DETAILED ACTION
Claims 8-9, 12-18 are currently pending and have been examined in this application. Claims 1-7, 10-11 are canceled. Claims 15-18 are New.
This action is in response to the “amendment” and “remarks” filed 10/16/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 8-9, 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The claims are either directed to a method or apparatus, which is one of the statutory categories of invention.
(Step 1: YES)
The examiner has identified Claim 14 as the claim which represents the claimed invention for analysis and is similar in scope to Claims 8 & 13. Claim 1 recites the following limitations (additional elements emphasized in bold are considered to be parsed from the remaining abstract idea):
A vehicle comprising: an integrated charging stop planning assistant, which comprises a human-machine interface configured to record a variable of at least one vehicle requirement, user requirement, or environmental factor; and a computer unit, coupled to the human-machine interface, configured to estimate, using the recorded variable, a value of at least one vehicle requirement, user requirement, environmental factor, or a journey-specific factor deviating from the recorded variable, and wherein the human-machine interface is configured to output a suggestion of at least one suitable charging station for the charging stop for the vehicle, wherein the outputted suggestion is based on the recorded variable and the estimated value by comparing the at least one vehicle requirement, user requirement, environmental factor, or journey-specific factor with at least one charging station-specific attribute of a charging station, wherein a charging station that has been visited at least once with the vehicle for charging is marked as a historical charging station, wherein at least one attribute of the historical charging station is recorded and at least one charging station other than the historical charging station, which has the at least one attribute of the historical charging station, is output as a suggestion for carrying out further charging stops, wherein the at least one attribute of the historical charging station is a specific charging interface, a specific charging voltage, a specific charging current, a specific charging capacity, or a specific charging frequency, and wherein the vehicle requirement is based at least on a charging level of the traction battery.
Under broadest reasonable interpretation, this claim covers performance of the limitations as a mental process (concepts performed in the human mind ) of suggesting a charging station based on a requirement of a vehicle, user, or environment.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), covers performance of the limitation as concepts performed in the human mind, then it falls within the "mental process" grouping of abstract ideas.
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
(Step 2A-Prong 1: YES. The Claims are abstract)
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Limitations that are not indicative of integration into a practical application include: (1) Adding the words "apply it" ( or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05.f), (2) Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05.g), (3) Generally Linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05.h). The vehicle, integrated charging stop planning assistant, human-machine interface, and computer unit in Claim 14 are just generic computer components. The computer hardware is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea by adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore Claim 14 is directed to an abstract idea without a practical application.
(Step 2A-Prong 2: NO. The additional claimed elements are not integrated into a practical application)
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, they do not add significantly more (also known as an "inventive concept") to the exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using computer hardware amounts to no more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea by adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. Mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on or with the use of generic computer components, cannot provide an inventive concept - rendering the claim patent ineligible. Thus claim 14 is not patent eligible. Independent Claims 8 & 13 are not patent eligible for the same reasons as above.
(Step 2B: NO. The claims do not provide significantly more)
The dependent claims 9-12 further define the abstract idea that is present in their respective independent claims and hence are abstract for at least the reasons presented above. The dependent claims do not include any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. Therefore, the dependent claims are directed to an abstract idea. Thus, the aforementioned claims are not patent-eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9, 12-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quint (US20190383628) in view of Williams (US20190275892).
Claim 8:
Quint explicitly teaches:
A method for selecting a charging station for a charging stop for charging a traction battery of an electrically drivable vehicle, the method comprising:
(Quint) – “A trip planning method according to an exemplary aspect of the present disclosure includes, among other things, recommending at least one stop for a vehicle. Under first conditions, the recommending is based on a vehicle need and a user need. Under second conditions, the recommending is based on the vehicle need and an environmental factor.” (Para 0004)
“In a further non-limiting embodiment of any of the foregoing methods, the vehicle need is a charge of a traction battery, and the at least one stop includes a plurality of charging stops presented to a user of the vehicle. In a further non-limiting embodiment of any of the foregoing methods, the plurality of charging stops includes a charging stop designated as the least expensive charging stop and a charging stop designated as the fastest charging stop. The fastest charging stop can mean the charging stop having the smallest time impact to a journey to the destination.” (Para 0006-0007)
recording a variable of at least one vehicle requirement, user requirement, or environmental factor;
(Quint) – “The method 100 begins at a step 104 where the controller module 22 monitors vehicle needs, user needs, and environmental factors. Exemplary vehicle needs can include the traction battery 12 having a state of charge that drops below a threshold level. Another exemplary vehicle need could include, when the electrified vehicle 10 is a conventional vehicle, a urea tank having a fluid level dropping below a threshold level. Yet another exemplary vehicle need could include a pressure of one of the wheels of the electrified vehicle 10 falling below a threshold level.” (Para 0048)
“User needs are different than the vehicle needs. User needs are associated with the user of the electrified vehicle 10 rather than the electrified vehicle 10 itself. Exemplary user needs could include a user of the electrified vehicle 10 needing to stop for food, or to download a file shared to the user by a coworker. Other example user needs could include a required restroom break, or a stop for coffee.” (Para 0049)
“Environmental factors, as previously described, relate to factors outside the vehicle. The environmental factors are separate from the user needs and the vehicle needs. The environmental factors can be received by the receiver 30.” (Para 0051)
estimating, using the recorded variable, a value of at least one vehicle requirement, user requirement, environmental factor, or a journey-specific factor deviating from the recorded variable;
(Quint) – “The method 100 begins at a step 104 where the controller module 22 monitors vehicle needs, user needs, and environmental factors. Exemplary vehicle needs can include the traction battery 12 having a state of charge that drops below a threshold level. Another exemplary vehicle need could include, when the electrified vehicle 10 is a conventional vehicle, a urea tank having a fluid level dropping below a threshold level. Yet another exemplary vehicle need could include a pressure of one of the wheels of the electrified vehicle 10 falling below a threshold level.” (Para 0048)
“User needs are different than the vehicle needs. User needs are associated with the user of the electrified vehicle 10 rather than the electrified vehicle 10 itself. Exemplary user needs could include a user of the electrified vehicle 10 needing to stop for food, or to download a file shared to the user by a coworker. Other example user needs could include a required restroom break, or a stop for coffee.” (Para 0049)
“Environmental factors, as previously described, relate to factors outside the vehicle. The environmental factors are separate from the user needs and the vehicle needs. The environmental factors can be received by the receiver 30.” (Para 0051)
outputting a suggestion of at least one suitable charging station for the charging stop for the vehicle, wherein the outputted suggestion is based on the recorded variable and the estimated value by comparing the at least one vehicle requirement, user requirement, environmental factor, or journey-specific factor with at least one charging station-specific attribute of a charging station.
