DETAIL ACTION
Notice to Applicant(s)
This office action is response to the Election filed on October 27, 2025. As per request, group I (claims 1-14) has been elected without traverse. Thus, claims 15-36 has been withdrawn as non-elected claims.
The prior arts submitted on March 13, 2024 and September 02, 2025 have been considered.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. NOTE: the following detailed rejection is made with respect to independent claim 1, directed toward a system, i.e. machine. However, the analysis is applicable to independent claims 13 and 14, which present analogous limitations and are directed toward a method (i.e. process) and computer-readable memory (i.e. article of manufacture), respectively.
The determination of whether a claim recites patent ineligible subject matter is a 2 step inquiry.
STEP 1: the claim does not fall within one of the four statutory categories of invention (process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter), see MPEP 2106.03, or
STEP 2: the claim recites a judicial exception, e.g. an abstract idea, without reciting additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, as determined using the following analysis: see MPEP 2106.04
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? see MPEP 2106.04(II)(A)(1)
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? see MPEP 2106.04(II)(A)(2)
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? see MPEP 2106.05
101 Analysis – Step 1
Claims 1, 13 and 14 are respectively directed toward a machine, a process and an article of manufacture. Therefore, claims 1, 13 and 114 are each within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong I
Regarding Prong I of the Step 2A analysis, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the follow groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes. see MPEP 2106(A)(II)(1) and MPEP 2106.04(a)-(c)
Independent claim 1 includes limitations that recite an abstract idea (emphasized in bold) and additional elements (emphasized in underline) and will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection. Claim 1 recites:
A system for navigating a host vehicle, the system comprising:
. at least one processor comprising circuitry and a memory, wherein the memory includes instructions that when executed by the circuitry cause the at least one processor to:
. receive a plurality of images acquired by a camera onboard the host vehicle;
. identify a representation of a target vehicle in at least one of the plurality of images;
. receive from a RADAR system at least one indicator of a range between the host vehicle and the target vehicle;
. based on analysis of the at least one of the plurality of images, identify in the at least one of the plurality of images a ground intersection point associated with the target vehicle and a road surface; and
. determine an elevation value for the road surface based on the at least one indicator of the range between the host vehicle and the target vehicle, the determined ground intersection point, and an angle of inclination between an optical axis of the camera and a ray directed toward a location of the ground intersection point.
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitation(s) constitute a “mental process” because, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitation in the human mind.
The process begins with the identify a representation of a target vehicle in at least one of the plurality of image. This merely that a person can identify the target vehicle from the plurality of images. Then, the person can also identify a ground intersection point of the target vehicle and a road surface by looking at the obtained image. As can be seen in the above steps, to perform the process mentally, by a person. The “determine an elevation value for the road surface based on the at least one indicator of the range between the host vehicle and the target vehicle, the determined ground intersection point, and an angle of inclination between an optical axis of the camera and a ray directed toward a location of the ground intersection point” is directed to the “Mathematical concepts” in group of abstract ideas. The grouping of “mathematical concept” as set forth in MPEP 2106.04(a) is not limited to formulars or equation, and specifically includes “mathematical relationships” and mathematical calculation”. Accordingly, the claim recite an abstract idea with respect to step 2A, prong 1.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong II
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. see MPEP 2106.04(II)(A)(2) and MPEP 2106.04(d)(2). It must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
The claim recites the following additional elements:
. at least one processor comprising circuitry and a memory
. receive a plurality of images acquired by a camera onboard the host vehicle;
. receive from a RADAR system at least one indicator of a range between the host vehicle and the target vehicle;
Regarding the additional limitations of , the “at least one processor … a memory”, is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. See MPEP 2106.04(d)(I).
