Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were filed on 03/13/2024 and 11/05/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 8, 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanaka Yohei, hereafter Tanaka (JP Appl. No. 2018058752 A).
As per claim 1, Tanaka teaches “A loading assistance apparatus comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to:
acquire cargo information relating to each of cargos included in an unloaded cargo group;” (See abstract and page 2 paragraph 2 “FIG. 1 is a diagram illustrating an example of an outline of a product information providing system 5 according to the embodiment. The loading information providing system 5 loads a plurality of (for example, many) loads Bg loaded in a warehouse such as a distribution center on a loading platform… The loading information providing system 5 includes a configuration including an RFID (radio frequency identifier) tag 8 attached to the package Bg, a wearable terminal 10, a center server 30, and an information presentation device 50.” Examiner interprets “unloaded cargo group” as cargo that was unloaded, “loaded in a warehouse such as a distribution center” is included in this since it had to first be unloaded from another place onto the distribution center. Tanaka)
“acquire loading information indicating a current loading status of a loading space;” (See page 3 paragraph 7 “The loading area Sq may indicate, for example, an area (loading area) where the load Bg on the loading platform 70z of the truck 70 is loaded. The loading area Sq may be a planar area in a two dimensional plane or a spatial area in a three-dimensional space” See also page 5 paragraph 6 “The storage unit 35 stores various data, information, and programs. For example, information about past loading results (for example, what kind of luggage has been placed in which loading area Sq in the past in which loading area Sq) may be stored… See also page 12 paragraphs 1-5. Tanaka)
“decide a cargo to be loaded next in the loading space, by using the cargo information and the loading information; and” (See page 19 paragraph 9-10 and page 20 paragraph 1 “In addition, when the processing unit 31 detects that the worker hm who loads the luggage Bg is changed, the processing unit 31 determines a loading specification suitable for the worker hm after the change, and the information presentation device 50 determines the determined loading.” “In the above-described embodiment, the processing unit 31 of the center server 30 assumes that the first load of the load Bg to be loaded by the worker hm is placed at the bottom of the loading area. May be redetermined. The re-determination of the loading specification is the same as the analysis of the loading specification described above, the loading floor area, the baggage information obtained from the baggage ID, the past loading record, the delivery route, the machine-learned learned data, etc. Based on at least one of the above. The package that is first gripped by the worker hm is, for example, a package that is identified by the first acquired package ID among the individual package IDs acquired by the processing unit 31 of the center server 30 via the communication unit 32. Good. Thereby, the center server 30 can improve the loading work of other loads Bg on the basis of the loading of the loads that the worker hm has in his / her hand, and can, for example, derive an optimal solution for loading.” Since it can determine an optimal solution for loading order, it can decide what is loaded next. This is based on cargo and loading information as also seen on page 4 paragraphs 5-7. Tanaka )
“cause a first output unit to output cargo specification information for specifying the cargo to be loaded next.” (See page 20 paragraph 3 “Thereby, the center server 30 can improve the loading efficiency in which the loading specification can be determined in consideration of the loading of the package to be redelivered. Further, the information presentation device 50 displays the loading information including the re-determined loading specification, so that the worker hm can determine in which loading position it is appropriate to reload the package to be redelivered.” See also page 11 paragraph 3 “The display device 52 of the information presenting apparatus 50 displays the individual loading screen GM2 on the display device 52 based on the detailed information of the package Bg (C11). On the individual loading screen GM2, for example, information on the loading order and loading position of the packages Bg identified by the package ID acquired by the wearable terminal 10 may be displayed.” Tanaka)
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under the same analysis as claim 1. (See page 3 paragraph 8, it shows non transitory. “The wearable terminal 10 may have a storage unit. The storage unit includes a primary storage device (for example, a RAM (Random Access Memory) or a ROM (Read Only Memory)). The storage unit may include other memories (for example, an SD card).” See also page 5 paragraph 5 “The storage unit 35 includes a primary storage device (for example, RAM or ROM). The storage unit 35 may include a secondary storage device (for example, an HDD (Hard Disk Drive) or an SSD (Solid State Drive)) or a tertiary storage device (for example, an optical disk or an SD card).” Tanaka)