(Quint) – “At a step 116a, the method 100 recommends at least one stop for the electrified vehicle 10 based on both a vehicle need and a user need. The method 100 could instead, at a step 116b, recommend at least one stop based on a vehicle need and an environmental factor. The method 100 could instead, at a step 116c, recommend at least one stop based on a user need and an environmental factor. In some examples, the recommending of the stops at the steps 116a, 116b, or 166c provides the alert schematically represented in step 112. That is, the step 112 could be combined with the step 116a, 116b, or 116c.” (Para 0057)
“With reference to the step 116a, the recommended at least one stop could be provided based on the user need being a need for food, which could be obtained at the stop, and a vehicle need of the traction battery 12 requiring a recharge. The step 116a provides the user with at least one recommended stop. Each of these provided recommended stops has both charging capability and provides food.” (Para 0058)
wherein at least one attribute [of the historical charging station] is recorded and at least one charging station other than the historical charging station, which has the at least one attribute [of the historical charging station], is output as a suggestion for carrying out further charging stops,
(Quint) – “At a step 116a, the method 100 recommends at least one stop for the electrified vehicle 10 based on both a vehicle need and a user need. The method 100 could instead, at a step 116b, recommend at least one stop based on a vehicle need and an environmental factor. The method 100 could instead, at a step 116c, recommend at least one stop based on a user need and an environmental factor. In some examples, the recommending of the stops at the steps 116a, 116b, or 166c provides the alert schematically represented in step 112. That is, the step 112 could be combined with the step 116a, 116b, or 116c.” (Para 0057)
“With reference to the step 116a, the recommended at least one stop could be provided based on the user need being a need for food, which could be obtained at the stop, and a vehicle need of the traction battery 12 requiring a recharge. The step 116a provides the user with at least one recommended stop. Each of these provided recommended stops has both charging capability and provides food.” (Para 0058)
“From the step 348, the method 300 can move back to the step 320, or move to a step 352, which identifies the closest available L2 charger and closest available DCFC charger that meet the amenity preferences identified by the user in the step 344.” (Para 0086)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
wherein the at least one attribute [of the historical charging station] is a specific charging interface, a specific charging voltage, a specific charging current, a specific charging capacity, or a specific charging frequency, and
(Quint) – “If the user does not specify a destination at the step 248, the method 200 presents to the user a list of at least one nearby charging stop at a step 252. The at least one nearby charging stop can include a plurality of nearby charging stops, which are designated as the least expensive, the fastest charging stop, the type of charging stop. The fastest charging stop can mean the charging stop having the smallest time impact to a journey to the destination. The at least one nearby charging stop is considered a SMART recommendation as the at least one charging stop can be recommended based on a combination of customer/vehicle needs and environmental conditions.” (Para 0073)
“Some of the charging stations presented in the step 260 can be designated as the least expensive, the fastest charging stop, and by the type of charging stop (e.g., SMART). The plurality of charging stations in the step 260 correspond to the charging stations along the route to the destination.” (Para 0075)
“In some examples, in the steps 252 and 260, there are no charging stations configured to directly charge the electrified vehicle 10. In such situations, the method 200 can recommend the charging stop as any location having a 110 volt power outlet. From the 110 Volt power outlet, the user can charge the electrified vehicle 10 with, for example, a level 1 charge. Any of the methods in this disclosure could optionally include a recommendation for a charge from a 110 Volt power outlet, when applicable.” (Para 0078)
“From the step 348, the method 300 can move back to the step 320, or move to a step 352, which identifies the closest available L2 charger and closest available DCFC charger that meet the amenity preferences identified by the user in the step 344.” (Para 0086)
“The method 100 begins at a step 104 where the controller module 22 monitors vehicle needs, user needs, and environmental factors. Exemplary vehicle needs can include the traction battery 12 having a state of charge that drops below a threshold level. Another exemplary vehicle need could include, when the electrified vehicle 10 is a conventional vehicle, a urea tank having a fluid level dropping below a threshold level. Yet another exemplary vehicle need could include a pressure of one of the wheels of the electrified vehicle 10 falling below a threshold level.” (Para 0048)
“User needs are different than the vehicle needs. User needs are associated with the user of the electrified vehicle 10 rather than the electrified vehicle 10 itself. Exemplary user needs could include a user of the electrified vehicle 10 needing to stop for food, or to download a file shared to the user by a coworker. Other example user needs could include a required restroom break, or a stop for coffee.” (Para 0049)
wherein the vehicle requirement is based at least on a charging level of the traction battery.
