DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant has amended each of the independent claims to include features directed towards the height. WO 2017149900 A1 does not disclose wherein the adherend having varying height and wherein the parameter is the height of the adherend and does not disclose wherein determining the attachable region includes comparing the measured height to a threshold value and designating a region in which the measured height of the attachable region is equal to or greater than the threshold value as the attachable region.
However, Fujita and Wegge makes obvious wherein the adherend having varying height and wherein the parameter is the height of the adherend and does not disclose wherein determining the attachable region includes comparing the measured height to a threshold value and designating a region in which the measured height of the attachable region is equal to or greater than the threshold value as the attachable region.
Fujita for example discloses height thresholds as a parameter (see below, disclosing “a range between the minimum value Hmin and the maximum value Hmax in the up-down direction as a height direction”). See Figure 1A below, showing Hmax, Hmid, and Hmin:
See paragraph 0015, 0017, and 0033, disclosing:
[0015] In this embodiment, depending on each work WK, the position of the attachment surface WK1 differs within a range between the minimum value Hmin and the maximum value Hmax in the up-down direction as a height direction orthogonal to an installation surface WK2 of the work WK. Further, in the state in FIG. 1A, the attachment surface WK1 of the work WK, the adhesive sheet AS, and the holding surface 21A of the holding member 21 in this embodiment are all rectangular in a top view.
…
[0017] The feeding unit 10 of this embodiment feeds the adhesive sheet AS to the same height position as a middle Hmid between the minimum value Hmin and the maximum value Hmax in the height direction of the work WK.
…
[0033] Specifically, the press unit 30 drives the multi-joint robot 31 to move the holding member 21 in the carrying direction TD in pace with the carrying speed of the work WK while keeping the adhesive sheet AS held on the holding surface 21A away from the attachment surface WK1 by a predetermined distance (for example, 10 mm) based on the height position of the attachment surface WK1 detected by the height detecting unit 50. During this period, as indicated by the two-dot chain lines in FIG. 1B, the press unit 30 makes the holding member 21 move following the work WK moving relative to the sheet pasting device EA, based on the detection result of the attachment surface posture detecting unit 40 so as to be capable of pressing the adhesive sheet AS with the holding surface 21A oriented in a predetermined direction relative to the attachment surface WK1 and so as to be capable of pressing the adhesive sheet AS with the holding surface 21A located at a predetermined position relative to the attachment surface WK1.
Wegge discloses an imaging station using multiple sensors such that “a multi-dimensional representation of the item may be acquired, which is indicative of the height h(x,y) of the item as a function of two spatial variables x,y (the height being represented by a certain height above the conveyor 26)” and teach
See especially paragraphs 0070-79, disclosing:
[0070] Returning to Fig. 6, the imaging station 20 includes one or more sensors/cameras, configured to acquire a multi-dimensional representation of an item to be conveyed on the conveyor 26. In the example of Fig. 6, a single sensor 22 is visible. However, additional sensors may be arranged for instance in a line along the transverse direction. Thus, the additional sensors are not visible in the orientation shown in Fig. 6 as they appear concealed behind the visible sensor 22). [0071] In other examples, the sensors can be arranged in other patterns or locations. For example, sensors may be arranged in a line along the longitudinal direction, in a line along the transverse direction, and/or a combination of the preceding.
[0072] The sensors may include, but are not limited to, one or more of the following: optical sensors (e.g. laser sensors, infrared sensors, one or more light grids), imaging sensors, acoustic sensors, inductive sensors, capacitive sensors and/or another other sensor(s) such as still and video cameras.
[0073] In any case, the sensors are arranged to not only acquire a single-dimensional representation (such as a height profile along one axis), but to acquire a multi-dimensional (i.e. at least two-dimensional, three-dimensional, etc.) representation of an item being conveyed on the conveyor 26.
[0074] For instance, a multi-dimensional representation of the item may be acquired, which is indicative of the height h(x,y) of the item as a function of two spatial variables x,y (the height being represented by a certain height above the conveyor 26). In particular, the height of the item may be expressed as a function of positions (x,y) along the longitudinal and transverse axes of the conveyor 26.
[0075] Such an exemplary multi-dimensional representation (e.g., height h as a function of longitudinal and transverse position) may be acquired, for instance, by methods of triangulation using the sensors 22 of the imaging station. Multiple sensors 22 arranged in a line along the transverse direction may be configured to acquire multiple height values along the transverse direction quasi-simultaneously. By repeating the acquisition in a sequence of time points as the item is conveyed through or beneath the imaging station, such multiple values may be acquired for each one of the sequence of time points, corresponding to multiple positions along the longitudinal dimension of the item.
[0076] Multiple sensors may acquire a multi-dimensional representation, for instance, using triangulation methods of image processing, point cloud calculation methods and/or shadow projection (e.g. using light grids) and/or any other method(s).
[0077] In any case, the multi-dimensional representation may be in any suitable data format, such as a multi-dimensional table, a vector-type data format, etc. The data content to be transferred to a labeling station or a control unit thereof may include coordinates for the label to be applied. In addition, one or more angles for the label to be applied may be provided by the data content. Data content may be transferred via standard protocols such as, for example, TCP/IP and/or ProfiNet. Communication may occur via established ethernet or fieldbus standards, such as ProfiBus.
[0078] The multi-dimensional representation of the item may be used to control the spatial movement of a labeling member 12 or label holder 14 of a labeling station arranged downstream of the imaging station 20 along the conveyor 26. In particular, the label holder 14 may be controlled such that the affixture of the label 18 occurs at a target position on the item determined on the basis of the multi-dimensional representation. Alternatively, or in addition, the multi-dimensional representation of the item may be used to control the size and/or shape of the label to be applied to the item.
[0079] As a non-limiting example, the above-described two-dimensional height information may be used to determine regions of variable exterior surface deformation of the item. For instance, a polybag may be creased or otherwise deformed in one region (e.g. at the leading edge), whereas it may be relatively flat in another region (e.g. at the trailing edge). Based on this information, the labeling station may be controlled to affix the label in the flat region (i.e. at the trailing edge). This capability can ensure optimal or at least preferable (i.e., more reliable, etc.) affixture of the label such that it facilitates (faster, more accurate, reliable, etc.) downstream processing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the adherend having varying height and wherein the parameter is the height of the adherend and does not disclose wherein determining the attachable region includes comparing the measured height to a threshold value and designating a region in which the measured height of the attachable region is equal to or greater than the threshold value as the attachable region as in Fujita and Wegge so as to be able to enable label attachment based on a variety of potential heights and so that the above-described two-dimensional height information may be used to determine regions of variable exterior surface deformation of the item and ensure optimal or at least preferable (i.e., more reliable, etc.) affixture of the label such that it facilitates (faster, more accurate, reliable, etc.) downstream processing.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“adherend conveying unit configured to individually and continuously convey a plurality of the adherends ” in claim 6 and 8. The figures show schematically what a person of ordinary skill in the art would know to be a conveyor or conveying belt, and the specification discloses that the corresponding structure “[0017] The adherend conveying unit 10 conveys a plurality of adherends A individually and continuously. Accordingly, the label attaching apparatus 1 can attach the label LB to the adherend A while conveying the adherend A. [0018] As illustrated in FIG. 2, the adherend conveying unit 10 includes a drive motor 111 that drives the adherend conveying unit 10, and a conveyor controller 112 that controls driving of the drive motor 111. A conveyance speed of the adherend A by the adherend conveying unit 10 is appropriately controlled by the controller 100.”
“label conveying unit configured to individually and continuously convey a plurality of the labels” in claim 6. The specification discloses that the corresponding structure is a conveying belt, teaching in paragraph 0031 that “The label conveying unit 50 includes a conveying belt 51 that conveys the label LB peeled off from the continuous body of the separator, and conveys the plurality of labels LB individually and continuously.”
“a label holding unit configured to pick up the label conveyed” in claim 6 and 11. The specification discloses that the corresponding structure can include a structure for sucking, disclosing : “[0025] The label holding unit 31 includes, although not illustrated in the present embodiment, a structure for sucking and holding the label LB at a tip end portion. The label holding unit 31 is provided with a vacuum sensor (not illustrated). It is possible to detect whether the label LB is sucked to the label holding unit 31 based on a threshold value of the vacuum sensor. In addition, since the tip end portion of the label holding unit 31 which comes into contact with the label LB is formed of a flexible material, the label LB which is flexed and deformed following a surface shape of the adherend A can be held. [0026] Since the label holding unit 31 has such a structure, even when the label holding unit 31 is pressed against the label LB when the label LB is picked up from the label conveying unit 50 or when the label LB is attached to the adherend A, the label LB is not damaged. [0027] The label holding unit 31 is formed to be stretchable in an attachment direction in which the label LB is attached to the adherend A. Accordingly, when the label LB is attached to the adherend A, the label holding unit 31 comes into contact with the adherend A, contracts in the attachment direction, and can absorb a stress at the time of attaching, so that damage to the adherend A can be prevented.”
“downstream side detection unit configured to detect the label” in claim 7 and 8. The specification discloses that the corresponding structure is a camera, teaching in paragraph 0032 that “[0032] The downstream side detection unit 60 is disposed on the downstream side of the attachment arm 30 in the adherend conveying unit 10. In the present embodiment, the downstream side detection unit 60 is a camera that captures an image of the adherend A after the label LB is attached. Data of the image captured by the downstream side detection unit 60 is used in a process of determining an attachment state of the label LB in the controller 100.”
