DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged that application is a National Stage application of PCT PCT/JP2022/040838. Priority to JP2021-178338 with a priority date of 10/29/2021 is acknowledged under 35 USC 119(e) and 37 CFR 1.78.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDSs dated 3/13/2024 and 4/11/2025 have been considered and placed in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US Patent Publication 2016 0037154 A1, (Hung et al.) in view of US Patent Publication 2021 0232151 A1, (Liu et al.) and US Patent Publication 2017 0277197 A1, (Liao et al.).
Claim 1
Regarding Claim 1, Hung et al. teach a map creation device comprising: an optimal value calculating part that calculates, by iterative computation, an optimal value of the homography matrix from the initial value and a luminance value of each pixel included in a road-surface region specified in the plurality of images; ("Referring to FIG. 5b, the present invention may not only use the corresponding spatial coordinates of the feature points and the photographed images but also the minimize formula m.sub.y−Hm.sub.l to get the optimal solution of the matrix H (Homography)," par. 49) a camera position and orientation calculating part that calculates an amount of change in camera position and an amount of change in camera orientation of the in-vehicle camera by resolving the optimal value ("After getting the optimal solution of the matrix H to correct the cameras 31, 32, and 33, the image processing system 1 may obtain not only the positions of cameras 31, 32, and 33 in the vehicle 30 but also the extrinsic parameters of the cameras," par. 49).
Hung et al. do not explicitly teach all of an image obtaining part that obtains a plurality of images from an in-vehicle camera that is mounted on a vehicle and photographs a surrounding of the vehicle, the plurality of images being obtained by photographing different locations; an odometry information calculating part that calculates odometry information indicating an amount of movement of the vehicle; an initial value calculating part that calculates an initial value of a homography matrix between the plurality of images from the odometry information of the vehicle; and a three-dimensional position calculating part that calculates three-dimensional positions of features in the plurality of images from the amount of change in camera position and the amount of change in camera orientation.
However, Liu et al. teach an image obtaining part that obtains a plurality of images from an in-vehicle camera that is mounted on a vehicle and photographs a surrounding of the vehicle, the plurality of images being obtained by photographing different locations; ("the processor of the robotic device may be configured to receive a first image frame from an image sensor, receive a second image frame from the image sensor," par. 25) ("the term “robotic device” refers any of various types of robotic vehicles," par. 28) an odometry information calculating part that calculates odometry information indicating an amount of movement of the vehicle; ("the pre-processor(s) 404 may output processed measurements relating to position and orientation of the robotic device (e.g., acceleration, velocity, odometry information, etc.),” par. 81) an initial value calculating part that calculates an initial value of a homography matrix between the plurality of images from the odometry information of the vehicle ("the processor of the robotic device may be configured to receive a first image frame from an image sensor, receive a second image frame from the image sensor, generate homograph computation values based on the first and second image frames, and generate a homography matrix based on the homograph computation values," par. 25).
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 2 shows the pathing of sensor data and other components for the use in object detection and navigation. )]Liao et al. teach a three-dimensional position calculating part that calculates three-dimensional positions of features in the plurality of images from the amount of
change in camera position and the amount of change in camera orientation ("The navigation application 118 detects a plurality of matching feature points in a first matching image pair, and determines a plurality of corresponding object points in three-dimensional (3D) space from the first image pair. The navigation application 118 tracks the plurality of feature points from the first image pair to a second image pair, and determines the plurality of corresponding object points in 3D space from the second image pair," par. 46).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Hung et al., Liu et al., and Liao et al. as a whole, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to modify the optimal homography matrix solution as taught by Hung et al. to use the image receiving and processing as taught by Liu et al. and the 3D position calculating as taught by Liao et al. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that, “To support VSLAM calculations, the robotic device may be equipped with sensors that gather movement or distance information useful for employing VSLAM techniques. The robotic device may use such movement or distance information to determine a distance between captured images or frames, and use such distance information in conjunction with the homography matrix to estimate the dimensions and scale of the objects in the frames. This in turn allows the robotic device to determine its pose with a higher degree of precision and accuracy than if the pose is determined solely based on captured images.” as noted by the Liu et al. disclosure in paragraph [0033], which also motivates combination because the combination would predictably have a higher accuracy as there is a reasonable expectation that the device uses movement or distance information in combination with a homography matrix calculation; and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
The rejection of apparatus claim 1 above applies mutatis mutandis to the corresponding limitations of method claim 4 and non-transitory computer readable medium claim 5 while noting that the rejection above cites to both device and method disclosures. Claims 4 and 5 are mapped below for clarity of the record and to specify any new limitations not included in claim 1.