(Quint) – “The method 100 begins at a step 104 where the controller module 22 monitors vehicle needs, user needs, and environmental factors. Exemplary vehicle needs can include the traction battery 12 having a state of charge that drops below a threshold level. Another exemplary vehicle need could include, when the electrified vehicle 10 is a conventional vehicle, a urea tank having a fluid level dropping below a threshold level. Yet another exemplary vehicle need could include a pressure of one of the wheels of the electrified vehicle 10 falling below a threshold level.” (Para 0048)
“User needs are different than the vehicle needs. User needs are associated with the user of the electrified vehicle 10 rather than the electrified vehicle 10 itself. Exemplary user needs could include a user of the electrified vehicle 10 needing to stop for food, or to download a file shared to the user by a coworker. Other example user needs could include a required restroom break, or a stop for coffee.” (Para 0049)
“Environmental factors, as previously described, relate to factors outside the vehicle. The environmental factors are separate from the user needs and the vehicle needs. The environmental factors can be received by the receiver 30.” (Para 0051)
Quint does not explicitly teach:
wherein a charging station that has been visited at least once with the vehicle for charging is marked as a historical charging station,… of the historical charging station…of the historical charging station… of the historical charging station
Williams, in the same field of endeavor of charging station suggestion, teaches:
wherein a charging station that has been visited at least once with the vehicle for charging is marked as a historical charging station,
(Williams) – “During charging station recommendation, the vehicle subsystem may also provide a suggestion in context of charging station preferences as determined from a cloud-based user-profile. In an example, if a user 101 historically frequents a specific charging station, as logged in credit card statements or in a vehicle-specific user activity profile, future recommendations by the vehicle subsystem will be provided in context of that historical user preference.” (Para 0020)
“Based on the current battery charge and the above parameters, a charging station recommendation is made to the user 244 via the vehicle-based user interface.” (Para 0030)
of the historical charging station…of the historical charging station… of the historical charging station
(Williams) – “During charging station recommendation, the vehicle subsystem may also provide a suggestion in context of charging station preferences as determined from a cloud-based user-profile. In an example, if a user 101 historically frequents a specific charging station, as logged in credit card statements or in a vehicle-specific user activity profile, future recommendations by the vehicle subsystem will be provided in context of that historical user preference.” (Para 0020)
“Based on the current battery charge and the above parameters, a charging station recommendation is made to the user 244 via the vehicle-based user interface.” (Para 0030)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the trip planning method of Quint with the methods for autonomous charging of Williams. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “the system makes it possible for users to continue performing desired tasks of daily living while their vehicle accomplishes requisite routine maintenance, including battery recharging.” (Williams Para 0017)
Claim 9:
Quint teaches the respective limitations of Claim 8. Quint further teaches:
wherein the vehicle requirement is further based on with the vehicle, a length of the route, a duration of time required to cover at least one section of the route, a seat occupancy, or a dwell time of the vehicle at a place.
(Quint) – “The method 100 begins at a step 104 where the controller module 22 monitors vehicle needs, user needs, and environmental factors. Exemplary vehicle needs can include the traction battery 12 having a state of charge that drops below a threshold level. Another exemplary vehicle need could include, when the electrified vehicle 10 is a conventional vehicle, a urea tank having a fluid level dropping below a threshold level. Yet another exemplary vehicle need could include a pressure of one of the wheels of the electrified vehicle 10 falling below a threshold level.” (Para 0048)
“User needs are different than the vehicle needs. User needs are associated with the user of the electrified vehicle 10 rather than the electrified vehicle 10 itself. Exemplary user needs could include a user of the electrified vehicle 10 needing to stop for food, or to download a file shared to the user by a coworker. Other example user needs could include a required restroom break, or a stop for coffee.” (Para 0049)
“Environmental factors, as previously described, relate to factors outside the vehicle. The environmental factors are separate from the user needs and the vehicle needs. The environmental factors can be received by the receiver 30.” (Para 0051)
Claim 12:
Quint teaches the respective limitations of Claim 8. Quint further teaches:
wherein the at least one station-specific attribute of the charging station further comprises one of: protection; a current, planned, or an average occupancy; available lighting; or a facility existing up to a specific distance in the proximity of the charging station.
(Quint) – “If the user does not specify a destination at the step 248, the method 200 presents to the user a list of at least one nearby charging stop at a step 252. The at least one nearby charging stop can include a plurality of nearby charging stops, which are designated as the least expensive, the fastest charging stop, the type of charging stop. The fastest charging stop can mean the charging stop having the smallest time impact to a journey to the destination. The at least one nearby charging stop is considered a SMART recommendation as the at least one charging stop can be recommended based on a combination of customer/vehicle needs and environmental conditions.” (Para 0073)
“Some of the charging stations presented in the step 260 can be designated as the least expensive, the fastest charging stop, and by the type of charging stop (e.g., SMART). The plurality of charging stations in the step 260 correspond to the charging stations along the route to the destination.” (Para 0075)
“In some examples, in the steps 252 and 260, there are no charging stations configured to directly charge the electrified vehicle 10. In such situations, the method 200 can recommend the charging stop as any location having a 110 volt power outlet. From the 110 Volt power outlet, the user can charge the electrified vehicle 10 with, for example, a level 1 charge. Any of the methods in this disclosure could optionally include a recommendation for a charge from a 110 Volt power outlet, when applicable.” (Para 0078)
“From the step 348, the method 300 can move back to the step 320, or move to a step 352, which identifies the closest available L2 charger and closest available DCFC charger that meet the amenity preferences identified by the user in the step 344.” (Para 0086)
“The method 100 begins at a step 104 where the controller module 22 monitors vehicle needs, user needs, and environmental factors. Exemplary vehicle needs can include the traction battery 12 having a state of charge that drops below a threshold level. Another exemplary vehicle need could include, when the electrified vehicle 10 is a conventional vehicle, a urea tank having a fluid level dropping below a threshold level. Yet another exemplary vehicle need could include a pressure of one of the wheels of the electrified vehicle 10 falling below a threshold level.” (Para 0048)
