DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-8, 12, 15, 16, 18-20, 22, 23, 25, and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fraunholz et al US 20230379662 (hereinafter Fraunholz).
Regarding claim 1, Fraunholz discloses a method of wireless positioning performed by a network node (mobile device, see [0031]), comprising:
transmitting, to a network entity (network entity, see [0030]), a request for transmission of one or more first positioning reference signals (PRS) resources having one or more physical layer security properties (action 202, UE request, see fig. 2, [0112]); and
measuring the one or more first PRS resources having the one or more physical layer security properties (actions 203-206; UE measures on-demand PRS encrypted by a cryptographic nonce, see [0064], [0113]-[0118]).
Regarding claim 23 as applied to Fraunholz a network node (mobile device, see fig. 6, [0031], [0146]), comprising:
a memory (602, 603, see fig. 6, [0147]);
at least one transceiver (604, see fig. 6, [0151]-[0153]); and
at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver (601, see fig. 6, [0147]), the at least one processor configured to:
transmit, via the at least one transceiver, to a network entity (network entity, see [0030]), a request for transmission of one or more first positioning reference signals (PRS) resources having one or more physical layer security properties (action 202, UE request, see fig. 2, [0112]); and
measure the one or more first PRS resources having the one or more physical layer security properties (actions 203-206; UE measures on-demand PRS encrypted by a cryptographic nonce, see [0064], [0113]-[0118]).
Regarding claims 5 and 25 as applied to claims 1 and 23, Fraunholz further discloses:
receiving a configuration of the one or more first PRS resources having the one or more physical layer security properties, the configuration including at least values for the one or more physical layer security properties (serving base stations and/or neighboring base stations transmit an on-demand PRS encrypted with a nonce, see action 204, fig. 2, [0064], [0114]).
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 5, Fraunholz further discloses wherein the configuration is received from a base station via one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages, one or more medium access control control elements (MAC-CEs), or any combination thereof (see [0140]).
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 5, Fraunholz further discloses wherein the configuration is received from a location server via one or more Long-Term Evolution (LTE) positioning protocol (LPP) messages (LMF requests the serving base stations and/or neighboring base stations transmit an on-demand PRS, see action 204, fig. 2, [0064], [0114]).
Regarding claim 8 as applied to claim 5, Fraunholz further discloses wherein the request for transmission of the one or more first PRS resources includes proposed values for the one or more physical layer security properties (request security verification for a specific service, see [0112]).
Regarding claims 12 and 28 as applied to claims 1 and 23, Fraunholz further discloses wherein the one or more first PRS resources having the one or more physical layer security properties comprises: the one or more first PRS resources having a phase shift determined by a secret key (encrypting the on-demand PRS with a nonce introduces a phase shift, see [0063], [0067]-[0068], [0114]).
Regarding claims 15 and 29 as applied to claims 1 and 23, Fraunholz further discloses wherein a type of the one or more physical layer security properties is based on a quality of service (QoS) level for a positioning session between the network node and the network entity during which the network node measures the one or more first PRS resources (security verification for a location-based service, see [0006], [0112]).
Regarding claims 16 and 20 as applied to claims 1 and 19, Fraunholz further discloses wherein: the network node is a user equipment (UE) (mobile device, see [0031]), the network entity is a location server (network entity/LMF, see [0030]), and the one or more first PRS resources are one or more downlink PRS resources (see [0109]).
Regarding claims 18 and 22 as applied to claims 1 and 19, Fraunholz further discloses
wherein: the network node is a base station (see [0112]), the network entity is a location server (LMF, see [0112]), and the one or more first PRS resources are one or more uplink PRS resources (see [0113]-[0114]).
Regarding claim 19, Fraunholz discloses a method of communication performed by a network entity (network entity/LMF, see [0030]), comprising:
receiving, from a first network node (mobile device, see [0031]), a request for transmission of one or more first positioning reference signals (PRS) resources having one or more physical layer security properties (action 202, UE request, see fig. 2, [0112]); and
transmitting, to a second network node (serving and/or neighboring base stations, see [0114]), a request for the second network node to transmit the one or more first PRS resources having the one or more physical layer security properties (on-demand PRS encrypted by a nonce, see [0114]) to the first network node (LMF requests the serving base stations and/or neighboring base stations transmit an on-demand PRS, see action 204, fig. 2, [0064], [0114]).
Regarding claim 30, Fraunholz discloses a network entity (network entity/LMF, see fig. 7, [0030], [0156]), comprising:
a memory (702, 703, see fig. 7, [0157]);
at least one transceiver (704, see fig. 7, [0159]); and
at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver (701, see fig. 7, [0157]), the at least one processor configured to:
receive, via the at least one transceiver, from a first network node (mobile device, see fig. 6, [0031], [0146]), a request for transmission of one or more first positioning reference signals (PRS) resources having one or more physical layer security properties (action 202, UE request, see fig. 2, [0112]); and
transmit, via the at least one transceiver, to a second network node (serving and/or neighboring base stations, see [0114]), a request for the second network node to transmit the one or more first PRS resources having the one or more physical layer security properties (on-demand PRS encrypted by a nonce, see [0114]) to the first network node (LMF requests the serving base stations and/or neighboring base stations transmit an on-demand PRS, see action 204, fig. 2, [0064], [0114]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 9-11, 13, 14, 17, 21, 24, 26, and 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al US 20200322805 discloses base station location and authentication.
/OLUMIDE AJIBADE AKONAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648