“a printing unit configured to execute printing on the label” in claim 10. The specification discloses that the corresponding structure is a printer, teaching in paragraph 0014 and 0028-29 that “[0014] In addition, the label attaching apparatus 1 includes a printer 40 serving as a printing unit that executes printing on the label LB, a label conveying unit 50 for conveying the label LB subjected to printing by the printer 40, and a downstream side detection unit 60 that is provided on a downstream side of the attachment arm 30 and detects the adherend A.” “[0028] The printer 40 includes a printer main body 41 that prints necessary information on the label LB, a label roll 42 in which the label LB before printing is temporarily attached to a continuous body of a separator, and a mount roll 43 in a state where the continuous body of the separator after the label LB is peeled off is collected. [0029] In the present embodiment, the printer 40 is a printer capable of independently setting and printing print contents related to the adherend A without being connected to an information processing terminal such as a personal computer.”
The term “controller” are known in our arts to be a CPU or Microprocessor. Therefore, the term controller is not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6 and 10-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2017149900 A1, Fujita (US 20210009300 A1) and Wegge (WO2020115126A1).
As to claim 1, WO 2017149900 A1 discloses a label attaching apparatus (“label sticking apparatus 100”) for attaching a label (label LB) to an adherend (adherend A), the label attaching apparatus comprising:
a controller (a controller 240 with microprocessor and storage device 230 with a control program) configured to:
measure a parameter of the adherend from a placement surface on which the adherend is placed (“the controller 240 can extract the position information of the contour of the adherend 300 and the position information of the product name column 301 with respect to the contour by analyzing the acquired image data”); and
determine an attachable region (“the label LB application area”) on the adherend based on the information, the attachable information configured to receive the label (“Further, the controller 240 extracts the position information of the pasting area AL corresponding to this position information from the storage device 230”).
See Figure 1, below:
See the translation, disclosing:
The label sticking device 100 has a storage device 230. The storage device 230 stores a control program for executing a process (described later) for determining a pasting area where the label LB is pasted on the adherend A based on the acquired image data. In addition, in the storage device 230, identification information for identifying the adherend A and information related to the paste area of the label LB that differs for each adherend A are associated with the determination process of the paste area. The table is stored. In addition, the storage device 230 stores a control program for executing processing for adjusting the transport speed of the sticking transport unit 101 and the transport speed of the loading transport unit 102. The identification information for identifying the adherend A will be described later.
…
The controller 240 executes the control program stored in the storage device 230 in the microprocessor, thereby pasting each adherend A on the basis of the image data acquired from the upstream imaging unit 103 via the input / output interface. A process for determining an area is executed.
…
Subsequently, processing in which the controller 240 determines the label LB pasting area will be described below.
The process for determining the label LB application area refers to the identification information for identifying the adherend A from the conveyed adherend A and the label application area on the adherend A based on the acquired identification information. In this process, the position information is acquired, the position information of the obtained pasting area is corrected based on the identification information, and the drive unit 30 is controlled based on the corrected position information to stick the label LB to the pasting area.
Here, the identification information of the adherend A is the product name of the food described in the package which is the adherend A, the position of the product name column in which the product name is described, the shape of the column, the size of the column, and the background color. , Character color, etc. In the present embodiment, these pieces of information described in the package are used as identification information.
FIG. 14 is a flowchart showing the contents of the pasting area determination process for each adherend A based on the image data, which is executed by the controller 240.
In step S1, the controller 240 acquires identification information of the adherend A. That is, the controller 240 receives image data obtained by imaging the adherend A from the upstream imaging unit 103.
In step S2, the controller 240 executes an analysis process on the acquired image data. Details of the analysis processing will be described later. The controller 240 extracts identification information by analysis processing.
In step S3, the controller 240 extracts position information related to the pasting region associated with the identification information from the storage device 230. That is, the controller 240 accesses the storage device 230 and extracts position information related to the pasting region corresponding to the identification information of the adherend A obtained as a result of the analysis processing in step S2 based on the stored table. To do. In addition, the controller 240 corrects the extracted position information based on the obtained identification information, and generates an actuator control signal based on the corrected position information.
In step S4, the controller 240 supplies the corrected position information regarding the pasting area to the actuator controllers 221, 222, 223, and 224.
In step S5, the controller 240 determines whether or not there is a subsequent adherend A. If there is a subsequent adherend A, the controller 240 repeats from step S1, and if there is no subsequent adherend A, the process is performed. finish.
Here, an example of image data analysis processing in step S2 will be described with reference to a schematic diagram. FIGS. 15 and 16 are schematic views for explaining the package of the adherend A used in the present embodiment.
In order to accurately and efficiently perform image data analysis processing, the contents to be printed on the exterior material of the adherend A are determined based on specific rules. For example, the position, shape, size, etc. of the product name column are unified for each product name of the food enclosed in the adherend A. Also, a predetermined background color and character color are used in the product name column. These rules can be used as identification information for identifying the adherend A by providing rules for the position, shape, size, background color, character color, etc. of these product name fields. And the sticking area | region AL of the label LB in the to-be-adhered body A is determined by the positional information on the basis of the "product name column".
FIG. 15 shows an example of a package of an adherend 300. On the adherend 300, a product name column 301 on which product name ABC is printed and a pasting area AL are shown. Although the pasting area AL is a broken line frame, the broken line frame is not printed on the actual adherend. Position information relating to the broken line frame is defined by position information based on the product name column.
FIG. 16 shows an example of a package of another adherend 310. On the adherend 310, a product name column 311 on which product name AAB is printed and a pasting area AL are shown. The position information regarding the pasting area AL indicated by the broken line frame is defined by the position information based on the product name column.
As described above, a table that associates the product name, the position information of the product name column, and the position information of the pasting area AL with reference to the product name column is stored in the storage device 230 for each food enclosed in the adherend A. Keep it.
By preparing as described above, the controller 240 can extract the position information of the contour of the adherend 300 and the position information of the product name column 301 with respect to the contour by analyzing the acquired image data. . Further, the controller 240 extracts the position information of the pasting area AL corresponding to this position information from the storage device 230. Further, the controller 240 corrects the position information of the pasting area AL extracted from the storage device 230 based on the position information of the actual product name column 301 obtained by the analysis, and generates an actuator control signal.
However, WO 2017149900 A1 does not disclose wherein the adherend having varying height and wherein the parameter is the height of the adherend and does not disclose wherein determining the attachable region includes comparing the measured height to a threshold value and designating a region in which the measured height of the attachable region is equal to or greater than the threshold value as the attachable region.
However, Fujita and Wegge makes obvious wherein the adherend having varying height and wherein the parameter is the height of the adherend and does not disclose wherein determining the attachable region includes comparing the measured height to a threshold value and designating a region in which the measured height of the attachable region is equal to or greater than the threshold value as the attachable region.
Fujita for example discloses height thresholds as a parameter (see below, disclosing “a range between the minimum value Hmin and the maximum value Hmax in the up-down direction as a height direction”). See Figure 1A below, showing Hmax, Hmid, and Hmin:
See paragraph 0015, 0017, and 0033, disclosing:
[0015] In this embodiment, depending on each work WK, the position of the attachment surface WK1 differs within a range between the minimum value Hmin and the maximum value Hmax in the up-down direction as a height direction orthogonal to an installation surface WK2 of the work WK. Further, in the state in FIG. 1A, the attachment surface WK1 of the work WK, the adhesive sheet AS, and the holding surface 21A of the holding member 21 in this embodiment are all rectangular in a top view.
…
[0017] The feeding unit 10 of this embodiment feeds the adhesive sheet AS to the same height position as a middle Hmid between the minimum value Hmin and the maximum value Hmax in the height direction of the work WK.
…
[0033] Specifically, the press unit 30 drives the multi-joint robot 31 to move the holding member 21 in the carrying direction TD in pace with the carrying speed of the work WK while keeping the adhesive sheet AS held on the holding surface 21A away from the attachment surface WK1 by a predetermined distance (for example, 10 mm) based on the height position of the attachment surface WK1 detected by the height detecting unit 50. During this period, as indicated by the two-dot chain lines in FIG. 1B, the press unit 30 makes the holding member 21 move following the work WK moving relative to the sheet pasting device EA, based on the detection result of the attachment surface posture detecting unit 40 so as to be capable of pressing the adhesive sheet AS with the holding surface 21A oriented in a predetermined direction relative to the attachment surface WK1 and so as to be capable of pressing the adhesive sheet AS with the holding surface 21A located at a predetermined position relative to the attachment surface WK1.
Wegge discloses an imaging station using multiple sensors such that “a multi-dimensional representation of the item may be acquired, which is indicative of the height h(x,y) of the item as a function of two spatial variables x,y (the height being represented by a certain height above the conveyor 26)” and teach
See especially paragraphs 0070-79, disclosing:
[0070] Returning to Fig. 6, the imaging station 20 includes one or more sensors/cameras, configured to acquire a multi-dimensional representation of an item to be conveyed on the conveyor 26. In the example of Fig. 6, a single sensor 22 is visible. However, additional sensors may be arranged for instance in a line along the transverse direction. Thus, the additional sensors are not visible in the orientation shown in Fig. 6 as they appear concealed behind the visible sensor 22). [0071] In other examples, the sensors can be arranged in other patterns or locations. For example, sensors may be arranged in a line along the longitudinal direction, in a line along the transverse direction, and/or a combination of the preceding.