“User needs are different than the vehicle needs. User needs are associated with the user of the electrified vehicle 10 rather than the electrified vehicle 10 itself. Exemplary user needs could include a user of the electrified vehicle 10 needing to stop for food, or to download a file shared to the user by a coworker. Other example user needs could include a required restroom break, or a stop for coffee.” (Para 0049)
Claim 13:
Quint explicitly teaches:
A charging stop planning assistant, comprising: a human-machine interface configured to record a variable of at least one vehicle requirement, user requirement, or environmental factor; and
(Quint) – “The method 100 begins at a step 104 where the controller module 22 monitors vehicle needs, user needs, and environmental factors. Exemplary vehicle needs can include the traction battery 12 having a state of charge that drops below a threshold level. Another exemplary vehicle need could include, when the electrified vehicle 10 is a conventional vehicle, a urea tank having a fluid level dropping below a threshold level. Yet another exemplary vehicle need could include a pressure of one of the wheels of the electrified vehicle 10 falling below a threshold level.” (Para 0048)
“User needs are different than the vehicle needs. User needs are associated with the user of the electrified vehicle 10 rather than the electrified vehicle 10 itself. Exemplary user needs could include a user of the electrified vehicle 10 needing to stop for food, or to download a file shared to the user by a coworker. Other example user needs could include a required restroom break, or a stop for coffee.” (Para 0049)
“Environmental factors, as previously described, relate to factors outside the vehicle. The environmental factors are separate from the user needs and the vehicle needs. The environmental factors can be received by the receiver 30.” (Para 0051)
“The user can create the trip plan via an in-vehicle user interface or outside the electrified vehicle 10 via a mobile or web app/interface.” (Para 0130)
“A trip planning method according to an exemplary aspect of the present disclosure includes, among other things, recommending at least one stop for a vehicle. Under first conditions, the recommending is based on a vehicle need and a user need. Under second conditions, the recommending is based on the vehicle need and an environmental factor.” (Para 0004)
“In a further non-limiting embodiment of any of the foregoing methods, the vehicle need is a charge of a traction battery, and the at least one stop includes a plurality of charging stops presented to a user of the vehicle. In a further non-limiting embodiment of any of the foregoing methods, the plurality of charging stops includes a charging stop designated as the least expensive charging stop and a charging stop designated as the fastest charging stop. The fastest charging stop can mean the charging stop having the smallest time impact to a journey to the destination.” (Para 0006-0007)
a computer unit, coupled to the human-machine interface, configured to estimate, using the recorded variable, a value of at least one vehicle requirement, user requirement, environmental factor, or a journey-specific factor deviating from the recorded variable;
(Quint) – “The method 100 begins at a step 104 where the controller module 22 monitors vehicle needs, user needs, and environmental factors. Exemplary vehicle needs can include the traction battery 12 having a state of charge that drops below a threshold level. Another exemplary vehicle need could include, when the electrified vehicle 10 is a conventional vehicle, a urea tank having a fluid level dropping below a threshold level. Yet another exemplary vehicle need could include a pressure of one of the wheels of the electrified vehicle 10 falling below a threshold level.” (Para 0048)
“User needs are different than the vehicle needs. User needs are associated with the user of the electrified vehicle 10 rather than the electrified vehicle 10 itself. Exemplary user needs could include a user of the electrified vehicle 10 needing to stop for food, or to download a file shared to the user by a coworker. Other example user needs could include a required restroom break, or a stop for coffee.” (Para 0049)
“Environmental factors, as previously described, relate to factors outside the vehicle. The environmental factors are separate from the user needs and the vehicle needs. The environmental factors can be received by the receiver 30.” (Para 0051)
“The user can create the trip plan via an in-vehicle user interface or outside the electrified vehicle 10 via a mobile or web app/interface.” (Para 0130)
“The processor of the controller module 22 can be programmed to execute a program stored in the memory portion. The processor can be a custom made or commercially available processor, a central processing unit (CPU), an auxiliary processor among several processors associated with the controller module, a semi-conductor based microprocessor (in the form of a microchip or chipset) or generally any device for executing software instructions.” (Para 0043)
wherein the human-machine interface is configured to output a suggestion of at least one suitable charging station for the charging stop for the vehicle, wherein the outputted suggestion is based on the recorded variable and the estimated value by comparing the at least one vehicle requirement, user requirement, environmental factor, or journey-specific factor with at least one charging station-specific attribute of a charging station.
(Quint) – “At a step 116a, the method 100 recommends at least one stop for the electrified vehicle 10 based on both a vehicle need and a user need. The method 100 could instead, at a step 116b, recommend at least one stop based on a vehicle need and an environmental factor. The method 100 could instead, at a step 116c, recommend at least one stop based on a user need and an environmental factor. In some examples, the recommending of the stops at the steps 116a, 116b, or 166c provides the alert schematically represented in step 112. That is, the step 112 could be combined with the step 116a, 116b, or 116c.” (Para 0057)
“With reference to the step 116a, the recommended at least one stop could be provided based on the user need being a need for food, which could be obtained at the stop, and a vehicle need of the traction battery 12 requiring a recharge. The step 116a provides the user with at least one recommended stop. Each of these provided recommended stops has both charging capability and provides food.” (Para 0058)
“The user can create the trip plan via an in-vehicle user interface or outside the electrified vehicle 10 via a mobile or web app/interface.” (Para 0130)
“The processor of the controller module 22 can be programmed to execute a program stored in the memory portion. The processor can be a custom made or commercially available processor, a central processing unit (CPU), an auxiliary processor among several processors associated with the controller module, a semi-conductor based microprocessor (in the form of a microchip or chipset) or generally any device for executing software instructions.” (Para 0043)
wherein at least one attribute [of the historical charging station] is recorded and at least one charging station other than the historical charging station, which has the at least one attribute [of the historical charging station], is output as a suggestion for carrying out further charging stops,
