DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate as the single species of the second compound and an oil-in-water cosmetic as the single species of the composition in the reply filed on 01/22/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the election requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim 6 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, Second Paragraph
Claims 1-5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “where the benzene ring may have a substituent”. This claim is indefinite because it is not clear whether the methoxyphenyl, the methylphenyl, or both of the first compound may have a substituent, the phenyl ring of the second compound may have a substituent, or any of the listed benzene rings in both compounds (i) and (ii) may have a substituent. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 3-4 are indefinite because they recite, “a polar oil”. This limitation is indefinite because it is not clear the inorganic/organic balance the oil must have to be considered “polar”. Appropriate correction is required, for example, reciting the IOB value to be “polar”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112- Failure to Further Limit
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 1 requires that the second compound have a para-substituent as each of (II-1)-(II-4) has a substituent in the para position. Claim 2 recites second compounds which do not have a para-substituent on the benzene ring such as octocrylene, ethylhexyl salicylate, homosalate, and phenylbenzimidazole sulfonic acid, therefore, claim 2 broadens the scope of claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being obvious over Ehlis et al. (US 2017/0027835 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ehlis discloses a cosmetic composition with a UV filter combination including (b) UV filters such as (b6) ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate (MW = 290 g/mol) and (b21) 2-propenoic acid, 3-(4-methoxyphenyl)-, 2-methyl phenyl ester (abstract). 2-propenoic acid, 3-(4-methoxyphenyl)-, 2-methyl phenyl ester (hereinafter, b21) has the following structural formula [0060]:
One or more UV filters can be included in the formulations [0284]-[300] [0061] and Ehlis teaches that the UV filter prevents the human skin from the damage of sunlight in the cosmetic formulations [0001]-[0003]. The UV filter components are included in the composition with an oil [0184]-[0185], such as the polar oils diisopropyl sebacate, isopropyl myristate, and butyl stearate [0185] [0284]-[300].
Ehlis is not believed to be anticipatory because Ehlis could be construed as not clearly and unequivocally disclosing the claimed invention or directing those skilled in the art to the claimed invention without any need for picking, choosing and combining various disclosures not directly related to each other by the teachings of the cited reference. Namely, one skilled in the art would need to choose to include both ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate and b21 within the composition.
Nevertheless, claim 1 is rendered prima facie obvious over the teachings of Ehlis, because it is prima facie obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods, to yield predictable results. In the instant case, all the claimed elements (e.g., ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate and b21) were known in the prior art (e.g., Ehlis) and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results (e.g., a cosmetic composition) to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2143.A. Additionally, an ordinarily skilled artisan would be motivated to include both ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate and b21 to prevent human skin from the damage of sunlight in the cosmetic formulation as taught by Ehlis [0001]-[0003].
Further regarding claim 1, while Ehlis does not explicitly teach that the components are dissolved in the oil, it would be reasonably expected that the polar oil would be capable of at least partially dissolving ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate and b21 due to their polarities.
Claim 2 is rendered prima facie obvious because Ehlis discloses ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate (abstract).
Claim 3 is rendered prima facie obvious because Ehlis discloses the polar oils diisopropyl sebacate, isopropyl myristate, and butyl stearate [0185] [0284]-[300].
Regarding claim 4, Ehlis discloses the composition includes 0.1-30 wt.% of the UV filter combination and 1-60 wt.% of an oil [0184]. Specific examples are given in paragraphs [0284]-[300], where, for example, in Example 25G, the polar oil diisopropyl sebacate is in an amount of 11 wt.% and the UV component (b) (diethylamino hydroxybenzoyl hexyl benzoate) is in an amount of 10 wt.% (47.6 parts by mass of component b to 100 parts by mass of polar oil and component b). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 A. Furthermore, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In this case, the general conditions of the amount of polar oil and component (b) have been taught by the prior art; as such, it would not have been inventive for the skilled artisan to have discovered the optimum amount via routine experimentation.
Claims 5 and 7 are rendered prima facie obvious because Ehlis discloses the compositions are oil-in-water cosmetics [0184]-[0185] [0284]-[0287].
Claim 8 is rendered prima facie obvious because Ehlis discloses the compositions are used as sunscreens [0003]-[0004] [0285] [0306]-[0307].
Conclusion
/ASHLEE E WERTZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612