Claim 4
Regarding Claim 4, Hung et al. teach a map creation method comprising: calculating, by iterative computation, an optimal value of the homography matrix from the initial value and a luminance value of each pixel included in a road-surface region specified in the plurality of images; ("Referring to FIG. 5b, the present invention may not only use the corresponding spatial coordinates of the feature points and the photographed images but also the minimize formula m.sub.y−Hm.sub.l to get the optimal solution of the matrix H (Homography)," par. 49) calculating an amount of change in camera position and an amount of change in camera orientation of the in-vehicle camera by resolving the optimal value ("After getting the optimal solution of the matrix H to correct the cameras 31, 32, and 33, the image processing system 1 may obtain not only the positions of cameras 31, 32, and 33 in the vehicle 30 but also the extrinsic parameters of the cameras," par. 49).
Hung et al. do not explicitly teach all of obtaining a plurality of images from an in-vehicle camera that is mounted on a vehicle and photographs a surrounding of the vehicle, the plurality of images being obtained by photographing different locations; calculating odometry information indicating an amount of movement of the vehicle; calculating an initial value of a homography matrix between the plurality of images from the odometry information of the vehicle; and calculating three-dimensional positions of features in the plurality of images from the amount of change in camera position and the amount of change in camera orientation.
However, Liu et al. teach obtaining a plurality of images from an in-vehicle camera that is mounted on a vehicle and photographs a surrounding of the vehicle, the plurality of images being obtained by photographing different locations; ("the processor of the robotic device may be configured to receive a first image frame from an image sensor, receive a second image frame from the image sensor," par. 25) ("the term “robotic device” refers any of various types of robotic vehicles," par. 28) calculating odometry information indicating an amount of movement of the vehicle; ("the pre-processor(s) 404 may output processed measurements relating to position and orientation of the robotic device (e.g., acceleration, velocity, odometry information, etc.) calculating an initial value of a homography matrix between the plurality of images from the odometry information of the vehicle ("the processor of the robotic device may be configured to receive a first image frame from an image sensor, receive a second image frame from the image sensor, generate homograph computation values based on the first and second image frames, and generate a homography matrix based on the homograph computation values," par. 25).
Liao et al. teach calculating three-dimensional positions of features in the plurality of images from the amount of change in camera position and the amount of change in camera orientation ("The navigation application 118 detects a plurality of matching feature points in a first matching image pair, and determines a plurality of corresponding object points in three-dimensional (3D) space from the first image pair. The navigation application 118 tracks the plurality of feature points from the first image pair to a second image pair, and determines the plurality of corresponding object points in 3D space from the second image pair," par. 46).
Hung et al., Liu et al, and, Liao et al. are combined as per claim 1.
Claim 5
Regarding Claim 5, Hung et al. teach calculate, by iterative computation, an optimal value of the homography matrix from the initial value and a luminance value of each pixel included in a road-surface region specified in the plurality of images; ("Referring to FIG. 5b, the present invention may not only use the corresponding spatial coordinates of the feature points and the photographed images but also the minimize formula m.sub.y−Hm.sub.l to get the optimal solution of the matrix H (Homography)," par. 49) calculate an amount of change in camera position and an amount of change in camera orientation of the in-vehicle camera by resolving the optimal value ("After getting the optimal solution of the matrix H to correct the cameras 31, 32, and 33, the image processing system 1 may obtain not only the positions of cameras 31, 32, and 33 in the vehicle 30 but also the extrinsic parameters of the cameras," par. 49).
Hung et al. do not explicitly teach all of a map creation program stored on a non-transitory computer readable medium, the map creation program configured to cause for causing a computer to: obtain plurality of images from an in-vehicle camera that is mounted on a vehicle and photographs a surrounding of the vehicle, the plurality of images being obtained by photographing different locations; calculate odometry information indicating an amount of movement of the vehicle; calculate an initial value of a homography matrix between the plurality of images from the odometry information of the vehicle; and calculate three-dimensional positions of features in the plurality of images from the amount of change in camera position and the amount of change in camera orientation.