[0072] The sensors may include, but are not limited to, one or more of the following: optical sensors (e.g. laser sensors, infrared sensors, one or more light grids), imaging sensors, acoustic sensors, inductive sensors, capacitive sensors and/or another other sensor(s) such as still and video cameras.
[0073] In any case, the sensors are arranged to not only acquire a single-dimensional representation (such as a height profile along one axis), but to acquire a multi-dimensional (i.e. at least two-dimensional, three-dimensional, etc.) representation of an item being conveyed on the conveyor 26.
[0074] For instance, a multi-dimensional representation of the item may be acquired, which is indicative of the height h(x,y) of the item as a function of two spatial variables x,y (the height being represented by a certain height above the conveyor 26). In particular, the height of the item may be expressed as a function of positions (x,y) along the longitudinal and transverse axes of the conveyor 26.
[0075] Such an exemplary multi-dimensional representation (e.g., height h as a function of longitudinal and transverse position) may be acquired, for instance, by methods of triangulation using the sensors 22 of the imaging station. Multiple sensors 22 arranged in a line along the transverse direction may be configured to acquire multiple height values along the transverse direction quasi-simultaneously. By repeating the acquisition in a sequence of time points as the item is conveyed through or beneath the imaging station, such multiple values may be acquired for each one of the sequence of time points, corresponding to multiple positions along the longitudinal dimension of the item.
[0076] Multiple sensors may acquire a multi-dimensional representation, for instance, using triangulation methods of image processing, point cloud calculation methods and/or shadow projection (e.g. using light grids) and/or any other method(s).
[0077] In any case, the multi-dimensional representation may be in any suitable data format, such as a multi-dimensional table, a vector-type data format, etc. The data content to be transferred to a labeling station or a control unit thereof may include coordinates for the label to be applied. In addition, one or more angles for the label to be applied may be provided by the data content. Data content may be transferred via standard protocols such as, for example, TCP/IP and/or ProfiNet. Communication may occur via established ethernet or fieldbus standards, such as ProfiBus.
[0078] The multi-dimensional representation of the item may be used to control the spatial movement of a labeling member 12 or label holder 14 of a labeling station arranged downstream of the imaging station 20 along the conveyor 26. In particular, the label holder 14 may be controlled such that the affixture of the label 18 occurs at a target position on the item determined on the basis of the multi-dimensional representation. Alternatively, or in addition, the multi-dimensional representation of the item may be used to control the size and/or shape of the label to be applied to the item.
[0079] As a non-limiting example, the above-described two-dimensional height information may be used to determine regions of variable exterior surface deformation of the item. For instance, a polybag may be creased or otherwise deformed in one region (e.g. at the leading edge), whereas it may be relatively flat in another region (e.g. at the trailing edge). Based on this information, the labeling station may be controlled to affix the label in the flat region (i.e. at the trailing edge). This capability can ensure optimal or at least preferable (i.e., more reliable, etc.) affixture of the label such that it facilitates (faster, more accurate, reliable, etc.) downstream processing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the adherend having varying height and wherein the parameter is the height of the adherend and does not disclose wherein determining the attachable region includes comparing the measured height to a threshold value and designating a region in which the measured height of the attachable region is equal to or greater than the threshold value as the attachable region as in Fujita and Wegge so as to be able to enable label attachment based on a variety of potential heights and so that the above-described two-dimensional height information may be used to determine regions of variable exterior surface deformation of the item and ensure optimal or at least preferable (i.e., more reliable, etc.) affixture of the label such that it facilitates (faster, more accurate, reliable, etc.) downstream processing.
As to claim 3, WO 2017149900 A1 does not disclose wherein the varying height includes a highest value height, and the controller sets, as a threshold value, a value obtained by subtracting a predetermined value from the height value height.
However, Fujita makes obvious wherein the varying height includes a highest value height, and the controller sets, as a threshold value, a value obtained by subtracting a predetermined value from the height value height. Fujita discloses that 7(“the position of the attachment surface WK1 differs within a range between the minimum value Hmin and the maximum value Hmax in the up-down direction as a height direction orthogonal to an installation surface”. See Figure 1A above in the claim 2 discussion, showing Hmax, Hmid, and Hmin:
See paragraph 0015, 0017, and 0033, disclosing:
[0015] In this embodiment, depending on each work WK, the position of the attachment surface WK1 differs within a range between the minimum value Hmin and the maximum value Hmax in the up-down direction as a height direction orthogonal to an installation surface WK2 of the work WK. Further, in the state in FIG. 1A, the attachment surface WK1 of the work WK, the adhesive sheet AS, and the holding surface 21A of the holding member 21 in this embodiment are all rectangular in a top view.
…
[0017] The feeding unit 10 of this embodiment feeds the adhesive sheet AS to the same height position as a middle Hmid between the minimum value Hmin and the maximum value Hmax in the height direction of the work WK.
…
[0033] Specifically, the press unit 30 drives the multi-joint robot 31 to move the holding member 21 in the carrying direction TD in pace with the carrying speed of the work WK while keeping the adhesive sheet AS held on the holding surface 21A away from the attachment surface WK1 by a predetermined distance (for example, 10 mm) based on the height position of the attachment surface WK1 detected by the height detecting unit 50. During this period, as indicated by the two-dot chain lines in FIG. 1B, the press unit 30 makes the holding member 21 move following the work WK moving relative to the sheet pasting device EA, based on the detection result of the attachment surface posture detecting unit 40 so as to be capable of pressing the adhesive sheet AS with the holding surface 21A oriented in a predetermined direction relative to the attachment surface WK1 and so as to be capable of pressing the adhesive sheet AS with the holding surface 21A located at a predetermined position relative to the attachment surface WK1.
Additionally Wegge discloses the benefits of using height as a variable. See paragraphs 0070-79, above.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the varying height includes a highest value height, and the controller sets, as a threshold value, a value obtained by subtracting a predetermined value from the height value height as in Fujita so as to be able to enable label attachment based on a variety of potential heights and to use the teachings of Wegge so that the above-described two-dimensional height information may be used to determine regions of variable exterior surface deformation of the item and ensure optimal or at least preferable (i.e., more reliable, etc.) affixture of the label such that it facilitates (faster, more accurate, reliable, etc.) downstream processing.
As to claim 4, WO 2017149900 A1 does not disclose wherein the controller determines a position at which the label is attached with reference to a center of the attachable region.
However, Fujita makes obvious wherein the controller determines a position at which the label is attached with reference to a center of the attachable region. See especially paragraph 0027, below:
[0027] Next, when the user or a not-illustrated loading unit such as a multi-joint robot or a drive device places the work WK on the endless belt 71E, the work WK is carried leftward. Thereafter, when the work WK reaches a detection area of the attachment surface posture detector 41, the attachment surface posture detecting unit 40 drives the attachment surface posture detector 41 to capture an image of the attachment surface WK1. At this time, from the captured image, the attachment surface posture detecting unit 40 specifies, for example, the positions of the four corners of the attachment surface WK1, finds the lengths, directions, positions, and so on of the long sides, short sides, and diagonal lines of the attachment surface WK1, and calculates the direction of an attachment surface center line WKL, which is a straight line passing through the middles of the short sides of the attachment surface WK1 and is a center line of the attachment surface WK1, and the position of an attachment surface center point WKC, which is an intersection of the diagonal lines of the attachment surface WK1 and is a center point of the attachment surface WK1. Then, from the results of the above calculation, the attachment surface posture detecting unit 40 finds an inclination θ1 of the attachment surface center line WKL relative to a carrying direction TD of the carrier unit 70 (X-axis direction), and detects the direction of the attachment surface WK1 of the work WK moving relative to the sheet pasting device EA. Further, from the results of the above calculation, the attachment surface posture detecting unit 40 finds at which coordinate position in an XY plane the attachment surface center point WKC is at an instant when the image is captured, relative to a robot center point 31C which is the center of the multi-joint robot 31 in the XY plane, and detects the position of the attachment surface WK1 of the work WK moving relative to the sheet pasting device EA.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the attachable region determination unit determines a position at which the label is attached with reference to a center of the attachable region as taught by Fujita in order to enable finding the attachment surface center point at an instant when the image is captured, relative to holder (such as robot center point).
As to claim 5, WO 2017149900 A1 does not disclose wherein the center of the attachable region corresponds to a center of the label.
