DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6-9, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okada et al. (JP 2015-088629).
In Re claim 1, Okada et al. disclose an electronic control apparatus, comprising: a board (101); an electronic component (102); a heat sink (103); a heat dissipation material (105) between the heat sink and the electronic component, wherein the heat sink includes a distal-side abutment portion and proximal-side abutment (see left and right projections 104 and end portions adjacent 101) in abutment with the board.
In Re claim 2, the left and right side 104 are not fixed to the board.
In Re claim 6, see figs. 1 and 2.
In Re claims 7-9, see heat sink (103) and abutment portions (see left and right projections 104 and end portions adjacent 101).
In Re claim 11, Okada et al. disclose the use of aluminum or iron for the heat sink housing (103).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3-5, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada et al. (JP 2015-088629) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sato (US 20190140520).
In Re claims 3 and 4, the examiner points out that electrical terminals are inherently associated with circuit boards in electrical control units. However, Okada et al. is silent with respect to electrical connections to the circuit board.
Sato is related to the art of electronic control boards, and teaches fixing the board to electrical components via terminals (see first and second bus bars 211 and 212) to power and control the various electrical components. The electrical terminals are provided between the board (41), electrical components (D2, Tr), and abutment elements (see corners of 45) with a heat sink (45). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the electronic control board of Okada et al. with electrical terminal connections, as taught by Sato et al., simply to enable proper intended function and operation of the electronic control board and its associated electrical components.
In Re claim 5, Sato further disclose a motor (20)
In Re claim 12, Okada et al. disclose a vehicle electronic control apparatus, comprising: a board (101); an electronic component (102); a heat sink (103); a heat dissipation material (105) between the heat sink and the electronic component, wherein the heat sink includes a distal-side abutment portion and proximal-side abutment (see left and right projections 104 and end portions adjacent 101) in abutment with the board. Okada et al fail to disclose a motor.
Sato is related to the art of electronic control boards within vehicles, and teaches employing an electronic control apparatus with a board (41, and 42) and attached heat sink (45) to control a motor (20). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized a vehicle electronic control apparatus with a motor, as taught by Sato, as the circuit board for a motor controller acts as the central brain and power manager for the electric motor, managing the flow of electricity to ensure the motor starts, stops, spins at the correct speed, and/or changes direction safely and efficiently.
In Re claim 13, see left and right side 104 of Okada et al., which not fixed to the board (figs. 1 and 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/THOMAS W IRVIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616