(Quint) – “At a step 116a, the method 100 recommends at least one stop for the electrified vehicle 10 based on both a vehicle need and a user need. The method 100 could instead, at a step 116b, recommend at least one stop based on a vehicle need and an environmental factor. The method 100 could instead, at a step 116c, recommend at least one stop based on a user need and an environmental factor. In some examples, the recommending of the stops at the steps 116a, 116b, or 166c provides the alert schematically represented in step 112. That is, the step 112 could be combined with the step 116a, 116b, or 116c.” (Para 0057)
“With reference to the step 116a, the recommended at least one stop could be provided based on the user need being a need for food, which could be obtained at the stop, and a vehicle need of the traction battery 12 requiring a recharge. The step 116a provides the user with at least one recommended stop. Each of these provided recommended stops has both charging capability and provides food.” (Para 0058)
“From the step 348, the method 300 can move back to the step 320, or move to a step 352, which identifies the closest available L2 charger and closest available DCFC charger that meet the amenity preferences identified by the user in the step 344.” (Para 0086)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
wherein the at least one attribute [of the historical charging station] is a specific charging interface, a specific charging voltage, a specific charging current, a specific charging capacity, or a specific charging frequency, and
(Quint) – “If the user does not specify a destination at the step 248, the method 200 presents to the user a list of at least one nearby charging stop at a step 252. The at least one nearby charging stop can include a plurality of nearby charging stops, which are designated as the least expensive, the fastest charging stop, the type of charging stop. The fastest charging stop can mean the charging stop having the smallest time impact to a journey to the destination. The at least one nearby charging stop is considered a SMART recommendation as the at least one charging stop can be recommended based on a combination of customer/vehicle needs and environmental conditions.” (Para 0073)
“Some of the charging stations presented in the step 260 can be designated as the least expensive, the fastest charging stop, and by the type of charging stop (e.g., SMART). The plurality of charging stations in the step 260 correspond to the charging stations along the route to the destination.” (Para 0075)
“In some examples, in the steps 252 and 260, there are no charging stations configured to directly charge the electrified vehicle 10. In such situations, the method 200 can recommend the charging stop as any location having a 110 volt power outlet. From the 110 Volt power outlet, the user can charge the electrified vehicle 10 with, for example, a level 1 charge. Any of the methods in this disclosure could optionally include a recommendation for a charge from a 110 Volt power outlet, when applicable.” (Para 0078)
“From the step 348, the method 300 can move back to the step 320, or move to a step 352, which identifies the closest available L2 charger and closest available DCFC charger that meet the amenity preferences identified by the user in the step 344.” (Para 0086)
“The method 100 begins at a step 104 where the controller module 22 monitors vehicle needs, user needs, and environmental factors. Exemplary vehicle needs can include the traction battery 12 having a state of charge that drops below a threshold level. Another exemplary vehicle need could include, when the electrified vehicle 10 is a conventional vehicle, a urea tank having a fluid level dropping below a threshold level. Yet another exemplary vehicle need could include a pressure of one of the wheels of the electrified vehicle 10 falling below a threshold level.” (Para 0048)
“User needs are different than the vehicle needs. User needs are associated with the user of the electrified vehicle 10 rather than the electrified vehicle 10 itself. Exemplary user needs could include a user of the electrified vehicle 10 needing to stop for food, or to download a file shared to the user by a coworker. Other example user needs could include a required restroom break, or a stop for coffee.” (Para 0049)
wherein the vehicle requirement is based at least on a charging level of the traction battery.
(Quint) – “The method 100 begins at a step 104 where the controller module 22 monitors vehicle needs, user needs, and environmental factors. Exemplary vehicle needs can include the traction battery 12 having a state of charge that drops below a threshold level. Another exemplary vehicle need could include, when the electrified vehicle 10 is a conventional vehicle, a urea tank having a fluid level dropping below a threshold level. Yet another exemplary vehicle need could include a pressure of one of the wheels of the electrified vehicle 10 falling below a threshold level.” (Para 0048)
“User needs are different than the vehicle needs. User needs are associated with the user of the electrified vehicle 10 rather than the electrified vehicle 10 itself. Exemplary user needs could include a user of the electrified vehicle 10 needing to stop for food, or to download a file shared to the user by a coworker. Other example user needs could include a required restroom break, or a stop for coffee.” (Para 0049)
“Environmental factors, as previously described, relate to factors outside the vehicle. The environmental factors are separate from the user needs and the vehicle needs. The environmental factors can be received by the receiver 30.” (Para 0051)
Quint does not explicitly teach:
wherein a charging station that has been visited at least once with the vehicle for charging is marked as a historical charging station,… of the historical charging station…of the historical charging station…of the historical charging station
Williams, in the same field of endeavor of charging station suggestion, teaches:
wherein a charging station that has been visited at least once with the vehicle for charging is marked as a historical charging station,
(Williams) – “During charging station recommendation, the vehicle subsystem may also provide a suggestion in context of charging station preferences as determined from a cloud-based user-profile. In an example, if a user 101 historically frequents a specific charging station, as logged in credit card statements or in a vehicle-specific user activity profile, future recommendations by the vehicle subsystem will be provided in context of that historical user preference.” (Para 0020)
“Based on the current battery charge and the above parameters, a charging station recommendation is made to the user 244 via the vehicle-based user interface.” (Para 0030)
of the historical charging station…of the historical charging station…of the historical charging station
(Williams) – “During charging station recommendation, the vehicle subsystem may also provide a suggestion in context of charging station preferences as determined from a cloud-based user-profile. In an example, if a user 101 historically frequents a specific charging station, as logged in credit card statements or in a vehicle-specific user activity profile, future recommendations by the vehicle subsystem will be provided in context of that historical user preference.” (Para 0020)
“Based on the current battery charge and the above parameters, a charging station recommendation is made to the user 244 via the vehicle-based user interface.” (Para 0030)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the trip planning method of Quint with the methods for autonomous charging of Williams. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “the system makes it possible for users to continue performing desired tasks of daily living while their vehicle accomplishes requisite routine maintenance, including battery recharging.” (Williams Para 0017)
