DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner has thoroughly reviewed Applicant’s arguments but firmly believes that the cited reference reasonably and properly meet the claimed limitation as rejected.
Applicant’s argument – Yu or Huang, alone or in combination, did not teaches or suggests "receiving, from the base station based at least in part on transmitting the one or more reference signals, control signaling indicating a precoding matrix indicator and a rank indicator," in which "both the precoding matrix indicator and the rank indicator are based at least in part on the UE having at least eight transmit antennas and based at least in part on a phase difference between different subsets of transmit antennas of the at least eight transmit antennas," as recited in amended independent claim 1.
Examiner’s response – Yu et al disclose precoding matrix generation is applicable to eight antenna ports and is determined based on antenna polarizations and transmit a TPMI/PMI from the network device to the terminal device (Pub [0089]). The phase offset indicates a phase difference between different polarized antennas (Pub [0074]). In addition, when the first information indicates the index value of the precoding matrix, precoding matrices in different ranks are indicated (Pub [0167]). Yu et al disclose all the subject matters above except for a rank indicator being received by the terminal device (UE). Huang et al disclose send a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) and a rank indicator (RI) together by a network device (220 and 210 in Fig. 2). And precoding a signal is based on the PMI and the RI (230). The PMI and RI are used to indicate a precoding matrix in a codebook (Pub [0007]). It is common for PMI and RI reported together to facilitated network deliver the best possible throughput and reliability. Therefore, the combination of Yu et al and Huang et al would provide both (PMI) and rank indicator (RI) to the UE from the BS. The UE supports at least eight transmit antennas. By doing so, optimize precoding and deliver the best possible throughput and reliability.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, 19 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al (US 2023/0170941) in view of Huang et al (US 2020/0274585). a) Regarding claim 1, Yu et al disclose a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (102 in Fig. 1 and Terminal device in Fig. 3), comprising:
transmitting, to a base station (101 in Fig. 1 and Network device in Fig. 3), one or more reference signals over a channel (301 and reference signal);
receiving, from the base station based at least in part on transmitting the one or more reference signals, control signaling indicating a precoding matrix indicator, the precoding matrix indicator being based at least in part on the UE having at least eight transmit antennas (Pub [0089]) and based at least in part on a phase difference between different subsets of transmit antennas of the at least eight transmit antennas (304; Pub [0073], TPMI, i.e. PMI, is sent to the terminal; Pub [0074], precoding matrix is determined based on antenna polarization/phase difference; Fig. 2); and
transmitting, to the base station, an uplink transmission configured according to the precoding matrix indicator and the rank indicator (305).
Yu et al disclose precoding matrix generation is applicable to eight antenna ports and is determined based on antenna polarizations and transmit a TPMI/PMI from the network device to the terminal device. In addition, when the first information indicates the index value of the precoding matrix, precoding matrices in different ranks are indicated (Pub [0167]). Yu et al did not explicitly disclose a rank indicator is also being received by the terminal device (UE).
However, Huang et al disclose send a precoding matrix indicator PMI and a rank indicator (RI) by a network device (220 and 210 in Fig. 2). And precoding a signal is based on the PMI and the RI (230). The PMI and RI are used to indicate a precoding matrix in a codebook (Pub [0007]). It is common for PMI and RI reported together to facilitated network deliver the best possible throughput and reliability. Therefore, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Huang et al and Yu et al. Thus, both the precoding matrix indicator and the rank indicator are being received by the UE from the BS. Both the precoding matrix indicator and the rank indicator being based at least in part on UE having at least eight transmit antennas and at least in part on a phase difference between different subsets of transmit antennas of the at least eight transmit antennas. By doing so, optimize precoding and deliver the best possible throughput and reliability. b) Regarding claim 10, Yu et al disclose a method for wireless communication at a base station (101 in Fig. 1 and Network device in Fig. 3), comprising:
selecting, based at least in part on one or more reference signals (301 and reference signal in Fig. 3) received from a user equipment (UE) (102 in Fig. 1 and Terminal device in Fig. 3), a precoding matrix indicator, the precoding matrix indicator being based at least in part on the UE having at least eight transmit antennas (Pub [0089]) and based at least in part on a phase difference between different subsets of transmit antennas of the at least eight transmit antennas (304; Pub [0073], TPMI, i.e. PMI, is sent to the terminal; Pub [0074], precoding matrix is determined based on antenna polarization/phase difference; Fig. 2);
transmitting, to the UE, control signaling indicating the precoding matrix indicator (first information and 304); and
receiving, from the UE, an uplink transmission configured based at least in part on the precoding matrix indicator (305).
Yu et al disclose precoding matrix generation is applicable to eight antenna ports and is determined based on antenna polarizations and transmit a TPMI/PMI from the network device to the terminal device. In addition, when the first information indicates the index value of the precoding matrix, precoding matrices in different ranks are indicated (Pub [0167]). Yu et al did not explicitly disclose a rank indicator is also being received by the terminal device (UE).
