaram discloses all the limitations discussed above including that the absorber is a PSA but does not explicitly disclose the absorber system comprises an absorber column and stripper column, with solvents and HTM claimed.
Foody discloses the recovery of CO2 from plastic pyrolysis processes in order to reuse and recycle it, said recovery taking place using an absorber column with a solvent, such as, amine, monoethanolamine or selexol, i.e. DME/PEG ([0097-0098], [0107-0109] and [0135-0137]) Foody further recognizes solid absorbent steps, i.e. PSA, and liquid absorbent steps, i.e. absorption/scrubber paired columns, are known for CO2 separations ([0130]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to swap the solid, or PSA, absorption step of Sundaram with the liquid absorption step utilizing an amine or selexol (DME/PEG) in absorption scrubber columns with heat transfer mediums as taught by Foody because Foody recognizes both as art recognized equivalents to achieve the expected result of separating CO2 without unexpected results.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/691,476 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘476 applicant are the more limited of the two sets of claims however it is obvious to claim the instantly broader invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-20 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/691,481 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are substantially overlapping with the claims of the ‘481 directed to recovery of the oil product, whereas the instant claims directed to recovery of CO2, however both oil and CO2 are recognized products (see instant claim 11) and recovery of them are obvious modifications motivated to recover the different products of pyrolysis.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772