Claim 14:
Quint explicitly teaches:
A vehicle comprising: an integrated charging stop planning assistant, which comprises a human-machine interface configured to record a variable of at least one vehicle requirement, user requirement, or environmental factor; and
(Quint) – “The method 100 begins at a step 104 where the controller module 22 monitors vehicle needs, user needs, and environmental factors. Exemplary vehicle needs can include the traction battery 12 having a state of charge that drops below a threshold level. Another exemplary vehicle need could include, when the electrified vehicle 10 is a conventional vehicle, a urea tank having a fluid level dropping below a threshold level. Yet another exemplary vehicle need could include a pressure of one of the wheels of the electrified vehicle 10 falling below a threshold level.” (Para 0048)
“User needs are different than the vehicle needs. User needs are associated with the user of the electrified vehicle 10 rather than the electrified vehicle 10 itself. Exemplary user needs could include a user of the electrified vehicle 10 needing to stop for food, or to download a file shared to the user by a coworker. Other example user needs could include a required restroom break, or a stop for coffee.” (Para 0049)
“Environmental factors, as previously described, relate to factors outside the vehicle. The environmental factors are separate from the user needs and the vehicle needs. The environmental factors can be received by the receiver 30.” (Para 0051)
“The user can create the trip plan via an in-vehicle user interface or outside the electrified vehicle 10 via a mobile or web app/interface.” (Para 0130)
“A trip planning method according to an exemplary aspect of the present disclosure includes, among other things, recommending at least one stop for a vehicle. Under first conditions, the recommending is based on a vehicle need and a user need. Under second conditions, the recommending is based on the vehicle need and an environmental factor.” (Para 0004)
“In a further non-limiting embodiment of any of the foregoing methods, the vehicle need is a charge of a traction battery, and the at least one stop includes a plurality of charging stops presented to a user of the vehicle. In a further non-limiting embodiment of any of the foregoing methods, the plurality of charging stops includes a charging stop designated as the least expensive charging stop and a charging stop designated as the fastest charging stop. The fastest charging stop can mean the charging stop having the smallest time impact to a journey to the destination.” (Para 0006-0007)
a computer unit, coupled to the human-machine interface, configured to estimate, using the recorded variable, a value of at least one vehicle requirement, user requirement, environmental factor, or a journey-specific factor deviating from the recorded variable;
(Quint) – “The method 100 begins at a step 104 where the controller module 22 monitors vehicle needs, user needs, and environmental factors. Exemplary vehicle needs can include the traction battery 12 having a state of charge that drops below a threshold level. Another exemplary vehicle need could include, when the electrified vehicle 10 is a conventional vehicle, a urea tank having a fluid level dropping below a threshold level. Yet another exemplary vehicle need could include a pressure of one of the wheels of the electrified vehicle 10 falling below a threshold level.” (Para 0048)
“User needs are different than the vehicle needs. User needs are associated with the user of the electrified vehicle 10 rather than the electrified vehicle 10 itself. Exemplary user needs could include a user of the electrified vehicle 10 needing to stop for food, or to download a file shared to the user by a coworker. Other example user needs could include a required restroom break, or a stop for coffee.” (Para 0049)
“Environmental factors, as previously described, relate to factors outside the vehicle. The environmental factors are separate from the user needs and the vehicle needs. The environmental factors can be received by the receiver 30.” (Para 0051)
“The user can create the trip plan via an in-vehicle user interface or outside the electrified vehicle 10 via a mobile or web app/interface.” (Para 0130)
“The processor of the controller module 22 can be programmed to execute a program stored in the memory portion. The processor can be a custom made or commercially available processor, a central processing unit (CPU), an auxiliary processor among several processors associated with the controller module, a semi-conductor based microprocessor (in the form of a microchip or chipset) or generally any device for executing software instructions.” (Para 0043)
wherein the human-machine interface is configured to output a suggestion of at least one suitable charging station for the charging stop for the vehicle, wherein the outputted suggestion is based on the recorded variable and the estimated value by comparing the at least one vehicle requirement, user requirement, environmental factor, or journey-specific factor with at least one charging station-specific attribute of a charging station.
(Quint) – “At a step 116a, the method 100 recommends at least one stop for the electrified vehicle 10 based on both a vehicle need and a user need. The method 100 could instead, at a step 116b, recommend at least one stop based on a vehicle need and an environmental factor. The method 100 could instead, at a step 116c, recommend at least one stop based on a user need and an environmental factor. In some examples, the recommending of the stops at the steps 116a, 116b, or 166c provides the alert schematically represented in step 112. That is, the step 112 could be combined with the step 116a, 116b, or 116c.” (Para 0057)
“With reference to the step 116a, the recommended at least one stop could be provided based on the user need being a need for food, which could be obtained at the stop, and a vehicle need of the traction battery 12 requiring a recharge. The step 116a provides the user with at least one recommended stop. Each of these provided recommended stops has both charging capability and provides food.” (Para 0058)
“The user can create the trip plan via an in-vehicle user interface or outside the electrified vehicle 10 via a mobile or web app/interface.” (Para 0130)
“The processor of the controller module 22 can be programmed to execute a program stored in the memory portion. The processor can be a custom made or commercially available processor, a central processing unit (CPU), an auxiliary processor among several processors associated with the controller module, a semi-conductor based microprocessor (in the form of a microchip or chipset) or generally any device for executing software instructions.” (Para 0043)
wherein at least one attribute [of the historical charging station] is recorded and at least one charging station other than the historical charging station, which has the at least one attribute [of the historical charging station], is output as a suggestion for carrying out further charging stops,
(Quint) – “At a step 116a, the method 100 recommends at least one stop for the electrified vehicle 10 based on both a vehicle need and a user need. The method 100 could instead, at a step 116b, recommend at least one stop based on a vehicle need and an environmental factor. The method 100 could instead, at a step 116c, recommend at least one stop based on a user need and an environmental factor. In some examples, the recommending of the stops at the steps 116a, 116b, or 166c provides the alert schematically represented in step 112. That is, the step 112 could be combined with the step 116a, 116b, or 116c.” (Para 0057)