However, Huang et al disclose send a precoding matrix indicator PMI and a rank indicator (RI) by a network device (220 and 210 in Fig. 2). And precoding a signal is based on the PMI and the RI (230). The PMI and RI are used to indicate a precoding matrix in a codebook (Pub [0007]). It is common for PMI and RI reported together to facilitated network deliver the best possible throughput and reliability. Therefore, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Huang et al and Yu et al. Thus, both the precoding matrix indicator and the rank indicator are being received by the UE from the BS. Both the precoding matrix indicator and the rank indicator being based at least in part on UE having at least eight transmit antennas and at least in part on a phase difference between different subsets of transmit antennas of the at least eight transmit antennas. By doing so, optimize precoding and deliver the best possible throughput and reliability. c) Regarding claim 19, Yu et al disclose an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (102 in Fig. 1 and Terminal device in Fig. 3), a processor; memory coupled with the processor (520 and 530 in Fig. 5); and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
transmit, to a base station (101 in Fig. 1 and Network device in Fig. 3), one or more reference signals over a channel (301 and reference signal);
receive, from the base station based at least in part on transmitting the one or more reference signals, control signaling indicating a precoding matrix indicator, the precoding matrix indicator being based at least in part on the UE having at least eight transmit antennas (Pub [0089]) and based at least in part on a phase difference between different subsets of transmit antennas of the at least eight transmit antennas (304; Pub [0073], TPMI, i.e. PMI, is sent to the terminal; Pub [0074], precoding matrix is determined based on antenna polarization/phase difference; Fig. 2); and
transmit, to the base station, an uplink transmission configured according to the precoding matrix indicator and the rank indicator (305).
Yu et al disclose precoding matrix generation is applicable to eight antenna ports and is determined based on antenna polarizations and transmit a TPMI/PMI from the network device to the terminal device. In addition, when the first information indicates the index value of the precoding matrix, precoding matrices in different ranks are indicated (Pub [0167]). Yu et al did not explicitly disclose a rank indicator is also being received by the terminal device (UE).
However, Huang et al disclose send a precoding matrix indicator PMI and a rank indicator (RI) by a network device (220 and 210 in Fig. 2). And precoding a signal is based on the PMI and the RI (230). The PMI and RI are used to indicate a precoding matrix in a codebook (Pub [0007]). It is common for PMI and RI reported together to facilitated network deliver the best possible throughput and reliability. Therefore, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Huang et al and Yu et al. Thus, both the precoding matrix indicator and the rank indicator are being received by the UE from the BS. Both the precoding matrix indicator and the rank indicator being based at least in part on UE having at least eight transmit antennas and at least in part on a phase difference between different subsets of transmit antennas of the at least eight transmit antennas. By doing so, optimize precoding and deliver the best possible throughput and reliability. d) Regarding claim 25, Yu et al disclose an apparatus for wireless communication at a base station (101 in Fig. 1 and Network device in Fig. 3), comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to (520 and 530 in Fig. 5):
select, based at least in part on one or more reference signals (301 and reference signal in Fig. 3) received from a user equipment (UE) (102 in Fig. 1 and Terminal device in Fig. 3), a precoding matrix indicator, the precoding matrix indicator being based at least in part on the UE having at least eight transmit antennas (Pub [0089]) and based at least in part on a phase difference between different subsets of transmit antennas of the at least eight transmit antennas (304; Pub [0073], TPMI, i.e. PMI, is sent to the terminal; Pub [0074], precoding matrix is determined based on antenna polarization/phase difference; Fig. 2);
transmit, to the UE, control signaling indicating the precoding matrix indicator (first information and 304); and
receive, from the UE, an uplink transmission configured based at least in part on the precoding matrix indicator (305).
Yu et al disclose precoding matrix generation is applicable to eight antenna ports and is determined based on antenna polarizations and transmit a TPMI/PMI from the network device to the terminal device. In addition, when the first information indicates the index value of the precoding matrix, precoding matrices in different ranks are indicated (Pub [0167]). Yu et al did not explicitly disclose a rank indicator is also being received by the terminal device (UE).
However, Huang et al disclose send a precoding matrix indicator PMI and a rank indicator (RI) by a network device (220 and 210 in Fig. 2). And precoding a signal is based on the PMI and the RI (230). The PMI and RI are used to indicate a precoding matrix in a codebook (Pub [0007]). It is common for PMI and RI reported together to facilitated network deliver the best possible throughput and reliability. Therefore, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Huang et al and Yu et al. Thus, both the precoding matrix indicator and the rank indicator are being received by the UE from the BS. Both the precoding matrix indicator and the rank indicator being based at least in part on UE having at least eight transmit antennas and at least in part on a phase difference between different subsets of transmit antennas of the at least eight transmit antennas. By doing so, optimize precoding and deliver the best possible throughput and reliability.
Claims 2, 11, 20 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al (US 2023/0170941) in view of Huang et al (US 2020/0274585), and in further view of Varadarajan et al (US 2008/0292013). a) Regarding claims 2, 11, 20 and 26, Yu et al and Huang et al in combination teach precoding with PMI and RI report based on at least eight transmit antennas and phase difference of the antennas. Yu et al and Huang et al did not explicitly teach a householder matrix.
However, Varadarajan et al disclose the codebook maybe designed to perform in a variety of channel scenarios. The design of Householder based codebook provides improvement and refinement (Pub [0053]). The precoding codebook structures including deriving eight Householder matrices (Pub [0060]). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize a householder matrix can be eight-by eight for the uplink transmission. Therefore, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the householder matrix design of Varadarajan et al with the precoding of Yu et al and Huang et al. By doing so a householder matrix is at least eight-by eight for the uplink transmission, and the precoding matrix indicator and the rank indicator being based at least in part on the householder matrix. Thus, optimize codebook design while maintain orthogonality.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-9, 12-18, 21-24 and 27-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chieh Fan can be reached on 571-272-3042. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). October 13, 2026
/EVA Y PUENTE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632