However, Fujita makes obvious wherein the center of the attachable region (“attachment surface center point WKC”) corresponds to a center of the label (“adhesive sheet center point ASC”). See paragraphs 0027, cited above in the claim 4 discussion, and paragraphs 0030-31 and 0045 below, disclosing:
[0030] When the adhesive sheet AS is suction-held on the holding surface 21A, the sheet posture detecting unit 60 drives the sheet detector 61 to capture an image of the adhesive sheet AS held on the holding surface 21A. At this time, from the captured image, the sheet posture detecting unit 60 specifies, for example, the positions of the four corners of the adhesive sheet AS held on the holding surface 21A, finds the lengths, directions, positions, and so on of the long sides, short sides, and diagonal lines of the adhesive sheet AS, and calculates the direction of an adhesive sheet center line ASL, which is a straight line passing through the middles of the short sides of the adhesive sheet AS and is a center line of the adhesive sheet AS, and the position of an adhesive sheet center point ASC which is an intersection of the diagonal lines of the adhesive sheet AS and is a center point of the adhesive sheet AS. Then, from the results of the above calculation, the sheet posture detecting unit 60 finds an inclination 02 of the adhesive sheet center line ASL relative to a holding surface center line 21L which is a straight line passing through the middles of the short sides of the holding surface 21A and is a center line of the holding surface 21A, and detects the direction of the adhesive sheet AS held on the holding surface 21A. Further, from the results of the above calculation, the sheet posture detecting unit 60 finds the coordinate position of the adhesive sheet center point ASC in the holding is surface 21A relative to a holding surface center point 21C which is an intersection of the diagonal lines of the holding surface 21A and is a center point of the holding surface 21A, and detects the position of the adhesive sheet AS held on the holding surface 21A.
[0031] The sheet posture detecting unit 60 may have pre-stored various pieces of information for use in the detection of the direction and the position of the adhesive sheet AS held on the holding surface 21A, such as the directions and positions of the long sides, short sides, and diagonal lines of the holding surface 21A, the direction and the position of the holding surface center line 21L, and the position of the holding surface center point 21C, or may detect or calculate these pieces of information.
…
[0045] The predetermined direction of the adhesive sheet AS set by the press unit 30 relative to the attachment surface WK1 may be, for example, such a direction that one side of the attachment surface WK1 and one side of the is adhesive sheet AS become parallel to each other, or may be such a direction that any of the sides of the adhesive sheet AS is not parallel to any of the sides of the attachment surface WK1, and the user can decide it as desired. The predetermined position of the adhesive sheet AS relative to the attachment surface WK1 may be, for example, such a position that the attachment surface center point WKC and the adhesive sheet center point ASC coincide with each other, or may be such a position that one corner of the attachment surface WK1 and one corner of the adhesive sheet AS coincide with each other, and the user can decide it as desired.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the center of the attachable region corresponds to a center of the label as taught by Fujita in order that the centers coincide with each other.
As to claim 6, WO 2017149900 A1 discloses further comprising: an adherend conveying unit (pasting transport unit 101/sticking conveyance unit 101 and feeding transport unit 102) configured to individually and continuously convey a plurality of adherends including the adherend;
a label conveying unit (“A transport belt 113 that transports the label LB”) configured to individually and continuously convey a plurality of labels including the label; and
a label holding unit (“label pasting mechanism 1”) configured to pick up the label conveyed by the label conveying unit,
the label including an adhesive surface facing the adherend,
wherein the measurement unit is configured to measure the parameter of each of the adherends, and determine the attachable region of each of the adherends based on each parameter, and wherein the label attaching apparatus is configured to attach the label picked up by the label holding unit to the attachable region of the adherend.
See especially Figure 12, which is nearly identical to instant Figure 1, and is reprinted below:
See also the translation, disclosing:
FIG. 12 is a perspective view illustrating the label sticking device 100 according to the embodiment of the present invention. As shown in FIG. 12, the label sticking device 100 is a device for sticking the label LB to a specific sticking region of the adherend A that is continuously conveyed. The label sticking apparatus 100 puts the adherend A into the above-described label sticking mechanism 1 for sticking the label LB to the adherend A, the sticking transport section 101 for transporting the adherend A, and the sticking transport section 101. A loading conveyance unit 102, an upstream imaging unit 103 disposed on the upstream side of the label pasting mechanism 1, and a downstream imaging unit 104 disposed on the downstream side of the label pasting mechanism 1. In addition, the label sticking apparatus 100 includes a printer unit 110 that prints information on the food enclosed in the adherend A on the label LB, for example, the date of manufacture, the date of thawing, the expiration date, and the like.
The sticking transport unit 101 transports the adherend A to which the label LB is pasted by the label pasting mechanism 1. The label LB can be pasted while the adherend A is being transported by the pasting transport unit 101. The feeding transport unit 102 feeds the adherend A to the pasting transport unit 101. The conveyance speeds of the sticking conveyance unit 101 and the loading conveyance unit 102 are appropriately adjusted by a controller described later. Details of the control of the conveyance speed will be described later.
The upstream imaging unit 103 is arranged on the upstream side of the label attaching mechanism 1 and images the adherend A before attaching the label LB. The image data picked up by the upstream image pickup unit 103 is used for the determination process of the pasting area where the label LB is pasted.
The downstream imaging unit 104 is arranged on the downstream side of the label pasting mechanism 1 and images the adherend A after pasting the label LB. The image data acquired by the downstream imaging unit 104 is used to generate an error signal that notifies an error in the label LB application state.
The printer unit 110 includes a printer main body 111 that prints information about the adherend A on a label LB, a label roll 112 in which the label LB before printing is temporarily attached to a continuous body of the mount, and a continuous body of the mount. A transport belt 113 that transports the label LB, and a mount roll 114 that collects a continuous body of the mount after the label LB is peeled off.
As noted in parent claim 1, WO 2017149900 A1 does not disclose that the parameter is height.
However, both Fujita (see paragraphs 0015, 0017, and 0033 cited above) and Wegge (see paragraphs 0070-79 cited above) utilize height as a parameter.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized height as a parameter as in Fujita so as to be able to enable label attachment based on a variety of potential heights and to use the teachings of Wegge so that the above-described two-dimensional height information may be used to determine regions of variable exterior surface deformation of the item and ensure optimal or at least preferable (i.e., more reliable, etc.) affixture of the label such that it facilitates (faster, more accurate, reliable, etc.) downstream processing.
As to claim 10, WO 2017149900 A1 discloses further comprising: a printing unit (printer 110)configured to execute printing on the label, wherein the label subjected to printing by the printing unit is attached to the adherend. See the translation, disclosing “In addition, the label sticking apparatus 100 includes a printer unit 110 that prints information on the food enclosed in the adherend A on the label LB, for example, the date of manufacture, the date of thawing, the expiration date, and the like.”
As to claim 11, WO 2017149900 A1 discloses wherein the label holding unit is formed to be stretchable (“extendable”) in an attachment direction in which the label is attached to the adherend (“the pressing part 20 is formed to be extendable in the pressing direction”). See the translation, disclosing:
Hereinafter, the configuration of each part will be described. As shown in FIG. 2, the holding unit 10 includes a holding unit mount 11 attached to the bracket 40, a holding unit rod 12 connected to the holding unit mount 11, and a suction cup 13 attached to the tip of the holding unit rod 12. Is provided. The holding part mount 11 and the holding part rod 12 are made of metal. The holder mount 11 is provided with a mechanism (not shown) for moving the holder rod 12 in the normal direction of the placement surface Sw (hereinafter also referred to as a pressing direction). The suction cup 13 is made of a flexible material. As the flexible material, rubber or synthetic resin is preferable. The suction force of the suction cup 13 is set to be weaker than the adhesive force of the label LB. A plane including the position P1 of the end portion in contact with the label LB of the suction cup 13 is referred to as a holding surface.
The pressing portion 20 includes a pressing portion mount 21 attached to the bracket 40, a pressing portion rod 22 connected to the pressing portion mount 21, and a tip end portion 23 connected to the pressing portion rod 22. The pressing part mount 21 and the pressing part rod 22 are made of metal. The tip portion 23 is formed in a bottomed cylindrical shape. The outer bottom surface of the tip portion 23 constitutes a contact surface that contacts the adherend A.
Further, a coil spring 24 is disposed as an elastic member between the end of the pressing portion rod 22 and the inner bottom surface of the tip portion 23. When the coil spring 24 is compressed or expanded, the distal end portion 23 can be moved in the pressing direction with respect to the pressing portion rod 22. Therefore, the pressing part 20 is formed to be extendable in the pressing direction.
…
Further, the pressing portion 20 is formed to be extendable and contractable in the pressing direction. Further, when the drive unit 30 picks up the label LB from the transport belt C, the position P1 of the end portion (holding surface) of the suction cup 13 in the holding unit 10 is set to the position P2 of the outer bottom surface of the tip portion 23 of the holding unit 20. The position of the end portion of the suction cup 13 in the holding portion 10 in a state where the label LB is held in a state where the label LB is held in the normal direction of the placement surface Sw rather than (corresponding to the reference surface). P1 is set at a position retracted from the position P2 on the outer bottom surface of the distal end portion 23 of the pressing portion 20.
As to claim 12, WO 2017149900 A1 discloses a label attaching method for attaching a label (label LB) to an adherend (adherend A), the method comprising:
measuring a parameter of the adherend from a placement surface on which the adherend is placed, the adherend configured to be conveyed (“the controller 240 can extract the position information of the contour of the adherend 300 and the position information of the product name column 301 with respect to the contour by analyzing the acquired image data”);
determining an attachable region on the adherend based on the measured parameter, the attachable region configured to receive the label; and attaching the label to the attachable region (“Further, the controller 240 extracts the position information of the pasting area AL corresponding to this position information from the storage device 230”).