As per claim 2, Tanaka teaches “the loading assistance apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor configured further to execute the instructions to: decide a loading position of the cargo to be loaded next in the loading space, by using the cargo information and the loading information”, (See page 19 paragraph 9-10 and page 20 paragraph, it shows a determination of loading cargo next and it includes the system shown in page 18 paragraphs 3 and 6-7, “The loading information providing system 5 can determine the loading order and loading positions of the plurality of loads Bg in consideration of the unloading order, and can generate loading information. Therefore, the loading information providing system 5 can improve the loading specification in consideration of the traffic information of the delivery area” “As a result, the loading information providing system 5 determines that the loading position of the luggage Bg held by the worker hm for the Nth loading and the loading position of the Nth luggage Bg specified in the loading information. If they are different, the worker hm can be notified by presenting the warning information. Therefore, the worker hm can recognize that the loading position of the load Bg to be loaded is incorrect, and can load the load Bg at the loading position that should be loaded.” Tanaka) “and cause a second output unit to output position specification information for specifying the loading position of the cargo to be loaded next.” (See page 18 last 2 paragraphs and page 19 paragraphs 1-3, it shows an output unit that shows the loading position. “Moreover, the information presentation apparatus 50 may include a display device 52 that displays information. This information may include, for example, loading information and warning information. The display device 52 is an example of a display device. Thereby, the worker hm can visually confirm various information (for example, loading information and warning information). In the display of the loading information, for example, the loading position where the loading area Sq and the plurality of packages Bg are stacked may be visualized, or one loading position where the load Bg held in the hand is stacked is visualized. May be. In the display of the warning information, the correct package Bg may be visualized so as to be identifiable, and the loading position of the correct package Bg may be visualized so as to be identifiable.” Tanaka)
As per claim 3, Tanaka teaches “The loading assistance apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the cargo information includes at least one of a size, weight, a shape, and a loading condition of each of the cargos.” (See page 4 paragraph 1 “The package information includes, for example, the identification information (package ID) of the package Bg, the type of package Bg (for example, whether it is a broken object), the shipper (delivery source) of the package Bg, the delivery destination (delivery destination) of the package Bg, and the delivery of the package Bg Information such as the region, the size of the luggage Bg, the weight of the luggage Bg, the outer shape of the luggage Bg, and the like may be included.” Tanaka)
As per claim 7 Tanaka already teaches “the loading assistance apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, the decision of the cargo to be loaded next in the loading space is executed when at least one of addition of a cargo to the unloaded cargo group and occurrence of a change of a current loading status of the loading space is detected. (Tanaka teaches both of the cases limited by “at least one of”. See page 19 last two paragraphs and page 20 paragraphs 1-5. “In the above-described embodiment, the processing unit 31 of the center server 30 assumes that the first load of the load Bg to be loaded by the worker hm is placed at the bottom of the loading area. May be redetermined. The re-determination of the loading specification is the same as the analysis of the loading specification described above, the loading floor area, the baggage information obtained from the baggage ID, the past loading record, the delivery route, the machine-learned learned data, etc. Based on at least one of the above. The package that is first gripped by the worker hm is, for example, a package that is identified by the first acquired package ID among the individual package IDs acquired by the processing unit 31 of the center server 30 via the communication unit 32. Good. Thereby, the center server 30 can improve the loading work of other loads Bg on the basis of the loading of the loads that the worker hm has in his / her hand, and can, for example, derive an optimal solution for loading.” When the packages