DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Imran (US 5,545,161).
Regarding claim 1, Imran teaches an ablation catheter, comprising: a catheter, a handle and a connector which are connected in sequence (catheter 13, handle 51, and connector 39 as in at least Fig. 1), wherein a plurality of electrodes are provided in sequence at a distal end of the catheter (electrodes 41 and 42), each of the electrodes has a corresponding electrode lead (43 and 44 as in Fig. 2), which passes through the catheter and the handle and is connected to the connector (connected to connector 39 as in col. 4 lines 9-16); wherein the catheter comprises an insulated inner catheter (inner catheter 12), the electrodes are provided on the insulated inner catheter (41 and 42 provided on 12), an insulated outer catheter is provided between the plurality of electrodes (outer electrode 51), electrode leads of the plurality of electrodes are respectively provided between the insulated inner catheter and the insulated outer catheter (43 and 44 provided between catheters as in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Imran teaches wherein the distances between adjacent electrodes are equal (spacing between 41 and 42).
Regarding claim 3, Imran teaches wherein an adhesive is provided between the electrode leads and the insulated inner catheter, to fix the positions of the electrode leads (as in at least col. 3 lines 45-52).
Regarding claim 4, Imran teaches wherein first insulated sleeves are sleeved on each of the electrode leads, and the first insulated sleeves are provided between the insulated inner catheter and the insulated outer catheter (col. 7, lines 10-17).
Regarding claim 7, Imran teaches wherein the plurality of electrodes can simultaneously or individually release ablation energy, to perform ablation operations (col. 19, lines 21-24).
Regarding claim 8, Imran teaches wherein the electrodes are distal electrodes or ring electrodes (41 and 42 are distal electrodes), each distal electrode is provided at a distal end of the catheter (41 and 42 at a distal end of the catheter).
Regarding claim 9, Imran teaches wherein a flexible section is provided at the distal end of the catheter (flexible portion with braid 21), the flexible section can bend relative to the catheter (), and the electrodes are provided at a catheter body portion where the flexible section is located ().
Regarding claim 10, Imran teaches wherein the flexible section comprises an annular body formed by winding memory metal (nitinol as in col. 9 lines 23-28), and a flexible material is coated on the annular body in an annular shape or a spiral shape, or the flexible material is sleeved on the annular body directly (as in at least Figs. 11-12 nitinol sleeved in the annular body).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imran in view of Roop (US 2005/0267462).
Regarding claim 5, Imran is not explicit wherein a sensor is provided in a catheter body at the distal end of the catheter, the sensor is a pressure sensor and/or a magnetic positioning sensor, and leads of the pressure sensor and/or the magnetic positioning sensor are provided between the insulated inner catheter and the insulated outer catheter.However, Roop teaches a sensor is provided in a catheter body at the distal end of the catheter (pressure sensor at the end of catheter as in par. [0047]), the sensor is a pressure sensor and/or a magnetic positioning sensor, and leads of the pressure sensor and/or the magnetic positioning sensor are provided between the insulated inner catheter and the insulated outer catheter (lead 60 between catheters).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Imran in view of Roop with a pressure sensor, allowing for detecting parameters to be able to adjust treatment accordingly.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imran in view of Roop, in further view of Vanney (US 2005/0267463).
Regarding claim 6, Imran is silent, but Vanney teaches wherein a second insulated sleeves are sleeved on leads of the pressure sensor and/or the magnetic positioning sensor (52’ insulated as in par. [0074]), and the second insulated sleeve is provided between the insulated inner catheter and the insulated outer catheter (Figs. 9-11).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination such that leads are insulated, to prevent unwanted shorting.
Conclusion
/BO OUYANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/MICHAEL F PEFFLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794