See the translation, disclosing:
The label sticking device 100 has a storage device 230. The storage device 230 stores a control program for executing a process (described later) for determining a pasting area where the label LB is pasted on the adherend A based on the acquired image data. In addition, in the storage device 230, identification information for identifying the adherend A and information related to the paste area of the label LB that differs for each adherend A are associated with the determination process of the paste area. The table is stored. In addition, the storage device 230 stores a control program for executing processing for adjusting the transport speed of the sticking transport unit 101 and the transport speed of the loading transport unit 102. The identification information for identifying the adherend A will be described later.
…
The controller 240 executes the control program stored in the storage device 230 in the microprocessor, thereby pasting each adherend A on the basis of the image data acquired from the upstream imaging unit 103 via the input / output interface. A process for determining an area is executed.
…
Subsequently, processing in which the controller 240 determines the label LB pasting area will be described below.
The process for determining the label LB application area refers to the identification information for identifying the adherend A from the conveyed adherend A and the label application area on the adherend A based on the acquired identification information. In this process, the position information is acquired, the position information of the obtained pasting area is corrected based on the identification information, and the drive unit 30 is controlled based on the corrected position information to stick the label LB to the pasting area.
Here, the identification information of the adherend A is the product name of the food described in the package which is the adherend A, the position of the product name column in which the product name is described, the shape of the column, the size of the column, and the background color. , Character color, etc. In the present embodiment, these pieces of information described in the package are used as identification information.
FIG. 14 is a flowchart showing the contents of the pasting area determination process for each adherend A based on the image data, which is executed by the controller 240.
In step S1, the controller 240 acquires identification information of the adherend A. That is, the controller 240 receives image data obtained by imaging the adherend A from the upstream imaging unit 103.
In step S2, the controller 240 executes an analysis process on the acquired image data. Details of the analysis processing will be described later. The controller 240 extracts identification information by analysis processing.
In step S3, the controller 240 extracts position information related to the pasting region associated with the identification information from the storage device 230. That is, the controller 240 accesses the storage device 230 and extracts position information related to the pasting region corresponding to the identification information of the adherend A obtained as a result of the analysis processing in step S2 based on the stored table. To do. In addition, the controller 240 corrects the extracted position information based on the obtained identification information, and generates an actuator control signal based on the corrected position information.
In step S4, the controller 240 supplies the corrected position information regarding the pasting area to the actuator controllers 221, 222, 223, and 224.
In step S5, the controller 240 determines whether or not there is a subsequent adherend A. If there is a subsequent adherend A, the controller 240 repeats from step S1, and if there is no subsequent adherend A, the process is performed. finish.
Here, an example of image data analysis processing in step S2 will be described with reference to a schematic diagram. FIGS. 15 and 16 are schematic views for explaining the package of the adherend A used in the present embodiment.
In order to accurately and efficiently perform image data analysis processing, the contents to be printed on the exterior material of the adherend A are determined based on specific rules. For example, the position, shape, size, etc. of the product name column are unified for each product name of the food enclosed in the adherend A. Also, a predetermined background color and character color are used in the product name column. These rules can be used as identification information for identifying the adherend A by providing rules for the position, shape, size, background color, character color, etc. of these product name fields. And the sticking area | region AL of the label LB in the to-be-adhered body A is determined by the positional information on the basis of the "product name column".
FIG. 15 shows an example of a package of an adherend 300. On the adherend 300, a product name column 301 on which product name ABC is printed and a pasting area AL are shown. Although the pasting area AL is a broken line frame, the broken line frame is not printed on the actual adherend. Position information relating to the broken line frame is defined by position information based on the product name column.
FIG. 16 shows an example of a package of another adherend 310. On the adherend 310, a product name column 311 on which product name AAB is printed and a pasting area AL are shown. The position information regarding the pasting area AL indicated by the broken line frame is defined by the position information based on the product name column.
As described above, a table that associates the product name, the position information of the product name column, and the position information of the pasting area AL with reference to the product name column is stored in the storage device 230 for each food enclosed in the adherend A. Keep it.
By preparing as described above, the controller 240 can extract the position information of the contour of the adherend 300 and the position information of the product name column 301 with respect to the contour by analyzing the acquired image data. . Further, the controller 240 extracts the position information of the pasting area AL corresponding to this position information from the storage device 230. Further, the controller 240 corrects the position information of the pasting area AL extracted from the storage device 230 based on the position information of the actual product name column 301 obtained by the analysis, and generates an actuator control signal.
However, WO 2017149900 A1 does not disclose wherein the adherend having varying height and wherein the parameter is the height of the adherend and does not disclose wherein determining the attachable region includes comparing the measured height to a threshold value and designating a region in which the measured height of the attachable region is equal to or greater than the threshold value as the attachable region.
However, Fujita and Wegge makes obvious wherein the adherend having varying height and wherein the parameter is the height of the adherend and does not disclose wherein determining the attachable region includes comparing the measured height to a threshold value and designating a region in which the measured height of the attachable region is equal to or greater than the threshold value as the attachable region.
Fujita for example discloses height thresholds as a parameter (see below, disclosing “a range between the minimum value Hmin and the maximum value Hmax in the up-down direction as a height direction”). See Figure 1A below, showing Hmax, Hmid, and Hmin:
See paragraph 0015, 0017, and 0033, disclosing:
[0015] In this embodiment, depending on each work WK, the position of the attachment surface WK1 differs within a range between the minimum value Hmin and the maximum value Hmax in the up-down direction as a height direction orthogonal to an installation surface WK2 of the work WK. Further, in the state in FIG. 1A, the attachment surface WK1 of the work WK, the adhesive sheet AS, and the holding surface 21A of the holding member 21 in this embodiment are all rectangular in a top view.
…
[0017] The feeding unit 10 of this embodiment feeds the adhesive sheet AS to the same height position as a middle Hmid between the minimum value Hmin and the maximum value Hmax in the height direction of the work WK.
…
[0033] Specifically, the press unit 30 drives the multi-joint robot 31 to move the holding member 21 in the carrying direction TD in pace with the carrying speed of the work WK while keeping the adhesive sheet AS held on the holding surface 21A away from the attachment surface WK1 by a predetermined distance (for example, 10 mm) based on the height position of the attachment surface WK1 detected by the height detecting unit 50. During this period, as indicated by the two-dot chain lines in FIG. 1B, the press unit 30 makes the holding member 21 move following the work WK moving relative to the sheet pasting device EA, based on the detection result of the attachment surface posture detecting unit 40 so as to be capable of pressing the adhesive sheet AS with the holding surface 21A oriented in a predetermined direction relative to the attachment surface WK1 and so as to be capable of pressing the adhesive sheet AS with the holding surface 21A located at a predetermined position relative to the attachment surface WK1.
Wegge discloses an imaging station using multiple sensors such that “a multi-dimensional representation of the item may be acquired, which is indicative of the height h(x,y) of the item as a function of two spatial variables x,y (the height being represented by a certain height above the conveyor 26)” and teach height as a parameter.
See especially paragraphs 0070-79, disclosing:
[0070] Returning to Fig. 6, the imaging station 20 includes one or more sensors/cameras, configured to acquire a multi-dimensional representation of an item to be conveyed on the conveyor 26. In the example of Fig. 6, a single sensor 22 is visible. However, additional sensors may be arranged for instance in a line along the transverse direction. Thus, the additional sensors are not visible in the orientation shown in Fig. 6 as they appear concealed behind the visible sensor 22). [0071] In other examples, the sensors can be arranged in other patterns or locations. For example, sensors may be arranged in a line along the longitudinal direction, in a line along the transverse direction, and/or a combination of the preceding.
[0072] The sensors may include, but are not limited to, one or more of the following: optical sensors (e.g. laser sensors, infrared sensors, one or more light grids), imaging sensors, acoustic sensors, inductive sensors, capacitive sensors and/or another other sensor(s) such as still and video cameras.
[0073] In any case, the sensors are arranged to not only acquire a single-dimensional representation (such as a height profile along one axis), but to acquire a multi-dimensional (i.e. at least two-dimensional, three-dimensional, etc.) representation of an item being conveyed on the conveyor 26.
[0074] For instance, a multi-dimensional representation of the item may be acquired, which is indicative of the height h(x,y) of the item as a function of two spatial variables x,y (the height being represented by a certain height above the conveyor 26). In particular, the height of the item may be expressed as a function of positions (x,y) along the longitudinal and transverse axes of the conveyor 26.
[0075] Such an exemplary multi-dimensional representation (e.g., height h as a function of longitudinal and transverse position) may be acquired, for instance, by methods of triangulation using the sensors 22 of the imaging station. Multiple sensors 22 arranged in a line along the transverse direction may be configured to acquire multiple height values along the transverse direction quasi-simultaneously. By repeating the acquisition in a sequence of time points as the item is conveyed through or beneath the imaging station, such multiple values may be acquired for each one of the sequence of time points, corresponding to multiple positions along the longitudinal dimension of the item.
[0076] Multiple sensors may acquire a multi-dimensional representation, for instance, using triangulation methods of image processing, point cloud calculation methods and/or shadow projection (e.g. using light grids) and/or any other method(s).