are first acquired among the IDs all acquired, they are loaded first by the worker in a loading area. Therefore it covers the BRI (broadest reasonable interpretation) of the unloaded cargo group (which are then to be loaded). In addition, a determination of loading order (who is next) also depends on the status of the loading area as seen in page 4 paragraph 5 “The processing unit 31 may calculate a floor area (a loaded floor area) of the loading area Sq based on measurement data from the wearable terminal 10.The processing unit 31 may acquire package information related to the package Bg based on the package ID of the package Bg from the wearable terminal 10. The processing unit 31 loads the luggage Bg in the loading area Sq based on the loading area (for example, the loading floor area) and the luggage information (for example, the size, shape, and characteristics of the luggage Bg (whether it is a broken object, etc.)). The product specification for attaching may be determined, and product information including the product specification may be generated. The loading specification may include, for example, the loading order of the luggage Bg and the loading position of the luggage Bg. The algorithm for determining the product specification may be an arbitrary algorithm, or may be an algorithm of a learned model that has been machine learned to determine the product specification” By calculating a “loaded floor area”, it teaches that the device is capable of measuring how much space it has left for loading on the loading area, therefore it shows a “status” of how much, if possible, can be loaded. Tanaka )
As per claim 8, Tanaka teaches “The loading assistance apparatus according to claim 1,the at least one processor configured further to execute the instructions to: acquire, among cargos loaded in the loading space, cargo information relating to each of one or a plurality of cargos included in a provisional loaded cargo group loaded within a predetermined range.” (See page 11 paragraph 5-7 “When the loading operation is completed, the worker hm operates the gesture C. The control unit 11 detects the operation of the gesture C, and activates the collective reading function for a plurality (for example, many) of packages Bg stacked on the loading platform 70z of the truck 70 (C13). The RFID reader 12 performs wireless communication with the plurality of RFID tags 8 attached to the plurality of packages Bg stacked on the loading platform 70z, and reads the package ID from each of the plurality of RFID tags 8.” This is a provisional loaded cargo group since it still needs another round of verification which is done on page 11 paragraphs 7-8 “Based on the received plurality of package IDs, the processing unit 31 determines whether or not there is any omission (loading omission) in the packages loaded on the truck 70 (C14). The presence or absence of loading omission is based on, for example, whether or not there is a difference between the plurality of package IDs acquired by the batch reading of (C13) and the plurality of package IDs acquired by the batch reading of (C4). May be discriminated. If there is no omission, the processing unit 31 obtains shipping approval (C14).” It is within a “predetermined range” since the loading area size is predetermined as seen on page 10 paragraphs 6-8 “The control unit 11 detects the operation of the gesture B, and starts measuring the loading area Sq (for example, the loading floor area, the position of the loading area Sq) (C2)… The processing unit 31 calculates the floor area with product based on the measurement data from the wearable terminal 10 (C3).” See also paragraph 12 on page 10 and page 12 paragraphs 4-5. Tanaka)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka in view of Valkov et. al., hereafter Valkov (US Pub. No. 20170278176 A1) .
As per claim 4, Tanaka already teaches “The loading assistance apparatus according to claim 1,the at least one processor configured further to execute the instructions to:
when a cargo is added to the unloaded cargo group, acquire cargo information relating to the added cargo, and” (See page 13 paragraph 2-4 “The processing unit 31 has a loading specification for stacking a plurality of (for example, all) packages Bg in the loading area Sq based on the package information of the plurality (for example, all) of packages Bg and the information on the floor area for loading.” Examiner interprets the packages in the loading area as the unloaded cargo group. “… The display device 52 displays the entire product loading screen GM1 on which the product specification is expressed by batch reading on the display device 52 (T16). The full volume screen GM1 may display a loading specification for loading each package Bg whose package ID is acquired in the derived loading area Sq.” Tanaka), however Tanaka does not completely teach “decide whether the added cargo is a reserved cargo satisfying a predetermined reservation condition, by using the cargo information relating to the added cargo.”