However, Liu et al. teach a map creation program stored on a non-transitory computer readable medium, the map creation program configured to cause for causing a computer to: ("Further aspects may include a non-transitory processor-readable storage medium having stored thereon processor-executable instructions configured to cause a processor of a robotic device to perform operations of the methods summarized above," par. 11) obtain a plurality of images from an in-vehicle camera that is mounted on a vehicle and photographs a surrounding of the vehicle, the plurality of images being obtained by photographing different locations; ("the processor of the robotic device may be configured to receive a first image frame from an image sensor, receive a second image frame from the image sensor," par. 25) ("the term “robotic device” refers any of various types of robotic vehicles," par. 28) calculate odometry information indicating an amount of movement of the vehicle; ("the pre-processor(s) 404 may output processed measurements relating to position and orientation of the robotic device (e.g., acceleration, velocity, odometry information, etc.) calculate an initial value of a homography matrix between the plurality of images from the odometry information of the vehicle ("the processor of the robotic device may be configured to receive a first image frame from an image sensor, receive a second image frame from the image sensor, generate homograph computation values based on the first and second image frames, and generate a homography matrix based on the homograph computation values," par. 25).
Liao et al. teach calculate three-dimensional positions of features in the plurality of images from the amount of change in camera position and the amount of change in camera orientation ("The navigation application 118 detects a plurality of matching feature points in a first matching image pair, and determines a plurality of corresponding object points in three-dimensional (3D) space from the first image pair. The navigation application 118 tracks the plurality of feature points from the first image pair to a second image pair, and determines the plurality of corresponding object points in 3D space from the second image pair," par. 46).
Hung et al., Liu et al, and, Liao et al. are combined as per claim 1.
2nd Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US Patent Publication 2016 0037154 A1, (Hung et al.) in view of US Patent Publication 2021 0232151 A1, (Liu et al.), US Patent Publication 2017 0277197 A1, (Liao et al.), and US Patent Publication 2023 0010175 A1, (Kato)
Claim 2
Regarding claim 2, Hung et al., Liu et al, and Liao et al. teach the map creation device according to claim 1 as noted above.
Hung et al. also teach a use determining part that determines to use the amount of change in camera position and the amount of change in camera orientation ("After getting the optimal solution of the matrix H to correct the cameras 31, 32, and 33, the image processing system 1 may obtain not only the positions of cameras 31, 32, and 33 in the vehicle 30 but also the extrinsic parameters of the cameras," par. 49).
Liao et al. teach when an error is less than a threshold value, the error being represented by an angle between the estimated value of the road surface's normal vector and a value of a road surface's normal vector that is determined in advance by calibration of the in-vehicle camera ("By only updating the stored vehicle pose when the rotation angle or translation exceed the minimum threshold, the accumulation of errors is minimized in vehicle pose transformations calculated between image pairs. If the rotation angle and translation do not exceed the minimum threshold, the vehicle transformation is discarded," par. 33).
Hung et al., Liu et al, and, Liao et al. do not explicitly teach all of wherein the camera position and orientation calculating part further calculates an estimated value of a road surface's normal vector by resolving the optimal value, the road surface's normal vector being a vector in a normal direction of a road surface viewed from the in-vehicle camera.
However, Kato teaches wherein the camera position and orientation calculating part further calculates an estimated value of a road surface's normal vector by resolving the optimal value, the road surface's normal vector being a vector in a normal direction of a road surface viewed from the in-vehicle camera ("the information processing device calculates the normal vector of the plane which approximates the road surface based on the position information of the feature drawn on the road surface," par. 28).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Hung et al., Liu et al., Liao et al. and Kato as a whole, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to modify the optimal homography matrix solution as taught by Hung et al. to use the image receiving and processing as taught by Liu et al., the 3D position calculating as taught by Liao et al., and the road surface normal vector calculation as taught by Kato. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that, “Thereby, the information processing device can suitably calculate at least one of the pitch angle or the roll angle of the moving body based on the relation between the calculated normal vector and the orientation of the moving body.” as noted by the Kato et al. disclosure in paragraph [0028], which also motivates combination because the combination would predictably have additional capability as there is a reasonable expectation that the device use will use this information to calculate the orientation of the vehicle; and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 3
Regarding claim 3, Hung et al., Liu et al., Liao et al., and Kato teach the map creation device according to claim 2 as noted above.
Liao et al. teach wherein the use determining part determines not to use the amount of change in camera position and the amount of change in camera orientation, when the error is greater than or equal to the threshold value ("The rotation angle and translation are determined from the vehicle pose transformation. If the rotation angle or translation exceed a minimum threshold, the stored vehicle pose is updated," par. 32).
Hung et al., Liu et al., Liao et al., and Kato are combined as per claim 2.
Reference Cited
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US Patent Publication 2014 0192145 A1 to Anguelov et al. discloses estimating the orientation of a panoramic camera mounted on a vehicle.
Conclusion
/K.F.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2664
Date: 1/29/2026
/JENNIFER MEHMOOD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2664