DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant's arguments filed 27 October 2025 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. The new limitations are disclosed by at least Varma as detailed in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1, 3, 6-8, 12, 14, 17-19, 21, and 24-25 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Varma Bhupatiraju et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0094371).
Regarding claims 1, 12, and 19, Varma discloses a method for automatic steering of an agricultural machine (P39, 43, 55, 63, etc) comprising:
receiving point cloud data from a camera (P25, 42, 48, 67, 74, 89, etc);
determining a location of a row of plants based on the point cloud data (fig 3, P26, 53, 75, etc), the determining comprising determining a centerline of the row based on a Hough transform detection algorithm (P23, 50, 73, 87, etc) operating in one of a harvester mode and a tractor mode (P40: harvesting operation/mode vs non-harvesting operation/mode using tractor, or P63: row following mode vs not row following mode, etc; please note that although Applicant’s specification may be narrower, the claim language encompasses an invention including two modes in which the same or different Hough transform detection algorithm can be performed); and
generating a steering angle (P55, 65, etc) for the agricultural machine based on the location of the row (figs 1, 3, P35-37, 39, 93, etc).
Regarding claims 3, 14, and 21, Varma further discloses that the Hough transform detection algorithm determines the centerline of the row based on a horizontal projection of the point cloud data (figs 10-13, 18, P23-24, 50-51, 87-88, etc: bird’s eye view).
Regarding claims 6, 17, and 24, Varma further discloses that the generating a steering angle is further based on a heading error (figs 3, 1, 15, etc).
Regarding claim 7, Varma further discloses that the heading error is an angle between a longitudinal axis of the agricultural machine and a median line (figs 3, 1, 15, etc: angle between heading line 151/561 and centerline 150/636).
Regarding claims 8, 18, and 25, Varma further discloses that the generating a steering angle is further based on an Xtrack (figs 1, 3: 124, etc: lateral offset of vehicle from centerline).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 4-5, 9-11, 15-16, and 22-23 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varma Bhupatiraju et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0094371).
Regarding claims 4, 15, and 22, Varma further discloses that the horizontal projection of the point cloud data is based on points of the point cloud that are higher than a ground plane found using an algorithm (P12, 26, 52, 75, etc).
Varma does not disclose that the algorithm is a random sample consensus algorithm.
However, it was well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a random sample consensus algorithm. The Examiner hereby takes Official Notice of this fact.
See for example Ellaboudy (# US 20210000006) P212 that discloses finding points of the point cloud that are higher than a ground plane found using a random sample consensus algorithm.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Varma to use a random sample consensus algorithm, as well known in the art, in order to more effectively identify points above the ground plane (P12, 26, 52, 75, etc), with predictable results.
Regarding claims 5, 16, and 23, Varma further discloses that the determining the centerline of the row is further based on a front projection of the point cloud data (fig 1, 9, 15, P50, 73, 87, etc).
Regarding claim 9, Varma further discloses that the Xtrack is a distance from the median line to the agricultural machine (figs 1, 3: 124, etc: lateral offset of vehicle from centerline, etc).
Varma does not explicitly disclose that the distance is to a center of a rear wheel axis of the agricultural machine.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to measure the distance to a center of a rear wheel axis of the agricultural machine, as well known in the art, as one of several obvious points on the agricultural machine which a person of ordinary skill in the art would choose to measure from. Since Applicant has not disclosed that his design choice solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, it appears that the invention would perform equally well using any one of several design choices.
Regarding claim 10, Varma further discloses that the median line is a centerline of the row (figs 1, 9, 15, 3, etc).
Regarding claim 11, Varma further discloses that the median line is a centerline located between the row and an adjacent row parallel to, and offset from, the row (figs 1, 9, 15, 3, etc).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Shelley Chen/
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3665
January 15, 2026