[0077] In any case, the multi-dimensional representation may be in any suitable data format, such as a multi-dimensional table, a vector-type data format, etc. The data content to be transferred to a labeling station or a control unit thereof may include coordinates for the label to be applied. In addition, one or more angles for the label to be applied may be provided by the data content. Data content may be transferred via standard protocols such as, for example, TCP/IP and/or ProfiNet. Communication may occur via established ethernet or fieldbus standards, such as ProfiBus.
[0078] The multi-dimensional representation of the item may be used to control the spatial movement of a labeling member 12 or label holder 14 of a labeling station arranged downstream of the imaging station 20 along the conveyor 26. In particular, the label holder 14 may be controlled such that the affixture of the label 18 occurs at a target position on the item determined on the basis of the multi-dimensional representation. Alternatively, or in addition, the multi-dimensional representation of the item may be used to control the size and/or shape of the label to be applied to the item.
[0079] As a non-limiting example, the above-described two-dimensional height information may be used to determine regions of variable exterior surface deformation of the item. For instance, a polybag may be creased or otherwise deformed in one region (e.g. at the leading edge), whereas it may be relatively flat in another region (e.g. at the trailing edge). Based on this information, the labeling station may be controlled to affix the label in the flat region (i.e. at the trailing edge). This capability can ensure optimal or at least preferable (i.e., more reliable, etc.) affixture of the label such that it facilitates (faster, more accurate, reliable, etc.) downstream processing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the adherend having varying height and wherein the parameter is the height of the adherend and does not disclose wherein determining the attachable region includes comparing the measured height to a threshold value and designating a region in which the measured height of the attachable region is equal to or greater than the threshold value as the attachable region as in Fujita and Wegge so as to be able to enable label attachment based on a variety of potential heights and so that the above-described two-dimensional height information may be used to determine regions of variable exterior surface deformation of the item and ensure optimal or at least preferable (i.e., more reliable, etc.) affixture of the label such that it facilitates (faster, more accurate, reliable, etc.) downstream processing.
As to claim 13, WO 2017149900 A1 discloses a program (“The storage device 230 stores a control program for executing a process (described later) for determining a pasting area where the label LB is pasted on the adherend A based on the acquired image data.”) executable by a computer (“The controller 240 includes a storage device such as a microprocessor, ROM, and RAM, an input / output interface, a bus for connecting them, and the like.”) of a label attaching apparatus for attaching a label to an adherend, the program causing the computer to execute:
a step of measuring a parameter of the adherend from a placement surface on which the adherend is placed, the adherend configured to be conveyed (“the controller 240 can extract the position information of the contour of the adherend 300 and the position information of the product name column 301 with respect to the contour by analyzing the acquired image data”); and
a step of determining an attachable region of the label on the adherend based on the parameter, the attachable region configured to receive the label, (“Further, the controller 240 extracts the position information of the pasting area AL corresponding to this position information from the storage device 230”).
See the translation, disclosing:
The label sticking device 100 has a storage device 230. The storage device 230 stores a control program for executing a process (described later) for determining a pasting area where the label LB is pasted on the adherend A based on the acquired image data. In addition, in the storage device 230, identification information for identifying the adherend A and information related to the paste area of the label LB that differs for each adherend A are associated with the determination process of the paste area. The table is stored. In addition, the storage device 230 stores a control program for executing processing for adjusting the transport speed of the sticking transport unit 101 and the transport speed of the loading transport unit 102. The identification information for identifying the adherend A will be described later.
…
The controller 240 executes the control program stored in the storage device 230 in the microprocessor, thereby pasting each adherend A on the basis of the image data acquired from the upstream imaging unit 103 via the input / output interface. A process for determining an area is executed.
…
Subsequently, processing in which the controller 240 determines the label LB pasting area will be described below.
The process for determining the label LB application area refers to the identification information for identifying the adherend A from the conveyed adherend A and the label application area on the adherend A based on the acquired identification information. In this process, the position information is acquired, the position information of the obtained pasting area is corrected based on the identification information, and the drive unit 30 is controlled based on the corrected position information to stick the label LB to the pasting area.
Here, the identification information of the adherend A is the product name of the food described in the package which is the adherend A, the position of the product name column in which the product name is described, the shape of the column, the size of the column, and the background color. , Character color, etc. In the present embodiment, these pieces of information described in the package are used as identification information.
FIG. 14 is a flowchart showing the contents of the pasting area determination process for each adherend A based on the image data, which is executed by the controller 240.
In step S1, the controller 240 acquires identification information of the adherend A. That is, the controller 240 receives image data obtained by imaging the adherend A from the upstream imaging unit 103.
In step S2, the controller 240 executes an analysis process on the acquired image data. Details of the analysis processing will be described later. The controller 240 extracts identification information by analysis processing.
In step S3, the controller 240 extracts position information related to the pasting region associated with the identification information from the storage device 230. That is, the controller 240 accesses the storage device 230 and extracts position information related to the pasting region corresponding to the identification information of the adherend A obtained as a result of the analysis processing in step S2 based on the stored table. To do. In addition, the controller 240 corrects the extracted position information based on the obtained identification information, and generates an actuator control signal based on the corrected position information.
In step S4, the controller 240 supplies the corrected position information regarding the pasting area to the actuator controllers 221, 222, 223, and 224.
In step S5, the controller 240 determines whether or not there is a subsequent adherend A. If there is a subsequent adherend A, the controller 240 repeats from step S1, and if there is no subsequent adherend A, the process is performed. finish.
Here, an example of image data analysis processing in step S2 will be described with reference to a schematic diagram. FIGS. 15 and 16 are schematic views for explaining the package of the adherend A used in the present embodiment.
In order to accurately and efficiently perform image data analysis processing, the contents to be printed on the exterior material of the adherend A are determined based on specific rules. For example, the position, shape, size, etc. of the product name column are unified for each product name of the food enclosed in the adherend A. Also, a predetermined background color and character color are used in the product name column. These rules can be used as identification information for identifying the adherend A by providing rules for the position, shape, size, background color, character color, etc. of these product name fields. And the sticking area | region AL of the label LB in the to-be-adhered body A is determined by the positional information on the basis of the "product name column".
FIG. 15 shows an example of a package of an adherend 300. On the adherend 300, a product name column 301 on which product name ABC is printed and a pasting area AL are shown. Although the pasting area AL is a broken line frame, the broken line frame is not printed on the actual adherend. Position information relating to the broken line frame is defined by position information based on the product name column.
FIG. 16 shows an example of a package of another adherend 310. On the adherend 310, a product name column 311 on which product name AAB is printed and a pasting area AL are shown. The position information regarding the pasting area AL indicated by the broken line frame is defined by the position information based on the product name column.
As described above, a table that associates the product name, the position information of the product name column, and the position information of the pasting area AL with reference to the product name column is stored in the storage device 230 for each food enclosed in the adherend A. Keep it.
By preparing as described above, the controller 240 can extract the position information of the contour of the adherend 300 and the position information of the product name column 301 with respect to the contour by analyzing the acquired image data. . Further, the controller 240 extracts the position information of the pasting area AL corresponding to this position information from the storage device 230. Further, the controller 240 corrects the position information of the pasting area AL extracted from the storage device 230 based on the position information of the actual product name column 301 obtained by the analysis, and generates an actuator control signal.
However, WO 2017149900 A1 does not disclose wherein the adherend having varying height and wherein the parameter is the height of the adherend and does not disclose wherein determining the attachable region includes comparing the measured height to a threshold value and designating a region in which the measured height of the attachable region is equal to or greater than the threshold value as the attachable region.
However, Fujita and Wegge makes obvious wherein the adherend having varying height and wherein the parameter is the height of the adherend and does not disclose wherein determining the attachable region includes comparing the measured height to a threshold value and designating a region in which the measured height of the attachable region is equal to or greater than the threshold value as the attachable region.
Fujita for example discloses height thresholds as a parameter (see below, disclosing “a range between the minimum value Hmin and the maximum value Hmax in the up-down direction as a height direction”). See Figure 1A below, showing Hmax, Hmid, and Hmin:
See paragraph 0015, 0017, and 0033, disclosing:
[0015] In this embodiment, depending on each work WK, the position of the attachment surface WK1 differs within a range between the minimum value Hmin and the maximum value Hmax in the up-down direction as a height direction orthogonal to an installation surface WK2 of the work WK. Further, in the state in FIG. 1A, the attachment surface WK1 of the work WK, the adhesive sheet AS, and the holding surface 21A of the holding member 21 in this embodiment are all rectangular in a top view.
…
[0017] The feeding unit 10 of this embodiment feeds the adhesive sheet AS to the same height position as a middle Hmid between the minimum value Hmin and the maximum value Hmax in the height direction of the work WK.
…
[0033] Specifically, the press unit 30 drives the multi-joint robot 31 to move the holding member 21 in the carrying direction TD in pace with the carrying speed of the work WK while keeping the adhesive sheet AS held on the holding surface 21A away from the attachment surface WK1 by a predetermined distance (for example, 10 mm) based on the height position of the attachment surface WK1 detected by the height detecting unit 50. During this period, as indicated by the two-dot chain lines in FIG. 1B, the press unit 30 makes the holding member 21 move following the work WK moving relative to the sheet pasting device EA, based on the detection result of the attachment surface posture detecting unit 40 so as to be capable of pressing the adhesive sheet AS with the holding surface 21A oriented in a predetermined direction relative to the attachment surface WK1 and so as to be capable of pressing the adhesive sheet AS with the holding surface 21A located at a predetermined position relative to the attachment surface WK1.