Regarding the additional limitation of receive a plurality of images acquired by a camera onboard the host vehicle; receive from a RADAR system at least one indicator of a range between the host vehicle and the target vehicle, the examiner submits that this limitation is insignificant extra-solution activities that amount to mere data gathering, which is insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. see MPEP § 2106.05. Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B of the Revised Guidance, representative independent claim 2 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using “at least one processor … a memory” amounts to nothing more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Furthermore, as discussed above, regarding the additional limitation of receive a plurality of images acquired by a camera onboard the host vehicle; receive from a RADAR system at least one indicator of a range between the host vehicle and the target vehicle, the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities and this additional limitation (and the combination, thereof) amount to no more than what is well-understood, routine and conventional activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g). Hence, the claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claim(s) 2-12 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claims to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application..
Therefore, dependent claims 2-12 are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of claim 1.
Therefore, claim(s) 1-14 are ineligible under 35 USC §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (2019/0318481).
As per claim 1, Chen discloses a system for navigating a host vehicle which includes at least one processor comprising circuitry and a memory, wherein the memory includes instructions that when executed by the circuitry cause the at least one processor to receive a plurality of images acquired by a camera onboard the host vehicle (see at least figures 2, 5A, 5B; paragraphs 0023 and 0047); identify a representation of a target vehicle in at least one of the plurality of images (see at least paragraph 0036); receive from a RADAR system at least one indicator of a range between the host vehicle and the target vehicle (see at least paragraph 0051); based on analysis of the at least one of the plurality of images, identify in the at least one of the plurality of images a ground intersection point associated with the target vehicle and a road surface (see at least figures 6B and 6C); and determine an elevation value for the road surface based on the at least one indicator of the range between the host vehicle and the target vehicle, the determined ground intersection point, and an angle of inclination between an optical axis of the camera and a ray directed toward a location of the ground intersection point (see at least figure 6B, 6C; paragraphs 0052, 0053; claim 5).
As per claim 2, Chen discloses that the ground intersection point is associated with a location where a tire of the target vehicle contacts the road surface (see at least figures 6B, 6C; paragraphs 0052, 0053).
As per claim 3, Chen discloses that the elevation value for the road surface is further determined based on an offset between a rear surface of the target vehicle and the location where the tire of the target vehicle contacts the road surface (see at least figures 6B, 6C; paragraphs 0052, 0053).
As per claim 4, Chen discloses that the ground intersection point is associated with a location of an intersection of a vertical projection from a surface of the target vehicle with the road surface (see at least figures 6B, 6C; paragraphs 0052, 0053).
As per claim 5, Chen discloses that the determination of the elevation value for the road surface is further based on an output of at least one accelerometer or an inertial measurement unit IMU (see at least paragraph 0023).
As per claim 6, Chen discloses that the output of the at least one accelerometer or an inertial measurement unit (IMU) is used to determine an orientation of the optical axis of the camera (see at least figure 6B; paragraph 0023).
As per claim 7, Chen discloses that the elevation value for the road surface is determined for each of the plurality of images, and a road profile is determined based on the elevation value for the road surface determined for each of the plurality of images (see at least figures 5A, 5B; paragraphs 0026, 0044, 0047).
As per claim 8, Chen discloses that the memory includes instructions that when executed by the circuitry cause the at least one processor to: initiate at least one navigational action for the host vehicle in response to the determined road profile (see at least paragraph 0020).
As per claim 9, Chen discloses that the at least one navigational response includes applying one or more brakes associated with the host vehicle (see at least paragraphs 0021, 0025).
As per claim 10, Chen discloses that the at least one navigational response includes adjusting a pointing angle associated with a headlight of the host vehicle (see at least figures 5A, 5B, 6C, 7A, 7B; paragraphs 0045-0047, 0049, 0052-0057).
As per claim 11, Chen discloses that the at least one navigational response includes increasing a throttle level associated with the host vehicle (see at least paragraphs 0021, 0025).
As per claim 12, Chen discloses that the at least one navigational response includes changing at least one aspect of a suspension system associated with the host vehicle (see at least paragraph 0047).
With respect to claims 13 and 14, the limitations of these claims have been noted in the rejections above. They are therefore considered rejected as set forth above.
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
The following references are cited as being of general interest: Schamp (2015/0294161) and Frazzoli et al. (11,685,360).
December 18, 2025
/TAN Q NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3661