Valkov teaches “decide whether the added cargo is a reserved cargo satisfying a predetermined reservation condition, by using the cargo information relating to the added cargo” (See paragraph 29 “In some embodiments, the loading orders of items in each shopping containers may be determined based on item characteristics such as item fragility. For example, heavy items such as beverages bottles and cans may be loaded first such that the items go to the bottom of the container, while easily damaged items such as bread, chips, some types of produce, may be loaded into to the container last and/or may be placed in separate containers. In some embodiments, each item may be rated on a resilience scale (e.g. sturdy to fragile) in an item database and the items loaded into a container may be assigned a loading order relative to each other based on the scale.” Examiner interprets “predetermined reservation condition” as the resilience scale, either fragile or sturdy, and packing compatibility as seen in paragraph 11 “In some embodiments, products may be dispensed in an order determined based on item fragility (e.g. crushable items placed into a container last) and/or packing compatibility (e.g. don't place raw meats with produce, don't put toxic chemicals with edible, etc.).” . See also paragraph 11. Valkov)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tanaka with the teachings of Valkov to decide if the added cargo satisfies a predetermined reservation condition. The modification would have been motivated by the desire to prevent damage to all items, such as those that are fragile or incompatible therefore it is an improvement, as suggested by Valkov (See paragraph 29 “For example, heavy items such as beverages bottles and cans may be loaded first such that the items go to the bottom of the container, while easily damaged items such as bread, chips, some types of produce, may be loaded into to the container last and/or may be placed in separate containers.” “[0011]… In some embodiments, products may be dispensed in an order determined based on item fragility (e.g. crushable items placed into a container last) and/or packing compatibility (e.g. don't place raw meats with produce, don't put toxic chemicals with edible, etc.).” See also paragraph 34. Valkov)
As per claim 5, Tanaka in view of Valkov already teaches “The loading assistance apparatus according to claim 4, the at least one processor configured further to execute the instructions to:”, however only Tanaka teaches “cause a third output unit to output reservation specification information for specifying the added cargo as a reserved cargo” (See page 18 paragraph 4 “Further, the loading information may include information on the loading order of the plurality of packages Bg. The center server 30 may sequentially receive the package IDs of a plurality of packages Bg individually from the RFID tag 8 attached to the package Bg. The center server 30 transmits warning information when the Nth package ID received in the Nth (N is a natural number) and the Nth package ID according to the loading order included in the loading information do not match. It's okay. When receiving the warning information, the information presentation device 50 may present the warning information. This presentation may be a display, audio output, vibration, etc.” Tanaka. ) and Volkov already teaches “when it is decided that the added cargo is the reserved cargo,” (See paragraph 29 “In some embodiments, the loading orders of items in each shopping containers may be determined based on item characteristics such as item fragility. For example, heavy items such as beverages bottles and cans may be loaded first such that the items go to the bottom of the container, while easily damaged items such as bread, chips, some types of produce, may be loaded into to the container last and/or may be placed in separate containers. In some embodiments, each item may be rated on a resilience scale (e.g. sturdy to fragile) in an item database and the items loaded into a container may be assigned a loading order relative to each other based on the scale.” Volkov).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tanaka with the teachings of Valkov to output reservation information when it is decided that the cargo is reserved cargo. The modification would have been motivated by the desire to prevent damage to all items, such as those that are fragile or incompatible, therefore it is an improvement, as suggested by Valkov (See paragraph 29 “For example, heavy items such as beverages bottles and cans may be loaded first such that the items go to the bottom of the container, while easily damaged items such as bread, chips, some types of produce, may be loaded into to the container last and/or may be placed in separate containers.” “[0011]… In some embodiments, products may be dispensed in an order determined based on item fragility (e.g. crushable items placed into a container last) and/or packing compatibility (e.g. don't place raw meats with produce, don't put toxic chemicals with edible, etc.).” See also paragraph 34. Valkov)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DYLAN JOHN MENDEZ MUNIZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2675 /ANDREW M MOYER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2675