DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments submitted 3/20/26 have been fully and carefully considered.
The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments and arguments submitted 3/20/26 (see arguments P5).
Regarding the claim rejections under 35 USC 102(a)(1) and 35 USC 103, applicant argues that the independent claims 1, 10 and 17, as amended to require “pyrolyzing a pyrolysis feed that includes waste plastic comprising at least 90 weight percent polyolefins and not more than 1 weight percent polyester and PVC combined, and less than 5 weight percent of biomass” in the context of a pyrolysis process with recovering pyoil and treating a portion of the pygas stream is not fairly taught or suggested by the closest prior art applied of Schmelzer et al (US 2016/0122190) (see arguments P6-7) this is found persuasive however updated search and consideration is required. However updated search and consideration has found new references, Huber (US 2012/0203042) necessitated by amendment. This action will be made Final.
The ODP rejections have been held in abeyance and are therefore maintained
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 and 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmelzer et al (US 2016/0122190) in combination with Huber (US 2012/0203042).
Regarding claim 1, Schmelzer teaches process for recovering heat from a pyrolysis effluent stream, the process comprising: pyrolyzing in reactor 100 waste plastic to thereby produce the pyrolysis effluent stream with cooling 110 and at least partially condensing at least a portion of the pyrolysis effluent stream via indirect heat exchange with: (i) a heat transfer medium (HTM) BFW (Fig 2), thereby warming the HTM; and/or (ii) a stripper column reboiler 393 (Fig 4); feeding at least a portion of the cooled and at least partially condensed pyrolysis effluent stream to a separator 120 to thereby produce a pyrolysis gas (pygas) stream 12 and a pyrolysis oil (pyoil) stream 16; treating at least a portion of the pygas stream in an absorber-stripper system 190 to thereby produce a purified pygas stream 23, removing in said stripper with solvents such as Selexol or amines or PEG a plurality of components including CO2; and optionally, using at least a portion of the warmed HTM to provide heating to one or more of: a rich solvent stream within the absorber-stripper system; a liquefaction process; and/or a pyrolysis feedstock preheating process (Figs 1-4, [0034-0038]), (Figs 1-4, [0032-0046]).
However Schmelzer does not teach wherein the pyrolysis feed comprises a waste plastic with less than 5 weight percent biomass based on the weight of the entire pyrolysis feed.
Huber teaches a method for catalytic pyrolysis of biomass and hydrocarbonaceous materials for production of products (title, abstract), Huber teaches the process comprises feeding the hydrocarbonaceous materials to pyrolysis reactor 20, recovering gas products in 50/70 including CO2 (Fig 1, 7, [0064,0096-0097]) Huber teaches hydrocarbonaceous materials may be selected as any or all of biomass plant materials, and also selected waste plastic and recycled plastics [0103], Huber suggests this influences the products recovered in liquid and gaseous phases from the pyrolysis reactor [0102-0104].
Therefore the skilled artisan in view of Huber recognizes that the feed material to the pyrolysis reactor influences the products recovered, including gases and liquids, therefore in view of Huber the skilled artisan would be expected to select from the known materials, including biomass and/or waste/recycled plastics and modify the process of Schmelzer to be a process wherein the pyrolysis feed comprises a waste plastic with less than 5 weight percent biomass based on the weight of the entire pyrolysis feed with the expected result of influencing the products recovered from the pyrolysis process of Schmelzer, and selecting from known wastes plastics, which includes plastics that are sorted by type, such as sorted PET would be obvious to select to target specific isolated sorted plastics and products from the pyrolysis.
Regarding claim 2-7, Schmelzer has taught the solvent is regenerated after introduction to absorber column 190/390 and is selected as a selexol, etc as claimed, and is able to absorb, release CO2 [0034-0038].
Regarding claim 8-9, Schmelzer teaches all limitations as set forth above, while not explicitly teaching the temperatures ranges as claimed, for the skilled artisan to measure and optimize temperatures, a known results optimizable variable, is considered routine and does not show unexpected results.
