Claims 1-20 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the third signal conductor, third contact surface, fourth signal conductor, fourth contact surface (Claim 4) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “far away” in claims 3-4 and 8 is a relative term which renders the claims indefinite. The term “far away” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. How far is far away? For the purposes of examination, the examiner has taken the limitation “far away” to mean “distal to” or “spaced from”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-10, 13-14, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Behziz et al. (US 20170288317), hereinafter Behziz.
Regarding claim 1, Behziz discloses a cable connection structure, comprising a conductive part (wire conductor 152, Fig. 2), and a fixing part (lead frame 138, Fig. 2) for fixing the conductive part, wherein the conductive part comprises at least one pair of first signal conductors (signal conductor 152A, Fig. 2) arranged at an interval in a first direction, and at least one pair of second signal conductors (signal conductor 162A, Fig. 2) arranged at an interval in a second direction; the first signal conductor is electrically connected to a first-type cable (cable bundle 104, Fig. 2); the second signal conductor is electrically connected to a second-type cable (second cable bundle 106, Fig. 2) with a diameter greater than that of the first-type cable (Par. 0031, “the wire conductors 152 of the cables 144 in the first cable harness 104 have a larger wire size than the wire conductors 162 of the cables 154 in the second cable harness 106”); the first signal conductors are electrically connected to the second signal conductors in one-to-one correspondence (Fig. 2); and a first width of the first signal conductor in the first direction is less than a second width of the second signal conductor in the second direction (Par. 0031, “The larger wire conductors 152 may have a greater wire pitch between adjacent conductors 152 than the smaller wire conductors 162”, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Behziz discloses the cable connection structure according to claim 1, wherein there is a first spacing (first lead pitch 174, Fig. 2) between each pair of first signal conductors (152A, Fig. 2) in the first direction; there is a second spacing (second lead pitch, Fig. 2) between each pair of second signal conductors (162A, Fig. 2) in the second direction; and the first spacing is smaller than the second spacing (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Behziz discloses the cable connection structure according to claim 1, wherein the fixing part comprises a first dielectric layer (layer 140, Par. 0021, “The frame body 140 may be a dielectric material”, Fig. 2); the first dielectric layer comprises an upper surface (top side 146, Fig. 4) and a lower surface (bottom side 148, Fig. 4) that are arranged oppositely; both the first signal conductors and the second signal conductors are positioned on the upper surface (Fig. 4); the first signal conductor comprises a first contact surface (contact area 142, Fig. 2) that is far away from one side of the upper surface and is arranged to electrically connect the first-type cable (signal wire conductor 152A connected to cable 144 in Fig. 4); and the second signal conductor comprises a second contact surface (contact area 143, Fig. 2) that is far away from one side of the upper surface and is arranged to electrically connect the second-type cable (signal wire conductor 162A connected to cable 154 in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8, Behziz discloses the cable connection structure according to claim 1, wherein the fixing part comprises an insulating body (Par. 0021, “The frame body 140 may be a dielectric material”); the first signal conductor is embedded into the insulating body and exposes a first connecting end far away from the second signal conductor (Fig. 2); the first connecting end is arranged to electrically connect the first-type cable (Fig. 2, 4); the second signal conductor is embedded into the insulating body and exposes a second connecting end far away from the first signal conductor (Fig. 2); and the second connecting end is arranged to electrically connect the second-type cable (Fig. 2, 4).
Regarding claim 9, Behziz discloses the cable connection structure according to claim 8, further comprising a shielding layer (cover 122, Fig. 4, Par. 0040, “the cover 122 is formed of an electrically conductive metal material”) wrapping the fixing part, wherein the shielding layer avoids the first connecting end and the second connecting end (shield interfaces 250, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 10, Behziz discloses a cable connection component, comprising a plurality of cable connection structures as claimed in claim 1, and the plurality of cable connection structures are arranged in an array (array 124, Fig. 2-3).
Regarding claim 13, Behziz discloses a cable connection component, comprising a plurality of cable connection structures as claimed in claim 2, and the plurality of cable connection structures are arranged in an array (array 124, Fig. 2-3).