Wegge discloses an imaging station using multiple sensors such that “a multi-dimensional representation of the item may be acquired, which is indicative of the height h(x,y) of the item as a function of two spatial variables x,y (the height being represented by a certain height above the conveyor 26)” and teach height as a parameter.
See especially paragraphs 0070-79, disclosing:
[0070] Returning to Fig. 6, the imaging station 20 includes one or more sensors/cameras, configured to acquire a multi-dimensional representation of an item to be conveyed on the conveyor 26. In the example of Fig. 6, a single sensor 22 is visible. However, additional sensors may be arranged for instance in a line along the transverse direction. Thus, the additional sensors are not visible in the orientation shown in Fig. 6 as they appear concealed behind the visible sensor 22). [0071] In other examples, the sensors can be arranged in other patterns or locations. For example, sensors may be arranged in a line along the longitudinal direction, in a line along the transverse direction, and/or a combination of the preceding.
[0072] The sensors may include, but are not limited to, one or more of the following: optical sensors (e.g. laser sensors, infrared sensors, one or more light grids), imaging sensors, acoustic sensors, inductive sensors, capacitive sensors and/or another other sensor(s) such as still and video cameras.
[0073] In any case, the sensors are arranged to not only acquire a single-dimensional representation (such as a height profile along one axis), but to acquire a multi-dimensional (i.e. at least two-dimensional, three-dimensional, etc.) representation of an item being conveyed on the conveyor 26.
[0074] For instance, a multi-dimensional representation of the item may be acquired, which is indicative of the height h(x,y) of the item as a function of two spatial variables x,y (the height being represented by a certain height above the conveyor 26). In particular, the height of the item may be expressed as a function of positions (x,y) along the longitudinal and transverse axes of the conveyor 26.
[0075] Such an exemplary multi-dimensional representation (e.g., height h as a function of longitudinal and transverse position) may be acquired, for instance, by methods of triangulation using the sensors 22 of the imaging station. Multiple sensors 22 arranged in a line along the transverse direction may be configured to acquire multiple height values along the transverse direction quasi-simultaneously. By repeating the acquisition in a sequence of time points as the item is conveyed through or beneath the imaging station, such multiple values may be acquired for each one of the sequence of time points, corresponding to multiple positions along the longitudinal dimension of the item.
[0076] Multiple sensors may acquire a multi-dimensional representation, for instance, using triangulation methods of image processing, point cloud calculation methods and/or shadow projection (e.g. using light grids) and/or any other method(s).
[0077] In any case, the multi-dimensional representation may be in any suitable data format, such as a multi-dimensional table, a vector-type data format, etc. The data content to be transferred to a labeling station or a control unit thereof may include coordinates for the label to be applied. In addition, one or more angles for the label to be applied may be provided by the data content. Data content may be transferred via standard protocols such as, for example, TCP/IP and/or ProfiNet. Communication may occur via established ethernet or fieldbus standards, such as ProfiBus.
[0078] The multi-dimensional representation of the item may be used to control the spatial movement of a labeling member 12 or label holder 14 of a labeling station arranged downstream of the imaging station 20 along the conveyor 26. In particular, the label holder 14 may be controlled such that the affixture of the label 18 occurs at a target position on the item determined on the basis of the multi-dimensional representation. Alternatively, or in addition, the multi-dimensional representation of the item may be used to control the size and/or shape of the label to be applied to the item.
[0079] As a non-limiting example, the above-described two-dimensional height information may be used to determine regions of variable exterior surface deformation of the item. For instance, a polybag may be creased or otherwise deformed in one region (e.g. at the leading edge), whereas it may be relatively flat in another region (e.g. at the trailing edge). Based on this information, the labeling station may be controlled to affix the label in the flat region (i.e. at the trailing edge). This capability can ensure optimal or at least preferable (i.e., more reliable, etc.) affixture of the label such that it facilitates (faster, more accurate, reliable, etc.) downstream processing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the adherend having varying height and wherein the parameter is the height of the adherend and does not disclose wherein determining the attachable region includes comparing the measured height to a threshold value and designating a region in which the measured height of the attachable region is equal to or greater than the threshold value as the attachable region as in Fujita and Wegge so as to be able to enable label attachment based on a variety of potential heights and so that the above-described two-dimensional height information may be used to determine regions of variable exterior surface deformation of the item and ensure optimal or at least preferable (i.e., more reliable, etc.) affixture of the label such that it facilitates (faster, more accurate, reliable, etc.) downstream processing.
As to claim 14, WO 2017149900 A1 does not disclose wherein a surface of the adherend to which the label is to be adhered has an irregular height.
However, Wegge specifically discloses wherein a surface of the adherend to which the label is to be adhered has an irregular height. See paragraph 0079, disclosing
[0079] As a non-limiting example, the above-described two-dimensional height information may be used to determine regions of variable exterior surface deformation of the item. For instance, a polybag may be creased or otherwise deformed in one region (e.g. at the leading edge), whereas it may be relatively flat in another region (e.g. at the trailing edge). Based on this information, the labeling station may be controlled to affix the label in the flat region (i.e. at the trailing edge). This capability can ensure optimal or at least preferable (i.e., more reliable, etc.) affixture of the label such that it facilitates (faster, more accurate, reliable, etc.) downstream processing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein a surface of the adherend to which the label is to be adhered has an irregular height as in Wegge so as to be able to enable label attachment based on a variety of potential heights and so that the above-described two-dimensional height information may be used to determine regions of variable exterior surface deformation of the item and ensure optimal or at least preferable (i.e., more reliable, etc.) affixture of the label such that it facilitates (faster, more accurate, reliable, etc.) downstream processing.
As to claim 15, WO 2017149900 A1 disclose wherein the adherend is film packaging. See the translation, disclosing:
In the present embodiment, the adherend A is described as a vacuum pack. However, the adherend A is not limited to a vacuum pack. For example, a package in which a tray in which food is stored is covered with a transparent film, a package in which an outer packaging material is formed in a cylindrical shape and food is stored and both ends of the opening of the cylinder are sealed may be used.
As to claim 16, WO 2017149900 A1 does not disclose wherein the label is a predetermined size label, and the attachable region is sized to allow the predetermined size label to be attached to the attachable region.
However, Wegge discloses wherein the label is a predetermined size label, and the attachable region is sized to allow the predetermined size label to be attached to the attachable region. See paragraph 0079, disclosing
[0053] Between the intercept state and the release state, the labeling member 12 moves the label holder 14 along at least the longitudinal degree of freedom in a first direction (longitudinal direction L), constituting the tracking movement. Additionally, the labeling member 12 may simultaneously move the label holder 14 along at least one additional degree of freedom in a second direction toward or into the path of the item in order to affix the label 18 to the item, constituting adjusting or labeling movement. The direction and extent (distance, duration, etc.) of labeling movement may depend on the size/shape of the item, the label application site on the item, and/or the relative position of the label holder 14 with respect to the item while between the intercept state and the release state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the label is a predetermined size label, and the attachable region is sized to allow the predetermined size label to be attached to the attachable region as in Wegge so as to be able to enable label attachment based on a variety of potential heights and so that the above-described two-dimensional height information may be used to determine regions of variable exterior surface deformation of the item and ensure optimal or at least preferable (i.e., more reliable, etc.) affixture of the label such that it facilitates (faster, more accurate, reliable, etc.) downstream processing.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2017149900 A1, Fujita (US 20210009300 A1) and Wegge (WO2020115126A1)as applied to claims 1, 3-6 and 10-16 above, and further in view of Rice (US 20040065053 A1)
As to claim 7, WO 2017149900 A1 discloses further comprising: a downstream side detection unit configured (“downstream imaging unit 104 “) to detect the label attached to a first one of the adherends, and when the downstream side detection unit does not detect the label attached to the first one of the adherends (a pasting error”).
See the translation, disclosing:
The downstream imaging unit 104 is arranged on the downstream side of the label pasting mechanism 1 and images the adherend A after pasting the label LB. The image data acquired by the downstream imaging unit 104 is used to generate an error signal that notifies an error in the label LB application state.
…
The controller 240 executes the control program stored in the storage device 230 in the microprocessor, thereby comparing the pasting position of the label LB after pasting acquired by the downstream imaging unit 104 with the determined pasting area. If the degree of departure from the determined pasting area exceeds the threshold, processing for notifying an error message is performed by a not-shown notification unit.
…
Further, according to the above-described method, the pasted position of the pasted label LB and the storage device 230 are extracted from the image data of the adherend A including the pasted label acquired by the downstream imaging unit 104. The difference (degree of deviation) can be calculated by comparing the position information obtained by correcting the position information of the pasting area AL. By setting a threshold value for the difference, when the threshold value is exceeded, it can be notified as a pasting error.