Regarding claim 22, in modified Schmelzer, Schmelzer further teaches CO2 and sulfur are removed with absorption [0008] and substantially teaches removal of CO2 (table 1, [0037-0038]), while not teaching the explicit ranges claimed this would be a result optimizable variable without unexpected results.
Regarding claim 10, Schmelzer teaches process for recovering heat from a pyrolysis effluent stream, the process comprising: pyrolyzing in reactor 100 waste plastic to thereby produce the pyrolysis effluent stream with cooling 110 and at least partially condensing at least a portion of the pyrolysis effluent stream via indirect heat exchange with: (i) a heat transfer medium (HTM) BFW (Fig 2), thereby warming the HTM; and/or (ii) a stripper column reboiler 393 (Fig 4); feeding at least a portion of the cooled and at least partially condensed pyrolysis effluent stream to a separator 120 to thereby produce a pyrolysis gas (pygas) stream 12 and a pyrolysis oil (pyoil) stream 16; treating at least a portion of the pygas stream in an absorber-stripper system 190 to thereby produce a purified pygas stream 23, removing in said stripper with solvents such as Selexol or amines or PEG a plurality of components including CO2; and optionally, using at least a portion of the warmed HTM to provide heating to one or more of: a rich solvent stream within the absorber-stripper system; a liquefaction process; and/or a pyrolysis feedstock preheating process (Figs 1-4, [0034-0038]), (Figs 1-4, [0032-0046]).
However Schmelzer does not teach wherein the pyrolysis feed comprises a waste plastic with less than 5 weight percent biomass based on the weight of the entire pyrolysis feed.
Huber teaches a method for catalytic pyrolysis of biomass and hydrocarbonaceous materials for production of products (title, abstract), Huber teaches the process comprises feeding the hydrocarbonaceous materials to pyrolysis reactor 20, recovering gas products in 50/70 including CO2 (Fig 1, 7, [0064,0096-0097]) Huber teaches hydrocarbonaceous materials may be selected as any or all of biomass plant materials, and also selected waste plastic and recycled plastics [0103], Huber suggests this influences the products recovered in liquid and gaseous phases from the pyrolysis reactor [0102-0104].
Therefore the skilled artisan in view of Huber recognizes that the feed material to the pyrolysis reactor influences the products recovered, including gases and liquids, therefore in view of Huber the skilled artisan would be expected to select from the known materials, including biomass and/or waste/recycled plastics and modify the process of Schmelzer to be a process wherein the pyrolysis feed comprises a waste plastic with less than 5 weight percent biomass based on the weight of the entire pyrolysis feed with the expected result of influencing the products recovered from the pyrolysis process of Schmelzer, and selecting from known wastes plastics, which includes plastics that are sorted by type, such as sorted PET would be obvious to select to target specific isolated sorted plastics and products from the pyrolysis.
Regarding claims 11-12, in modified Schmelzer, Schmelzer further teaches CO2 and sulfur are removed with absorption [0008] and substantially teaches removal of CO2 (table 1, [0037-0038]), while not teaching the explicit ranges claimed this would be a result optimizable variable without unexpected results.
Regarding claims 13-14, Schmelzer is silent to the component breakdown as recited, however to utilize different waste plastic biomass as suggested [[0023]) would be routine and to determine the breakdown of waste plastics would not show unexpected results.
Regarding claims 15-16, in Schmelzer the compounds treated and recovered includes styrenes, xylenes, toluenes, etc ([0020-0027,0049-0050], table 2-3).
