DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim 1, 4 – 9, 11 – 17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Bitting et al. (WO 2021/163113A1) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Bitting et al. (WO 2021/163113 A1)
In regards to claim 1, Bitting teaches chemical recycling of plastic derived streams to a cracker separation zone, wherein a waste plastic source is fed into a pretreatment system, then to a pyrolysis feed system, then to a pyrolysis reactor, then to a solids separator which separates out pyrolysis residue, then to a gas separation unit which separates out pyrolysis gas and pyrolysis oil according to a)i) of the claim (abstract, Fig 1). The gas is pyrolysis gas is cooled to obtain pyrolysis gas (pygas) and pyrolysis oil (pyoil) according to aii) and aiii) of the claim [0182]. The CO2, sulfur, and the halogens in the pyrolysis gas can each be at most 100 ppm [0015, 0159]. The gas is sent to a dehalogenation unit to remove halogen (fig 2). The pyrolysis gas is also goes to a gasifier comprising a caustic scrubber etc., unit to remove CO2 etc. according to b), c) of the claim [0221, 0391]. The pyrolysis oil is sent to a POX unit which is part of a cracker facility and comprises a furnace wherein the oil is heated according to b), d) of the claim [fig 3 & fig 4 and 0194]. Pygas is combined with effluent from the cracker furnace [0391].
In regards to claim 4, Bitting teaches the process wherein pygas is treated to remove CO2 and halogen as previously stated according to a) of the claim. A portion of the dehalogenated gas is sent to the gasifier (i.e., comprising the caustic scrubber etc.) according to b) of the claim [0006].
In regards to claim 5, Bitting teaches the process wherein carbon dioxide is removed from the absorber system as previously stated according to i), and wherein halogens are removed from the pygas in a halogen removal system (i.e., providing the halogen removal material) according to (iii) as claimed. Thus, since at least i) and ii) are taught, the claimed limitation allowing for alternatives is provided.
In regards to claim 6, Bitting teaches the process wherein the carbon dioxide is removed in the scrubber and thus intrinsically provides the treated pygas stream and the caustic spent stream in the caustic scrubber comprising the carbon dioxide.
In regards to claim 7, Bitting teaches the process which provides acid gas removal [0220 – 0223]. Since it is a similar process, the formation of acids such as HCL of the claim would be expected and the removal by any conventional means including neutralization would be obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art. While the specific use of spent caustic components are not taught for neutralizing the acids, recycling of components is generally taught by Bitting and thus would make it obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art to have provided acid removal including by neutralization using recycled material such as caustic materials. Generally, recycling of ingredients from one station to another for reuse would not be considered innovative. Neutralization of acids using caustic components is a conventional chemical process.
In regards to claim 8, Bitting teaches the process wherein recycled pyrolysis gas (r-pyrolysis gas) is dehalogenated then sent to the compression unit where it is cooled and sent into a separation unit to produce recycled products such as olefins, paraffins, gasoline etc., (i.e., r-olefin) as end products according to limitation ii) of the claim [figs 2, 5, 6, and 0182, 0323 – 0326]. Dehydration of the gas is also performed in a H2O removal step according to limitation i) of the claim (fig 11A). While cryogenic cooling is not particularly recited, the means and/or rate of cooling are process parameters that would routinely be optimized by persons ordinary skill in the art and therefore do not carry patentable weight, or are obvious.
Generally, differences in temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
In regards to claim 9, Bitting teaches the process which combines cracker effluent with pygas prior and thus forming a combined stream that is sent to scrubber according to limitations a) and b) of the claim [0391 and Figs 4 – 6].
In regards to claim 11, Bitting teaches sending a portion of pyoil to the cracker as previously stated, and which would provide effluent from the cracker. Cracking may be made by steam cracking [0334].
In regards to claims 12 – 16, Bitting teaches the process wherein the pygas has the CO2 content of the claims as previously discussed. Before the scrubber it has CO2 of about 100ppm or less as previously discussed. After the scrubber it is depleted of CO2.
In regards to claims 17, 20, Bitting teaches the process comprising the steps of treating pygas in fractionation columns comprising stripper, absorber etc., wherein pygas is introduced into the caustic scrubber and stripped of CO as previously discussed [also 0365]. The scrubber is a caustic scrubber and appears that it would contain caustic solvent such as KOH (potassium hydroxide) [0517].
Conclusion
/TAIWO OLADAPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771