…
In addition, the label sticking device 100 further includes a downstream imaging unit 104 that images the adherend A after the label LB is pasted, and the controller 240 uses the image data acquired by the downstream imaging unit 104 based on the image data. If the positional information on the pasting position of the label LB after pasting is extracted, the degree of deviation of the position information of the label LB after pasting from the planned pasting area is calculated. An error signal for notifying can be generated. Thereby, even if it is a case where a sticking error generate | occur | produces, the label sticking apparatus 100 can notify an error.
WO 2017149900 A1 does not disclose wherein in a case where the label on the adherend is not detected by the downstream side detection unit, an unattachable label is attached to an adherend to be conveyed next to the adherend to which the label is not attached.
However, Rice discloses and makes obvious wherein in a case where the label on the adherend is not detected by the downstream side detection unit, an unattachable label is attached to an adherend to be conveyed next to the adherend to which the label is not attached.
See paragraph 0122 and 0129, disclosing:
[0122] Similar to the example embodiment shown in FIG. 14, the packages are transported through the barcode tunnel 1407 that detects and reads barcodes on the packages. The packages are then picked up by the robot 1505 (using its end effector 1601 as shown in FIG. 16). The local computer causes a patient label to be printed by the patient labeler 1501 for each package. The information printed on the labels and the form of the labels are discussed below in connection with FIG. 18. While a package is picked up by the robot 1505 and being transported, its label is affixed to the package. Then the robot 1505 swings the package next to the barcode reader 1503. The presence of a correct label is determined by the label barcode reader 1503. In addition, the robot 1501, label barcode reader 1503, and their local computer can also be configured to cooperate with each other to detect the labels and reject any packages without a label or with an incorrect label. Once, the package is determined to have a correct label affixed thereto, the robot 1505 can drop the package into the bag opened in the bagger 813 as will be discussed below in connection with FIGS. 19-20.
…
[0129] If any error is detected, the items belonging to the same order number are all sent to a quality assurance station. If the error cannot be resolved, the order is cancelled and re-ordered. The host computer 201 reinitiates the process from the beginning to fill the order again. The example errors can be a rejected bottle because a metallic substance was detected, a patient label not being affixed to a package, incorrect literature packs being delivered, etc.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein in a case where the label on the adherend is not detected by the downstream side detection unit, an unattachable label is attached to an adherend to be conveyed next to the adherend to which the label is not attached as disclosed by Rice in order to ensure that orders can be re-ordered and sent out.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2017149900 A1, Fujita (US 20210009300 A1) and Wegge (WO2020115126A1) as applied to claims 1, 3-6 and 10-16 above, and further in view of Ohisa (US 20200399008 A1).
As to claim 8, WO 2017149900 A1 discloses further comprising: a downstream side detection unit (“downstream imaging unit 104 “) configured to detect the label attached to the adherend, and when the downstream side detection unit does not detect the label attached to the adherend (“pasting error”).
See the translation, disclosing:
The downstream imaging unit 104 is arranged on the downstream side of the label pasting mechanism 1 and images the adherend A after pasting the label LB. The image data acquired by the downstream imaging unit 104 is used to generate an error signal that notifies an error in the label LB application state.
…
The controller 240 executes the control program stored in the storage device 230 in the microprocessor, thereby comparing the pasting position of the label LB after pasting acquired by the downstream imaging unit 104 with the determined pasting area. If the degree of departure from the determined pasting area exceeds the threshold, processing for notifying an error message is performed by a not-shown notification unit.
…
Further, according to the above-described method, the pasted position of the pasted label LB and the storage device 230 are extracted from the image data of the adherend A including the pasted label acquired by the downstream imaging unit 104. The difference (degree of deviation) can be calculated by comparing the position information obtained by correcting the position information of the pasting area AL. By setting a threshold value for the difference, when the threshold value is exceeded, it can be notified as a pasting error.
…
In addition, the label sticking device 100 further includes a downstream imaging unit 104 that images the adherend A after the label LB is pasted, and the controller 240 uses the image data acquired by the downstream imaging unit 104 based on the image data. If the positional information on the pasting position of the label LB after pasting is extracted, the degree of deviation of the position information of the label LB after pasting from the planned pasting area is calculated. An error signal for notifying can be generated. Thereby, even if it is a case where a sticking error generate | occur | produces, the label sticking apparatus 100 can notify an error.
WO 2017149900 A1 does not disclose wherein in a case where the label on the adherend is not detected by the downstream side detection unit, an unattachable label is discarded in a discarding region provided at a position different from the adherend conveying unit.
However, Ohisa discloses wherein in a case where the label on the adherend is not detected by the downstream side detection unit, an unattachable label is discarded in a discarding region provided at a position different from the adherend conveying unit. See paragraphs 0071 and 0077, disclosing:
[0071] When it is determined in step S13 that the defective label L′ is not detected (step S13, No), the label attaching controller 114 moves (lowers) the suction portion 23 (step S14), and applies a positive pressure to the suction portion 23 to discharge the label L onto the object O (step S15). Then, the label attaching controller 114 turns off the air pressure in the suction portion 23, moves the suction portion 23 to the home position (step S16), and returns the process to step S11.
…
[0077] Further, according to the label supply apparatus 1, even in the case where labels L with serial numbers are attached to the label L, labels L can be attached to the object O in a sequential order without discarding the label L (defective label L′), so that the label L can be attached without skipping any number.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein in a case where the label on the adherend is not detected by the downstream side detection unit, an unattachable label is discarded in a discarding region provided at a position different from the adherend conveying unit as suggested by Ohisa so that labels can be attached to the object in a sequential order without discarding the label (defective label L′), so that the label can be attached without skipping any number.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2017149900 A1, Fujita (US 20210009300 A1) and Wegge (WO2020115126A1) as applied to claims 1, 3-6 and 10-16 above, and further in view of Murphy (US 5342461 A)
As to claim 9, WO 2017149900 A1 does not disclose when the controller cannot determine the attachable region on the adherend, the adherend is retracted to an outside of the label attaching apparatus without attaching the label to the adherend for which the attachable region cannot be determined.
However, Murphy discloses wherein in a case where the attachable region determination unit cannot determine the attachable region on the adherend (i.e., “unlabellable”), the adherend is caused to retract to an outside of the label attaching apparatus without attaching the label to the adherend for which the attachable region cannot be determined (“the transport is set into SLEW mode and instructed to place the label far beyond the apply head”). See column 12, line 11 to column 12, line 2 and column 13, lines 37-42, disclosing:
(40) Once the location and height are entered in the package queue, it is determined if the present package is separated from the previous package by at least the minimum distance to allow the previous apply cycle to finish and the present apply cycle to label the present package. In the step, VC=conveyor velocity, VA=arm velocity, AHT is the height of the applicator head at rest above the conveyor, H1 is the previous package height and H2 is the present package height. The minimum separation is determined from the conveyor velocity times the sum of the arm return time from labelling the previous package plus the arm forward time for labelling the present package. These times are shown as T1R and T2F in FIG. 1 and are calculated as (AHT-H1)/VA and (AHT-H2)/VA respectively. Reducing the equations produces the form of the expression shown in Step 514. If the separation is inadequate, it is determined in Step 522 if the present package is taller than the previous package. If so, the previous package is marked as being unlabellable in Step 526. If not, the current package is marked as being unlabellable in Step 520.
(41) If the minimum separation is adequate from a cycle time viewpoint, it is next determined if the spacings are sufficient from the standpoint of collisions. To do so, it is first determined in Step 516 if the present package is taller or shorter than the previous. If taller, (height difference positive), a test is made in Step 518 to determine if the C-D or E-F conflict shown in FIG. 1 as the applicator return path 82 exists. This step calculates the time TR it takes for the applicator arm to travel from H1 to H2 as (H2-H1)/VA. It then calculates the distance that the package will travel during this time as TR*VC. The actual distance between the apply point of package 1 and the leading edge of package 2 is given as the separation between packages (SEPAR) less the leading edge offset to the apply point (MARK) 59. Reducing the equations produces the form shown in Step 518 of FIG. 4. If the package motion is less than this actual distance, the package is allowed as entered, if not, the previous package is marked as unlabellable in Step 526. If the present package is smaller, height difference negative, it is then determined in Step 524 if interfering with the trailing edge of the previous package which is the conflict shown as the applicator path 80 in FIG. 1 exists. To do so, the time TA it takes for the applicator to traverse from the height of the previous package to the height of the current package is calculated as (H2-H1)/VA. The motion of the package along the conveyor during this time is given as TA*VC. The spacing between the trailing edge of the previous package and the leading edge of the present package (TRAIL) plus the leading edge offset to the apply point (MARK) is then compared to said motion. If the said motion is greater than the spacing, the present package is marked as being unlabellable in Step 520, else the package is allowed. For simplicity, an average arm velocity VA is used in the calculation, the average being chosen low enough to assure non impact.
…
If either condition is not met, the transport is set into SLEW mode and instructed to place the label far beyond the apply head. The encapturing air stream is disabled, thus causing the label to be rejected from the transport and subsequently caught in a disposable container.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein in a case where the attachable region determination unit cannot determine the attachable region on the adherend, the adherend is caused to retract to an outside of the label attaching apparatus without attaching the label to the adherend for which the attachable region cannot be determined as taught by Murphy in order to allow for the label to be rejected from the transport and subsequently caught in a disposable container.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 10-6:30.
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745
GRK