“With reference to the step 116a, the recommended at least one stop could be provided based on the user need being a need for food, which could be obtained at the stop, and a vehicle need of the traction battery 12 requiring a recharge. The step 116a provides the user with at least one recommended stop. Each of these provided recommended stops has both charging capability and provides food.” (Para 0058)
“From the step 348, the method 300 can move back to the step 320, or move to a step 352, which identifies the closest available L2 charger and closest available DCFC charger that meet the amenity preferences identified by the user in the step 344.” (Para 0086)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
wherein the at least one attribute [of the historical charging station] is a specific charging interface, a specific charging voltage, a specific charging current, a specific charging capacity, or a specific charging frequency, and
(Quint) – “If the user does not specify a destination at the step 248, the method 200 presents to the user a list of at least one nearby charging stop at a step 252. The at least one nearby charging stop can include a plurality of nearby charging stops, which are designated as the least expensive, the fastest charging stop, the type of charging stop. The fastest charging stop can mean the charging stop having the smallest time impact to a journey to the destination. The at least one nearby charging stop is considered a SMART recommendation as the at least one charging stop can be recommended based on a combination of customer/vehicle needs and environmental conditions.” (Para 0073)
“Some of the charging stations presented in the step 260 can be designated as the least expensive, the fastest charging stop, and by the type of charging stop (e.g., SMART). The plurality of charging stations in the step 260 correspond to the charging stations along the route to the destination.” (Para 0075)
“In some examples, in the steps 252 and 260, there are no charging stations configured to directly charge the electrified vehicle 10. In such situations, the method 200 can recommend the charging stop as any location having a 110 volt power outlet. From the 110 Volt power outlet, the user can charge the electrified vehicle 10 with, for example, a level 1 charge. Any of the methods in this disclosure could optionally include a recommendation for a charge from a 110 Volt power outlet, when applicable.” (Para 0078)
“From the step 348, the method 300 can move back to the step 320, or move to a step 352, which identifies the closest available L2 charger and closest available DCFC charger that meet the amenity preferences identified by the user in the step 344.” (Para 0086)
“The method 100 begins at a step 104 where the controller module 22 monitors vehicle needs, user needs, and environmental factors. Exemplary vehicle needs can include the traction battery 12 having a state of charge that drops below a threshold level. Another exemplary vehicle need could include, when the electrified vehicle 10 is a conventional vehicle, a urea tank having a fluid level dropping below a threshold level. Yet another exemplary vehicle need could include a pressure of one of the wheels of the electrified vehicle 10 falling below a threshold level.” (Para 0048)
“User needs are different than the vehicle needs. User needs are associated with the user of the electrified vehicle 10 rather than the electrified vehicle 10 itself. Exemplary user needs could include a user of the electrified vehicle 10 needing to stop for food, or to download a file shared to the user by a coworker. Other example user needs could include a required restroom break, or a stop for coffee.” (Para 0049)
wherein the vehicle requirement is based at least on a charging level of the traction battery.
(Quint) – “The method 100 begins at a step 104 where the controller module 22 monitors vehicle needs, user needs, and environmental factors. Exemplary vehicle needs can include the traction battery 12 having a state of charge that drops below a threshold level. Another exemplary vehicle need could include, when the electrified vehicle 10 is a conventional vehicle, a urea tank having a fluid level dropping below a threshold level. Yet another exemplary vehicle need could include a pressure of one of the wheels of the electrified vehicle 10 falling below a threshold level.” (Para 0048)
“User needs are different than the vehicle needs. User needs are associated with the user of the electrified vehicle 10 rather than the electrified vehicle 10 itself. Exemplary user needs could include a user of the electrified vehicle 10 needing to stop for food, or to download a file shared to the user by a coworker. Other example user needs could include a required restroom break, or a stop for coffee.” (Para 0049)
“Environmental factors, as previously described, relate to factors outside the vehicle. The environmental factors are separate from the user needs and the vehicle needs. The environmental factors can be received by the receiver 30.” (Para 0051)
Quint does not explicitly teach:
wherein a charging station that has been visited at least once with the vehicle for charging is marked as a historical charging station,… of the historical charging station…of the historical charging station…of the historical charging station
Williams, in the same field of endeavor of charging station suggestion, teaches:
wherein a charging station that has been visited at least once with the vehicle for charging is marked as a historical charging station,
(Williams) – “During charging station recommendation, the vehicle subsystem may also provide a suggestion in context of charging station preferences as determined from a cloud-based user-profile. In an example, if a user 101 historically frequents a specific charging station, as logged in credit card statements or in a vehicle-specific user activity profile, future recommendations by the vehicle subsystem will be provided in context of that historical user preference.” (Para 0020)
“Based on the current battery charge and the above parameters, a charging station recommendation is made to the user 244 via the vehicle-based user interface.” (Para 0030)
of the historical charging station…of the historical charging station…of the historical charging station
(Williams) – “During charging station recommendation, the vehicle subsystem may also provide a suggestion in context of charging station preferences as determined from a cloud-based user-profile. In an example, if a user 101 historically frequents a specific charging station, as logged in credit card statements or in a vehicle-specific user activity profile, future recommendations by the vehicle subsystem will be provided in context of that historical user preference.” (Para 0020)
“Based on the current battery charge and the above parameters, a charging station recommendation is made to the user 244 via the vehicle-based user interface.” (Para 0030)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the trip planning method of Quint with the methods for autonomous charging of Williams. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “the system makes it possible for users to continue performing desired tasks of daily living while their vehicle accomplishes requisite routine maintenance, including battery recharging.” (Williams Para 0017)
Claim 15:
Rejected based on the same rationale as Claim 9
Claim 16:
Rejected based on the same rationale as Claim 12
Claim 17:
Rejected based on the same rationale as Claim 9
Claim 18:
Rejected based on the same rationale as Claim 12
Response to Arguments
The Claim Objections mailed 08/08/2025 have been withdrawn in response to the “amendment” and “remarks” filed 10/16/2025.