Regarding claims 17 and 23, Schmelzer teaches process for recovering heat from a pyrolysis effluent stream, the process comprising: pyrolyzing in reactor 100 waste plastic to thereby produce the pyrolysis effluent stream with cooling 110 and at least partially condensing at least a portion of the pyrolysis effluent stream via indirect heat exchange with: (i) a heat transfer medium (HTM) BFW (Fig 2), thereby warming the HTM; and/or (ii) a stripper column reboiler 393 (Fig 4) (as per claim 23); feeding at least a portion of the cooled and at least partially condensed pyrolysis effluent stream to a separator 120 to thereby produce a pyrolysis gas (pygas) stream 12 and a pyrolysis oil (pyoil) stream 16; treating at least a portion of the pygas stream in an absorber-stripper system 190 to thereby produce a purified pygas stream 23, removing in said stripper with solvents such as Selexol or amines or PEG a plurality of components including CO2; and optionally, using at least a portion of the warmed HTM to provide heating to one or more of: a rich solvent stream within the absorber-stripper system; a liquefaction process; and/or a pyrolysis feedstock preheating process (Figs 1-4, [0034-0038]), (Figs 1-4, [0032-0046]).
However Schmelzer does not teach wherein the pyrolysis feed comprises a waste plastic with less than 5 weight percent biomass based on the weight of the entire pyrolysis feed.
Huber teaches a method for catalytic pyrolysis of biomass and hydrocarbonaceous materials for production of products (title, abstract), Huber teaches the process comprises feeding the hydrocarbonaceous materials to pyrolysis reactor 20, recovering gas products in 50/70 including CO2 (Fig 1, 7, [0064,0096-0097]) Huber teaches hydrocarbonaceous materials may be selected as any or all of biomass plant materials, and also selected waste plastic and recycled plastics [0103], Huber suggests this influences the products recovered in liquid and gaseous phases from the pyrolysis reactor [0102-0104].
Therefore the skilled artisan in view of Huber recognizes that the feed material to the pyrolysis reactor influences the products recovered, including gases and liquids, therefore in view of Huber the skilled artisan would be expected to select from the known materials, including biomass and/or waste/recycled plastics and modify the process of Schmelzer to be a process wherein the pyrolysis feed comprises a waste plastic with less than 5 weight percent biomass based on the weight of the entire pyrolysis feed with the expected result of influencing the products recovered from the pyrolysis process of Schmelzer, and selecting from known wastes plastics, which includes plastics that are sorted by type, such as sorted PET would be obvious to select to target specific isolated sorted plastics and products from the pyrolysis.
Regarding claim 18, in Schmelzer the product stream is from 500-550 C [0033].
Regarding claim 19, in Schmelzer the HTM is BFW (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 20, Schmelzer has taught that usable heat is recovered with BFW stream (Fig 2), therefore recognizes that PHOSITA knew that heat should be recovered via exchanger was routine and PHOSITA would therefore find obvious to recover heat in other plant streams such as oil as needed without unexpected results.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmelzer et al (US 2016/0122190) in combination with Huber (US 2012/0203042) as applied above and further in combination with Baker (US 2007/0179326).
Regarding claim 21, modified Schmelzer teaches all limitations as set forth above, however Schmelzer does not teach wherein the pygas is introduced to a cracking facility.
Baker teaches a system and method of use for conversion of waste to fuels (title, abstract), Baker teaches the sorted and separated feed is provided to pyrolysis reactors 26, with gases provided to catalyst chamber 29 for thermolytic cracking to ensure product carbons are obtained in the proper range of C8-C25 carbon (Fig 1, [0080-0089]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Schmelzer to introduce the pygas to a cracking facility as taught by Baker motivated to ensure product carbons are obtained in the proper range of carbon chains as taught by Baker.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-23 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/691,472 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are substantially overlapping with the claims of the ‘472 directed to recovery of CO2, whereas the instant claims directed to recovery of the oil product, however both oil and CO2 are recognized products (see instant claim 5, 10) and recovery of them are obvious modifications motivated to recover the different products of pyrolysis, and selection of plastics to be treated amongst well-known types of plastics was routine.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/691,476 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are substantially overlapping with the claims of the ‘472 directed to recovery of CO2, whereas the instant claims directed to recovery of the oil product, however both oil and CO2 are recognized products (see instant claim 5, 10) and recovery of them are obvious modifications motivated to recover the different products of pyrolysis, and selection of plastics to be treated amongst well-known types of plastics was routine.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772