Regarding claim 14, Behziz discloses a cable connection component, comprising a plurality of cable connection structures as claimed in claim 3, and the plurality of cable connection structures are arranged in an array (array 124, Fig. 2-3).
Regarding claim 19, Behziz discloses a cable connection component, comprising a plurality of cable connection structures as claimed in claim 8, and the plurality of cable connection structures are arranged in an array (array 124, Fig. 2-3).
Regarding claim 20, Behziz discloses a cable connection component, comprising a plurality of cable connection structures as claimed in claim 9, and the plurality of cable connection structures are arranged in an array (array 124, Fig. 2-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Behziz et al. (US 20170288317), hereinafter Behziz.
Regarding claim 4, Behziz discloses the cable connection structure according to claim 3, wherein the cable connection structure further comprises at least one pair of third signal conductors arranged at an interval in the first direction, and at least one pair of fourth signal conductors arranged at an interval in the second direction; the third signal conductors are electrically connected to the fourth signal conductors in one-to-one correspondence; a width of the third signal conductor in the first direction is less than a width of the fourth signal conductor in the second direction; the third signal conductors and the fourth signal conductors are all positioned on one side of the lower surface; the third signal conductor comprises a third contact surface that is far away from one side of the lower surface and is arranged to electrically connect the first-type cable; and the fourth signal conductor comprises a fourth contact surface that is far away from one side of the lower surface and is arranged to electrically connect the second-type cable.
Examiner’s Note: Behziz discloses a first and second signal conductors (signal conductor 152A, 162A, Fig. 2). Behziz does not explicitly disclose third and fourth signal conductors. However, the claimed third and fourth signal conductors are a duplication of the first and second signal conductors (Specification Page 6, line 9-10, “An arrangement manner of the third signal conductors and the fourth signal conductors is similar to that of the first signal conductors 111 and the second signal conductors 112”) already disclosed.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the first and second signal conductor arrangement to provide third and fourth signal conductors in order to provide addition signal carrying conductors. The mere duplication of parts of a device involves only routine in the art and is obvious absent a showing of a new or unexpected result. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B); In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 15, Behziz discloses a cable connection component, comprising a plurality of cable connection structures as claimed in claim 4, and the plurality of cable connection structures are arranged in an array (array 124, Fig. 2-3).
Claim(s) 5-7 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Behziz (US 20170288317) in view of Liang et al. (CN 204809569U), hereinafter Liang.
Regarding claim 5, Behziz discloses the cable connection structure according to claim 3, and the second signal conductors are arranged on the first dielectric layer.
However, Behziz fails to disclose wherein the fixing part further comprises a ground layer positioned on the lower surface; a plurality of conductive through holes surrounding the first signal conductors; and the conductive through holes are electrically connected to the ground layer.
Liang teaches wherein the fixing part further comprises a ground layer (second intermediate conductive layer 27, Fig. 10-11, Par. 0072, “the second intermediate conductive layer 27 is a ground layer.”) positioned on the lower surface; a plurality of conductive through holes (hole 29, 294, Fig. 10-11) surrounding the first signal conductors; and the conductive through holes are electrically connected to the ground layer (Fig. 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Liang to modify the invention of Behziz to provide a cable connection structure wherein the fixing part further comprises a ground layer including a plurality of conductive through holes electrically connected to the ground layer for grounding. One would be motivated to make this modification to enhance the shielding effect and prevent crosstalk between signal conductors.
Regarding claim 6, Behziz discloses the cable connection structure according to claim 5.
However, Behziz fails to disclose wherein the conductive through holes penetrate through the first dielectric layer; a ground trace connected to the conductive through holes is also arranged on the upper surface; and the ground trace is arranged to electrically connect a shielding layer of the first-type cable and/or the second-type cable.