Applicant's arguments regarding the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection mailed 08/08/2025 have been fully considered but they are not convincing.
Specifically, Applicant argues:
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is allegedly directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. This ground of rejection is respectfully traversed.
The amended claims are not directed to an abstract idea but instead to a
technological improvement to traction battery technology. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that running a traction battery all the way down can accelerate battery degradation, and thus shorten the lifespan of the battery. The amended independent claims address this technological issue by outputting a suggestion of at least one charging station other than the historical charging station, which has the at least one attribute of the historical charging station, where the at least one attribute of the historical charging station is a specific charging interface, a specific charging voltage, a specific charging current, a specific charging capacity, or a specific charging frequency, and the vehicle requirement is based at least on a charging level of the traction battery.
This reduces the chances that the traction battery will be completely depleted because the suggested charging station is based not only on the charging level of the battery but also based on specific necessary charging requirements, such as a specific charging interface, a specific charging voltage, a specific charging current, a specific charging capacity, or a specific charging frequency. These attributes of the historical charging station ensure that the outputted suggested charging station is compatible with the battery because otherwise the traction battery may not have sufficient capacity to reach a charging station that is compatible based on the historical charging station.
Accordingly, the amended claims are directed to a technological improvement in traction battery technology, and thus is not directed to an abstract idea and withdrawal of the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101 is respectfully requested.
However, these arguments are unconvincing. The arguments fail to address the multi-step analysis provided in the rejection rationale. While the arguments assert that a technical improvement to battery technology, they fail to rebut the fact that the claimed limitations may be accomplished in the human mind as fully explained in the rejection rationale. Indeed, it is common practice to plan one’s trip around battery parameters and charging stations with appropriate capabilities as would be readily understood by a person having ordinary skill in the art. As the arguments do not directly address the rejection rationale, the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection has not been overcome.
Applicant's arguments regarding the 35 U.S.C. 102 & 103 rejection mailed 08/08/2025 have been fully considered but they are not convincing. Rejection had been updated to reflect amendment.
Specifically, in addition to various quotes and summaries, Applicant argues:
“Independent claim 8 is amended to include some of the features of dependent claims 10 and 11, which are rejected for obviousness in view of the combination of Quint and Williams. The combination of Quint and Williams at best discloses suggesting a charging station that a user frequently visits but does not disclose or suggest outputting as a suggestion a "at least one charging station other than the historical charging station" having "the at least one attribute of the historical charging station". Thus, independent claim 8 outputs a suggestion based on the common at least one attribute of a different charging station than the historical charging station, whereas the combination of Quint and Williams discloses suggesting the same historical charging station…
Williams' reference to identifying the "specific charging station" based on credit card statements or a user profile in this context means the future recommendations would account for the specific charging station frequently visited by the user as the suggested charging station. There is nothing in Williams or Quint disclosing or suggesting outputting a suggestion of a charging station other than the historical charging station and having the same attribute as the historical charging station as claimed. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would not have found it obvious to combine Quint and Williams to output a suggestion in the manner recited in amended independent claim 8.”
However, this is unconvincing. The above points render the argument unconvincing. As fully evidenced in the updated rejection rationale, Quint teaches the suggestion of charging stations based on a variety of preferences and parameters including all claimed limitations thereof save for the consideration of a historical charging station. Williams teaches making a charging station recommendation based on parameters (Para 0030) including utilizing the context of historically frequented charging stations (Para 0020). When taken in combinations, these references teach all claimed limitations. The assertion that Williams only suggests the same charging stations as previously visited appears to be an overly narrow misunderstanding of the teachings. Indeed, Williams teaches providing future recommendations “in context of that historical user preference,” not recommending only historically preferred charging stations.
Furthermore, Applicant argues:
“Furthermore, the motivation provided to combine Quint and Williams is not
consummate with the proposed modification. The rejection relies on Williams for the disclosure of a historical charging station and then, citing paragraph 0017 of Williams, concludes that one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because "the system makes it possible for users to continue performing desired tasks of daily living while their vehicle accomplishes requisite routine maintenance, including battery recharging."
The text in paragraph 0017 of Williams preceding this sentence explains:
The present disclosure describes a system and method for
autonomous charging of an autonomous vehicle. In accomplishing this, a system is developed comprising a user interface, an autonomous vehicle
(AV), and a cloud connected network of charging stations and charging
ports, each in wireless communication with the other system components.
The autonomous vehicle further comprises a deployable charging arm which, in tandem with geolocation technologies, allows for user-free
recharging of on-board vehicle batteries. Together, the system makes it
possible for users to continue performing..
There is nothing in paragraph 0017 of Williams indicating that the ability of users to perform desired tasks while the vehicle accomplishes battery charging is achieved based on a historical charging station. The paragraph instead makes clear the system as a whole is what provides this advantage. The rejection, however, is not proposing to modify Quint to include the entire system of Williams, and therefore the resulting combination of Quint and Williams would not have the entire system required to provide the ability for users to perform tasks while the vehicle battery is being recharged.”
However, this is unconvincing. In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the a clear motivation has been identified from Williams Para 0017 for modifying the trip planning method of Quint with the methods for autonomous charging of Williams. The motivation is not required to be limited to only the passages cited in the claim mapping. Indeed, the use of historical user preferences (Paras 0020, 0030) are a part of the overall system and methods, and, therefore, motivations related to the system of Williams are clearly relevant to details contained within said system.
As described above, Examiner maintains that the updated 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection rationale above teach each and every limitation in the current claims. As such Claims 8-9, 12-18 remain rejected in view of the prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID RUBEN PEDERSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3667