DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 11-14 in the reply filed on 12/18/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to claims 4 and 16, it is unclear to examiner how a protruding wall is formed at the edge when applying coating medium to the outer region when the outer region forms the edge and the recited in claim 1. It is also unclear whether the protruding wall protrudes relative to the surface or the inner region.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10, 15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2017/0266957).
With regard to claim 1, Lee discloses a method of applying coating medium to a surface of an object [Abstract], the method comprising:
applying coating medium (LD) [Para. 0073] to an inner region (R1) [first region; Para. 0075] of the surface such that the coating medium on the inner region has an inner thickness [thickness of a thin film is formed in the first region; Para.0063] and
applying coating medium (LD) [Para. 0073] to an outer region (R2) [second region; Para. 0063] of the surface, adjacent to the inner region [Fig. 10], to form an edge of the coating medium at a side of the outer region opposite to the inner region [Fig. 10] and such that the coating medium on the outer region has an outer thickness [Fig. 10], and wherein a maximum value of the outer thickness is equal to or less than the inner thickness [Fig. 10].
Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein a minimum value of the outer thickness is 30% to 80% of the inner thickness.
However, Lee teaches print density of the second region may vary according to a position i.e. decrease the edge [Para. 0063].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to set the maximum value and the minimum value to be equal to or less than or 30 -80 % of the inner thickness for the purpose of controlling film thickness distribution. It has also been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
With regard to claim 2, Lee’s method discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and Lee also discloses wherein the minimum value of the outer thickness is at least 40 %, such as at least 50 %, of the inner thickness.
Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein a minimum value of the outer thickness is at least 40 %, such as at least 50 % of the inner thickness.
However, Lee teaches print density of the second region may vary according to a position i.e. decrease the edge [Para. 0063].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to set the maximum value and the minimum value to be equal to or less than or 30 -80 % of the inner thickness for the purpose of controlling film thickness distribution. It has also been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
With regard to claims 3 and 15, Lee’s method discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 2 respectively, and Lee also discloses wherein the outer thickness decreases from the inner region towards the edge [Fig. 7, Fig. 10].
With regard to claims 5 and 17, Lee’s method discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 2, respectively, and Lee also discloses wherein the coating medium is applied to the outer region by using a noise pattern. [ink dots are partially thinned out; Fig. 7]
With regard to claim 6, Lee’s method discloses all the limitations of claim 5 and Lee also discloses wherein the noise pattern comprises includes blue noise [ink dots are uniform in each outer position; Fig. 7].
With regard to claim 7, Lee’s method discloses all the limitations of claim 5 and Lee also discloses wherein the noise pattern has a gradually decreasing density from the inner region towards the edge [print density varies according to position; Para. 0008; Fig. 10].
With regard to claims 8 and 18, Lee’s method discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 2 and Lee also discloses wherein the coating medium is applied by an inkjet printer [Para. 0059].
With regard to claim 10, Lee discloses an object [substrate; Para. 0026] having a surface to which a coating medium [printing material; Para. 0026] is applied by a method including the steps of:
applying coating medium (LD) to a surface of an object [Abstract], the method comprising:
applying coating medium (LD) to an inner region (R1) [first region; Para. 0075]of the surface such that the coating medium on the inner region has an inner thickness [thickness of a thin film is formed in the first region; Para.0063];
applying coating medium (LD) to an outer region (R2) [second region; Para. 0063] of the surface, adjacent to the inner region to form an edge of the coating medium at a side of the outer region opposite to the inner region [Fig. 10] and wherein a maximum value of the outer thickness is equal to or less than the inner thickness [Fig. 10].
Lee does not explicitly disclose the coating medium on the outer region has an outer thickness wherein a minimum value of the outer thickness is 30 % to 80 % of the inner thickness.
However, Lee teaches print density of the second region may vary according to a position i.e. decrease the edge [Para. 0063].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to set the maximum value and the minimum value to be equal to or less than or 30 -80 % of the inner thickness for the purpose of controlling film thickness distribution. It has also been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2017/0266957) as applied to claims 1 and 2, respectively, above, and further in view of Vronsky (US 2017/140999).
With regard to claims 4 and 16, Lee’s method discloses all the limitations of claim 1 but does not disclose further comprising applying coating medium to the outer region such that a protruding wall is formed at the edge.
However, Vronsky teaches a lip or capillary ridge [see point 759 of curve 757; Para. 0097].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the coating medium to the outer region forming a protruding wall for the purpose of adjusting edge buildup at layer boundaries, providing uniform layer thickness or surface or smoothing or enhancing transitions.
Claim(s) 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2017/0266957) as applied to claims 1 and 2, respectively, above, and further in view of Inagaki (US 2013/089664.
With regard to claims 9 and 19, Lee’s method discloses all the limitations of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the coating medium is applied to the inner region and to the outer region with a single stroke of a printhead.
However, Inagaki teaches discharging the droplets from the nozzles to the substrate while rotating the substrate. [Para. 0009]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the coating medium to the inner region and to the outer region of Lee with a single stroke of a printhead as taught by Inagaki for the purpose of making the film substantially uniform over the substrate surface and making the surface of the film smoother.
Conclusion
/TRACEY M MCMILLION/ Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/RICARDO I MAGALLANES/ Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853