Liang teaches wherein the conductive through holes (through holes 29, Fig. 10) penetrate through the first dielectric layer (insulating substrate 21, Fig. 5); a ground trace (ground terminal A1, A12, Fig. 5) connected to the conductive through holes is also arranged on the upper surface (Fig. 5); and the ground trace is arranged to electrically connect a shielding layer of the first-type cable and/or the second-type cable (cable 3, Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Liang to modify the invention of Behziz to provide a cable connection structure wherein conductive through holes penetrate the first insulating layer and including a ground trace to electrically connect to a shielding layer of a cable. One would be motivated to make this modification to ensure proper grounding and prevent interference and crosstalk between signal conductors.
Regarding claim 7, Behziz discloses the cable connection structure according to claim 6.
However, Behziz fails to disclose wherein the ground trace is connected to the plurality of conductive through holes to form shielding around the conductive part.
Liang teaches wherein the ground trace (ground terminal A1, A12, Fig. 5) is connected to the plurality of conductive through holes (through holes 29, Fig. 10) to form shielding around the conductive part.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Liang to modify the invention of Behziz to provide a cable connection structure wherein a plurality of conductive through holes penetrate the first insulating layer and including a ground trace to electrically connect to a shielding layer of a cable. One would be motivated to make this modification to ensure proper grounding and prevent interference and crosstalk between signal conductors.
Regarding claim 16, Behziz discloses a cable connection component, comprising a plurality of cable connection structures as claimed in claim 5, and the plurality of cable connection structures are arranged in an array (array 124, Fig. 2-3).
Regarding claim 17, Behziz discloses a cable connection component, comprising a plurality of cable connection structures as claimed in claim 6, and the plurality of cable connection structures are arranged in an array (array 124, Fig. 2-3).
Regarding claim 18, Behziz discloses a cable connection component, comprising a plurality of cable connection structures as claimed in claim 7, and the plurality of cable connection structures are arranged in an array (array 124, Fig. 2-3).
Claim(s) 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Behziz (US 20170288317) in view of Liu et al. (US 20210280996), hereinafter Liu.
Regarding claim 11, Behziz discloses an electrical interconnection system and the cable connection structure as claimed in claim 1, and a diameter of the first-type cable is less than that of the second-type cable.
However, Behziz fails to disclose an Integrated Circuit (IC) chip and a first connector wherein the IC chip is electrically connected to the first signal conductor through the first-type cable, the first connector is electrically connected to the second signal conductor through a second-type cable.
Liu teaches an Integrated Circuit (IC) chip (DRR device 202, 204, Fig. 2) and a first connector (first connector 100, Fig. 1) wherein the IC chip is electrically connected to the first signal conductor through the first-type cable, the first connector is electrically connected to the second signal conductor through a second-type cable (Fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Liu to modify the invention of Behziz to provide a cable connection structure comprising an integrated circuit and a first connector electrically connected to the first signal conductor through a cable. One would be motivated to make this modification to provide signal conditioning and re-modulation as taught by Liu. IC’s are well known in the art for this purpose.
Regarding claim 12, Behziz discloses the electrical interconnection system as claimed in claim 11.
However, Behziz fails to disclose a circuit board and a second connector, wherein both the IC chip and the second connector are arranged on the circuit board, and are electrically connected through internal wiring of the circuit board.
Liu teaches a circuit board and a second connector (second connector 101, Fig. 1), wherein both the IC chip and the second connector are arranged on the circuit board, and are electrically connected through internal wiring of the circuit board (Par. 0021, “The DRR devices 202, 204 may be integrated circuits mounted on a printed circuit board and connected to edge connector traces”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Liu to modify the invention of Behziz to provide a cable connection structure comprising an integrated circuit and a first connector electrically connected to the first signal conductor through a cable. One would be motivated to make this modification to provide signal conditioning and re-modulation as taught by Liu. IC’s are well known in the art for this purpose.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dunlop (US Patent 11,071,201) discloses an electrical component to allow cables to mount to a package substrate.
Ayzenberg et al. (US 20200194911) discloses a cable assembly comprising a connector with cables terminating to pads of a paddle card.
Behziz et al. (US 20160093966) discloses a cable assembly including a carrier board and a contact array of electrical contacts.
/JEFFREY MOUNTAIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834